Carlton Hotel

Thanks for your comments

I've no regret to choose steamed seabass for my banquet, yo...

Hi serence n chibi, when i went for food tasting, the fish tasted bad, had never had a fish so muddly smell. what cooking style do u use n do u know whether the fishes used r live ones? r they sea or farm rear?

hehe I chose the steam ones.....I am not sure whether the fishes are live lah, sea lah or farm rear...kekeke maybe you have to check with your co-ordinator

Hi Jenny,

Which type of fish and cooking style you choosed for your food tasting?

I choosed stamed seabass in yellow bean sauce.

I will go to my food tasting 2 weeks later, I can only know the real taste by then.

hi, serene. yes i did but they will not know how bad it is since they did not try it.
hi, chibi, what is yellow bean sauce, is it tao si?

Hi Jenny,

Yeah but I am sure they will take note of it. Basically there's nothing much you can do to ensure that the fish that they served doesn't turn up muddy on your AD. Maybe you can keep emphasising to your co-ordinator or even change dish??

hihi, all BTB of Carlton, i also tht of holding my wedding there & happen to come into tis forum to take a look, i did attend 1 of my friends wedding there some where tis yr & find tat there service is good, any comment form u all ?

Hi Jenny,

I think yellow bean sauce should be HK style (jiang qi). What is the cooking style u choose for your food tasting?

Hi Babykoh,

I feel Carlton wedding package is quite comprehensive. And the location of the hotel is good. You can call up the banquet sales and arrange a viewing with them

Hi Jenny,

Oic... may b u try yellow beans sauce, which may able to cover the fish smell.

Besides fish, how's the other dishes taste? Gd or not??

So far i tried the following...
1) A Combination of Pig Shank, Roasted Duck, Soya Cicken, Top Shell & Spring
Roll
2) Braised Shark's Fin with Dried Seafood
3) Braised Black Mushroom with Lettuce
4) Sauteed Shrimps with Cashew Nut and Pepper
5) Steamed Sea Bass in Thai Style
6) Roasted Crispy Chicken
7) Braised Ee-Fu Noodles
8) Red Bean Paste with White Lily & Lotus Seeds

Not much complaints from both side of parents...

find the 1st cold dish very good starter!

for me..i find tt no weird taste or smell leh...

overall the food is good leh...

intend to keep tis menu for wedding nite...

hehe if you really think so much hor, you will never find the perfect solution. What I think during the AD dinner, what matter most is the atmosphere and no hiccups to the event. Cannot think too much lah!

Just relax and enjoy your day!

no prob. Any suggestion is to change to deepfried, it will at least hide the muddy taste but some don't like it deep fried, so I guess it's personal choice

just dun care so much lar... the main thing abt pple attending ur wedding is to share the joy, to see the couple getting married.. not the food or wat

those who complain so much abt food nt fresh lar.. this not good tt not good.. u got to think back what are they trying to imply...

=X

Want to chk with you...

(1) If I have 10 pax vegetarian or Malay for my banquet, can I split them up into different tables (cos different friend) and serve seperately?

(2)Will the co-ordinator contact me to confirm the details (like theme, songs, guest gift) when the banquet comes nearer? If yes, how long b4 the banquet they will contact me??

I'm with Carlton as well.

If i'm not mistaken for any changes to the type of fish say from sea bass to pomfret or garoupa, a top up of $30 per table is required. Hence on this note, dun think pomfret or garoupa is considered "cheap".

For Soon Hock, think there's alot of fish bone, hence abit troublesome.

Hope this helps..

Hi Chibi,

For vegetarian or malay, if you sit them with diners who will be taking the normal foodfare, Carlton will charge each vegetarian/muslim food individually.Each pax price will be your package price for table of 10, divided equally.

The co-ordinator will contact you about 1 month before your AD. But the best is to give them a call instead as sometimes they may overlook.

Are you meaning:
For example if I have 10 person (1 table) that is vegetarian, but if I spread them into different table, Carlton will also charge add'l "per head" charge for 10 times for my banquet?

I confirmed with them based on my contract when I signed, which is 32 tables, but I increased mine to 34 eventually, so it was 34+2 reserved

Hi Jennie,

I've signed up with Carlton too.

If you confirm 31 tables and above, they will give you 2 reserved table. 30 tables and below, they will only allow 1 reserved table.

I am new here and considering Carlton as the final choice. Have yet to meet any coordinator yet but wondering about what perks can we 'bargain' for?

Hi miracle,

When is your actual date? Cuz mine will be in dec as well and afraid that it will clash with yours.

RinSan

hey gers, just read today's newspapers. Carlton having wedding show on 21 October. Do you think we could get complimentary tickets to the show?

Hey gal...

I emailed my coordinator and she say Carlton dun give complimentary tickets leh...
She say UOB cards got discount though. LOL

so sad... but anyway, do you think those who have signed up with Carlton can in anyway get the perks which they give on that day?

Don't think so. Have asked my coordinator few months back and the answer is NO.

Cos that time i wanted to wait till the wedding show then sign up but then someone else wants to book my date. So no choice i have signed up already based on the current package.

Any difference if u book your banquet during the wedding show or on normal days?

Think the price is the same. Am I right? Perks not sure...

any carlton brides can share with me your AD photos? did u receive any bad comments from ur guests? how about the food, service and ambience?thanks!