Catholic Brides

tentatively booked st francis xavier. not cfm until i pay the deposit! and they let me choose the timing i want cos no one booked it yet hahaha. Havent book EE though :/ hows your wedding prep!

Congrats for securing a place.. faster put deposit to chop the place haha... SFX is nice n popular ley...

Mine ok la.. went photoshoot areadi n chosen the photograph too.. forgot to take a pic on those i din select lor.. till now then i remember n regretted.. sobz.. but overall the photos turn out ok ok for my standard haha... areadi selected my dinner and church invitation too.. waiting for the printer to send us the sample print...

as for church.. the wedding couple assigned to help us out areadi contacted us n send us a sample copy of the church wedding mass booklet and the readings etc for us to choose.. they happen to be in the choir too so we will be attending the mass when they are singing for mass lor.. haven work out my church invitation list yet tho ;p

wat abt urself??

Jacqlwl

Hi! We are having our wedding at SFX next year too. When is yours? Do you intend to use the church florist?

Mine would be 24/4/15. It's a Friday though.. Yours? Hmm how much will it be for the church florist? I haven't ask the parish secretary about the decorations yet. Only know the price to book.. Hahaha

Jacqlwl

Congrats for securing a place.. faster put deposit to chop the place haha... SFX is nice n popular ley...

Mine ok la.. went photoshoot areadi n chosen the photograph too.. forgot to take a pic on those i din select lor.. till now then i remember n regretted.. sobz.. but overall the photos turn out ok ok for my standard haha... areadi selected my dinner and church invitation too.. waiting for the printer to send us the sample print...

as for church.. the wedding couple assigned to help us out areadi contacted us n send us a sample copy of the church wedding mass booklet and the readings etc for us to choose.. they happen to be in the choir too so we will be attending the mass when they are singing for mass lor.. haven work out my church invitation list yet tho ;p

wat abt urself??

Heheh thanks! SFX very popular ah? Love the inside of the church.. And also the parish secretary easily just let me tentatively booked it :D
I still have 10 mths to the day! Hahahahah haven't done anything much yet :/ though just wanna quickly settle the church. I just signed up EE and next avail date is in jan!

Your wedding is in dec this year right??

CharYan

Mine would be 24/4/15. It's a Friday though.. Yours? Hmm how much will it be for the church florist? I haven't ask the parish secretary about the decorations yet. Only know the price to book.. Hahaha

Our wedding is on 20 June 2015. Not sure of the price for florist. Thinking whether to get an external florist or the church one. Who's your celebrant?

Jacqlwl

Our wedding is on 20 June 2015. Not sure of the price for florist. Thinking whether to get an external florist or the church one. Who's your celebrant?
Haven't cfm our celebrant yet but shld be getting father Gerard.. U? U paid for the church alrdy? How much u have for the love offering?

ya hor.. toking abt dat..

anyone noes abt the average ang bao offering for the priest, choir, etc??? love offering is for wat ah?? overall ang bao??

Jacqlwl

ya hor.. toking abt dat..

anyone noes abt the average ang bao offering for the priest, choir, etc??? love offering is for wat ah?? overall ang bao??
donation hahah. i dont know why they use the word love offering.. ehh.. i have a rate chart my friend sent though

Attachments

• rates for church.jpg
    rates for church.jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 78

mcpig

Very rush hor! So when's your wedding?

Our wedding is 5th Dec 2015 :)
Booked our banquet venue and will book the church venue soon (decided but not booked yet). Am thinking of doing a origami theme, so I can DIY all the decor, not sure if its feasible though ;)

Hi Babe

Usually around 20 - 80, depending on you.

Oh issit?? all along i tot its at least $100 ley :rolleyes: hmm ok ok then i can start my budgeting areadi

u mean u wan the origami theme for church or banquet?? i think some churches dun allw your own deco.. so better to check wif the church if u intend to do so.. :)

j.koh

@Jacqlwl and @CharYan: I'm also having my wedding at St Francis Xavier in Jan 2015 :)

Our celebrant will be Father Brian.

We gave $300 to book the church, and $200 to book the canteen for the lunch reception.
I'm not having the gatecrash, but having church, lunch reception, tea ceremony & dinner banquet.

I asked my future MIL to check regarding the florist because I'm not Catholic and this is my HTB's church but HTB & I have been overseas studying/working for many years. She said she was not aware that the church has a florist. Anyway I've already engaged an external florist - 85 Flowers - I found their prices reasonable and there is no fixed package, you can just choose each individual item that you need.

Hope that helps!

linzy

Hi Ladies, I'm thinking of holding my church wedding either in nativity or st teresa church.

Am I able to have my wedding there as both churches are not my parish church?

I'm also concern about nativity church which have no aircon.

Anyone can share their experience?

mcpig

Hi Ladies, I'm thinking of holding my church wedding either in nativity or st teresa church.

