Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

tlc, for PS not necessary have to wear tie, can be just shirt and jacket depends on the feel that you want.

I bot ties as never bot any tie b4 for my hubby. ;p Plus really like the two that i saw yday. Also think it is a good buy and suitable for grand event like wedding or normal events.

LK, the tie originally costs $45 per piece and the cuff link is $55. Now offer, the tie is $35 and if you bot a set of tie and cuff link, the set only cost $65. So my total is $100.

anne, my hubby not suitable to wear mandarin collar shirt lei as his neck is too thick!

Will only get shirts for him after i have choose my gowns. He has to match me mah... =>

mine is platinum with yellow gold and platinum..may be that's why..i'm also not very sure if they can reshape the ring cos i read somewhere that platinum need extremely high temperature to melt..

that's why u hardly heard of customized design platinum ring in singapore and it's extremely expensive..

scratches wise sure will have..tarnishes also will happen..a pure platinum will turn dull grey after sometime and scratches too..

but out of shape is something we din not expect. yeah, may be one of this day, will drop by lee hwa and ask them abt it...

marilyn, platinum can custom make but cannot alter. U shd bring back and ask them y is this happened.
pure platinum shdn't turn dull..only white gold will turn dull after years of wear and tear.

marilyn, u shd go back Lee Hwa. They owe you an explanation and shd help you to return the shape (if possible).

tlc, the jewelry shop can help to restore the shine of white gold bands. However, it is not advisable to polish too often, else the white gold may get thinner...

really wil get thinner ah~
fan xin lar...i oly send for polish once/twice per yr when necessary o got BIG occasion like wedding

tlc, polish will make the ring thinner..but there is method where u will maintain your thickness.
U have to check with the shop..they sure know.
But the charges will be higher..coz if u have diamond or whatever, they need to take the stones out first then put it back again.

anne, den scare the hole for diamond wil getting loose o not so fix enough if too frequent take in n out... guess they do sumthin like coating a layer on existing white gold.

tlc, don be scare lar, they know how to handle with that. Yap, coating needs to take out everything lor. If u go for polishing or scalling then they don have to take out..but ur ring or anything will go thinner and thinner.

Wah, I feel so lost here, know nothing abt rings. We both don't like to wear rings and we didn't bother to get wedding rings also. Think we are the minority hor.

Anne, guess wat, i heard someone diamond drop off fm new ring fm well know brand, pa pa ler...

SP, no must wear on mah. we act wear it as necklace, wear on finger w necessary...heheh cos scare it wil kena scratches during work

Ya, sp, not compulsory to have one mah...

tlc, u really wear it as necklace? That's interesting. Saw ppl do it b4, but never thot of using wearing rings on the neck. =>

Jas, ya... easy to take care but bear in mind must make sure it able wear back to finger on ur wed day ler! act it's q common for youngster nowadays, even jacky cheung oso do tat mah...

tlc, is normal to see diamond drop off on some design of rings or pendent. My mom been working in jewelleries industry for over 30 years. She always don't encourage me to buy those design or get jewelleries on the shop. So all my jewelleries she bought for me except my wedding bands which her boss help me to book thru Tiffany and I got good discount fr them.

hi tlc,
white gold is actually yellow gold mix with a silver metal (forgot the name) to give a silverish color..if you don't send back for this process, over time, the yellow will come out..i've seen a white gold turning to yellowish color..

anne,
i think the custom made you're refering to is only ring size right? once u order that size, they can't do alteration cos u need sophiscated machine to do even the melting..

once platinum is mixed with fold, it's impossible to alter..that's what most of the jewellers told me when i do research on buying my wedding bands..

when i was shopping for our bands and couldnt get the right sizes, the sales person told me that they can resize the rings (platinum)by melting and joining the ends back. But only for smooth surface not those with markings or prints, or mixed elements.

eccentric,
i heard something like that too..but they said they use white gold to join leh..not platinum! may be you should check with them whether they using platinum or whitegold before letting them alter platinum ring for you..what if the rest is remain silver and the joining portion becomes yellowish because of wear and tear??

ladies,
you know what?? now i begin to wonder if there's pure platinum and not so pure platinum..heheh...may be anne's Tiffany platinum is pure, that's why she said hers still look shiny and not dull..as you know Tiffany rings are more expensive than the others, so buyers are paying for the quality??

my friend platinum ring already extremely dull leh..i think mine is still ok lah..

may be hubby one also not pure..if not how come out of shape??

no lar... didn't opt for the resizing. They just custom made the size for me. Had to wait for 7 weeks thou. So I had to borrow the larger sized ring for my ROM that time. =)

