Carlton Hotel

lovecloud

hmm..blackout??? that is very worrying.I am seriously thinking of changing already if there is renovation going on at the lobby.

ging3r

i hv to say that i am very disappointed with mr z, and i dun think it is due to misunderstanding.
its more like he oversell the new ballroom giving me the rosy impression that i can book now for 2010 nov banquet of min 23 tables.
he told me tat the new ballroom is the mirror image of the current jus tat it has a 7m ceiling and its pillarless.

throughout the whole conversation of our first meeting, our concern is the NEW ballroom.
and i have repeated afew times to confirm that we are talking abt the new ballroom.
and he has confirmed that the new ballroom will be ready after Q2 2010.
as our AD would be held in nov2010, it didnt pose any problem.

and as the above post ive made, i was initially confused as to y u girls are not able to book the newballroom whereas i am.
so i emailed him, requesting for the available dates, and i wrote that i wan the newballroom.
he said the date that i want is still available and that it is on a first come first serve basis.

so throughout the whole month, me n my bf we had carlton as our toplist, considering the perks he is able to give us.
today i called him saying that i would like to confirm my booking and asked him to send me the draft agreement.

i specifically told him i wan the newballroom. guess what he told me ?
oh there are some management changes, u can only book the new ballroom if we have 50-60tables.

can u believe it frm 23 tables to 50tables???!!?!?
that is impossible, then he continued saying that he doesnt want to give empty promises, which i think he alrdy did!
and so now im back to square have to resource another ballroom

very disappointed with them..

ging3r

also, to add on.. he said the pricelist for the newballroom is not oout yet!!
how can that be when he has alrdy quoted me 928nett!
he even said if i book with them now i am able to enjoy this yrs price with a new ballroom

so girls, pls do check out with them before putting down the deposit

i decided not to argue with him, so i jus ask him to send me the old ballrooms draft quote

haiz.....

jr_dragonfly

hey ger..i've got the same acknowledgement letter as urs..u know wat?? we are super angry..we were supposed to hold our wedding lunch in dec..but due to the reno they do not offer any lunch..so they offered us dinner in nov..and we accepted tat..

guess wat?? today they called us again!! being told tat the reno will affect our wedding dinner..they offered us to hold lunch banquet on the initial day in dec!! super angry la..

due to all tis changes..we need to coordinate with solemniser, makeup artist, photographer, videographer...sigh..

wat u'll do if u were us?

sweetcyanide

OMG!!!

ging3r, he allows u to book for nov 2010?? i was planning my wedding in nov 2010 too and i did mentioned about the dates too. Still plan to meet him next tues.. should i just cancel the appointment since things are so bad now? he also gave me the price list as well as some other pricing info...

with the booking allowed to the increase no of tables, keep rearranging the dates for zhenting's case, i feel that he is very unprofessional.

Initially i wanna give up carlton coz i was quite pissed. i emailed to asked for the package. someone replied me. So i replied back with some questions and tat person who emailed me the package keep asking for the groom's name!! i have emailed so many hotel and none asked for more details. i ended up giving the groom's name after a few emails. Only than, very much later, then mr z replied.

i was quite pissed that they are so persistent in some info which is totally not required. and now with feedback from you gals, i really dont know if i should proceed to meet up with him or just cancel the appointment.

ZhenTing, is it too late to demand for a refund? how can they keep changing the dates for u? he should understand that there are couple who have to choose certain dates..

holiday_ger

hi Zhen Ting,

i'm not aware carlton offer lunch package.

the nov date which they offer u is a weekday or weekend? i understand the reno only on weekday but not weekend. would u like to elaborate how is the reno going to affect ur wedding base on nov date?

btw, if u can't find a better replacement hotel, the only thing u can do is LL lor.

carebearz

I can't remember the details about the blackout but it was in the papers. If I remember correctly, the couple was Indonesian or they had a lot of overseas guests and they threaten to sue or something. Maybe can do a google search and see if can dig out some news.

As to the ever-changing polices, could it be coz there are other couples? This happened to me when I was enquiring at Raffles Hotel. When I went down to look at the venue, the coordinator told me upfront that they are running a business. So for them, it will be ebay style,
'highest bidder wins'. She said if there are 3 couples who are keen on the same date, same room, she will offer it to whoever can pay the highest deposit or have the most number of guests.

Kind of put me off as I thought that most hotels will usually reserve the date for the couple and if the couple does not respond or reject by a certain dateline, then the hotel will give the date to the next couple in the waiting list.

