Carlton Hotel

hamster_gal

hi bliss,
why not request for another coordinator? when i first called up carlton, i was directed to a lady but her attitude not so good... then a few days later, i called up again and kelvin happened to pick up the phone so he became my coordinator and he's quite good and he's the banquet manager i think

ya noticed that this year package not as attractive as last year, no free wine also and prices more expensive. but last sat all those who signed up won prizes rite?

binkies

I only have 15 tables. So based on the small scale of wedding, I dont get the free tasting. And I have to pay for the beer at $650+++
Jason is helpful and nice, can see that he works hard for my deal so I won't make life too difficult for him as long as its a fair deal.
Yeah, I won the perfume hamper (wished that it was cash instead; so that I wont have to drink the perfume) and my mum took the prize on my behalf. Hmmm, did anyone wonder why is a middle aged woman up there?
hahahahaha

faintz

congrats Binkies! at least you won something mah..when is your Big DAy? think Jason is good and he is your coordinator, guess you can be assure that things will go nice nice for you...

binkies

thanks faintz.
Big day is on 9th of jan.
Jason just called me today and I was telling him abt changing certain items in the menu especially cuttlefish. We are a cantonese family, so sauteed cuttlefish i.e. fried cuttlefish sounds really bad. :D

faintz

hi, binkies

ya, i agreed abt the cuttlefish.. my FH family also wan that dish to be out..they are cantonese too.. did you ask jason about whether the hotel can put some deco on the stage..

binkies

Hi faintz,

I will be meeting him this week. Have seen the "oriental" deco but only 80% pleased with it. They use a red backdrop with a large wrought-iron structure to hold tea light candles. Its nice, except that they use a red light to shine on the backdrop. i like it but Dad thinks that it looks like an old haunt house from "qian4 nu3 you1 huen2". :D
So I am planning to change it to a white background with red fabric draping across. And I will request for the some gold ribbons or red organza to tie around the floral stands of Esplanade room. The floral stands used in that room is made of bamboo. Mum thinks that resembles funeral too. Sigh!

I am hoping to get 2 tear-drop shaped lanterns but the shop in Arab street only have pink and purple left. It cost abt $59 for a relatively large one. If you like oriental concept you might like to consider getting lanterns (not sure if Carlton's decorator has that available).
The tealight candle holder used on every guests table is very pretty and accompanied by their sigature teddy bear favor, its just perfect.
So Carlton's concept of oriental is to use more red in their decor. Therefore I hope that Jason is able to help me on "improving" the deco however I also understand that it largely depends on what their decorator can do.
Besides deco concern, I am also fed-up with finding music. I guess I will have a weird mixture of shanghai oldies jazz with classical from Bach. Hubby loves classical and I like oriental feel. Guess what, just like us (an odd couple), we are going to go with odd music mix too. :D

So what dishes are you picking? And when is your BIG day?

faintz

Hi,binkies
My AD is till far away.. in June 06.. ha ha.. that is why we are still relax relax with the preparation.in fact we got all excited at the vry start and worry this worry that but later the excitement slowly faded..maybe we will get excited all over again when the AD draws nearer..

we seen their menu & knew what we wanted. we top up extra for abalone dish cos my parents always felt that got abalone means got face.. old people's thinking..

your parent's comments are very funny..but i agree that the hotel is very oriental.. i am not sure abt the decor yet.. I tot they have standard layout for the ballroom, say 2 to 3 for us to pick? I am just thinking about the stage, whether to leave the projector screen there or just remove it when we done with our first montage as we only have one video to show..if remove, then must get the hotel to do something to the backdrop liao.. I dun think i will take red one too..see how it goes when we speak to our coordinator next year.. hope they have new wedding flavours and wedding cards.. any idea they have new stuff?

selectin music can be realy frustrating! this is very true for me cos my FH is leaving the music to me. arghh... i am takin spanish/ latin guitarist music to play thr out..but got a bit stuck on the first march in and first dish song.. dun wan the usual "Perfect moment" and "Be my guest".. a lot of my friends already hinted to me not to us this song..head pain.. hope you have chose yours..

binkies

Hi faintz,

Ya I guess if you are open to various themes for decor, you do have a choice. As for myself, I will like to keep it strictly as oriental because I shld be having a garden wedding and a castle wedding in the next 1-2 yrs.
Speaking of projector screen, you did raise a good point. So if I am going to have the projector screen there, why do I need to be bothered by the backdrop?
Carlton's favours are quite nice. The cards... erm... its just not ME. But, since most guests will throw away the invitiation card after the wedding, I am not going to spend more thoughts on it.
Oh what do you plan to put up for projector screening? I am having lots of headache abt it as I have ideas but no time. Since hubby is not with me, it seems senseless for me to do it alone too.
Have you picked your bridal studio?

