Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Hi Chrisz,

Yup, my AD will be in SGP. I think will be collecting the album only in August.

I spent a total of $1.8K for photographer and videographer.

Yr AD coming soon? Congrats!

Hee... Susan, maybe he dun want to outshine u mah...
Nevermind, u can be the superstar, he will be the superguard...

Susan, will look out for u for the vacancy.

Hi doremon, if i am not wrong, u won't be having your dinner rite? Wah... simple preparation, no headaches... How u manage to go w/o dinner?

hi bb, no problem, have u called alan? think i'm quite lost as to whose AD is when? When is yours? Mine is on 11/7.... still have abt a mth to go, still ok, not feeling so stress yet....not much to prepare except now gg to collate the ppl for the dinner attendance...btw, my dinner will b on 17/7,a wk after AD.... ^-^

doremon : so ur AD will b at s'pore only hah, your hubby's family all coming s'pore for e AD? how much is your bridal package? since u have no dinner which means no need to loan their gown, do they give u extra stuff? so your photographer & videographer is a package hah? who is your photographer & videographer? since u have no dinner at all, i think tat $1.8k is quite xpensive.....

Hi Chrisz, no i have not called alan yet. I have another contact no. from "Han" also have not meet up with them. Hee... rather tie up recently.

Last wk, just came back from a wedding dinner @malacca. I was there early with my MIL, SIL, BIL... we occupy a table. Those who came later unable to get themselves a seat or sit together with their families including children. The food is fine but so happen the ladies toilet is faulty, this give the ladies a lot of inconvenient & the place is really vry cramp. I ask my FH abt the seating arrangement. He told me its common tht ppl come in as a families. He also suggest we can have a seating arrangement but be prepared to have unhappiness from certain group of relatives. I am abit worry. Not sure will MIL support the idea as we r the one paying for the tables.

hi ladies..I'm lost :P
Sorry for MIA a few days..really very busy and my parents came to SG for GSS shopping..haha
Alright, talk to you gals again.

BB_2, thank you for your help.

As for the seating arrangement, I'm facing difficulty too as we will have a combine dinner with the groom side. Like you, we are forking out all the expenses.

For my side, I've arranged the seating arrangement for my guests - should be quite organized but as for the groom side, his mother disagree on this - she said will lose face woh if such arrangement is made .. on the actual day, I really cannot imagine what will happen.

Really want to cry myself loud as a lot of disagreement with his mother on this wedding.

Hi Susan, i do understand yr feeling. I am hoping to do away with the wedding room too.
I can save up a few thousand just on that!

My FIL has passed away yrs back. My MIL always worry to offence the relative, and she is alway a traditional lady. Sometime, my FH will remind me not to wear black or real dark colours to their relative wedding.
but in spore, it elegant to wear tht!!

I will try to explain to my MIL, hopefully she will accept. Do u thk we can explain by saying the guest should be treated like VIP. A special seat will be allocate to them. Hope this works.

Hi BB and Susan, I think most MY wedding are so call "free seating"..especially those in small town. I guess KL, JB or Penang by having guest list with seating arrangement shouldn't be any prob.
For my case, I'll have seating arrangement plan for my reception in Penang. My parents agreed on that coz to them this will minimise alot of messiness while finding seats for the guests.
My hubby side, FIL make the call..we doesn't want to interrupt coz he is also kind of ppl always think that we shouldn't restrict or offence guests.
We both like acting on that day only..keke..FIL will make the call and do whatever he likes :P
Lucky that we have seperated reception..or else sure got alot of disagreement and unhappiness.

Hi anne, do u worry they will bring a whole group of people from their families or maybe even maid to come? Sorry, if i am too direct. Do u worry that the red packet are not able to cover?
I don't mean to earn but just hope we don't suffer too much for losses. As as I was also planning for kids so have to save alot.

Hi Ladies, for easy reference.

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
applestrudel/11 July/Johor(Yong Peng)
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&spore
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung
Anne/Nov/Penang

I believe some of the ladies must be busy with their stuff now. mmmm... how i wish next time when we meet, we can share our wedding photos... Kind of excited. Mine will be on 14 Sept. I wish i will have enough good sleep. As I get excited, I will not be able to rest enough...

Let pray hard and wish all of us will have a wonderful and enjoyable wedding day!

Hi BB, for my parents, they r modern thinking..so I don't have much problem with the seating arrangement. My dad will help me to consolidate the RSVP list from the invited guests.
For my hubby side, FIL is the one that doing all the stuffs..we try not to interrupt. We prepared to see alot of screw up on seating arrangement there..coz those ppl can bring the whole family or plus the maid :P small places is like that..live with it!
Money is sensitive topic when we touching on with parents..especially my FIL. He doesn't want the restriction when he wanna hold this wedding reception. He is kind of telling my hubby off that one of his friend having the reception without taking any "ang pow" from the guests..haha..so we better keep quiet and let him handle.