Could Carlton be adopting the same policy as Raffles? Just my thoughts...don't sue me. haha.

ging3r

jacq,

yes he let me book for nov 2010.. but its the old ballroom.. my advise is tat u shud go down n meet him.. see wat he says.. he might be offering different things to diff couple..
u can also confirm with him if the new ballroom requires 50 tables as wat he told me..

but if u r ok with the old ballroom, then i think it shudnt post much problem..
i must say the perks he is able to give us is quite attractive tats y i wanted to sign up with them..
but now he said there are new requirements..
so too bad i guess =/

care,
i doubt carlton is using such tactics.. afterall raffles hotel is very reputable..
its carlton not ritz carlton ahha..

bpchew

hi people,

My gf and I is another couple being affected by the Carlton everchanging reno plan. I'm totally pissed off by all this. When a couple decides to cancel the wedding banquet package, hotel will ask the couple to pay all the banquet package in full. So now a hotel cannot deliver, should the hotel compensate us in full? Any lawyers here? Could you please kindly advise us? I think we should consider taking legal action against the hotel.

holiday_ger

hi chew boon peng, r u the "uncle chew" from TP? :p

by contractual term, we only booked the ballroom. As long as the ballroom is intact on our wedding day, we hv no case against carlton. tat's why they only compensate the couple "out of goodwill"

wat we can do is to make them look bad. but again, after some time ppl will forget..

juz like the blackout case.. future ppl dun really care.. wat they care most is no hitcups on their wedding day..

so to carlton, they only hv to wait.. wait for ppl to forget and they will go back to them again.

sweetcyanide

ging3r, sigh, really thought of canceling the meeting cause i dont feel good abt this hotel and mr z. anymore... i guess i shall think about it 1st... if i go, i shall do some updates here..
(if only i am willing to dump more money.. ritz carlton... whahaha!!)

boon peng, u plan to take legal actions?? probably to take back ur deposit and some compensation? is there any T&C when u sign with them??
To think of it, both ways are so unfair to the couples...

Ger, i didnt know abt the blackout case until u gals mentioned and it does somehow affect my decision...

carebearz

All the more, Raffles is a reputable hotel, they shouldn't be doing this right? Oh well..

Jacqueline:
The blackout thing was probably a one-off case. Usually new hotels or hotels that have just undergone reno will get teething problems. Maybe check with Carlton and see if they've got emergency backup plans should it happens.

Saw this on another forum:-
Fri, May 29, 2009
AsiaOne

Hotel 'rules' made her wedding a potential nightmare

If you want to have your wedding dinner at our hotel, you have to promise not to wear your wedding gown or evening gown, and you cannot greet your guests at the hotel lobby either.

These were the 'rules' laid down by a Singapore hotel for a bride who's wedding was to have taken place there this weekend.

According to the mother of the bride, Mrs Liang, 50, the family was informed of these 'rules' only four days before.

Mrs Liang said that her daughter, a 28-year-old Singaporean engineer, decided to marry her long-time boyfriend, who was from Sabah, Malaysia.

As the couple planned to hold a larger-scaled wedding dinner in Sabah, they decided on booking only five tables for their Singaporean wedding dinner, inviting only their family and a few close friends.

"In early March this year, we decided on this hotel in downtown Singapore. We found the hotel's prices to be very reasonable, offered good food and was at a good location." Mrs Liang told Chinese evening daily Lianhe Wanbao.

According to Mrs Liang, a $500 deposit was also made.

However, as the big day approached, no one from the hotel contacted Mrs Liang. It was when Mrs Liang called the hotel yesterday did she learn of the 'rules'; the wedding dinner was to be held on Sunday, a mere four days later.

"The hotel staff told me that there was another couple getting married on that day, and they had booked 40 tables. As we've only booked five tables with them, the hotel said that my daughter was not allowed to wear her wedding gown or even an evening gown to the event." Mrs Liang told Wanbao.

The mother of the bride also told Wanbao that the couple was banned from receiving their guests at the hotel's lobby, and were confined to the VIP room while awaiting for their guests to arrive.

"I really don't understand. Does this mean that we're being sidelined because we've only booked five tables?

"The hotel even stopped by daughter from wearing a wedding gown. Do they expect her to get married wearing jeans and a t-shirt then?"

In its reply to Lianhe Wanbao, a spokesman from the hotel confirmed that it received a complaint from Mrs Liang. However, the spokesman added that the terms and conditions regarding the wedding dinner were described to Ms Liang (the bride) when she booked the dinner earlier this year.

"As we have another couple hosting their wedding dinner at the hotel that night, we have to respect the wishes of that couple as well. Ms Liang was informed of the circumstances when she made the booking, and agreed to the terms before she paid a deposit.", the spokesman told Wanbao.

