Carlton Hotel

16 more days to the big day!

Milky: the screen will be setup on the stage and the projector will be in the aisle. so after the 1st montage, they will dismentle the screen and everything, then you match in. if you are having a 2nd to show video express, they will have to set it up again and remove before you march in for the 2nd time. was told it takes about 5 mins and the staff are very pro with that already. perhaps one of the weekends evening, you can go down and take a look at the ballroom (if there on going wedding). The staff there are pretty ok if you just look around prior the event (around 5.30pm to 6pm). I went down a few times to take a look at the setup etc.

Hi thebsea, my mum and in-laws do not fav the idea of having the dessert buffet as well.

Hi Stella, I went for the gold theme too! with red roses. vip tables will be maroon color and guests tables metalic bronze.

Hi flyingpig,
Ya, you are right. The older folks usually prefer the traditional deserts.. Desert buffet too alien to them liao. Haha.. Did you explore the idea of 2 projector screens with carlton? 1 each beside the stage and placed on the floor?

Wow, 15 more days only!!

dear flyingpig,

I have also booked Carlton. I am quite concern about the projector screens. I believe it is not built-in right?

Anyone has photos to share? if any. Dunno ugly or not.

Hi thebsea, to have 2 screens, max tables is 33. Was told that only 1 table's view will be blocked. We are currently looking into trying to achieve that - as my guest list more than that. If not I will have to take 1 screen - more blockages.

Hi germaine, the screens are not built it - even the projectors are portable type. I think it should be alright. Anyway, the photographer will concentrate more on the guests than on the stage. ~ this is my thinking la.

Hi All, my wedding is over at Carlton. All my worries were taken care of. I'm kinda relieved. I've got 32+1 Reserved table. Just nice with 2 portable projector screens at the sides of the stage. The back center tables definitely being blocked and they can't see the screens. We've allocated brothers to sit there cos they are understanding enough to adjust themselves when viewing the montage. Really thanks to them!

Their staffs' services are very good. Alan - the logistic coord is very experienced and nice. No worries cos he can take care of everything.
Zack has very good service! He's real excellent!

The only bad was the servers' service. Not very good leh. So take note of this.

Food wise was 1 of my biggest concern! But many guests feedback the food is ok! Except brocolli a bit hard and mix feedbacks of the sharkfin. Some said not good, some said nice. Haha...
Oh, and we din opt for the wedding dessert in the end. But we requested for mango pudding which is not from the menu. The guests all commented very nice! I din hv chance to try it

All the best for the brides/grooms to be ya!!
Just note of the servers can le.

I've no regret choosing Carlton after all though it might not be the best one. ^^

Pix not ready. Will share when ready if you all want see the ballroom pix!

xinglin (shi40lin) : thanks for the comment! my coordinator is Zack..hehe yah i like his service..very professional..as what you mentioned the servers's svc..i am quite worried oso..do u ask them to serve every dish? or they just left the dish at the centre, and the guests self service? i am still thinking should i opt for self service by guests..coz those relatives and elderly prefer self service lol..haiz..i do not have so much tables..most probably 23-25 tables lol..think shouldnt be a problem coz lesser tables, they can adjust here and there

xinglin: Was it difficult to move around the tables taking photos with 33 tables?

I also have ard the same # of tables as u.. am worried that if i stand at e stage, many tables r been blocked..

Any other reviews on their food? I'm quite interested in their packages as well. AD in Oct 2009 and urgently looking for a place with good food that can accomodate max 16 tables.

Hi melodi, there's not difficulties except for the medium part a bit squeezy only. But it's still fine.

Kaijing, food review very subjective. And somemore i heard carlton food standard varies. So far my guests said the food they served was good.

Glad to knw that the portable screens and projector shd not be a issue. My coordinator is Zack too. So far, I think he is good too

Xinglin- Hope to see ur pixs soon!

Thanks Xinglin for your advice.

But the guests will be blocked if I stand at the stage right?

Am thinking of engaging live projection. Has anyone done that at Carlton b4..

Hi flyingpig,
Good thing u tell me this. Cuz im also in same situation with you. Guest list more than 330 but want to have 2 projector screens leh. Hv to compromise something...

Hi xinglin,
Great to hear from you again. Glad that your wedding was a wonderful one =) Thanks for the advice, will keep in mind.

Hi thebsea, guess it is common that some people can't make it when date is nearer. So always reconfirm attendance 1 week b4 and plus you got to info the hotel how many confirm tables. Well, for me, looks like I can have 2 screens now!!! Yippee hahaha

Anybody has held the wedding lunch at Carlton? or anybody has held at Esplanade room with small group (less then 15 tables)?

Am planning to have around 10~12tables at Carlton as lunch banquet, just want to get some advise from those who have experience there.

Hi ladies, does anyone have the 2010 Weekend Weddding Lunch Package Details and Pricing for Carlton Hotel, including any additional perks? Can email it to me at [email protected] please? Thank you so much.

hi xinglin, glad to know all went for you

my co-ordinator is Zack too and me and hubby are pleased with his service when we signed up last year. Our AD will be on 25.10.09

Hmmm my hubby is in Hotel line so I guess I will feedback to him to take note of the servers le....

Gold theme seems to be the IN thing now eh?

im hving my banquet at carlton in june,and was told by agnes that im not entitled to 2 screens unless we are willingly to pay more. Defintely we will b hving more than 33 tables that night.
Do u thk we wld be able to neg wif her agn?
she hv yet to call us regarding our food tasting and also favours etc...hmmm...any gd advice for brides and grooms that had went thru this?
need the advice...
thanks a million

~ Phew mine is over ('-')v

Food tasting is usually 1 month before the actual day. For my choosing of favours, we did it on another day after food tasting ~ where we did our confirmation of choice of theme etc.

hiya all!

we just booked our banquet with Carlton for 2010.
It was a $40 increased from Y2009 .. from $888 to $928

So far, we are impressed with Agnes' professionalism and the overall package of Carlton. :D

mine will still at the old wing.. Empress ballroom.

They are having reno , starting from Oct 09...
pray hard that they will complete the major overhaul b4 our banquet. x(',')x

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

can i check wif those hu already signed e package.. it indicates Nett. den do i still need to est or round up a higher price somemore?

if old ballroom close for reno, that means couple who hold their wedding during oct 09 to jan 10 will hv their wedding in the new ballroom?

Yipee!

stella, yes, they are of reasonable deposit range... some need 5-6k ofeven 50% eh... hehe

I haven book but top choice is carlton... =D maybe going to her world wedding show..

Michelle

My Ad is 1.5 years later, keen on choosing Carlton as well.. Why is your top choice Carlton??

I heard that Carlton has top class food, but some other friends feed back that their food sucks. So extreme the feedback!

actualy food base is up to individual taste buds ba, heard alot of e people here mentioned that e fiid is nce, and service is gd. But so far haven see the ballroom, it will be combined after the reno, so i tot can go see first b4 really decide on it. Anyway, do u have ani "deadline" that when u wanna sign with ur venue? =D