We will have a combine dinner reception. My parents are OK with everything I plan. So, I have no problem with my own parents.

As for my FMIL, she is a teacher and involves in a lot of societies. In fact, 99% of invitees from groom side are her friends & relatives.

I really don't know how to prepare myself in facing unwanted situation on the real day.

BB_2, I think it's out of our control if the invitees want to bring a whole football team to the reception and the amount of angpow they would to give. Should be prepared to face losses.

Susan, is true as what u said. We can't do anything on in-law side. Unless they r as open as our parents

BB, what we can do is try to cut down the unnecessary expenses fr our own and spare some extra $$ for the other side. Let it go thru peacefully, money we still can earn it back in future rite? No point showing "worried-black-face" in our big day

hi laides...

wow,bb, haven got a chance to attend wedding dinner at malacca yet, wonder how's it like, mostly held at restaurant in hotel? tens for the compilation of all the wedding dates.. ^-^

think it is quite unavoidable tat will sure lost $ in wedding dinner.... & the arrangement for the groom's side, it's best not to interrupt & let them be...i remember abt the invitation card, usually we will place our contact number at the bottom for ppl to RSVP..then my hubby ask his father whether he wants to put his contact number as well...oh my god, haven seem so many contact numbers b4, 3 contact numbers,wonder will e ppl b confuse.....hahaha, then i joke abt oso need to put my mum's contact no. oso ...so far haven see an invitation with 3 contact numbers yet coz wat i think is tat the english version is usually meant for the couple's friend to read....btw,haven print e card yet...then as to whose forking out the xpenses,my hubby said need to b so calculative??told him if excess, who is gg to keep then? loses,who is gg to fork out? coz his parent's side occupied abt 2/3 of the tables already...aiyOOooo,headache,i bo-chap lah,c how...as he said his parent will help if there is loses...

HI gals,

Glad to see this thread active again. :D

Hi Chrisz,

$1.8K for AD photography and Video is considered quite reasonable already. I will be using two AD photographers thus the amount add up in a way.

Videographer is kevin who is charging $600 for full day. So far, he is the most reasonable.

I took up a bridal package with JB Santiago and paid RM$3.7K for it. Will be getting 2 gowns - AD gown and teadress.

Yup, will be a half day event - tea ceremony followed by buffet at both sides. Convinced hubby not to have banquet and MIL is very understanding thus she also agreed. I dislike the idea of banquet since young so have been training my parents that no banquet for me.

I prefer to have my wedding in my own way and not like doing my wedding just for the sake of anyone. Banquet to me, is like i need to put up a show and i have to please pple more than myself. Hence no banquet for me.

No offence to you gals who is having banquets. Above is how i get myself out of banquet. :P

Hi Ladies, I am actually kind of prepared to faces losses. At least its in RM, wouldn't be quite alot losses as we r working in Singapore. Thanks alot, Anne. I guess I won't have long face as I am looking forward now. I guess by then it will be holiday mood too. especially its Xmas!!! I might consider giving lollipop.hee...
Hi hi Chriz, most of the wedding lunchs or dinners I attended are mainly in Chinese restaurants with engaged entertainment like singers. The singer will help to sing Karaok if no one from the guest. Interesting?

Ladies, do u knw when is the best time to see the banquet manager for the selecting & printing of invitation cards? Mine comes with free printing of invitation cards. Thank alots!

BB not to worry too much. It will be fine..even we prepared to face losses but if u think of future, it is the same that u got to fulfil back those cousin or relative who get married later on.
This is the custom in MY, is just like ppl deposit money at your place. Today, if someone gave u RM40 ang pow, one fine day when the someone daughter or son get married, this RM40 will goes back to them too, agreed?
So, this is short term pain only..hehe..eventually long term pain for u. The later they have banquet, more money they got to pay for it, and ang pow still the same as before.
This is what my cousin told me...

Anne, u r rite. This is part of life. Today if we will worry about wedding ang bao, next we wil worry for child birth gift too... wahahah... This is life.

Hi Little star, yrs should be Oct? Three months from now. How's yr preparation? Yours is also at BP right? If I am not wrong should be Seaview too. How many tables are u having? Oops suddenly too many questions.

Hi BB_2,

So far me haven't prepare anything yet ;P

But my PS will be on next week...very excited!! Try very hard to lose some weight, but only manage to lose 1.5kg...sign...