Responding to Mrs Liang's complaint, the hotel said that it was a miscommunication that resulted in the disagreement and that it has already returned the deposit.

An industry expert that Lianhe Wanbao spoke to said that in cases like these, couples with larger bookings will have priority.

"As the other couple might have made a 40-table booking earlier, and also requested that there be only one couple at the lobby, the hotel would have to accommodate those requests. In cases like these, couples with smaller bookings will be asked to co-operate.

However, the expert said that other couples affected by such circumstances would be informed in advance, and that the hotels would also try to make alternate arrangements so that both events will meet the couples' expectations.

For Mrs Liang, however, the terms laid down by the hotel were far from satisfactory.

"When the hotel informed me of these terms, I requested for a refund of my deposit on the spot. I managed to make a booking with another hotel, and the other hotel never made such unreasonable requests."

This is even worse, wonder which hotel that is..

ev3

hi all brides to be here,

i have not visited this forum for some time & i am also like you, considering carlton for Q4 2010. it has been on our top list since a mth ago. to clarify and share, when we met Mr Z in late Mar, Mr Z told us out front that we cannot book new ballroom and the current rates 928nett is only applicable for the present ballroom. He also did not want to promise us anything and we felt it was reasonable. Only 2 wks ago, we asked him to draft the contract for our review and i wrote to him we need 1 month to finalise.

just 2 nights ago, i got a shock email from him. he mentioned there is another couple who has made guarantee downpayment on the same date as us and wan our confirmation soon. i wrote back and felt confused as we thought we are the first couple who bk the date. anyway, wat do you interpret by this?

"As such the venue will still be make available if there is another party who would like to have the same venue with a guaranteed down payment."

I duno what he is saying..
& felt pressured to make a decision soon while there are so much issues highlighted in this forum about Carlton...

sweetcyanide

Ev3, actually that's very common. Usually they will tentatively book the dates for you till a certain time. So if let's say there is another couple who is interested in the same date and is making confirmation by willing to pay deposit, the coordinator will contact you to inform you. Then you have 24 or 48 hrs (depending on the hotels) to make a decision if u wanna confirm or release. If you wanna confirm, you will have to go down and make a deposit. If not, they will release it to the couple who is willing to confirm and pay deposit.

ev3

Jac, thanks!

Glad Mr Z called today to clarify. i got wat he is saying now. nods. will have to make a decision real soon!

I am also paranoid...

sweetcyanide

ev3, u might have to think how confirm u want this hotel and if u release it, will u regret.. this is very important... but if u still have other alternatives, den u might really need to release coz quite unfair to keep the other couple waiting.

edea_12

huh? I was still considering Carlton coz I tot Wah Lok food should be alright.
Now I worry coz don't seem to see any good feedback on the thread at all.

The date that I want is Mar 2010. It's kinda late now to book any hotels, most hotels are taken up.
Panic Panic...

carebearz

My take is don't count on the resident Chinese restaurant when one is making a decision on the hotel. Many hotels have resident Chinese restaurant that serves really good food but when it comes to wedding banquet, the food doesn't come out from the restaurant's kitchen.

The banquet food usually come from another even bigger catering kitchen within the hotel.
So just because the resident Chinese restaurant serves good food does not mean that you can expect the same standard at the banquet. I've been to really good Chinese restaurants in hotels and their food taste totally different during banquets. I believe the head chef usually conceptualises the dishes but they do not put their best men forward to cook the banquet unless it's some VIP banquet.

milky_kio

Have not visited this thread for quite a while. Was reading thru the comments posted in the past 1 month. It can be frustrating when there are a lot of changes and nothing seems to be firmed.. Been thru that too when Rose (previous coordinator) left but now it is okie..

I did hear from my coordinator that there is a change in the management recently (so it might be true). I think there were some changes when the new management took over

I guess discussing with the coordinator face-to-face helps a lot. Usually my HTB will call up our coordinator if we dont understand anything.. At least it will minimize the miscommunication.. but their schedule can be quite packed cos couples are usually free only on weekday nights or weekends.. Actually can be quite poor thing. I think their working hours are much longer than me..

I just went for my food tasting.. Generally the food is good, no complain.. I feel that the food (from Carlton) is better than the other food tasting of another hotel.

Anyway, will be having my AD soon.. will tell ur if there is any difference in terms of the food.