faintz

Hi,binkles

?? for the garden wedding and a castle wedding? dun get what you trying to say. I am down with serious flu so brain running at 286 speed.. ha ha.. can elaborate?

since u leaving the projector there then backdrop can be of less concern.we will remove the projector after our first montage. intend to do some other things with the guests before our 2nd march in.. have to rely on our emcrees to coordinate.

still thinking abt the screening but definately will not putting in the recoding of the morning event of AD. maybe will throw in short video clip of our ROM. hope to do a video with a story line instead of just throwing in pic from young till together..how about you? any idea yet? your hubby overseas working ya?

what songs you using for first dish? songs offered by the hotel?

binkies

Hi faintz,

No worries. My brain is often under hibernation mode until I smack it. :D
Hubby is not a singaporean and as his mum is lives in a big house, we are planning to have a Garden wedding when we are there. As for castle, his dad lives in another part of the world where theres lots of castle. So we are planning to go there too.
Well, I am planning to have the snipplets of baby pics and that will lead to first march in. I like to have it "chop chop" so that we can have food soon. Before the 2nd march in , I will show a couple of pictures from AD and from PS.
I am giving my baby pics to the sisters to work on. If its crap then so be it, I have another 2 more weddings as backup so no worries. :D
It will be nice to play shanghai jazz and other instrumental music. But my parents (yes, them again) thinks that it might sound pathetic. Therefore, I will have to source for various CDs from friends. You know what, it will be nice if everyone can share their CDs. :D
I will be meeting Jason tomorrow. Hope that he can sample some songs that they have for choice.

And what "things" are you planning for your guests? Care to elaborate?

faintz

Hi,Binkies

Sound very fairy tale... garden and somemore castle...and you the princess with your hubby as the prince, living forever ever after ...
so sweet..

Lucky my parents have no comments and leave everything to us, ahem, should be me. My FH dun really bothers abt this, he is more concerned about our life after marriage..

Oh ya, can you let me know what songs the hotel have after your meet up with Jason?

We have not planned yet but the idea is to involve the guests.. so still squeezing our brain juice. I might be marching in with my dad.. do you think it is weird cos we are not christian?

miso_888

Hi Binkies, Faintz & Serene

Urgent! Pls help, can you email me the package details for Carlton for 2006? What are the things i need to ask as i am going down to meet the staff tomolo. email : [email protected]

which co-ordinator is better - Kelvin or Jason ?

Thank in advance

sereneli

hi mini,

I don't have the package detail for 2006 cos my wedding is over liao. As for initial meeting with the co-ordinators, there's nothing much to negotiate but more of seeing the place and the standard package as well as if you are comfortable with the co-ordinator. Kelvin was in charge of my case, so I can't really compare since I did not meet Jason before.

Hi Moochi,
pls leave your email add

faintz

Hi, Mini

I do not have the package either. The year 2005 still applies but need to add extra $30 to the price for the price increase for year 2006. Perks? their package is quite comprehensive so not much to ask for.

My coordinator is Eunice. Not jason or Kelvin..

ribenna

hi serene
congrats and thanks for sharing yr photo its give me a better picture of how Carlton wedding is like , 10Q

well today i will be meeting Jason abt the wedding package
hope i can get some perks from him ;P

the only problem i hv is the max is 38 tables but i need around 45 tables so hv to cut on my colleague and my relative if i really want it
stress shld i go for a biger venue which is 20% more expensive or take Carlton

Serene how many tables do u hv ?
isst cramp ?

binkies

Hi Mimi,

I have emailed to you on the package details.

Hi faintz,
Yeah does sound fairy tale but a very EXPENSIVE fairy tale too. :p
Nah marching in with your dad is a nice idea. I mean its your wedding, you can do it in watever style you like. I have seen that before.
As for songs, Jason didnt know abt it when we were discussing. So I have decided to use my song. If you like shanghai songs, I have just bought a CD on Shanghai Jazz. We can share it if you like. I am currently sourcing songs from my friend. Oh my other concern is on the color scheme of the flowers. Should I use red or red and white or pink? so confused now. As I am having oriental theme, I wonder if red and white roses will go well.
:D

sereneli

Hi Xiong_a,

No prob. Glad that the pictures are of help. For your info, I had 34 tables + 2, which I felt it was just nice only. Kelvin ever told me that the ballroom can hold up to a max of 40 tables, but usually they will tell people that 38 is the max. To me, 36 is just the right capacity of the ballroom, so it really depends on individual.

