Catholic Brides

oinky

Hi Mudpie and Minssy,
I am very blessed, my parents and FH's leave the wedding to ourselves. : ) FIL even said a wedding is between 2, invite 'spectators' to watch for what? haha. They are cool people. lol.
Mudpie, my AD is in Dec, will truly start prep after CNY too.
Looking to have a love-filled,stress free wedding, FH is self-employed and just starting out his own biz, so am very budget conscious. Personally, the idea of a three hour banquet seems tiring and meaningless,they all seem the same. glad to give it a miss. hehe. : ) what about u, mudpie? are u having a buffet at an alternative location?

hi oinky,

oh cool... then you will have less headaches esp with the table seating arrangements..
alot of pple do without a lunch recep too so its cool...

lissa

Hi Dawn,

I'm getting married 1st week of lent. Haven't really done up my mass procedure yet. I'm not having a booklet but will be using the church's projector system.

Still trying to sort out my HM & invitation list 1st before starting on the mass details. But i think for lent period there isn't supposed to be any alleluias and glorias. So the gospel acclamation words is something in the lines of 'glory to the Lord Amen'.

Sorry i can't be of more help. When's your wedding anyway? I'll be doing up my mass details after CNY. If you want, I can update you of the wordings as soon as i know.

Lissa

oinky

Saw a picture of wedding at a colonial-style bugalow by Aloha resorts at Changi, huge lawn plus it's right at the beach.. really beautiful. But prob. is tentage.. super ex. would love an outdoor wedding, but so many constrains. went to Mandai orchid garden, quite beautiful but aunts would melt..the wedding favor might have to be anti-wrinkle cream. haha.

hi oinky,

errrmm... message was for me rite? *scratch head* some tentage has aircon or cool air facilities which is very much recommended else alot of pple will feel uncomfortable... UNLESS its a open air beach wedding place then its fine.. but its abt taking risks on the unpredictable weather...

trina_wys

hi oinky,

welcome!! care to leave ur details here so that i can upload them into the table?

i'm also getting married in SVDP!! so shoik! i finally have someone who is getting the same church as me liao.. hehe..

which date in dec are u looking at? currently i know that there are 3 bookings for 9th dec.. so that day is out liao..

i think its better to book the church once u have finalised ur details so that u are secured of a place in SVDP..

mountain9

Hi minnsy

Thanks!!! Sounds like a good deal. Was still thinking of printing the mass booklets and tieing them myself.....think would be quite a hassle, having to buy paper, ink etc......
Will definitely check isuccess out!

hi mountain9,

how many are you going to print? if you have alot of time then i guess you can.. if you gonna do everything alone then its quite xiong

and i dun recommend that you print on your own cos you gonna print both sides at the perfect alighnment and all.. leave it to the experts and save your time for other stuff

aiko

minssy,
understand that you have your mass boolets printed at isuccess @$1.50/booklet. I am wondering how many pages are you entitled for $1.50/booklet?

lissa

Hi Minssy,

Thanks for your help, I managed to e-file successfully at rom's webbie. But just to check with you... issit normal that my appointment to go down to ROM is only 3 days b4 my AD?? It's so close to my AD, wondering if it's meant to be like that.

Lissa

hi aiko,

based on double side printing, i have 10 pages. (its a 20 page booklet).

they charge a very nominal amt of $15 as conversion charge (from MS word to their prog that they use to align everything nice nice for you) and $10 to edit my picture stuff..

actually if you have just photos and text, you can even bring the cost to slightly lower...

hi lissa,

great! yes its normal. everyone is like that

dawn45

hi Mrs N
THanks so much for ur advice. Any other area in the mass bklet we need to look out for?

hi lissa

do share with me ur wordings ya. mine is in march. so have u prepared most of ur stuff?

mountain9

Hi minssy

Hm....actually i dun really know how many to print yet....But ya, agree that quite xiong to print everything on my own and need to do alignment too... If its at $1.50 per booklet, then sounds alrite...

So the place is at Sunshine plaza? Is there a branch at Bras Basah too?

oinky

Hi Petrina,
Sure, will love to be added to the list. : ) but have still not finalized the actual wedding date, definitely late nov or early dec. Do u know if priests can do the soleminizaton outside church? i am very undecided whether to hold the reception after mass or if it's possible, invite the priest out at another location. am not having a banquet. : )

oinky

How many mass booklets did u print? did u do that for everyone? many of my guests are not catholic..was wondering if they could share. save cost. hehe.

aiko

Minssy
so if I were to print 100 mass booklets, it will be $150 + $15 (Conversion) + $10 (Editing) = $175. Am I right to say that?

