Catholic Brides

karelia

It seems St Teresa is the favorite

Anyone holding their wedding at Holy Family at East Coast? Any recommendation on choir or florist? Please share...

dotzy

Need some urgent help.. I'm getting married in 1 and a half week's and I have yet to buy my unity candles. Can anyone please recommend where I can get reasonably priced unity candles?

Another question, if I'm engaging the church florist, will I need to do some floral arrangements with the candles or juz supply them as is?

sevenage07

We're getting married in Church of the Sacred Heart next year and are in the midst of doing up the invites. Having real trouble trying to find an appropriate map of how to get to the church.

Does anyone have a copy of the map of the church that i can use?

Rol-10

Need advises. HTB is a catholic (while I'm not) and I have 0 knowledge as to how much to budget & what to take note of.
Any BTB has got quotes from St Teresa? Must HTB speak to his pastor first?

Attended a friend's church wedding some time back and was told that the church will have their own appointed florist (quoted at a price of $800+ for flowers deco etc), choir (@mkt rate of $300+), own printing of booklets, love offering (up to individual)... These, as well as abt $200+ for EE.

So lost in budgeting for our wedding. :(

Anything else that we'll need to factor in and purchase?

Sera22

Need advises. HTB is a catholic (while I'm not) and I have 0 knowledge as to how much to budget & what to take note of.
Any BTB has got quotes from St Teresa? Must HTB speak to his pastor first?

Attended a friend's church wedding some time back and was told that the church will have their own appointed florist (quoted at a price of $800+ for flowers deco etc), choir (@mkt rate of $300+), own printing of booklets, love offering (up to individual)... These, as well as abt $200+ for EE.

So lost in budgeting for our wedding. :(

Anything else that we'll need to factor in and purchase?

Hello.. Yup he must meet with the priest first.. Florist is subjective Coz not all churches have appointed florists.. Choir Yup.. Muz give ang Bao.. I attended EE.. Is about 240.. Printing of booklets I not sure but you can ask if u can use the PowerPoint slides instead.. Can save money.. All these you Shld discuss with the parish secretary.. Btw when is ur wedding.. EE is very popular so if it's soon you have to book now.. I booked in July and my dates were in Nov.. Btw the church charges a fee to use the church as well.. Mine is 200 for the church and 650 for the canteen.. But different churches have different charges.. You can call up the church to ask.. They will assist you..

Anyways anything you can PM me for help.. :)

Rol-10

[ote="Sera22, post: 1900521, member: 122637"]Hello.. Yup he must meet with the priest first.. Florist is subjective Coz not all churches have appointed florists.. Choir Yup.. Muz give ang Bao.. I attended EE.. Is about 240.. Printing of booklets I not sure but you can ask if u can use the PowerPoint slides instead.. Can save money.. All these you Shld discuss with the parish secretary.. Btw when is ur wedding.. EE is very popular so if it's soon you have to book now.. I booked in July and my dates were in Nov.. Btw the church charges a fee to use the church as well.. Mine is 200 for the church and 650 for the canteen.. But different churches have different charges.. You can call up the church to ask.. They will assist you..

Anyways anything you can PM me for help.. :)[/quote]

Wow.. thank u so much for the info. Guess the trip down to church is needed. :)

jennjenn

Hi karelia, I will be having my wedding at Holy Family. When is your AD? So glad to know another bride getting married at Holy Fam.

The secretariat office will provide you with a leaflet that has 3 of their recommended florists but you can definitely pick your own florist as well. Let me know if you need the contacts for the 3 florists. My email is mysticjen [at] gmail [dot] com

As for choir, I have approached the Sunday 9.15am choir as I usually attend that mass and am familiar with them. Usually they can only confirm 3 months before the AD so I am still waiting for confirmation as my AD is in May.

Hope this helps :)

jennjenn

Hello Cheerful88, I enquired with Nativity previously and I believe they have their own recommended florist called 'Kip'. Will you still be looking for your own florist?

pejn17

My bf is a catholic and he said he will have to go through church wedding, I have no idea about it at all.. ):
And also, we wanted to do lunch wedding, so that we can have more time for ourselves later at night.
Anyone have church wedding and lunch wedding on the same day?

pejn17

Hi, what's the duration for church wedding? I guess I would have to cater bus for those going to church wedding to the hotel?
I am just scare that that it would be very rush and causes any delay.
Also, before your church wedding, do you have gatecrashing and tea ceremony?

