Carlton Hotel

ShirlDreamz, my perks are pretty standard even though I bargained for an hour so I was surprised that some of you said that you are able to get good perks than other hotels.

The additional perks that I get are:
Free wine corkage
75% invitation cards (5% more)
30% parking coupons (5% more)
Food tasting for 10 people

What perks did you get? I have tried getting a day room for helpers but being rejected.

hmmm cos my AD will be ard Jun-Sep 2010, there was supposed to be an increase in price. But Zack managed to offer me the same price which is $928nett. So it has free upgrade to the new ballroom which is pillarless and high ceiling. Some as per normal like waiver of corkage charges, free flow of beer, dummy cake, pre-cocktail. He gave me additional room for my helpers for the night. And by right is pre-dinner snacks OR lover supper mah...he gave me both. Food tasting for 10 person instead of 6, can taste during weekends too. Wedding cards 80%, i think complimentary carpark one also increase by a bit only. and lastly 2 LCD projectors instead of 1. Guess tat's all i remembered. I didnt bargain for anything. All given by him himself. I was just there the whole time listening.

So nice of Zack. Think most females are quite rigid. From my experience, the hotels which I had gone with female coordinators are rigid in doing things and the males tend to be flexible and dare to give more things.

The same applies to the manufacturing company that I'm working where the males tend to dare to try new things but the females just stick to the same things although there is a small percentage of female who are daring to try new things.

I feel like asking Carlton for more discount because when I signed up, they mentioned that the renovation will be completed in nov period and I didn't expect that it will be delayed for so long. They only mentioned about the hacking of wall at the ballroom to connect to the new ballroom. They should give the affected couples more discount because we are seriously affected when the ballroom is at the second floor. It's not like Meritus Mandarin ballroom when the ballroom does not overlook the reception area. The renovation totally spoils the whole ambience.

I totally agree with Snow Angel. My wedding is during the renovation and the total ambience is definitely gonna be affected! My hubby and I are v affected by it too. Hope Carlton will provide reasonable compensation. Really very upset with this matter.

Shirl Dreamz

I am looking at Carlton as well and my Ad will be Sept-Oct 2010. They allow you to sign for 928 nett for weekends? thats a good deal! How about the new themes? How long have you been dealing with Zack before he relented?

I have been to the old ballroom, I must say I really dun like it, dun have the classy feel, the lobby also...how does the new ballroom looks like? Now Im very interested in Carlton again!

Hi Lilian,
Yes, i'm allowed to sign for the 928nett as long as i can confirm the booking by end Apr. Hmmm the new themes will also let us know by then. Cos they are going to change everything including the table cloth to meet the new design of the ballroom. Tat day was the first time i met Zack. I didnt request for anything but more of he gave all the perks himself. After which also realised tat everything is good enough so i also didnt request for anymore things. I've seen the artist impression of the new ballroom. I would say it's still the same structure, L march-in. But the ceiling lights will be different, the ballroom will be pillarless and higher ceiling. Tat already makes a lot of difference to the experience. I do like the new ballroom personally. You can always make a trip down just for site inspection. They wun force u to make any decision on the spot de. It is a better feel of everything and all the perks ur coordinator can offers u. I feel tat by going down personally is way much better than listening to wat we said here. =)

Shirl Dreamz

Thks! I will be going down to check it out, can you send me the email address of Zack so that I can make an appt? 928nett is weekend price right? ? Have you confirmed?

The only one more perk i will like to have in addition to what Zack has offered you is free flow of wine or at least one bottle of wine per table =)

ging3r

Good info there on Carlton! My AD is Oct 2010 hence think that make carlton a very good choice if I sign up before April 2009 as the price will still floow 888/928 nett for weekday/ weekends. How will the reception area for the new ballroom be? spacious?

I guess the only dangerous thing about signing up now is that we can only envisage the ballroom based on his description and artist's impression. The actual setup may be very different! =)

Anyone can describe the layout of the new ballroom? square/ rectangular? How high is the ceiling, im hoping 6m =)

To all couple whose AD falls btw 1 oct 09 to 31 Dec 09,

I guess we are all facing the same situation now. We were not informed when we booked our wedding package that there will be such a major reno during our AD. If we know that this will happen, I think probably we will reconsider whether we want to take up this hotel or not. And it's already too late to look for another venue now.

