Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Hi hweyhwey,
Pulai Spring 468nett to 888nett, tis is 2005 rates. they got ID & OD banquet. Tel: 5212121 look for sales manager - Sabrina (my coordinator)

anyone here marry off fm hotel? wat need to prepare if overnight in hotel? p.spring got villa apt, considering marry off der...

Hi tlc,
Thank u very much

i not marry off from hotel... cos my house quite near to custom..so my boyfriend will come to my house on AD

Wah, boy oh boy .. was so busy at work .. seems we have a lot of Johoreans here * Welcome * and many too soon brides-to-be .. kan-cheong or not .. I'm kan-cheong too leh ..

wah jas,
congrats, you finally settled on ur photos. Looks like you got a sweet deal! That's great! Can't wait to see ur photos.
Now you can concentrate on ur house reno.

Morning ladies...

Hihi Susan and LK! Susan, how's the little one? Counting down, the coming brides-to-be are Lisa aka muaw muaw (29/10), Evelyn (19/11) and LK aka Sunsnow (20/11) yoh... And See Peng aka PPP (27/11). How are all ur wedding preparations? Do share share here lah...

LK, ya... finally choose the photos but have to wait for 1 more month b4 can see the design outlay lei... Have u got ur album? Remember to share wif me when u got back ur photos k? :p

Yep... These few weeks will need to concentrate on house reno. Is asking a few quotation and hopefully can finalise one fast and start reno mid Oct. Ur house reno is progressing well?

hi jas, tlc & oily,

Thks for the info! really appreciate it. me will b marrying off from hotel too. I have 1 in JB and 1 in S'pore. Dunno which hotel is gd for me and my family. Only ones i know in JB city are Pan Pac JB, Hyatt JB, Grand Bluewave Hotel, Tropical Inn. I think dat's abt those I know..

hi tlc,
ya i stay at wlds... BS comfirm already, kai.
actually i will be having two dinner, 1 in JB 1 in singapore... JB one everything haven't decided.... my mum say too early to decide now...

hwey hwey,

thks for the reminder! now i remember.. went shopping there before.

for venues, my MIL actually showed me quite a few rest. One was near her home at Taman Molek.. called Tai Zi Lou another one was opp a Lake somewhere in Tampoi cant recall the name but the outside looks Balinese. If can have at hotel better, save me the hassle of moving around in traffic packed JB.

angeldust,

so which hotel u marry off? how u hui men if marry off fm hotel? will u serve tea in hotel b4 marry off go groom site? if i marry off fm hotel, mostly will serve tea der b4 chu jia, save touble. but wonder can we ligten up 'long fen' candle inside room?

Tai Zi Lou q famous in rest, their food v nice! got one branch in johor jaya/tmn molek. i think the one looks balinese is Grand Straits Garden Rest near Danga Bay. if u hv banquet in hotel, then juz marry off fm same hotel if rates not exp! normally they wil give u disc.

tlc,
i dunno yet still long way leh.. malaysia wedding planned for 2nd Dec 06.. + my MIL is paying for everything in m'sia.. i just pay for my parents and siblings stay in JB..

I makan at Tai Zi Lou before leh.. ok lah maybe the dishes were simple lunch dishes so.. So the bali bali lokking place is called Grand Straits Garden ah.. ok will take note. still prefer the grand straits place to Tai Zi Lou. according to my MIL, this grand straits place, the boss is the same as Lucky Rest at Da Ma Hua Yuan there.. and Lucky Rest food is nice..if ultimately bo bian choose rest due to old folkies' preference.. then I take Grand Straits Rest.. then book Pan Pac to stay..

tlc, u sure the balines restaurant is Grand Straits Garden Rest? My wedding banquet will be there but it does not look Balinese to me lei... But they have big ballroom which i like and the location is very convenient especially for guests from Singapore, that's why we choose this rest.

Jas, my belly is growing very big now. GyAnn is fine, moving a lot, causing her mom have difficulty to sleep at night.

