Catholic Advice Needed Please

shern, i am not a peranakan.....

little_ger, you seen amor meus' designs? has a modern twist, very nice kebayas too

celtricia...love-hate relationship with shopping hehehe

they have a website, check it out, cos their style more modern
the one i went to gotta stick to traditional hehehe

hi celtricia

good good.. at least dun hv to worry so much abt hse when wedding's nearing!

heee.. hv all ur gowns etc been done? when's PS?
actually me oso abit "stuck"... cos doing only small small things... will prob be v busy in sep/ oct.

btw girls,

do u know what kind of music can be used for the bridal procession in church?
can classical music be used?

little_ger, that's so unique and nice..btw thanks so much for the AD schedule less one headache now..

oraia, some churches dun allow commercial music right? i thinking of ave maria. which classical piece do you have in mind?

little_ger, i wanted canon in D minor actually but my frens used it for their wedding so tot of having something different...

oraia, ya lor.. so i nid not worry abt my hse when AD is nearing.. my PS is nxt monday.. n fitting is tis wed.. heehee.. duno hw it will turn out.. quite excited..
my gowns r al OTR.. so no much trouble for dat..
btw, i've enquired frm my priest for my wedding, he did say dat commercial songs r not allow for d mass.. mayb u can check it out wif ur celebrant..

hey shern... u noe d website for d kebaya? can give me?

planning to use 'hail mary, gentle women' for that part...getting songs which hb and i are familiar with unfortunately not for this song and i do like it a lot....hmmmm.....

oops, i meant hb not familiar with 'hail mary, gentle women'

I tot there's different versions of ave maria, little_ger, really all very slow kinds??

ger~ wow! so nice!
hehe... oh ya.. forgot still need recessional music! pengz!
btw, the AD schedule u sent dun hv church stuff leh. only morning and dinner. got sample w church stuff or not ah? paiseh!

shern~ ya lor.. was thinking along the lines of canon in d lor. that's classical music right? even the normal wedding march is a piece of classical music. so if cannot, then use what??!! *stress* better chk w priest.

celtricia~ wah!! fast fast hor! nx mon PS liao!
hv fun ah!! *exciting!!!*

oraia, are u refering to the church program?? if yes, i will fax/email to u tml...its in hardcopy..so can only scan it

celtricia, all set for PS ??

oraia, my cousin used the song "She" ( the song in notting hill) but i think it's cos bsc's quite flexible.

little_ger, tot of getting phillip lye to sing solo, think i'll speak to him first then i'll decide... recall charlotte church has another version too..

shern, kekeke me still not sure who is philip lye... good to have him to sing for you
i dun intend to use any recorded music ... wan "live" music :P

hi oraia...

yup nxt monday lor.. pretty kan cheong now.. heehee

heya shern..
not set yet leh.. heehee.. tis wed going for fitting for d gowns..

btw.. for ur info.. philip lye does solo, he did it for my uncles' wedding..

For those getting Philip Lye, try Trumpet Voluntary for your march down the aisle. He recommended it & I took it. Thot it sounded nice before the entrance hymn. He recommended something for the March out as well. Cannot remember the title though.

I wore a Vietnamese suit (top in brocade gold & pale cream coloured bottom) for my tea ceremony (Long cheongsum with pants). Bought the material in Arab St & got a lady to tailor it.

For those thinking of Kebaya, colour must be vibrant or else it will 'age' u

Just to share

Hi Celtricia,

I didn't meet up with him at all. Blind faith huh?

I called him up abt 2-3 months before my wedding and booked him for my wedding day. I told him it wld be a full wedding Mass.

In the midst of doing my Mass booklet, I called him and briefed him on the songs that I had chosen. He gave some ideas abt the processions & recessionsl songs. Abt 2 weeks before my actual day, I called him again to confirm the songs and procedure of the Mass.

On the AD, I arranged that the organ in Church be unlocked an hour before the ceremony & told him that I wld have people present there. He turned up abt an hour accompanied by his wife. My coordinator handed them the Mass book, they went thru it and practiced the songs.

Everything went thru without a hitch as he's used to doing wedding masses. Being Catholic, he also knows the procedure of the Mass.

I'm just giving guidelines here. Go ahead to meet up with him if u think it's necessary

Hi Steff..

Wow! I understand wat u mean. .. heh.. so u din ask him along when u ppl had rehearsals for u wedding mass? He's very pro i muz say.. really enjoyed his singing when i attended my uncles's wedding when i was young.. kekeke.. so without considering much i decided to haf him for my wedding as well..

ladies, any idea/experience: my AD on a Fri, hb is very worried, cos more than half of the guests non-catholic (should be about there cos have not finalised list yet). So during the mass, will the response and singing be too soft? hb and me can't sing well(esp me!!)

little_ger, will consult phillip lye about the hymns to be used cos i'm not keen on using recordings either

steff, gonna stick to purple for kebaya
thanks for the infor...

i'm tempted to MTM another outfit for tea ceremony.....
vain lah...

hey shern.. i dun tink u nid to worry if philip is gonna be ur singer cum organist, as his voice is quite powerful.. he most likely will b able to over power the congregation voices.. if not juz inform philip abt whom ur guest consist of n he will noe wat to do.. no worries..

no prob shern.. if ur hb is still worried, mayb u can ask philip to b at ur rehearsal n ask him to play n sing for u lor.. let him noe abt ur hb worries.. he won't mind one.. heh

good idea
will call and arrange....told hb that phillip has attended more weddings then us, he'll know what to do

morning gals.....

my softcopy more or less done, provide email, i'll forward it tommorrow.

anyone else joining?

Hi gals, pls place your name beside the date that you're available for an outing:
(Friday, 7+pm)

30 Jul -
6 Aug - little_ger, celtricia(will confirm again), shern
27 Aug -

morning ladies...

heehee. thanks little_ger n shern.. i'll check my email den..

shern.. so fast u done it liao ah.. me still stuck.. coz fiance no time to discuss d plans.. haiz..

shern.. my fiance actually dun really bother abt it, but i insist on waiting for him, so he got no choice lor.. he say wait for his off day.. kekeke.. guys r lazy lah.. basically n always wan us to do all d preps...

hi shern,

urs is a full mass ah?
mine won't be a full mass cos it's a sunday...
so i won't hv alot of the stuff tt u hv in ur booklet.

thanks anyway!

celtricia, guys: more talking...less action hehehe...will make my hb 'work', if not nothing will be done and i'll end up feeling frustrated...

little_ger, that hymn you mentioned, initially was telling hb that i've not heard it, and when we went for sunday mass, it was sung!! and i do know it
but hb finds it sl....o...w...

oraia, i did the booklet when we have not confirmed yet cos all the booklets i have are full mass, anyway now decided on full mass but still kinda worried about the non-catholics....

gals, if confirm meeting, i'll bring all the booklets i have along...it'a all simialr actually...what's the estimated number of guests you guys will be having? cos i 'm not sure whether to have reception and also whether we should print the booklets ourselves...