I will be meeting Agnes tmr. She says she will explain to us how the actual work will be done and how much it will affect us. If we are going to be terribly affected by the reno during our AD, I will ask for compensation coz it's very unfair to us as we could have booked our 2nd option if we know abt this before hand.

Therefore I hope the couple whose AD falls between oct to dec 09 can come together to discuss the compensation we want from the hotel and at the same time presurrize the hotel should they refuse to budge.

To all couple whose AD falls btw 1 oct 09 to 31 Dec 09,

I had met Agnes. She told us the mgt has not confirm the schedule of the reno yet. But tentatively will be around oct to dec 09. And the worst scenario will be the lobby will be partitioned; only a passage way from the entrance will lead to the lift; the recept area will be blocked so that the guest will not oversee the reno at the lobby.

We had told her to feedback to the mgt to
1) postpone the reno
2) Source for another hotel for us. If the price is more exp, the hotel will top up the difference for us.
3) Inform all the affected couples
4) Call for a meeting with all the affected couples to explain the situation and what are the mgt going to do abt it.
5) We will call up the media if they refuse to resolve the issues for us

Agnes told us we are the 1st couple who she spoke to regarding this issues. I hope more couples will feedback to them regarding this soon.

hi Ger,

Any idea how the cocktail area will be blocked?
My coordinator is Zack. Actually we have already feedback that we are not happy about this. He told us that the Mgt will revert back and see how they can resolve this matter.

Hi germaine82,

they will built "walls" to surround the lvl 2 so that the lobby cannot be seen from lvl 2.

this is the worst scenario lah.

another option is that they will partial block the lobby and lvl 2.

To germaine82 and Stella,

I think we have to be more proactive. Agnes is not the decision maker. She can only feedback to the mgt what we want from them. I was so surprise that I'm the 1st one to feedback. I believe many couple still dun knw abt it. tat's why i urge Agnes to inform them asap. should they want to make any changes, they will hv to do it earliest possible.

Just now she did mention that someone suggested to refund us the deposit. But she defended for the customers that it's pointless to refund us as the chances for us to find a similar venue is very slim.

that's why we told her to feedback to the mgt if we can find another venue and the price is more exp, then we will want the hotel to top up the excess for us or better still they will source for a venue for us of similar league.

but the best solution is to postpone the reno to jan 2010. Solve all the problems.

Although it's also unfair to the couples whose AD are nxt yr. But according to Agnes, next yr couple have been told abt the reno and hv been given ample time to consider whether they want to sign up with the hotel. So they hv to put up with the reno loh.

Ger: Well I just want things to be perfect on that day, that's all i need from them..

somemore i didnt noe oso till i saw forum..T&Cs didnt state as well..So i believe that we have the rights to argue lol..

We are extremely disappointed with Carlton Hotel. The mgt had decided to go ahead with the reno starting 5 Oct 09.

Agnes told me that the hotel will send an official letters to all the affected couples.

I understand from Agnes so far the hotel is trying to source for another venue for the affected couples and they are willing to refund us the deposit.

But i personally feel the damages are far more than just the refund of deposit and assisting the affected couples to source for another hotel as we may not like the place.

We will write in officially to express our disappointment with the hotel and seek compensation for the damages caused. If need be, we are also prepared to call in the media if the hotel refuse to offer us a reasonable compensation.

Those couples who want to join forces to pressurize the hotel to seek compensation may leave your email here or pm me.

Ger: Is it true? Very sianz..return us deposit doesnt help us at all..from now till Nov is liked a few mths away and most of my friends already know that I chose Carlton..now this incident happen..what am i suppose to do?!?
i demand compensation!

Hi Ger and Stella,

I just saw your msges. Omg... I am speechless. CARLTON IS A COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT!!! Time is so short, how are they gng to find another hotel. My hubby and I are willing to join force and we want compensation. Just give me some time, meanwhile, let me go check with Zack tmr morning and find wat is actually gonna happen. I am in a state of total shock and total ANGER!!!!
Can email me directly at [email protected], if you gals want to discuss this in private.

As mentioned by Ger, is confirmed by Agnes another coordinator..I am not sure oso..Coz Zack jus back from leave..think he is not updated with the news..So u callin him tmr? Can let me know?