Any volunteer to update the particulars of our members here .. used to be updated by Marilyn but guess she's super busy now at work.

jas, havn't got photos back yet. still a month more to go..
my house reno progressing v slowly too...
going for food tasting tmr nite... seems like the big date is drawing very near liao.. so scary...

Susan, ur GyAnn must be a active little girl. Tried to update the member particular but a lot come and go dunno who are the permanent members, haha...

LK, u will only get the album end Oct? have selected the design layout? Did u go supervise ur house progress often? My colleague said before they start reno need to pai pai (pray) one. Is that true? Don't be scared lah. U have our moral support and if u need any help, just say out k...

angeldust & jas,

outside the rest bit like balinese style...got rock, water fall..plant...hubyy n me act q like it too. inside the rest is totally another story, ha..

tlc: i chu jia from hotel.. mom did the 'shutou' in hotel.. then we get someone to ligten up 'long fen' candles in my hoemtown's house.. my parents said not need tea ceremony for them.. so after tea ceremony @ my il's place.. we wen back to hotel to rest..

angeldust: my friend work @ hyatt b4 as attachment student.. she said the food there 'not very fresh'.. eden wise, i heard from my sis that it's exp but food so-so only :p

Oh oily,
din noe now stil practice shutou? Jas, wil u follow? ur mum need to say 3 sentences rite? & wat else for shutou procedure? soly, tis q vague foor me...

so must lighten the long fen candle even marry off fm hotel. Thinking do it in hotel room...it hv b same place for u marry off rite, couple no need pray pray meh? lucky u got ppl help u lighten up in hometown

oily,
how u 'hui men' since marry off fm hotel? did u back at 3rd day? can 'hui men' to house even 'chu jia' fm hotel? means place for chu jia not must b hui men place...

hi oily and tlc,

yupe the outside very baliness.. the banquet hall machiam like my sec school hall..the rest is ok.. got plasma tv one.. but the banquet hall..CMI..

hi oily, thks for the enlightenment! know which hotel to aviod liao..

Wow..look like now the thread got lots of Johorean that discussing on how the procedure on where to marry off and all those do and don't

oily, I tot "shutou" has to be done the eve of AD when the bride does the prayer?
AD morning your MUA will ask your parents to cover the veil for u.

anne, i think oily means 'shutou' in hotel at eve of AD since she stay overnight in hotel 4 marry off at morning.

so ur mum oso shutou for u? heard tat shutou ppl must b very good fortune old auntie. any special comb for tat?

hi to all new johoreans here! I am johorean too!

jas, ya i can only get album and cd end Oct. Will be gg down tonite to see the 2nd draft of design layout.

So far we only go down to our house twice during weekends, coz no leave to take. the workers usually not there liao. just go and see the work progress lo.

Yeah i have heard that some ppl actually do some prayers b4 reno but we didn't do any big scale prayers la. May sound silly, but we just chose a good day and a good time, then we did things like rolling pineapple into the house, saying some auspicious words like "fa cai", "da ji da li" at the same time; rolling oranges into bedrooms; scatter some rice and salt on the floor, and placing some oranges and "fa gao" in the living room. hehe... anyone else did things like these b4 their reno?

susan, your bb must be v active.

tlc, what's hui men? u mean gate crashing?

oic... i chu jia from jb, have t-ceremony at jb first then go sg. won't be going back niang jia. but probably 3rd day will go back... that's the customary rite?

tlc, i din go thru shutou..mine is very simple and modern wedding..don have any special traditional customary except tea ceremony on AD only. I don follow 3 days hui nian jia too..I hui nian jia the next day after my AD..3rd day already came back to SG liow..wahaha

About facial ler. I gotta temporary stop for this moment. My hormone changed, so not suitable for any cosmetics and facial prod. No facial treatment too. Yes now the only prod I can use is Reeds night repair serum with collagen. Sebum gel gotta stop for temp but I still use a lil if I see popping pimples.

yea i din have shutou also wor. and in fact, we skipped the tea ceremony for my parents side, unintentionally. since ad already over, so i guess not necessary to have the tea cer liao?

mine one also super simple.. i need to do shutou coz hubby side is doing.. my mom just help me to shutou before the makeup artist start the makeup and hairstyle..
i didn't huimen also.. :p

Whether to shutou or hui men or jin cha all up to individual families and also depends on the actual circumstances. Think i will only jin cha and hui men lor. Try to make it as simple as possible.