May I also assume that you are using 5 pieces of papers per booklet (for 20 pages), ie. 4 pages on a piece of paper?

aiko

oinky,
I think it will be okay for the guests to share a booklet. Personally, I will be printing 3/4 mass booklets of the total number of guests.

Check with you gals,
are all of you getting a ring pillow for the church wedding? Is there alternative to present the rings?

hi mountain9,

the one at bras basah has shifted to sunshine plaza..its at level 1, facing the road...

how many u gonna print depends on how many your guests will be, minus say 10%. cos not all guests will use and couples will normally share 1.

hi aiko,

my $150 shd be everything already... yes i had 5 pieces of A4 paper and the cover which is of cos of thicker quality paper...

alternative to present the rings will just be putting the rings in the box as it is
if you do a search here, some brides created their own ring pillow.. it depends on how much effort u wanna put in i guess....

fleur1

Hi Oinky,

I had also once thought that it is okay for guests to share booklets. However, I remember the times when I arrived on time for friends' wedding and the booklets had ran out and that I felt a bit left out. Guests who arrive earlier will want to have a copy each and at that point of time, it will be rather difficult to reject them. Moreover for non-catholic guests who do not have the booklets or are sharing the booklets, it can be more difficult for them to follow.

Also, priests are not allowed to preside over catholic weddings outside the sanctury of the church.

lissa

Hi Aiko,

I dun have a ring pillow. Decided to save money and not buy one. So in the end I have a little ring basket instead.
It's like a basket without handles and i basically designed it with gold ribbons and 2 white fabric flowers. In fact, i only just finished decorating it tonight!
Now gotta find a way to puff the empty centre up so that the rings will be visible over the top of the basket.

Lissa

carpediem

hi took me a while to track back to this thread...forgot it's under which name...is there any shortcut to bookmark this thread?

Petrina my details as follows:
AD - 23 dec 06
Church - Sacred Heart
Time - 10am
Mass, EE (feb06)
Proceed straight to hotel so no caterer
No florist (yet)
no printer (yet)
I'm engaging Fr Paul Tay cos Fr Chao is v sick

trina_wys

hi oinky,

thats ok.. when u have confirmed ur date then u can let me know..

i guess fleur has answered ur question on the priest going outside for ur solumnisation.. hehe.. actually i wasn't sure about that too.. thanks fleur!

hi aiko,

u can also get bears or stuff toys to 'hold' ur wedding rings.. that would be so cute!

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Time</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service or Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Month of MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Evie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">8th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Sacred Heart</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Apr 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Angeli Catering</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Hooked on Flowers</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lissa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Immaculate Heart of Mary</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Viv</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Service</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Lunch at Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lipstar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">22nd April 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sept 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Emma21</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27th May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nativity Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Apr/May 04</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Chummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Holy Cross</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lovebug</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">24th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christ the King</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">May/June 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Luncheon at Raffles Town Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Roses</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">1st July 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Aiko</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">15th July 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nativity Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jun 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Roidana</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sept 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Adel</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Francis Xavier</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jan 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">CSI Fan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Teresa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Select Caterer</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Feb 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's Own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aug 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Blitz</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Risen Christ</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March/April 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Mudpie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Immaculate Heart of Mary</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Oct 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Carpediem</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">23rd Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Sacred Heart</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Luncheon at Hotel</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Laluna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">26th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Joanna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jan 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Last Update on Carpediem

hi petrina,

wah the list has grown so much since just like 2 or 3 weeks ago when you first started it.. cool!

aiko

thank for all your suggestions. I didn't know there are so many innovative ways of presenting the ring, beside the ring pillow. I find that all of you here are very helpful. Thanks. And minssy, you are of great help here. Though your wedding was alredy over, you are still as active as ever. Really appreciate your presence here for you are like a mentor to us.

hi aiko,

i shy.. hee.. its a lovely thread to be in and sharing experiences... i started by reading all the previous archives and asking questions also ah

oinky

Thanks for all your help! Fleur,now that i know the priest cant preside the wedding outside the sanctuary, a lot of headache over! : ) guess i will have the reception in church instead of searching for other venues now.
perhaps will print booklets for all now, either that, i"ll place the booklets in the pews directly, so my guests can share to solve the prob of the guests feeling left if they arrive later.
my favorite tiny soft toy pig will be our ring bearer. : )
Did you gals buy a wedding gift for your FH?
wearing the ring he first bought when asked me to be his gf 10 yrs ago, so thinking of alternative presents for him. thought of getting the cheapest rolex watch i can buy.. hehe.
Any other suggestions for a good wedding gift that can last? : )

kitty_li

hi gals!