Sera22

Hi, what's the duration for church wedding? I guess I would have to cater bus for those going to church wedding to the hotel?
I am just scare that that it would be very rush and causes any delay.
Also, before your church wedding, do you have gatecrashing and tea ceremony?
Hi hi.. Church wedding usually not more than 1hr 15 mins.. Usually 1hr should be OK.. R u going to have photo taking with Friends and family in the church after that? Den will take Abit more time... I don't have gate crashing or tea ceremony Coz my htb not local.. Hmm.. Have u booked ur church yet? Coz Catholic Church have specific times for wedding mass I tink.. Mine is 9am.. Then the one after mine is 1130am.. So if you are taking the 1130 I tink abit late..

Would suggest u take the early one.. But also, Different churches different timing..

I suggest ur tea ceremony be in the hotel before the lunch.. If not I tink might be too rushed..

pejn17

Oh, so someone else will be driving the bridal car and pick you to church?
I understood that there is mass and service, I should be going for the service as most of my relatives are non believers. It is also short right?
I have not check out the church timings yet.. How much would we be expected to spend for this church wedding alone, estimated?

Tea ceremony at hotel is a good suggestion.

Sera22

Oh, so someone else will be driving the bridal car and pick you to church?
I understood that there is mass and service, I should be going for the service as most of my relatives are non believers. It is also short right?
I have not check out the church timings yet.. How much would we be expected to spend for this church wedding alone, estimated?

Tea ceremony at hotel is a good suggestion.
Usually mass is when both parties r Catholics.. N service is when one is a catholic and one is non Catholic.. Tink Shld be onli a little bit shorter? Mayb 45 mins.. I paid 850 for venue, haven factor in church choir, flowers for church.. If u wan save money u can self deco the church? I Tinking of hanging some pom poms on the pews :)

Yup my htb will go to the church himself earlier then my friend will fetch me to church after I've done my make up.

pejn17

I think I will have to rely on florist and professional to decorate the church, I'm F in artistic. ):
Where is yours held at..? We have budgeted anything for the church wedding yet, htb finally got enlightened that he has to go thru church wedding.

Have to go thru some course before it as well right.. stress. Luckily we planned for 15 else we will be scrambling around right now.

Sera22

I think I will have to rely on florist and professional to decorate the church, I'm F in artistic. ):
Where is yours held at..? We have budgeted anything for the church wedding yet, htb finally got enlightened that he has to go thru church wedding.

Have to go thru some course before it as well right.. stress. Luckily we planned for 15 else we will be scrambling around right now.
Mine is at church of the Holy Cross.. My deco is 100.. Not that ex heehee.. Ya u can go either for marriage prep course or engaged encounter.. MPC is held over weekends for certain weeks and EE is a stay in weekend retreat.. Tink both Abt 200..

pejn17

Off topic, has anyone done or will be doing church wedding and luncheon? And your videographer is able to produce your morning highlights by 2nd march in?
I understand the risk of getting a lousy job done, due to insufficient time allowance.

Hi All BTBs here,

Pejn17, my advise is to quickly decide & book your slot for the Marriage Engaged Encounter - Fri - Sun compulsory stay in programme (http://www.marriage-encounter-sg.org/me_program/me_schedule.php) or Marriage Preparation Course (http://www.catholic.org.sg/mpc/) first while settling other stuff like wedding hotel & church. Reason is becos their slots are filled up pretty fast & without completing it, you most prob will not be able to have a church wedding etc as it is compulsory requirement. I've booked mine at least 9 mths before haha (kiasu)

Dont be stress abt attending the courses as it really gives you time to discuss & iron out issues that you prob have nvr discuss or tok with your partner before.

I'm holding my wedding at Christ the King & http://www.christtheking.com.sg/pastoral-services/matrimony/ is the link for more info on the wedding guidelines etc for you to take ref? Most church are about the same i guess so prob you can google on the church that you wan to hold your wedding to find out more?

Lets look forward to prepare our BIG DAY ladies =)

My parents are Buddhist and I'm a little lost abt fetching the bride etc. The groom suppose to be in church or have to fetch bride first then go together?? Anyone can give me any advise??