LK, ur pai pai does not seem that simple lei. Need to prepare so many stuff! So u roll the pineapple to the whole house and oranges in bedrooms ya? If the house is big then won't it be very tiring?

tlc, Kame introduce u another product called Reeds? Is it good? She never mentioned that to me. The other time my night repair serum finish she asked me to buy back the same product.

jas, it depends on how much u want to do lo...
i bought 1 pinapple, about 10 oranges, 1 fa gao, a small packet of rice and salt. Not really alot lah... some ppl even buy chicken, roast pig, joss sticks etc and got the geomancer to do chanting...

we only took abt 15min. Ur house bigger so maybe need more oranges for the bedrooms bah.. just abt 2 per room bah.. i rolled the oranges in the kitchen as well. just do something to bring some auspicious luck to the house. Just like wedding customary, this depends on individual whether they believe or not or how much they want to do.
I know of people who don't really bother abt this lah..

wah so many things...a lot of customary stuff hor

btw i have got my AD phtos for my simple AD hehe. as you can see i have no brother sister etc.. only a very simple morning AD.. onlynight banquet quite formal.

can anyone advice me what have to prepare or buy bft the customary wedding?
r u meeting ur husband to be the day bft ur wedding?

Josie,
u hv same q wif me ler...i did check wif my married fred b4 if ppl now still pratice, she did not meet hubby at eve of AD. But tis depend on individual...if hv thing to discuss/settle on tat day hard to avoid not to meet rite.

oh! me no choice but got to be with hubby until after dinner during the eve of AD. was with him and family until 11pm before going back to hotel hehe.

I also met hb and his family eve of AD coz bride side dinner held on that evening. Actually morning we also together, somemore went to my granny's house for lunch

I think I will see my hubby eve of wedding also as need him to drive me here and there... Like wat tlc said, sure will have last minute things to settle before wedding.

Hi, ladies! So long never post here, I'm a bit lost, hehe.

Eve of wedding I got see my hb leh, we went to BS to collect gowns & to get the bridal car deco done. Actually, what is the reason cannot see? I blur...

Ping, finally see u in this thread

How's your bb?? must be having fun taking care of him..wonder u miss him when u start going back to work?

Hey, Anne, how r u feeling? Started shopping for maternity clothes etc. yet?

I very bad one, I don't miss him leh, becoz I'm stuck at home taking care of him at nite and when not working. My hb gets to go out for meals or shopping or jogging or whatever, not me.

It's "hse rules", we are not allowed to bring bb out (except to see doctor or to my parents' hse) until he's much older, preferably above 1 yr old. Think they'll allow bb to go to "approved places" like lake gardens around 5-6 mths' old, other crowded & enclosed places like shopping centres, no way.

Of course I can just ask my MIL to take care of bb while hb & I go out to enjoy ourselves, but it's not nice to "impose" on her becoz she has so much hsework to do. So usually I'll take bb to my parents' hse, leave him there & go out with my hb for 2-3 hrs.

Ping, I have started wearing my maternity clothes long ago. Beginning stage, tummy bloated, working pants all tighten up..then later stage tummy bulging already. Hmm come to think of it, worth for me to invest maternity clothes coz can wear throughout..keke

Wow, your MIL very strict ler, y cannot bring out to shopping centre? I tot is good to bring bb around when they r small, so that next time u bring him anywhere he also won't cry. This is what ppl taught me to do so ler..even my mom also said that.

Hi, Anne!

My MIL, even my own mum also told me the same thing: babies below 1 yr old easy to fall sick, so crowded places shld not go.

But I think my MIL will allow us to take bb to Hartamas shopping centre becoz this is a new, spacious & quite "bo seng li" shopping centre, keke. So hopefully 3 mths fr now we can take him there.