Carlton Hotel

binkies

hi faintz,

I was planning on serving the guests with 1 barrel beer first then more wine. So that they will get drunk sooner and will drink whatever is on the table. *evil grin*
Of course, my parents will not allow that as they believe in providing everything to the guests (which I am sure I don't know many of them)while I believe in providing what I can.

BTW, do you think I can wear a black cheong sum at the banquet?

chipdale1910

Hi Happigirl,

I agree with wat Faintz said as i also under Eunice. I also cross my fingers too. (Hope tat nothing will goes wrong) Hehehe.

As wat faintz said, maybe u can take d empress ballroom, more spacious for the guests.
U can also ask for more carpark coupons & cards.

Hi Faintz,

How is ur preps? Long time have nt heard fm u le...

Hi Binkies,
Well, it depends on u & ur PIL whether do they mind u wearing black cheong sum at the banquet. Of cos, it all depends on ur preference. It's ur wedding, rite?

faintz

Hi,Binkies

Black Cheong Sum? Cool mann... I wanted that too but my FH say no no..cos his parents will frown definately and my mum said better not too. haizzz.. I guess it is up to you whether you can tahan people's comments or not.. but like what chipdale said - It is your wedding..u make the call!

Hi, chipdale

I selected my gowns already, dun quite like my evening gown, very wayang, i felt..but never mind lar.. wear for that night only.. what matters most is life after marriage, ya.. My PS will be early dec. after that, we will be dealing with hotel stuff liao.. how abt you?

sereneli

Sorry for the late response. Was away in Perth for a short holiday.

Binkies, do you still need the sample for the inserts? If you do, drop me a email. I ever have a friend who wore a black EG, it was stunning and she received rave reviews for her gowns but that's also partly becos her parents and in-laws were open to it

As for taking pics in Carlton, I did asked last time for my PS and they were ok with it, let your co-ordinator know and I am sure he/she can help.

happigal

Hi Faintz, Binkies, Chipdale

Many thanks for your advice. I would love to have the Empress Room but my guest list is not enough to meet their min 28 tables. I think the date I wanted is also blocked for the Empress Rm. Sigh.

If Eunice is so blur, am not sure how much we can rely on her leh.. this is worrying cos there are already so many things to look into when planning a wedding. Hence, I dont want the additional "stress" to have to chase after the co-ordinator and worry whether she does the rite things or not.

In anycase, have you thought of changing a co-cordinator at any point of time ?

I have read a lot about your wonderful experience with Carlton. So envy, you have such a good co-ordinator....

Please can you email photos to me? My email is [email protected]. Thanks !

Any advice for me or things to take note for Carlton ?

Cheerio !!

chipdale1910

Hi Faintz,

Why not u choose ur EG again? If u can't change, then stick to the one u choose. Well, if it looks still alright,as wat u said, u jus wear for d nite. I think it will look nice on d photos. Hehehe. It's true, it matters after marriage life tat both of u have to spend d rest of lifetime, right?

I try my gowns this Dec. Shld be taking PS either b4 or after CNY. Depends on my hubby working schedule.

I have jus confirmed my AD PG & video PG. I'm now looking ard for wedding shoes & now i am drafting out my table arrangements. Kekeke.

How's is ur honeymoon at Perth? Must show me photos hor, kekeke.

Hi Happigal,

No problem. If there is d case, then no choice. Dun wori, jus make ur wedding day a memorable one, ok... Same goes to other brides here.
kao_wedding.gif

Changing of co-ordinator? I'm not sure leh. Sori.

binkies

hi ,

I have went to arab street to search for fabric. Seems that a black CS is workable if I can find the right type of sequins to sew on it.
Never the less I also have something to share.

Found out that there are 2 photo shops at bras basah complex that can do "classic" wedding photo albums. To give you an idea abt what the album is like, go to thomson wedding and view their "classic" album.
So heres how it goes. It cost abt $4-6 to develop a 8R photo. Of cos, 4R will be even cheaper Then the album cost $45 (from the fuji photo shop). They will help you laminate the 8R photo at $4 each. The album has 20 pages, so summing it up, it probably cost $225. If you go to www.fotohub.com , you pay $1.80 for each 8R (i think its some promo now)
You will have to use double sided tape to stick your pic to the album. I hope that you girls will find this info useful especially for those who takes services from freelance photographer or want to do a photo collage.

binkies

Hi faintz,

I agree with chipdale that if you dont like it,. change it. The pictures are going to "haunt" you for life if its a dress that you dont like.

Hi serene, thanks, i will try to use my software to figure it out. I hope I can type out the correct chinese characters.

Hi happigal,
If you dont like your co-ordinator, change it. You are the one paying. Or speak to Kelvin directly about your concerns. I am sure that to get your sale, he will accomodate.
However, I don't believe in reliance on "external parties". Nothing against them but I can see that they have to handle weddings and various appointments with different customers having different requests too. Therefore, its no doubt that hiccups can be possible.
If possible, get yourself a friend to act as a cooridinator to help you. If not, if I am still in Singapore on your actual day, I can help you "manage" them. :D

sereneli

hi happigal,
I have sent you my pics. As for what to look out for, I guess it's a matter of what you would expect from them, communication is the word. Try to communicate with your co-ordinator as much as possible so that he/she has an idea of what you want. But for the actual day itself, ur actual person to liase will be the banquet manager, who will be a great help to you definitely.