I think like yellow gold, not all platinum rings are 100% platinum. If i'm not wrong some are Pt950 and Pt1000. My ring is Pt1000 and according to the sales person, that's why it's slightly more expensive... unless I kena tipu? *blur* blur*

I & Jin also fall into the minority, we have rings but don't want to wear, funny hoh .. but we did brought our platinum rings back for cleaning, will not get 'polished' out, right .. Elaine, didn't know about that PtXXX, must go back & check ..

tlc, to wear tie or not is ur choice lor... I have not decided whether to let my hubby wear tie. The other time in the bridal shop, she recommend a jacket which button up and no need tie. Quite nice, especially if wear a stripes long shirt with cuff link.

Or maybe tie for day and no tie for nite or vice versa... Most important is whether his dressing will match ours.

Wow... u all buy platinum rings hor... Me and my hubby very tempted to buy too but still end up buying white gold ones. Now a bit regret lei...

Jas, dont feel regret lah, at least u make use of it .. like me, bought liau but still not wearing, somemore bought the perfect cut solitaire.

susan, actually i seldom wear it nowadays as don't want to get too much scratch b4 my actual day. Urs solitaire one? Must be too precious to wear! =>

Jas, a ring is still after all a ring. Platinum, Gold, Silver... it's the meaning it represent that's most important lar.

me so "siong" when i lost my ring and kena buy a new one. Was asking myself why bought an expensive one and have to forked out $$$ to buy a replacement. Hahaaa... in the end spend over twice the amount...

Haha... Yalah, now poor so buy white gold one. Next time richer ask him to get me a platinum with big diamond one lor... Kekeke...

Gals, have a good weekend!

Tata...

eccentric,
oh is it?? mmm, may be mine is Pt950 lor..the other 50 other aloy i guess..that's out of shape..hehe

jas,
nevermind lah..white ring, gold ring, platinum ring also ring lah..as long as marriage sweet and steady good enough lor..actually, my wedding band very cheap one leh..keke think i bought mine $400 plus for a pair...that explain why mine got out of shape..but still it's platinum hor..i must go ask lee hwa why my ring so jialat one..

Jas,

me oso no platinum ler...cos we bot solitaire ring 1st den bot again another pair wed band, for me it doesn't mater either platinum o white gold cos not much diff fm outlook lar...it's just sumthing to represent anyway...
It's true i more precious my solitaire ring lor, everytime do housework must get it off 1st, hahaha~ mayb u can ask ur hubby get u BIG one w anniversary. Leehwa allow cust to trade in ring n upgrade to bigger one.

Anne, can we use Aspiral card at Citigem(branch of LeeHwa) as well other than LeeHwa/Aspiral boutique?

hi all and good morning...

need some help.. I'm S'porean & my FH is M'sian. We will be holding our customery in M'sia on 2nd dec 2006 and S'pore on 9th or 16 Dec 2006. I have already booked a S'pore Bridal Shop and now I need to find a MUA, VG & PG for M'sia. Any one of you here have any recommendations?

Hihi SP, morning... u oso work half day at satur ah? today here sure v quiet hor

Angeldust, which part of m'sia? so far hvn't book any MUA yet, might just get fm my BS in JB if really can't get one & price reasonable, hv see her skill after PS 1st

Angeldust,

wah~ ur AD stil far away ler, got plenty of time to getsuit one....so early u start prepare now, anyway...doing survey 1st oso good in help w make decision

in JB oso ah...here hv few BTB wil hv banquet in JB as well...update here after meet my PS MUA ya...mayb u can ask Jas, she start find for PG w fm Sg

marilyn, don't think white gold is actually yellow gold mixed with silver metal ler..
if it is white gold, it shdn't turn yellowish unless it mixed with silver element. Silver will turn yellowish after some times. This is what I understand fr my mom.

Yes, u r rite that we paid for quality to get Tiffany's bands. U seen my ring before rite..been wearing day and night for 3 yrs only "polished" once during my AD, it is still shiny till today eventhough close-up can see scratches :P

To be frank, I don't really fancy jewelleries..even my mom in this line for 30years. She the one that bought for me..I haven't fork out any $$ to buy for myself..except the Tiffany bands that Brandon paid for it..haha
I have seen so much..every week they have new patterns coming in fr HK, Italy and other places..everytime I went to my mom's office, will play with them, tried on.

My mom bought some for herself..so whenever I need to wear for dinner..I can sort of "borrow" fr her

Now she also told me don't spend $$ on this..after all she will still give whatever she has to me.

