Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Hi Ung, are you fr Penang as well?

Hi Susan, my hubby from Perlis, Kangar.
We will have seperate reception..very tedious loh..I'm in the midst of preparing the "mess" :P

Ung,
I tot u'r from JB? Anyway, how many seats are there in the super VIP coach? I do not need a 26 seater coz I've about 10 pax. going only.

Susan,
Thanks for the quotation for the photography, seems like the prices are rather steep.

I've attended a few wedding in Msia & notice the would bride wear the evening gown right from the 1st grand entrance. It's not the same as what we do in Singapore as to wear the wedding gown for the 1st grand entrance & later change into the evening gown for the 2nd grand entrance (for champange toasting).

Is that common in other part of Msia? I would like to wear the WG 1st & change into the EG but do not know whether I'll look funny.

Or is there any believes like cannot wear WG again or something like dat?

Mrs Chan, the photography service doesn't come cheap but I've looked at the photographer work thru the website and I'm quite impressed ... anyway, I'm not going for any professional photography service.

As for the transportation to KL, since you only have about 10 persons - it'll be easier for them to travel by their own car (u only need 2 cars to accommodate 10 persons). If none of them have, just buy them coach tickets from Grassland Golden Mile Complex, price about SG28/person from Singapore and about RM28-RM30/person from KL. Then arrange transport to pick your guests from Pudu Bus Station in KL. Where will u be putting them in KL?

As for the wedding gown, what you have noticed is not a custom/belief or a norm practice in Malaysia. It all depends on the bridal package which the bridal shop offered. If the shop only offer 1 EG, then the bride can only wear 1 EG for that evening. If you have 2 or more EGs and intend to wear all of them - by all means, just do it!

Don't worry, like you, I'm intending to do the same - to wear WG 1st, followed by EG.

Anne, Kangar to Penang is not that far lah, just need to do a lot of advance planning. All the best and see if we can share any info for the planning.

Susan,
My family can't be driving coz they do not know the way there, my hb & I will be @ Msia 1st to do some misc. arrangement. There'll little babies involve too so I'm trying to make it as convenience as possible, it'll be very troublesome for them to get up & down @ the custom.

Thanks for sharing your info/views, it's a great help for 'mountain turtle' like me...
So people do wear their WG 1st followed by the EG lah, maybe the brides at the previous wedding are too 'lazy' to change lor.

Mrs Chan, sorry to hear about your inconvenience on the transport arrangement.

About having to use a van - if >6 persons, it has to use the bus lane for immigration/customs clearance - which means the van passengers have to get down, queue for passport stamping and get up to the van again - once at Singapore checkpoint and another time at JB checkpoint, similar procedure as in taking bus.

I've just asked my colleague who had done such arrangement before to Malacca, door to door service. I'll give you the contact details once I get it from my colleague tomorrow.

The morning ceremony in Malaysia is kinda different than in Singapore. In Malaysia, the bride side tea ceremoney will be held first, before proceeding to the groom's house for the tea ceremoney there. And thereafter, both couple will take a rest either at couple's new house or groom's house before going for dinner.

Here, we have to personally engage for make-up artist service on actual day - for both morning and evening sessions, the service is not included in the bridal photo package.

Susan, I know abt the 6 pax. thing so maybe those with baby with stay in the van, the rest will have to get down lor.

Dat's what I noticed too... tea ceremony at bride's side 1st.

Do we need to return to nian jia after tea ceremony at groom's side? I did not see any bride 'returning' home at the previous wedding I've attended.

Another thing is the couple still see each other on the day b4 their wedding, I tot they're not suppose to meet?

Mrs Chan, returning to Nian Jia would be 3 days after the ceremony, but also see what your in-laws say, if they say u can go back right after ceremony, then go back loh ...

How do u Chu Jia, from the hotel or somebody else's house?

It's the same practice for the couple for not seeing each other before the actual day. Technology is advance, maybe allowed to communicate through the phone.