Been quite tied up with work lately that i hardly droop by this forum. Wow, the list of Catholic BTB for 2006 is growing...good to see...

Well, Gong Xi Fa Cai to all! Happy New Year!! May we all have a wonderful and prosperous year of the dog....

Last chance to collect ang pows already, so must go as much visiting as possible...heehee...everybody collect lots of ang pows ah....

Carpediem, cool idea....

oinky

Thanks Minsy for your advice.
wishing everyone here a blessed chinese new year!
try to refrain from the 200th pineapple tart though.. if not, will have to lose even more weight! Cheers!

hi csifan,

yeah.. collect alot of ang bao and then can save up to give next year :p

hi oinky,

no prob... any prob can just shout for help here... sure can solve your probs one. wahahhahah

mrs_n

Hi Oinky

Your FH will have the best wedding gift, something which money can't buy - YOU, no other gift you can give him will supercede that.
But if you're set on giving him a memento maybe you make him something. Perhaps put together some photographs of yourselves reflecting different stages of your r/s so that it forms a photo-story book? Sorry can't think of anything else. As for where to leave the mass booklets, maybe you could get some friends or family members to give them out to the guests as they enter the church? For our wedding, we got my husband's 6 nephews (6 to 11 years) to do the job which they enjoyed very much and also it kept them out of mischief!

Hi Dawn
You're welcome. Don't know what else to suggest for the mass booklet. I put an extra bit into mine at the end. Just a personal testimony of my life, how I met my husband and how God had played a part in that. I felt that I simply couldn't let our wedding day go by without thanking and praising God for all that He had done for us and since I didn't really want to make a speech, the best way for me was to write it all down and share my story with others so that they will also come to know and believe how wonderful He is. All I can say is, you have to expect the unexpected if you do this because you'll never know how God can use your story to touch someone else's life. A few days after our wedding, we received a letter from someone whom we vaguely knew thanking us for sharing our story with her because it gave her a sense of renewed faith and hope in God! She said she just happened to stop by the church on the morning of our wedding (she didn't even know that there was a wedding on that afternoon) and accidentally came across our mass booklet. And it was out of curiousity, that she picked it up! We are just thankful that God made use of us as his instruments and by witnessing to his love, it makes our marriage all the more meaningful. If you have a story to tell, don't be afraid to share it. You can never know if God is going to use you to bring someone back to Him.

God's abundant blessings to everybody for a Happy Chinese New Year.

oinky

Mrs N, thats a wonderful suggestion, maybe will make him a wedding booklet of our old photos + another gift now.: )

tarepiggy

Allo Oinky,

Sorry for this late reply, hv been gg to my new hse the past week to clean up in case relatives or frens wanna pop over to view it during CNY, my new hse no internet access yet. I will hv my lunch reception at the Church Hall after the Mass. =D

oinky

Hey Mudpie,
good to see u again. happy new year : ) will be having the recep in the church too now that i know the priest cant solemnize our wedding outside the sanctuary.
Between, would u have a 'program' for your recep? was thinking if there is a need to entertain guests since its a buffet and how to get their attention if there is champagne toasting..

lissa

Hi Minnsy or anyone else,

Is anyone aware if a wedding mass has profession of faith (The creed)? I have about 10 samples of wedding booklets and they all do NOT have the creed in their mass order. BUT my Marriage Mass and Rite book does indicate The Creed as part of the order. A bit confused now.

I'll try and ask my priest tomorrow during CNY mass... but likely they'll be busy distributing oranges that i wun get the chance to ask him. Was hoping to do up the powerpoint for mass by this long weekend lah. Would appreciate any help if anyone knows.

Thanks,
Lissa

mrs_n

Hi lissa

The creed is optional, it is up to you if you want to have it or not. But I think most people don't have it as it makes the mass too long.

HTH
Sx

aiko

Happy CNY gals.
kao_babydust2.gif

Now that Lissa mentioned about the creed, I remember something. Does anybody know anything about the matrimony candles? Is matrimony candles a must during wedding mass? Who provide them and do we need to get them ourselves?

hi aiko,

the use of candles is not part of the wedding mass order. it is subjective to the approval of the priest actually... if wan, you can get it from katong catholic bookshop or techman at bras basah.. but the one at techman is ex wor..