Hi Chipdale,
Will upload the pics later

Hi Binkies,
No prob, if you need my sample, let me know.

faintz

Hi,Serene
Oh.. you went Perth.. no wonder din see you around..must be an enjoyable trip!

Hi, Binkies/ Chipdale
Not changing the gown already, very ma fan..still can make do with it..MY BS coordinator said i look good in it and will look nice for photo shooting.. Keep my finger crossed for that.. ha ha..

Chipdale - wa.. you so fast finding shoes and doing seat arrangement liao? I might be doing all these next year..

I am wondering whether to buy new heels for Photo shooting or just wear something I have (but not very nice heels lar).. I will definaterly buy a pair for actual day..

What do you girls say?

sereneli

Hi Faintz,

Yeah, had an enjoyable trip but too short a holiday lah...kekeke

I think you can skip the shoes for the PS if you don't want to buy, cos they won't do close up of your shoes, unlike AD.

happigal

Hi Binkies, Faintz, Serene, Chipdale

Thanks for all your advice. Ya, guess I have to communicate more with the wedding co-ordinator to ensure that everything goes smoothly.

Really enjoyed "talking" to you though... and may need to consult you gals further as i move along....

and Binkies, am very happy and thanks for offering to "manage" the co-ordinator for me.
will let you know should i need help.

chipdale1910

Thanks for d pics link. U & ur hubby must have a great time at Perth.

Hi Faintz,

I think i will choose my gowns 1st b4 i buy my shoes. At least, i will like to noe what colour is suitable for both WG & EG? Heehee..

sereneli

Hi Happigal,
No problem, this forum is meant to share right?

Hi Chipdale,
yeah, had an enjoyable time except that my hubby fell sick

Gals : For your info, Metro will have a storewide 20% on Nov 11 to Nov 13, so you may want to check out their shoes. Saw in their brochure there's quite a few nice shoes under SoGlam label. Check it out

faintz

Hi,Serene/ chipdale

Ya, I am thinking of cut cost a bit by just wearing the one I have though not classy.. dun think they will focus so much on the toes for photoshooting session so I will skip pedicure as well :p

Aiya, I will miss the sale at Metro liao cos I will be only bangkok, setting off tomorrow and coming back next mon..guess there will be other sales going forward..

Hi, Happigal

U are welcomed!

I now very sad cos got a lot of breakouts on my face which seldom happen.. u , gals got any good suggestions, be it cream or gel or supplements or any other method to bring them down?

sereneli

Hi Faintz,

If that's the case, just communicate with your photographer not to take close up of your feet can liao lah :D

Wow Bangkok....shiok shiok eh, enjoy yourself.....As for the sale, more to come since its the christmas season

Better to let it heal by itself as putting on something may just aggrevate the matter. Sleep more and drink lots of water :D

sereneli

Hi Gerbera,

Haha got! Heart-shaped ang pow box, wedding favours in bulk, unique pens for guest to sign in or for your co-ordinators to use, nice boxes for decorating and putting in ur jewelleries, chuang tou lamps etc......All these can be found in chatuchak!

jam75

serene,
how much u paid for the heart shape ang pow box?? mi get my bro fren to buy...she said like TB600 to TB1200...v ex leh....but thought should be quite cheap....do u hv any pic to show yr heart shape ang pow box???

jam75

serene,
yr heart shape ang pow box v nice loh...but v ex leh...thought shd b cheaper so ask his fren to get if for mi then realize not cheap but since they buy liow then shuan le....

sereneli

hi jam,

cos it can't fit inside the safe in the hotel, so to avoid troubling my helpers, I used one that's smaller and also easier to open to retrieve the ang pows to store in the safe.

This heart shaped one is good and secured cos it needs screw driver then can open. Hubby also said, kinda wierd to bring screw driver along too keke

binkies

hows everyone? sorry for being "inactive" for a couple of days.

Heres a couple of questions that may need your suggestions.

1. Do you mind abt having a BMW as a wedding car but doesnt have a nice license number? E.g. 407

2. Do you get nervous abt getting married? Do your other half get that too?

3. I am considering if I shld still book a room at Scarlet hotel (they don't allow photography) or should I book beaufort at sentosa since I am going to Sentosa for photoshoot.

binkies

Faintz: serene is right abt letting it heal naturally. I tried putting lots of pimple cream on one big acne, the pimple did subside but it hardens and become a little bump on my nose. Theres nothing I can do to it now. Frankly on the contrary to whats mostly suggested, I prefer to squeese the pus from the pimple when its ready. If I had done that (according to a beautician, the bump will not have formed.)

jennie

hi everyone ...i'm new here....i have also book carlton for my wedding next yr..think my cooordinator is jason??is he gd

binkies

Hi jennie,
welcome to this thread. I am handled by Jason. He is not bad, seems sincere and willing to work things out for you. But no matter how good a coordinator is, I will still follow up closely and not to rely on them 100%

ebell

Yes Ah Mei, Ur house all done up ?
When yours?? I thinking of taking up their wkday package for my 2nd day wedding. Urs confirm yet? Can ask for wat perks ar?

faintz

Hi, everyone..