Yup my mum hv book Seaview, but we haven't paid any deposit and see the manu yet..how abt u?? have u confirm yr manu??

Heard that their food is not that nice recently...don't know how true it is!! Me only have abt 15 tables at BP, mainly for my relative and parents's friend, but singapore will hv abt 40 tables...

Hi little_star,

Wah PS next week, which Bridal Shop did u get from? From spore or msia? u must be real excited. I have not select my menu yet but paid a deposit cos mine is on X'mas day. I have picked Golden Wedding at BP. The ladies there r quite nice. As for the food, I guess I am quite fine with that. Had dinner there before. Is any there anything we need to bring for PS? What if we have menses during that day? That will be real uncomfortable.

Hi BB_2

My BS is In-Wedding at Tanjong Pagar....a lot of complain, can see from the forum...sign.

In fact want to use Golden Wedding, but hubby say very troublesome to travel up and down...and we need car in Singapore for our wedding too...

U can 'count' when u have menses then try to avoid to book your PS on that week...me doing that too.

As for PS, u only need to bring your shoe, your hubby shirt and pant. (i think they will advise u). U doesn't need to do manicure coz they will do for u...(my sister also at Golden Wedding).

But I need to do manicure, coz singapore's BS doesn't incl this!!

others: (get this from some other brides)

bring another pair of shoes which is more comfortable 4 ur OD coz u
need some walking or climbing up n down...

wear clothing wif zip or button so dat it's easy 4 u 2 change after
the makeup n hairdo, if u wear t-shirt wif round / small collar it
might spoil ur makeup/hairdo! ur hubby same too!

bring along ur accessories if u hv prepared.
n dun 4get 2 bring ur wedding bands

ur hubby's ties
ur hubby's shoes

REMEMBER, dun drink too mcuh water 3hrs b4 u sleep, try not 2 drink 1
whole cup at a time within dat 3 hrs. wash ur hair at nite, dun do it
in dat PS morning, coz ur hair will hv the steam n not easy 4 the
artist 2 do the hairdo later

- do not wash or condition your hair before you go
for PS, as it will make it too limpy to style.

- do not wear bra to bed the night before if you
are wearing a bareback gown. (avoid tight bra)

- do not drink water before you sleep as it will
cause water retention.

- have enough sleep

- bring facial blotters

- manicure/pedicure
- tissue
- oil blotters
- compact powder (touch up after blotting)
- bottle of water (with straw)
- any items that you want to take photos with (eg pet / toys etc) Bring along soft toys or anything that is of significance to both of u. U find that the photos turn out to be more meaningful than only the two of u posing in the photos
- You may want bring a small hand-held fan to keep cool on a hot day if you want.

Hope all this can help u...

doremon : so u r using 2 photographers & a videographer, no wonder it amts to $1.8k....does e videography include short-clip on AD which is put in on wedding dinner?

hi little star, njoy your PS nx wk, gg to b a hectic day especially outdoor, where u gg outdoor PS btw? regarding the manicure in PS, wat type of manicure do they provide? 4 mine, juz paint the nails only, moreover the nail color is quite transparant,tot they would use pearl white to paint,they din even ask,too late to tell them when they painted, so e 2nd time when i do my PS, i painted my nails myself b4 e PS in case i dun like their nail color... : (
u have a really comprehensive preparation b4 e PS, remember to bring lip stick oso coz if no makeup artist follow u to outdoor, nobody is gg 2 touch up e lip.... Ü

bb2 : best to meet earlier 4 printing of cards eg 2 mths b4 AD...can u imagine my invitation card is not ready yet n my dinner is in a mth's time 17/7... of coz it's partly our fault coz we choose to wait 4 e new design of card which have to wait n now, the sample they printed has some errors like hp no. & name, so got 2 reprint,we r now waiting to vet again n my GDL is nx sun,i'm afraid will not get e card in time to distribute 2gether w e cakes to relatives... : (

Hi chrisz,

Regarding the manicure in PS, of course not like we do outside, they only paint the nails .....for my my sister they paint for her is pink colour.

Me not going to do bright bright colour like red etc...coz the colour must match with my EG and WG...WG is white so very easy to match with all the colour, but my EG is green colour and I bring my own cheong sam, which is red colour....so must paint something can match with all my gown!!

U did your PS in 2 days?? me too..one door for in door and one door for outdoor...

Tomorrow is my PS...very kan cheong now...

Hi Little_star

Thks so much for the infor. don't worry & do yr best smile. Just think that u r the most beautiful princess, cos it something that belong to both of u only. I find, we should treasure one another. I alway remind myself abt the silk air accident. There are couples who wanted very much together but ... so I tell myself I am fortunate. In this way, me & FH will have lesser disagreement.