Usually it's easier to cut colleagues than relatives I guess. You will have to weigh the difference in terms of relationship or cost. I think some venue do cater to your required tables at quite reasonable price, like Suntec, Orchid Country Club etc. May need to do a surf up

faintz

Hi, Binkies

Expensive? sure mann.. but I guess you will remember it for life..
ya.. I will march in with my daddy. My FH has no objection on this part.. Have to get my dad to practice walking slow cos he walks fast.

I should be using pieces from Spanish/ Latin guitarists.. as for the color theme, I guess red roses will be good for you.. but white color hor, will your parents got any comments on it?

sereneli

Hi Faintz/binkies,

Faintz, I actually wanted to do the march-in with my dad, till he chicken out at the last minute cos he scared he too emotional when he hand me over to my hubby...kekeke

binkies

Oh yeah, speaking of paying, I will be expecting a ONCE-IN-A-LIFE-TIME credit card bill this month.

Faintz, if your dad is too fast, you can still pace him as you will be holding his arm right?
I dont think my parents will mind white flowers but you never know.
Oh, I have already gotten the cards from Jason. Picked the pink one as it looks better than the other rest. Nothing much to choose in the first place.
Also I wish to buy some lanterns to deco the place. Check out : http://www.luckylantern.com/tulips/tulip.htm
Its actually much cheap if I can get it in Vietnam. Sigh. In Arab street, its selling for $50 each.
Oh I am getting corsages from this place, cheap and nice. http://www.weddingpixie.com/index.htm
Very sweet. :D

faintz

Hi,Binkies

Thanks for the link.. I am looking for wrist band and this link has very nice and cheap ones.. can consider them.. you really going for lantern? I tot you just kidding.. ha ha.. realy oriental mann..

Hi,Serene

Ya, I am worries that my dad will chicken out too.. but I have been brainwashing him everyday.. ha ha.....

sereneli

Hi Binkies,
Yeah, I got my wrist corsages from wedding pixie too. The lady, Kelly is very helpful.

Hi Faintz,
yeah, better brain washed him more keke

ednapang

can anybody give recommendations to me?
i'm deliberating between a weekend dinner at either carlton or the plaza next yr end. both are offering abt the same package/perks but price wise defer by $100nett per table. of course carlton will be much more convenient cos near cityhall.
i'm thinking if should give plaza a bet since they will be undergoing a big renovation yr end till may 2006.
pls help.
thanks =)

sereneli

Hi Edna,

I would say by posting in Carlton's thread, there might be some bias viewpoint as most of us here have signed up with Carlton.
Therefore you may not have a comparison here

ednapang

ya i know, so i have also kiasu-ly posted in Plaza's thread haha...
how's the food at carlton?
one thing good Carlton is definitely their location..

sereneli

Hi Edna,

No worries. The food at Carlton is great as it's from Wah Lok Restaurant and not the Hotel's kitchen. Wah Lok is quite a famous restaurant, especially among those businessmen due to their many winnings in awards in the industry.

hamster_gal

hi binkies,
read earlier that you got the pink wedding invitation card.... i've also got that card too but i've faced some problems becos i've been to 3 printing shops and they told me because of the cut-out of the flowers of the card in the middle, it may cause the printer to jam.... so they are not willing to print for me.... but this is for direct printing.... no problems if you are doing inserts

jam75

hamster_gal, u can try below printer mi oso asked for direct printing for pink color flowers cards..they have done b4...but in the end i din get tis printer to do my card cos the pink color flower cards being replace now no more flower wan..

KENTRICH TRADE PRESS
BLK 3 PASIR PANJANG RD
#10-33 ALEXANDRA DISTRIPARK
TEL : 62734648
PIC : HELEN

binkies

hi faintz,

Yah, I like it super o-biang. :D But I don' think thats really possible now as I will need to get a visa to go to Vietnam. Sounds like too much trouble. Yeah prep-talk your dad into marching in. Tell him that if he is shy just look at the straight at the cake and nothing else. :D

Hi hamster,
I am planning to DIY my inserts so I don't think I will face the problem with printers. All the best dear.

binkies

I have faced with a problem in DIY my inserts. What should I write? I have no sample invitiation cards to copy. Can anyone help?

binkies

yippie, i've found one sample wedding card dated 2 yrs back when i was spring cleaning. :D

BTW have you heard of any hotel that doesnt allow you to take pictures of its premises even if you are a patron there? I was planning to have a part of PS in a hotel room but I was rejected when I enquired as its against the hotel's policy. Sounds weird.

faintz

Hi, Binkies

u referring to Carlton? cannot be.. I think possible to have PS there.. Maybe not in the hotel room but some other part, like the waterfall or something.. It can be arranged.

faintz

Hi, Binkies

u referring to Carlton? cannot be.. I think possible to have PS there.. Maybe not in the hotel room but some other part, like the waterfall or something.. It can be arranged.

happigal

hi everyone !