<font color="0000ff">anne,
i think i'm right leh..here are some of the definitions on white gold</font>

Definitions of White gold on the Web:

An alloy made of gold mixed with nickel, sometimes also containing palladium or zinc.
www.jewelrysupplier.com/glossary/W-glossary.htm

gold alloyed with silver (electrum) and in modern times palladium to produce a rich white color
www.dvbny.com/special/glossary.htm

White Gold is an alloy comprised of gold and nickel.
www.bestpricejewelers.com/glossary1.htm

a name that was used for porcelain, porcelain clays, or for the valuable stoneware clays with low vitrification temperatures and minimal warping and cracking potential.
www.beerstein.net/articles/bsb-c.htm

An alloy of gold with a large percentage of silver or other white metals.
www.diamondtutorials.com/articles/diamonds.tutorials/77/Precious_Metals_Definitions.html

an alloy of gold containing a palladium, platinum and nickel to give it a silvery rather than yellow hue.
www.thesouthernscribe.com/PenJargon.shtml

An alloy of gold and nickel sometimes also containing palladium or zinc. It has a platinum like appearance.
www.sterling-silver-charms.org/glossary-jewelry.htm

gold with silver-colored alloys (silver, zinc or nickel) used to decrease the yellow tint of gold. White gold is sometimes plated with rhodium or platinum.
www.shoptsn.com/pages/glossary.cfm

An alloy of gold with other white metals such as silver, nickel, or palladium. Nickel use has been restricted by EU legislation so palladium tends to be used more often in todays white golds.
www.palmermetals.co.uk/main.asp

White gold refers to an alloy of gold and other white metals such as silver, palladium, or nickel. The natural color of white gold is light gray, so jewelry made of white gold is typically coated in highly reflective rhodium (sometimes coated in platinum and palladium), adding a more brilliant shine. Palladium and silver alloys are of higher quality than nickel and are sometimes not coated with rhodium. The purpose of plating is to add luster to grayer jewlery, as well as to prevent oxidation of
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_gold

<font color="0000ff">ladies,
so i think actually when u send back your white gold ring for polishing, they actually plate/bleach your ring with a layer of silver/palladium/nickel/platinum or rhodium. i think most of the time is rhodium.</font>

<font color="0000ff">ladies,
got a good article on white gold

=================================================
<font size="+2">White Golds</font>

What are they?
What are 'white golds'? Are they a special form of gold? Do they contain gold? These are typical questions often asked of us. Well, they are not a special form of gold (which is why you cannot get 24 carat white gold). Actually, they are true carat golds, just like yellow or red carat gold jewellery. They are gold alloys that look white rather than yellow. The white colour is achieved by careful choice of the alloying metals, which bleach the deep yellow of pure gold.

It is interesting to note that white golds for jewellery were originally developed in the 1920's as a substitute for platinum. Nowadays, they are a jewellery metal in their own right and currently very fashionable and desirable, particularly among the younger age groups. White golds are available up to 21 carat. They are often used to enhance diamonds and other gemstones. White gold bridal jewellery is increasingly popular.

Making gold white
Making gold white is similar to mixing colours in paints. Adding a red metal (copper) will tend to make gold red and adding a white metal tends to make gold paler and eventually white. Thus, all other alloying metals to gold, apart from copper, will tend to whiten the colour and so it is possible to make carat golds that are a reasonable white colour.

Whilst additions of any white metal to gold will tend to bleach it's colour, in practice, nickel and palladium (and platinum) are strong 'bleachers ' of gold, silver and zinc are moderate bleachers and all others are moderate to weak in effect.

This has given rise, historically, to 2 basic classes of white golds - the Nickel whites and the Palladium whites. The nickel-whites tend to have a colder white colour, whereas the palladium whites have a warmer colour. Good nickel whites tend to be hard and difficult to process. Good palladium whites tend to be soft, easy to process (but lost wax casting is more difficult) but are much more expensive, because of the price of palladium. Consequently, many commercial white alloys are thrifted in nickel or palladium and contain some copper; hence, colour is compromised. At the 8-10 carat (33.3 - 41.6% gold) level, gold-silver alloys are quite white, ductile although soft and are used for jewellery purposes.

For a fuller explanation of the metallurgy of white golds and their properties, see the companion article on Gold Jewellery Alloys.

White gold jewellery is often plated with rhodium
There is, as yet, no legal or industry-accepted definition of what constitutes a 'white' colour in golds and hence the trade description of 'white gold' may not mean an alloy that is 'ice white' or 'detergent white'. For good technical and economic reasons, many commercial white golds are not a good white colour (usually a yellow-brownish tint) and are often rhodium-plated to improve appearance.