Hi Hi Susan. Ya little star, where r... u...?
I guess she must be too tired, so didn't log in. m..m... maybe still dreaming in her sweet sweet photo taking hee..
i am also rather excited too!

Hello gals

Do you all have any good make-up artists who can go to JB to recommend? Can PM me the contacts? TQ very much.

hi all....

i'm happy with my PS...have seen some of the photo, coz they using digital camera so can shown us immediately. But of course very tired too...

I still haven't finish my PS yet...will go next thurs...for my outdoor PS and some indoor PS.

I also bring my own cheong sam for PS coz i don't want the traditional costume eg japanese, koreo etc...so I bring my own tea dress for PS.... hehehe

FOr those haven't go for PS yet..don't worry too much, the photographer will tell u how to pose. I think M'sia BS will do the same.

I borrow some accessories from friend in case the accessories provided is not nice. But end up I use all their accessories (coz all the accessories given by them all very nice). They will match according to the colour etc of my gown.

Try to sleep early the day b4 the PS. And try to relax...don't "kan cheong" if not the smile will not look nice!!

Sorry for MIA for so long, I've been very busy with the preparations cos there's no one to help me out & I'm so lost.
I think I'm facing a very serious problem here:
1) I still have no found my makeup artist yet.
2) My actual day gown not confirm yet.
3) My new house at m'sia also not ready yet cos the renovations going rather slow.
4) I've not order my hand bouquet & wedding cakes yet,
5) I've not found my wedding car yet.
6) I've not print my invitation card yet.

I'll be going back to M'sia to settle everything asap tomorrow. Hope that I can get all things done. Wish me good luck.

My wedding is on the 11th July 2004.

Hi Mrs Chan, I will pray real hard for you. Please do not get worry. Hope i can help u on the following.

Check with the bridal shop if thy hv anyone to recommend. If in spore, u check with this lady, Ms Christina Fong, HP:9792 4770 (she is my make-up artist on 26Dec (Spore)

See if u can take off the rack and ask them to give u discount since thy are not ready upon your request.

3) My new house at m'sia also not ready yet cos the renovations going rather slow. (Look out for alternative like renting a hse if thy r ready by then. I suggest don't keep chasing them. Either thy will request for $$ or end up doing yr hse in a rush and not up to your expectation.

4) I've not order my hand bouquet & wedding cakes yet, (Didn't the bridal shop cover this?) If you do not have the time to source, try getting the contacts on the web, and do a ordering either by phone or on-line-booking)

5) I've not found my wedding car yet. (Ladies, anyone has any lobang on this???)

(Mrs Chan, if this is really going to take real long, suggest do your own printing in powerpoint. Those printed in nice paper can be given to your relatives. As for frens, u may like to send email invitations. Then u will not need to print so many copies. U can also see if any of your frens can help u in this.

HI LADIES, ANYONE HAS BETTER SUGGESTION FOR OUR MRS CHAN? SHE HAS LESS THAN A MONTH.... HELP ... HELP..

Hi Butter,

U can try calling Lina Tan. She is my ROM cum AD MUA. I know she can travel to JB. Ponnie Hsui also but her price is higher.

Hi Mrs chan,
U can try calling Lina Tan as what i told Butter above. Her no is 96908479.

Go for OTR or can try renting from Dawn Lim - the lady who did my teadress. Her rental is very reasonable. Her no is 94595856. She always does rental of gowns to malaysia brides to be and allow them at least 1 month to return after borrowing. Nice lady to speak to.
3) My new house at m'sia also not ready yet cos the renovations going rather slow.

4) I've not order my hand bouquet & wedding cakes yet,
Hand Bouquet - go to the florist and order now if your BS did not provide. Wedding cake also.

5) I've not found my wedding car yet.
You can try Jacqueline at 97845468. She does wedding car services.

Go to city square to print if possible. Otherwise bras basah also can. city Square is the best. I know they need 2 weeks to print invitation card.

Hope the above help.

Hi Mrs Chan, y not share some load with your hubby and get him to help u to settle some of the stuffs? BTW, where is your hometown?

For wedding car, I suppose it should come from the groom side. Get your in-law or at least your hubby to settle this.
Invitation card, there are some pre-printed cards off-shelf. Print the insert via printer..it should be fast.

Hi dear Ladies, I guess that is the best we can do for Mrs Chan and to pray for her. I thk by now she should be at her home town solving those problem. I believe her message also alert us to act on those preparation real fast, at least for me.