I am thinking of signing up with Carlton (Esplanade Room) for my AD next year. Any advice for me?

I have ran thru their wedding package. Quite comprehensive except for the following :-

- No free flow beer for Esplanade Room.

- No complimentary food tasting for Espl Room. The best they can offer is at 50% discount. Do you think its possible to push them to throw it in for free?

They have agreed to throw in a day room for my helpers only. I am trying to negotitate for a free barrel of beer and also 75% for invitation cards. Is there any other things I can negotiate ?

Would appreciate it if you could share your experience with me.

Another thing would be the seating capacity. The function room allow up to a max of 16 tables but as at now, i have slightly more than 16 tables. Not sure if they can accommodate.

Calling for ex-Carlton brides !!!

happigal

hi faintz,

Understand that your wedding co-ordinator is also Eunice. How do you find her service? Does she need to be pushed everytime? And is it easy to negotiate additional perks from her ?

Sorry but am quite worried cos I have read other gals experience with another co-ordinator, AP**L so just wanna check it out before I sign up.

I hate to chase after people and I dun wanna risk my once in a lifetime wedding over a co-ordinator!

Your thoughts and experience please. Hope to hear from you soon as I am due to confirm by next week. Thanks !! : )

binkies

Its scarlet hotel that deters pple from taking pictures. Don't know why but its their policy. Seems that they do not want the pictures to be diseminated to sources that they have no control over. However, if they are exclusive, then they should not even open their doors to the public. Right?

Hi happigirl,
If you have more than 16 tables then dont take esplanade. As Esplanade has a pillar in it, the ideal size is 15, otherwise the 16th table will be hidden.
Eh, if you can negotiate for free beer, please let me know , also want to negotiate :D
Their beer is definately more expensive. But I plan to provide more wine than beer.
Just to share my experience, back then I was comparing Grand corpthorne waterfront with carlton? They have small functions like carlton, cheaper beer but no waiver for wine corkage. However as they outsource their floral deco, there are more options. My parents prefer Carlton for its location and Jason has been a very sincere coordinator so we took carlton.

happigal

Hi Binkies

Thanks for your advice. Yes, I was told that there is a pillar and will block one table but bobian. With the number of tables I have, I have very limited choice for hotels since most of them need a min of 20 tables (esp for wkends). My FH an I likes the ambience and the courtyard outside the function room. At least we can have the cosy little corner to ourselves. hee !

Nvm, worst come to worst, i might have to shrink my invitation list a bit to fit the room.

Btw, have you went for the food tasting ?

To sidetrack a bit, I am also considering Hotel Rendezvous but not sure if the food is nice cos they dont have a chinese restaurant there. Any feedback on this hotel?

Happigal awaiting your reply eagerly.....

Hope to hear from Faintz and other gals too ! Cheerio !!

faintz

hi, happigirl

So far Eunice is ok.. she is quite friendly but can be blur.. i am also keeping my finger crossed.. ha.. we have yet to do food tasting, card selection etc.. basically, we only met her twice. one is to see the layout and second time is to confirm package.. then we started to e-mail her queries and she has been quite spontaneous to our e-mails.

As for the ball room, why not take the empress room? try to expand your guest list? better to be spacious rather than squeezy.. initially, we only have 30 tables, but now our list has 37 tables and we are cuttin down cos we want a size of 35 tables so as not to be so saqueezy.

the wedding cards will not be an issue cos usually the hotel will give more than the % stated. but if you want them to put it black and white, you can. Carpark coupon also can ask for more. Eunice told us she can give us a bit more i required but I guess we wun need so much cos my parent might be chartering a bus to ensure most of our relatives are on time.. super KS!

As for the beer, you might wan to guage if there will be a heavy consumption on that.. it might be a bomb if most of your guests are takin beer..one barrel might not be enough..

binkies

hi happigirl,
nah I have decided to save the money. If its bad, then too bad for the guests. I am not planning to eat much anyway. However, I doubt the food quality as its rather reputable.

Faintz is right. If you need more cards or park coupons, I am sure you can get from them. After all it doesnt cost them much.