Hi there. We have been to Nativity for Sunday Mass for a few times. It can get really hot if the weather is hot, but then again the church is very pretty, so depending on when your wedding is going to be, you can still consider the venue.

linzy

Hi there. We have been to Nativity for Sunday Mass for a few times. It can get really hot if the weather is hot, but then again the church is very pretty, so depending on when your wedding is going to be, you can still consider the venue.

I'll be holding around nov or dec.
Hopefully it will get cooler.

Jacqlwl

not very sure if nativity will allow cos i've emailed to enquire and they ask me where i stay. Usually if the church is not particular, im guessing they wont ask where i stay..

linzy

Ic... I read in the nativity's wedding forms and it stated that if I'm not from the parish I have to invite my own priest.

So I'm not sure if that condition really apply.

linzy

Hi, i was wondering how some couples are able to squeeze tea ceremony, church wedding and dinner all in one day.

mcpig

Hi, i was wondering how some couples are able to squeeze tea ceremony, church wedding and dinner all in one day.

It's going to be rush but no choice. We are doing Gatecrash, followed by Church Ceremony, then lunch reception, tea ceremony, then to dinner banquet...

Thinking of it is quite tiring... hahaha...

linzy

Finally I'm able to convince my htb to have a church wedding and now I'm facing a challenge to squeeze everything in a day.

Do you have any tips on the timing to share with me?

linzy

Was thinking of a rough plan

Fetch the bride
Go to groom's place to have tea ceremony.
Church wedding
Lunch reception
Tea ceremony to the bride's relative
Hotel wedding dinner banquet

mcpig

Here's our rough itinerary:-

Gatecrash: 8-8.15am
Bride to leave house by 8.45am
Couple to reach Groom's house by 9am
Holy Matrimony: 11am - 12noon
Lunch Recep: 12noon - 1.30pm
Groom side Tea Ceremony: 1pm - 1.30pm
Proceed to Bride's house by 2pm
Bride side Tea Ceremony: 2pm - 2.30pm

---proceed to hotel---

Note: bride and groom house is 2 traffic lights away (approx 3 mins drive)/ church & bride/groom house is about 8 - 10 mins drive away

mcpig

Thank you mcpig that's a very good reference for me.

u r welcome :) I think the key is that you should find a church close to your homes.

Also, you don't have to be everywhere at all times. After tea ceremony, you can move on to the next place, and leave some sisters/brothers there in case of anything. & after tea ceremony at bride's side you can move to hotel to rest, and leave the entertaining of your relatives to your parents at home.

CharYan

We have a slightly different schedule:
7am: groom fetches bride
7.15am: couples leaves bride's home
7.45am: tea ceremony at groom's home
8.30: couple leaves groom's home
9am: tea ceremony at bride's home
10.30am: holy matrimony
1pm: luncheon at hotel

We are not doing gate crashing nor reception at church. Intend to whisk guests from church to hotel with a shuttle bus.

Hi everyone... this page has been so quiet since Jul haha.. guess everyone is bz planning???

time flies and i'm jus abt 2 months away frm my wedding... hv u all booked the buffet reception areadi?? me thinking to get Delihub.. subsidiary frm Neo Garden...

jus done up my mass booklet.. too bad the church dun allow us to use powerpoint so hv to print hard copies for the guest.. :(

din noe dat church oso hv so much to followup lor... vetting of the mass booklet, choosing of songs, getting choir, check with choir if they noe hw to sing the songs, getting communion ministers, ushers, lectors,.... etc etc etc...

gosh...

anyone wanna share your progress?? me had areadi sent out my invites.. so many other things to do... thank God its only once in a lifetime wahhahaha

oceansky87

Hi, I'm a Nativity church bride Sep 2015...

Anyone can give me an estimated amount for the choir, alter , florist and other cost involved?

Have booked the venue but not sure what I should do next....

anneyu

Hi everyone... this page has been so quiet since Jul haha.. guess everyone is bz planning???

time flies and i'm jus abt 2 months away frm my wedding... hv u all booked the buffet reception areadi?? me thinking to get Delihub.. subsidiary frm Neo Garden...

jus done up my mass booklet.. too bad the church dun allow us to use powerpoint so hv to print hard copies for the guest.. :(

din noe dat church oso hv so much to followup lor... vetting of the mass booklet, choosing of songs, getting choir, check with choir if they noe hw to sing the songs, getting communion ministers, ushers, lectors,.... etc etc etc...

gosh...

anyone wanna share your progress?? me had areadi sent out my invites.. so many other things to do... thank God its only once in a lifetime wahhahaha

Hi Twobecome01... Thanks for sharing.. May I know where u print out ur mass booklets? Can share the cost?

So far we met the Father last week n are working on the mass booklets now..