Thanks thank..I need gd news manz..Can u imagine, i already started to send email to other hotels to see any availability le..I left w no choice at all..though i still like Carlton as my top choice! why must these happen!!

hey ladies, my AD will be on Oct 25th.. sheesh why is this happening to us?????
How are we supposed to find another alternative venue?

such a short notice to check on other venues

Hi Bubbly, Ger, Stella,

When you signed up for the package, din your coordinator tell you that there'll be a renovation work going? When did you sign up? I signed up with Carlton in Nov '08 and Zack has told us there'll be a reno going on during our wedding period..(my AD: 26 Sept 09). He mentioned how the lobby area will be hoarded up and as we are taking Esplanade Room at lvl 4, we won't be affected. The only downside that i'm sad about (as a Bride) is that i can't let my guests enter through a nice lobby....
But hearing that the affected couples will be those who have wedding celebs btwn 1 Oct - 31Dec '09, now i'm getting confused...that means during my AD the reno won't start yet?

Shery Zhan (goldfishy) : I booked on May 08..I am they are building new wing, but didnt state in contract and didnt hear anything mention from them regards to reno on old wing...ArghZ!

hi shery zhan,

i book in june 08. initially they do nt allow ppl to book from june 09 to sep 09. after a while they say reno postpone and began to take in booking. but they nvr mention postpone to WHEN.

huh... i was not even told to not book during any specific period. I booked in Jul 08.
I only remember that I was told that I may use the new ballroom cos it was schedule for completion in Q4 then. But of course, it has been delayed and couples within oct to dec are stuck. Shery Zhan, I believe u r not affected. They may not even hoard up the lobby that early.
Like Stella, nothing regarding the reno was stated in my contract.

Hi Stella,
You mean when you took up the package in June'08 you weren't told that there'd be a renovation going in the old wing while they are building the new wing???? Oh no..that isn't fair..for my case, Zack told me in advance, so we are prepared that our guests will be entering through a 'tunnel', but then it won't be so bad as they'll just head up to lvl 4 straight to Esplanade room.

Hi Ger & Germaine,
There isn't any statement about reno in my contract too. So Germaine, whn you signed up, you were told that you may use the new ballroom? But in the contract, was it stated about the name of the new ballroom or it stated the old wing's Empress room (lvl 2)? It must be vry disappointing that you've had this hope for a new ballroom and in the end, it is not even finished building...

As for my own case, i can only hope for the best...it will be a miracle gift if they don't hoard up the lobby during my big day. If they do...i also have nothing to say coz they've informed me before i signed up the package.

Hi Stella, Bubbly,
To my understanding, the lobby will be hoarded up and those who hold the banquet in Empress Room won't be able to see the renovation work.. But im not sure about the noise..or whether or not they're going to work at night while the dinner is on
Zack seems to be a nice person, I hope he can help you guys clarifying things out and sort for the best option...
U guys hvg ROM on the same date too? My ROM will be outdoor, still choosing btwn having it by the pool side, or near the waterfall there... but again i was told, let's say if i hold by the pool side, the construction noise can possibly be heard and it's kinda unsightly too... I thought the pool view is reli reli nice and romantic...

Hi Shery,

i was told that if new ballroom is out, i can use it but i was perfectly fine with the old ballroom. I am fine with Empress.

Wat i am unhappy is the hoarding of the lobby area, it is really ugly and i am sure ambience is hurt when u look down from the reception area.

And I was not inform about the hoarding of Lobby area when i signed up with Carlton. I oni came to know about this when i read it on this forum. Haiz.... How to be nt sad? Super sad and pissed ah...

Hi Germaine,
I think your guests won't be able to look down from the reception area ar..which means it will be like an enclosed area
Is it still possible for you & your HTB to find another venue? My goodness, i dunno hw would i react if this happened to me..

hi Shery,

Gosh... can i clarify that? u mean they are doing something to the recept area? Not just the Lobby ah? I am even more freaked out! AHHHH...
I am v stressed up over this matter... never thot this kind of thing will happen.

oh yes...
now i remembered.. Ger(holiday ger) mentioned to me before...
Does the wall covers that around the perimeter of the parapet fencing? Goodness... from the way I imagine it, it is even uglier now...

Total Regret!!!