Edea, end of the day, it really depends on what you like.. I am glad that the renovation is not affecting the old building so less headache for me! Else, this will definitely be one of my considerations.. I like the long aisle in the old ballroom and the "cosy" environment.. The long aisle is like walking down the church
But i dont really like the pillars.. so give n take..

blinky03

When I enquired and subsequently booked carlton, i never encountered this issue of carlton asking for highest bidder that sort of thing. they did tell me some dates are pending couple's decision hence tentatively blocked so i dont think it's a highest bidder system there.

rebeana

I have seen and read that many people are excited about the new ballroom and is wondering arn't you all scared that the new ballroom does not turn out to be nice? Its quite risky to judge based on the photos itself right?

carebearz

I would be more worried about the technical problems with new places. With new places, the possibility of music going off halfway, lights going out, the service staff can't get their act together etc are very high. So if it were me, I wouldn't wanna be one of the first few couples to take a new ballroom.

Any hotel, no matter how many stars they have, will be prone to such problems with new places.

piggypig04

So anyone taking up their wedding packages for next year.. after the reno n upgrade? Heard it ends by Sep.. according to Joanna..

ellentg

Hi all, anyone taking the Esplanade Room and managed to negotiate for more perks from the standard package? Mind sharing what are the additional perks you get?

Have met up with them today... Tried to nego for more perks but all rejected
and it doesn't help that my HTB and I are not good in negotiation.

Thanks in advance for sharing

ellentg

Hi Oh,

They only willing to offer me whatever stated on the package. You already have a copy of the package? Can download from their website.

Esplanade Room has less perks compared to the bigger Empress Room. e.g. Esplanade Room has no free barrel of beer.

So... Wondering if anyone managed to nego for more perks for Esplanade Room leh.

gerine

Hi Elle,.. think they r quite firm about more perks.. ya..Empress Room have free flow of beer.. btw when is ur wedding?

ellentg

Hi Gerine, you have tried negotiating with them before? Whatever we asked, we just get a flat "no" from them.

My AD will be 31 Jul 2010. Yours?

gerine

Ya.. Their is very standard.. think they want to be fair to all.. Mine is on the 23rd Jan.. Going for the food tasting next mth..

ellentg

Gerine your AD is coming soon liao... Congrats ^_^ You taking the Empress Room or Esplanade Room?

When I went there last week, the place looked alright... The hoarding was actually quite nicely done so it wasn't unsightly though the renovation is still on-going. There were 2 weddings that night.

suzysue

Hi Ellen,

I signed up for the Esplanade room. My AD is gg to be held on 18 Dec 2010. I merely got watever's offered in the standard package. Managed to negotiate for the usual day-use room etc. No beer. But it doesn't really bother me lah.

ellentg

Hi Suzy, thanks for your info
Yea you reminded me... I need a day room but I forgot to ask~!

Erm just wondering, how many coordinators are there in Carlton?

ev3

I signed mine in March for Explanade Room. My AD is 19 Sept 2010.

Am considering whether to upgrade to Empress Room.

Gerine - you just signed up recently? Has the reno at Empress Room been completed? I havent been there since Mar >.<

suzysue

Ellen: U better enquire about the day-use room soon. I made my coordinator, Simon, write it down on the receipt.

Ev3: I went to Carlton not dat long ago. I didn't see any reno works gg on at Empress Room. I was told by Simon dat they might do some reno to it. But I dun think it has started leh. Or maybe I didnt notice.

gerine

Ev3 : I went thr 2 wks ago.. saw some cardboard on the floor of the empress room.. but din know wat reno they r doing thr.. If ur AD is on Sept then i think u should b using the new ballroom right?

ev3

ah ladies, i made a mistake here. the ballroom i signed up is Empress Room, not Explanade room.

The new ballroom is a different package rate if I am correct.

ariescyy

This is my first comment here. I went to meet their wedding coordinator last week and found that Carlton Hotel will be very impressive after the renovation done especially thier lobby. It looks even better than many 5 stars hotel. I plan to make a booking on their existing ballroom since the package is cheaper than the new ballroom by SGD60. The existing ballroom is not bad at all as compare to many hotels that i went except M Hotel. M Hotel Suite Ballroom is the best. Very exclusive and elegant. But as a whole package still think Carlton is a better choice. The existing ballroom is going to renovate soon too as feed back by the coordinator (Joanna).

Could someone pls share with me what are the perks that i can negotiate with them or what are the perks they are offering? Cause i don't think i have any interesting extra perks offering by her. Kindly adv...Thanks

ellentg

Haha sounds like my question earlier :p erm not sure about Empress Room, but for myself (Esplanade Room), I didn't manage to get any extra perks apart from what is stated in the package. They seem quite firm about their perks like what other btbs have mentioned earlier.

Maybe someone with better luck out there can advise...? Hee hee

ariescyy

It is a bit ridiculous charging at SGD900+ per table and yet you need to pay the corkage charge for the opened wine. I will fight hard for this.