I am back from Bangkok! Shiok mann!!! it is really shopping and eating.. if any of you going to bangkok, i will recommend you all to go suan lum night bazzar. I find the weekend market so so only.MBK is another good shopping place but dun expect too much bargain..

Hi, Binkies
thanks for the advice on the pimples..I brought my pimples to bangkok and I brought extra one more back to Spore

I dun quite mind the number plate so long it is not lousy no like 444..I do get nervous about getting married but my FH doesn't. Somehow I will get a bit freak out and tot of cancel everything.. kind of pre-marraige sympton
Beaufort at sentosa will be nice and is convenient for you too mah..

sereneli

Hi Faintz,

Shiok right? I am still trying to persuade my hubby to go in Jan for shopping....keke but he's quite firm not to go this time....don't know why

I think hor...teochew or a certain dialect like 4444......hearsay lah

tulipz

hi anyone can share with me the carlton package?
pls email me at [email protected]
thanks loads...

last min i might not be able to get the hotel so now must resource again.. can share with me any pros and cons also?

assirac

Does anyone have the pics for Carlton hotel's ballroom? Was wondering if Carlton is a 3 star or 4-star hotel.... any idea anyone?

I tot the food would be nice, and the price is well within me and my FH's budget, hence we are shortlisting this venue, anyone has any comments about the decor/housekeeping of this hotel?

Anyone knows if carlton will be having a bridal fair soon?

sereneli

Hi Tupliz,
For Carlton's package, you can log on to http://www.carlton.com.sg/weddings.htm for more details.

Hi Assirac,
Carlton is a 4 star business hotel. Please leave your email address so that I can send you a link to my pics. Decor for banquet is quite standard, but the cleaniness of the hotel is great. For your info, the toiletries for the Bridal Suite is by Crabtree & Evelyn.

Carlton's bridal fair is over. Usually held in October period.

chipdale1910

Hi Faintz,

Enjoyed ur trip hor. So u must have bought a lot of things back to Spore.

As wat Serene & Binkines say, let the pimples heal by urself. If not, it will leave scars. Drink more water as the recent weather is very bad!

As for the no: 444, i think Cantonese pple will not like it eg, me... Hehehe...

Serene, u still rem the toiletries brand? Hehhe.. I tink u must those days, rite?

suetan

I was supposed to go for the bridal show but my bil hospitalised suddenly due to dengue.....Wonder if there will be any perks nt...n the next wedding show hw long later will it be.... Jason jus replied my email...

tulipz

thanks serene!

i went to see it today but sad to see that it has low ceiling and so many pillars..
just wondering if i have 30-35 tables would any tables be blocked?

can anyone advise if the view and ambience is nice? thanks...

sereneli

Hi Assirac,
Have mailed to you. Co-ordinators cannot choose, I think they allocate based on FH's surname.

Hi Tulipz,
Yeah, I had 2 table that was blocked as I had 34 tables with 2 tables for reserved. Low ceiling has its advantages as it makes the place looks more cosy. Ambience is good. View is not too bad as your march-in aisle is long

tulipz

oo that's good to hear.. i dun mind a cosy area as long as ambience is nice =)
the tables that were block .. were they block totally or just 3/4 of the ppl on the table were blocked?

thanks a lot.. wil be going down tml to check it out with all the decor around =)

sereneli

Hi Tulipz,

It's only 3/4 of the table that's blocked but if you have 30 tables, you may want to put those tables that are blocked as reserved etc. Can change the layout abit, just feedback your concerns to the co-ordinator.

faintz

Hi, Tulipz

Ya, agreed with Serene. I have 35 tables plus 2 reserved, even worse.. but trying to have 35 + 1 instead but coordinator says usually is 35+2. Anyway, I will to make it 36 in total, dun wan a squeezy feeling..one thing you need to take note is that the table right in front might not be able to see the projector on the stage so you might wan to consider to put that as reserved tables.

faintz

Hi, Chipdale

Never buy a lot of things.. the bargaining is so fun but provided must buy lar at the end of the day.. their art craft is great.. can go there shop for home decor, very suitable place. traffic is not as bad as before too..

I went to see a doctor for my pimples, sounded bad, right? but i really can't stand it keep popping up.hope the medication helps.. finger crossed..

anyone here knows about ampolues (wrong spelling, i think)? what is that and how to use?

assirac

Thanks for the email! Too bad connection in office is too slow, have to wait till i get home then can see the pic.

Anyone took the solemnization package thingy from carlton also? me planning to ROM and banquet on the same day. If can do both in the same hotel will be much easier .... :p