<u>Rhodium</u> is one of the platinum family of metals and has a high reflectivity and good metallic white colour and is hard with good wear properties. A thin electroplated coating is often applied to white gold jewellery to improve its white appearance.

This is legally allowed in many countries, including those with Hallmarking regulations. Such a coating, if not subjected to undue abrasion, should have a lifetime of, typically, 3 years before it wears through to reveal the gold alloy underneath.

For many consumers, the colour of rhodium has become the norm for the colour of white gold, because that is what they are used to seeing on jewellery described as white gold!

See Whiteness Guidelines for Jewellery Manufacturers >>

The nickel skin allergy problem
Unfortunately, many people (around 12-15%), the female population especially, are allergic to nickel in contact with the skin and this gives rise to a red skin rash or irritation. This problem applies to costume/fashion jewellery, white gold and steel jewellery, zippers and fasteners and other body piercings.

The European Union countries have enacted legislation (under the EU Nickel Directive) valid from the 20th January 2000 that limits nickel release from jewellery and other items in close and constant contact with the skin. Thus, in Europe, nickel white golds are being phased out and being replaced by palladium white golds, although low nickel alloys that meet the nickel release requirements of the Directive are still in service. This does not guarantee that a nickel-sensitised person will not suffer an allergic skin reaction if wearing jewellery made from such conforming, nickel-containing alloys!

Japan and China have taken a similar position on nickel. The USA is taking a more relaxed approach, requiring jewellery to be labelled as nickel-containing. Many other countries have not taken a stance on nickel in jewellery and nickel white golds are still widely sold.

Much jewellery is now advertised as 'non-allergenic' or 'nickel-free'. For more information on the approach taken to the EU legislation, see the article in Gold Technology, No 28, Spring 2000, "Nickel gets under your skin" . Fuller information on the EU Directive on nickel can be found in the article, "The European Directive on nickel in jewellery: Update" in Gold Technology No 29, 2000.

Alternative white golds
As palladium white gold is more expensive, there is a demand for cheaper alternatives that are nickel-free. Many new, patented alloys are coming to market, most of which rely on manganese additions as the main whitener. Some are palladium-free and others are low palladium alloys. They tend to be hard and more difficult to process. Many of these alloys are not a good white colour and require rhodium plating. They may suffer cracking and tarnishing problems too. Compositions of such alloys are not published. For further information see article, "White golds - Meeting the demands of international legislation" in Gold Technology no 27.

Buying white gold jewellery
As stated above, some white gold jewellery sold in the EU may contain some nickel and still conform to the EU Directive on nickel. Sensitised people may find that they react to such jewellery. Conforming to the EU directive is no guarantee that these alloys will not cause an allergic reaction. Check with your retailer that the alloy is nickel-free! Rhodium-plating should provide some limited protection, but remember electroplatings are often porous and will, in time, wear away!

<font color="ff0000">White gold jewellery wearers can be disappointed to discover that their jewellery has gone off-white, <u>even a yellow-brown tint</u>, as the rhodium plating wears through (some cheaper jewellery may well be distinctly yellow-brown in colour). </font>

There is currently no legal requirement in many countries for the retailer to tell purchasers if the jewellery is rhodium-plated. This applies to some platinum jewellery as well as white gold. Purchasers should always demand to know if their jewellery is rhodium-plated. If the jewellery is rhodium-plated, then you cannot know how white (or not) is the gold alloy underneath. A good quality white gold, with good colour, should not need to be rhodium-plated but may well be to conform to a consumer expectation.

If the rhodium plating does wear through, the jewellery can be easily re-plated through your local retailer and the good colour restored.

Good morning ladies.... Wow, this forum still so active even on Saturday! Can tell the charm of jewellery...

Marilyn, now u a white gold expert also liao ya? Really admire ur research spirit lei... Bravo!!!

angeldust, will pm u the contact details of the PG introduced by Sunsnow. She is from Spore, and dun mind to travel to JB for AD photographing.

hi Jas,

Thanks so much for the contact. I have already settled the venue in JB only need to settle the MUA, PG &amp; VG..

noticed that some of you are puzzled over bands.. my FH &amp; I purchased a pair of platinum bands from Lee Hwa..

Hi Jas,

Have you decided to use the PG introduced by Sunsnow? Do you have any artwork or sample from her?

May you share her contact details with me. Thks

Hi Evelyn,

I have not decided yet but will give the PG high consideration if cldn't find any good one in JB. =>

Will pm you her contact. Better if you arrange to meet up with her and look at her work.