Susan, the journey is about 2 1/2 to 3 hrs depend on how fast we going to drive from Penang to Kangar.
I think alot of planning and co-ordination need to be done way before the AD.
I'm still in the midst of doing all those nitty gritty arrangement.
Mind sharing the plan of yours?

Susan again, I browse through the posting and found that u posted some link.
Do u know all those couples that from MY?
I went into one of the link and the couple was actually from Penang and KL and settle down in States..wonderful marriage.
The website is good and really touching with all the courtship stories stated there.

oops ladies, can't remember who need infor

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
applestrudel/11 July/Johor(Yong Peng)
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&spore
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung
Anne/Nov/Penang<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Studio.xls (15.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Mrs Chan,
I have my roots in Penang and most of my relatives are in Penang.

The suan ming person I go to told me for my hubby's shen xiao, he gotta fetch me to his house by 1pm, then if go back niang jia, gotta reach before 1pm or after 3pm. Since it gonna by a JB-Spore trip, we will go back niang jia at 3pm. If we din go back to niang jia on the same day, then the niang jia cannot meet at the dinner, and will have to go back to niang jia 3 days after. I was told to go back niang jia on that day is easier, not too much complications then.

Hi BB,
My actual day is 21 Jan. Banquet in Spore is definite, and maybe a small one in JB.

Hi Ung, updated! Wow, my schedule was really tight but i guess can't really compare to yrs. That mean, u hv to travel frm Penang to spore in the early morning, serve tea, then travel back to Penange? And then back to spore nite for dinner? Wah....
will u be vry tired... what if u r struck at the custom? Initially, i was thking to travel frm spore to Batu Pahut, bt opt out this option. I don wan to take the risk cos worry abt going toilet w my WG..

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&amp;spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&amp;spore
Anne/Nov/Penang
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&amp;spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&amp;spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung/21 Jan05/spore&amp;JB

Ladies, anyone book Chinese restaurant here. I hv book Cheng Du, Hotel Grand Central. Any comments for this?

Helo ladies..morning everybody!
I'm sourcing for bridal car in Penang.
Anyone here got lobang for that..pls let me know..
thanks alot!

Anne, ha ha ha, I don't know all of them but I'm very impressed with what they have done. I like the couple from Penang too and they're settling down right now in San Francisco.

My mum attended before a wedding held at Equotarial Penang (bride side) and also attended the groom side dinner at Kangar. The couple chartered a bus for the guests. Some drove there.

Are you going to chu-jia from Penang to Kangar or ju-chia from hotel in Kangar? You'll hold the dinner on different week, right?

I've encountered a lot of long distance marriage couple. Mine to tell me how's your planning like?

As for me, I'm different, we'll hold the dinner together as we're from the same hometown. So, less hassle but I'll have guests from Penang and Singapore. I can't take care of the transportation so much, they have to come at their own accord.

I need opinion from all of you ..... my wedding ceremoney will be held on 25 Dec and FMIL said attendance on Xmas evening will be very poor, therefore, want us to have the dinner on 26 Dec and I will have out-of-town guests coming. I also have a lot of Christian guests too.

I need your advise whether to have dinner on 25 Dec or 26 Dec.

Susan,
From what I've seen in a Spore wedding, the groom will pick up the bride in the morning, go to the groom's house, serve tea followed by photo taking somewhere. After that they'll go to their new nest &amp; change into tea dress &amp; back to nian jia to serve tea. They'll still return to nian jia after 3 days.

Maybe I'll just do from what I think it suppose to be lor, my in-law won't have any comment coz they're the 'dun care' type. They dun even bother to get the wedding date, it's my mum whom brought us to the master.

I still considering where to chu jia coz I do not wish to chu jia from the hotel. Do you think it's appropriate to chu jia from my new house at Msia?

I think it's ok to have the dinner on xmas coz most people will party on xmas eve rather than on xmas itself. Maybe just inform your guest earlier so that they won't be 'booked' for other xmas party. For me, I'll still attend any wedding dinner on xmas if been invited to one lor.

Ung,
So you'll be returning to nian jia on the same day too huh? It seems a bit rush to travel between the 2 places hor!?