I have selected my invitation card in spore last week, maybe not to wait for newer cards and proceed for printing. I hv also plan to ask them to submit the floor plan soon by next week. I think i hv decided to go back on 10 Jul to choose my gown, my menu & to select my card for printing in Batu. Hey Ladies, like to share what u have done and not yet?

Hi BB, I think I'm also the one that lazing around :P I think I have to look up for my invitation card real soon..then bring back to my hometown to ask my dad to print for me.

I already settle my WG and EG fr my BS in Spore.
Will go for my PS coming July..a bit kan cheong
Mid Aug I'll go home to have the banquet food taste and to select my dinner reception menu by then. By Aug, I need to settle my guest list with my dad and so on..wow..seems like a lot of things to do

As for me, I'll be going for my gown fitting this weekend (oh gosh, still at fleshy shape). Photo shooting would be on 8 Aug.

Will be going for food tasting on 19 Sep, at the same time will discuss about Guo Da Li.

Already bought some cosmetics yesterday. Will buy somemore in Aug when M'sia is having Big Sale.

Already started buying VSOP from Duty Free shop at airport. Haven't done anything on the invitation card yet.

Bought tea-dress (cheongsam from China), shoes for ceremony and shoes for dinner reception. Also already bought bedsheet set & silk wool blanket too.

Already bought some new clothes and also a silicon bra :D

Will do my own make-up and to get chieh-mei's assistance for hairstyling.

Hey, this is great. We can share share what we have buy or not buy, or what has been done. I will pop in again....

Hee... I have done my food tasting before i book the restaurant in spore. But as for Batu, I leave it to my FH. Not a problem as I have attended wedding dinner before at that restaurant. My dad is incharge of the hard Liquo in spore. He is a part time drinker, so he will knw best. I am still buying wine for my parent to try. Have not place my order yet. I have not select my tea-dress yet. Susan, can share share more abt the silicon bra, how much is that? Do u thk i shd get this before i select the gown?

BB_2, perhaps u should take a look at this :
http://www.uniquedeco.com/suetra-silicon_bra.html

I've not gone for gown fitting yet (will b going this weekend), so I got it, just in case if I would have chosen a bare back or a bustier or a long v-neck. Got it at S$55 from my colleague. I've not tried to put on yet. Maybe I could send the pic to your email. Pls let me have your email address. So, it's up to you if u want to get one. As for me, after this wedding, perhaps I could use it for other occassion.

Susan, I'll be heading to KL tonight for the weekends

Hi BB, have a good time for your gown selection ya.

Susan, your BS is in KL? Which BS u went for?
My cousin also took their BS in KL..I think the name called Micasa at Jalan Ipoh.
I saw their gown..quiet nice

Susan, thanks alot. Any idea where can i get this in spore?

Ladies, just like to share this story with you gals. An advice frm my FH.

There is this chatroom which is mainly for ladies only. (Hee, i am not saying Singapore Bride) Two of the girls exchange hp no. and started to chat thur sms. After a period of time, they ended rather close. So they arrange to meet up one day. The meeting place was at one of the bus stop at Tuas at 7pm. Reason given by one of them is , she is staying somewhere nearby. So the other girl also didn't think twice. But luckily, her uncle offer to drive her there. As they did not meet each other before, they agreed to recongise by the dresscode. When the uncle drove pass the bus stop, what he saw was a group of about ten guys waiting at the bus stop. And one of them happen to dress like the "girl" her niece suppose to meet. That scarely!!! The uncle quickly drive off without stopping.

When i heard this, rather scarely. Can u image if she is going there alone?!?!?! So ladies, if u girls like to meet anyone frm any webpages, do remember to meet in a public place where THERE ARE LOTS OF PEOPLE OR AT MAKAN PLACE.

Just a personal advice.

Anne, I signed up with Taipei Taipan, also at Jalan Ipoh. I got so many choices of nice gowns till I don't know which one to choose.

Do you all still opt traditional costumes for photo shooting - please share your preference.

I like something modern but with classic look, but unfortunately my BS doesn't have such type. I have choices of typical Japanese, Korean, Mongolian, Chinese (kua), Princess Manchuria, Victorian and Spanish which I find they are all very common, and I have to choose 3 types out of this list.

BB_2, that indeed scary ... thanks for the advice. We got to be extremely careful and conscious when dealing with strangers.

I got the thing from my colleague, who then got it from the agent/dealer. Do u want to get one?

Hi Susan, u r welcome. We ladies should protect ourselves.

I was thinking to get one cos it will really be convenient w that. Just worry, it will be uncomfortable. Nevermind, can i hv the contact?

Thks alot!!!