Hi All BTBs here,

Pejn17, my advise is to quickly decide & book your slot for the Marriage Engaged Encounter - Fri - Sun compulsory stay in programme (http://www.marriage-encounter-sg.org/me_program/me_schedule.php) or Marriage Preparation Course (http://www.catholic.org.sg/mpc/) first while settling other stuff like wedding hotel & church. Reason is becos their slots are filled up pretty fast & without completing it, you most prob will not be able to have a church wedding etc as it is compulsory requirement. I've booked mine at least 9 mths before haha (kiasu)

Dont be stress abt attending the courses as it really gives you time to discuss & iron out issues that you prob have nvr discuss or tok with your partner before.

I'm holding my wedding at Christ the King & http://www.christtheking.com.sg/pastoral-services/matrimony/ is the link for more info on the wedding guidelines etc for you to take ref? Most church are about the same i guess so prob you can google on the church that you wan to hold your wedding to find out more?

My parents are Buddhist and I'm a little lost abt fetching the bride etc. The groom suppose to be in church or have to fetch bride first then go together?? Anyone can give me any advise??

Oops this is the Catholic Engaged Encounter direct link http://ceespore.mx.sg/ceespore/ , the earlier one leads you to a non catholic EE course. I took a peep & the nxt course is in Jul & still open.. cheers

pejn17

For SFX church, do you have to be a church member or baptized there to be able to hold your wedding there? It looks beautiful..

Ky55

I think for most Catholic Churches in sg you don't have to be part of the parish or baptized at tt particular church. Just as long as one of the wedding couple is a baptized catholic should be fine. Best would be to call the church secretary.

pejn17

Thanks for for the valuable info. My HTB whom is a baptized catholic has that misconception. Gees. Making our selection so limited, actually to only one choice. =X

j.koh

Hi All BTBs here,

Hi dear,

My HTB says the groom goes to the church earlier to oversee the set up, welcome guests etc. The bride arrives there just before the start of the ceremony. So it's different from the Chinese tradition of 'fetching the bride'. I suppose there is no fixed rule; if you want the groom to come pick you up and go together I don't see why not.

cescajo

Does anyone know if priests would officiate a wedding that is not held in a church?
HTB is non-catholic and not comfortable to get married in a church.
Has this been done before? Anyone knows?

mcpig

Hi BTBs

We are planning our wedding for the last qtr of 2015, my HTB is a Catholic and I have been attending mass with him for the past year. I will be doing RCIA this year and we have booked our EE for Nov this year :)

One question for all BTBs: how long in advance do you need to book the church?

We will probably be doing it in Church of Divine Mercy since the HTB was baptised there and we attend mass there frequently :)

mcpig

Hi All BTBs here,

I guess you need to check with your parents about this? My htb is a Catholic, Im a free thinker while my family are Buddhists. We initially wanted to meet at church for the church wedding, scraping all fetching of bride and gatecrash events in the morning, however my mum insisted on the fetching of bride as that is important to her, so we had to have that process.

Jacqlwl

Hi All BTBs here,

Hi, just to check w u, what are the rates for booking Christ the king? U booking the canteen too?

Hi Jacqlwl,

I've booked them at $1,300 including rental of the canteen, deco & florist. (If i dun remember wrongly $200 is refundable to you after the event). 2014 are almost fully booked esp the hot dates.

They will assign a wedding couple that will guide you through. Mine is in Dec but have not really contacted them on what's nxt..

Jacqlwl

Hi Jacqlwl,

I've booked them at $1,300 including rental of the canteen, deco & florist. (If i dun remember wrongly $200 is refundable to you after the event). 2014 are almost fully booked esp the hot dates.

They will assign a wedding couple that will guide you through. Mine is in Dec but have not really contacted them on what's nxt..

wah $1300.. is it considered expensive? adding up the cost of the buffet will probably be almost 2k..

Erm not sure ley.. cos din really check the "market rate" but becos its my parish church which most of the time i attend mass and its super near my place so i book them lor...

havent think of the colour theme yet.. my date is on 20th dec.. when is urs going to be?

Note abt the canteen.. it can only hold up to 120 pax max.. plus think everything hv to clear by 3pm as they need to prepare for evening mass..

Jacqlwl

Erm not sure ley.. cos din really check the "market rate" but becos its my parish church which most of the time i attend mass and its super near my place so i book them lor...

havent think of the colour theme yet.. my date is on 20th dec.. when is urs going to be?

Note abt the canteen.. it can only hold up to 120 pax max.. plus think everything hv to clear by 3pm as they need to prepare for evening mass..