Hi Twobecome01... Thanks for sharing.. May I know where u print out ur mass booklets? Can share the cost?

i haven finalise my booklet yet cos still have to finalise the songs with the choir to confirm if they noe hw to sing anot ley... hv u check wif ur choir / musicians if they noe hw to sing??

if your church allows u to use the powerpoint it will be so much easier and able to save cost... mine cant... so haiz hv to waste money printing.. cant save the earth..

i guess any printing shop will be able to print for u.. but u have to give them the correct printing setting.. cos they only pluck in and print..

Hi, I'm a Nativity church bride Sep 2015...

Anyone can give me an estimated amount for the choir, alter , florist and other cost involved?

Have booked the venue but not sure what I should do next....

im not sure the separate cost.. my mine they charge me $1300 including booking of church, reception, florist...

other cost will be your choir & musicians. ang bao for altar boys, church helpers (like Lector, communion ministers) ba... n of cos your reception makan..

anneyu

i haven finalise my booklet yet cos still have to finalise the songs with the choir to confirm if they noe hw to sing anot ley... hv u check wif ur choir / musicians if they noe hw to sing??

if your church allows u to use the powerpoint it will be so much easier and able to save cost... mine cant... so haiz hv to waste money printing.. cant save the earth..

i guess any printing shop will be able to print for u.. but u have to give them the correct printing setting.. cos they only pluck in and print..

We booked the choir, and was given a list of songs to choose.. If we need them to sing other songs, will have to check with them...

Hi, does anyone else have difficulty finding a choir? Is anyone using a choir from SFX?

Hi gal, hv u tried asking the church if they hv any choir dat u can look for?? Not sure if they do assign u wedding couple to guide u to do the preparation??

I've jus finished our wedding few weeks ago.. do let me noe if u really need help.. we were pretty stranded n lost for ours so if u need help we r here to help.. :) dats wat community is abt..

When is ur big day??

Babe so sorry for my late reply.. was bz for my own wedding oso.. when is ur big day?? Hv u done up ur booklets areadi?? We got ours done.. a simple one n cost is abt 1.80 per booklet.. depending on the material u r choosing..

Let me noe if u need the contacts.. n sorry if my late came too late for u

CharYan

Hi gal, hv u tried asking the church if they hv any choir dat u can look for?? Not sure if they do assign u wedding couple to guide u to do the preparation??

I've jus finished our wedding few weeks ago.. do let me noe if u really need help.. we were pretty stranded n lost for ours so if u need help we r here to help.. :) dats wat community is abt..

When is ur big day??

Hihi...we tried asking one of the church choirs but it's way too expensive. Trying to get another choir from the church.

My wedding is in June. No news about wedding couple.

Oh ya...could I have your contacts for the mass booklet printing? Thanks!

Jacqlwl

Hihi...we tried asking one of the church choirs but it's way too expensive. Trying to get another choir from the church.

My wedding is in June. No news about wedding couple.

Oh ya...could I have your contacts for the mass booklet printing? Thanks!
U getting married in SFX too? They have a wedding couple to assist u? SFX u can contact Mabel straight. She's the organist and she has a singer who charge 200$ if you wedding is a weekday.

CharYan

Hi Jacqlwl, thanks for replying. Any idea when will the wedding couple contact you? Our wedding is in June but we have not heard from the church about wedding couple. We have tentatively secured one of the choirs. Are you also using the church florist?anks for replying.

Jacqlwl

Hi Jacqlwl, thanks for replying. Any idea when will the wedding couple contact you? Our wedding is in June but we have not heard from the church about wedding couple. We have tentatively secured one of the choirs. Are you also using the church florist?anks for replying.

Hmmm no one told me about any wedding couple that is gg to help.. But I've contacted the organist who sent me the wedding booklet samples and she will help to vet before we can send to the priest. Nope, not using the church florist. Just getting flower pom poms and deco the church. Cos the $$ u paid for the use of church, they include flowers at the alter.

anneyu

Babe so sorry for my late reply.. was bz for my own wedding oso.. when is ur big day?? Hv u done up ur booklets areadi?? We got ours done.. a simple one n cost is abt 1.80 per booklet.. depending on the material u r choosing..

Hi.. Thanks for ur reply:) It's just right time, as I'll be going to print the mass booklets this weekends. I think $1.8 is quite cheap. I asked around last time, it's about $2.3-$2.5 for each booklet. Where did u print out the booklets? Can I have their contact? Thanks ya:)

Emily Chen

Hi, do you mind if I get the contact for printing booklets too? Thanks :)

Clarissa2310

Hi everyone.. I am 2016 Dec BTBs... Can I know anyone here a planning for church wedding at Immaculate Heart of Mary? I currently doing some research on the venue for either lunch buffet or dinner buffet. I want to know whether IHM's hall can held any lunch buffet or dinner buffet? And is it big enough to have 160-200 pax?