My parish church is the one at Yishun. Don't really like it there so I'm looking for Somewhr else.. Was looking at Holy Spirit but they're gg to have Reno at part of the church for Thomson mrt line so it's gonna be messy.. Didn't want too far cos I'm staying in the north..

Mine is 24 April 15., Friday.. Still long but I think gotta look for church first.... Have u all attended the engaged encounter?

My parish church is the one at Yishun. Don't really like it there so I'm looking for Somewhr else.. Was looking at Holy Spirit but they're gg to have Reno at part of the church for Thomson mrt line so it's gonna be messy.. Didn't want too far cos I'm staying in the north..

Mine is 24 April 15., Friday.. Still long but I think gotta look for church first.... Have u all attended the engaged encounter?
Hi Jacqlwl,

Hmm think prob u need to faster go book a church soon esp if it is near to Easter Season and church will be "blocked" as priest will be busy?? And if yours is a hot date too.. then the priest will need to meet you and your spouse for pre-nuptial counselling etc..

Some churches are more strict on booking esp if you or your partner is not from that parish. If you like small church St Francis Xavier is a popular church but the location might be abit tricky. It has a long aisle and it really looks nice to hold wedding there.

Try to go for MEE (Marriage Engaged Encounter) soon as it is really good and esp if you have differences in thinking/opinion you guys can have a longer time to talk and adjust to each other much before the wedding prep stress sets in..

Jacqlwl

Hi Jacqlwl,

Hmm think prob u need to faster go book a church soon esp if it is near to Easter Season and church will be "blocked" as priest will be busy?? And if yours is a hot date too.. then the priest will need to meet you and your spouse for pre-nuptial counselling etc..

Some churches are more strict on booking esp if you or your partner is not from that parish. If you like small church St Francis Xavier is a popular church but the location might be abit tricky. It has a long aisle and it really looks nice to hold wedding there.

Try to go for MEE (Marriage Engaged Encounter) soon as it is really good and esp if you have differences in thinking/opinion you guys can have a longer time to talk and adjust to each other much before the wedding prep stress sets in..

Thanks for the advice! :) Im actually looking at christ the king or st vincent de paul

Jacqlwl

@Jacqlwl hv u gotten a church?? everything going well at ur side?? my side they hv sent me the stuff to look at like wedding hymns, booklets, reading etc.. so hv to choose frm there..

Nope zzzz. St vincent de paul is booked on the day. Then i called Christ the king but i think the parish secretary heard that im not staying in amk then she put me on hold and came back to tell me its booked which i dont quite believe. hahaha! So im putting Christ the king on pending first.. Looking at St. francis xavier at serangoon.. but got issues with the church timing and might be a little far so still considering haha! am i very late? :/

Hmm actually u can go to the parish office and ask them to show u the book? U can tell them dat u wish to check what are the other available dates that you can look out for as alternatives.. then frm there you are able to tell if its really booked...

Giving them benefit of doubt it might really be booked cos when i was booking my dec slot.. almost all are full.. scary rite.. they are like hot cakes similar to the hotels.. what i did was i bring my cheque book along dat day to chop the slot immediately hahaz..

Choose a church that is convenient for your guest esp those that dun drive.. which parish do u usually attend? maybe u can approach them telling them u always attend the mass there?

Rol-10

Any brides did gate crush -> church wedding -> banquet dinner all in 1-day?
Need some help in planning the schedule for the day.. :(

Jacqlwl

Hmm actually u can go to the parish office and ask them to show u the book? U can tell them dat u wish to check what are the other available dates that you can look out for as alternatives.. then frm there you are able to tell if its really booked...

Giving them benefit of doubt it might really be booked cos when i was booking my dec slot.. almost all are full.. scary rite.. they are like hot cakes similar to the hotels.. what i did was i bring my cheque book along dat day to chop the slot immediately hahaz..

Choose a church that is convenient for your guest esp those that dun drive.. which parish do u usually attend? maybe u can approach them telling them u always attend the mass there?

tentatively booked st francis xavier. not cfm until i pay the deposit! and they let me choose the timing i want cos no one booked it yet hahaha. Havent book EE though :/ hows your wedding prep!

CharYan

tentatively booked st francis xavier. not cfm until i pay the deposit! and they let me choose the timing i want cos no one booked it yet hahaha. Havent book EE though :/ hows your wedding prep!
Hi! We are having our wedding at SFX next year too. When is yours? Do you intend to use the church florist?