Mrs Chan,

then you have the option to go back your nian-jia anytime you want, since your in-laws are not so particular.

ah, you got a house in MY? whereabout?

if your in-laws don't mind you chu-chia from your own house, why not ...

I'll b chu-chia from my own house too. As for me, I don't think I'll follow the norm of returning to nian-jia only after 3 days, I think I'll go back to nian-jia on the same/next day.

Susan, my new house is at my hb's hometown - Bentong, Pahang.

You'll chu-jia from your own house, you mean from your new love nest too.

well, i bought the house but parents are staying with me .. so does this mean I chu-jia from my own house too?

our nest is in Subang.

so I think chu-jia from your Bentong house would be Ok - no difference than chu-jia from hotel.

BB_2, like the handkerchief bunny very much. Can share the idea with me? we can bargain with the wholesaler and help each other out.

Susan, sorry for my late reply.
I'll be having 2 seperate reception at 2 places within the same weekends.
It gonna be very tiring as predicted

Penang reception will be on Sat (27th Nov) and Kangar reception will be on Sun (28th Nov).

Regarding chu-jia, I'll be from my home in Penang and hubby will be from the hotel in Penang that we held the reception. My AD is Sun, it gonna be early morning like 9am.
Then, we will have tea ceremony at my place follow by the journey to Kangar.
Over my in-law side, they will have tea ceremony right after we reached Kangar..follow by dinner reception. Sounds tedious ah! No choice

Susan, I would suggest you have your reception on 26th Dec, the attendance will be better. Although ppl usually celebrate the eve of X'mas, but there will be still some christian that have some church activities on the 25th Dec itself.
Think twice when making the decision

Anne, thanks for the advice, most likely we'll go for 26 Dec for the dinner, ah .. at least after the tea ceremony on groom side, right away, we can take a rest!

I can imagine how your day will be like ... really tiring and challenging!! Didn't u want to plan your bride side reception one week in advance - I thot it's a practice in M'sia.

Hi Susan,
Pls bride side reception dinner is one day earlier than my AD.
My mom plan to have partial of my bride side tea ceremony on the evening at the hotel before the dinner starts.
Hope this will lighten my "rush hour" on AD.

I think on 26th Dec for you is good.
Where is your reception? MY?

Susan, u should consider 26 Dec

For me, I don't plan bride side reception one week earlier is bcoz 20 Nov is a "hot-date" for wedding in MY. All hotel banquets has been taken up a year ago.
Second reason is, we doesn't want to waste so much annual leave in between.
Penang is quite far, we have to take a flight back. Unlike your case

We gonna save our annual leave for honeymoon later in the Dec.

BB_2, think I know how to fold the bunny. Twirl and roll opposite sides of the handkerchief towards the centre and then fold the two corners outwards. The body is done with the help of the ribbon. Hope you understand what I mean. Meantime, I will try to find some contacts for the handkerchief

Anne, oh yeah, I agree with your mum's plan to have the partial tea ceremony in the hotel on Sat. Hope you can save some time the next morning. Which hotel you have chose? Have you made any reservation for honeymoon?

I've actually called the hotel to reserve for me 2 dates - 25 &amp; 26 Dec and I will let them have the date confirmation for 26 Dec soon. Mine would be at www.bluewavehotels.com in Shah Alam.

Hi Lynn,

Ya... i thk i understd. Actually, nt sure shd i give away favours. Just hope i don't go over budget. Thks, i will also check out any good price in msia during the holiday wkend. Oh Susan also has a vry gd idea to put in the chocolates. My restaurant give away chocolates too.

Hi Susan..I agreed with my mom's plan too. It might helps to reduce the "rush hour"

We gonna have our reception at Gurney Resort and Hotel in Penang and Putra Palace Hotel in Kangar.

oh dear,think i'm very lost.....

hi ugh: how com u r fr penang but u r holding dinner @ jb?btw, have u book any restaurant/hotel fr jb already? so u hv already bk e bridal package fr mona lisa, when is your photo shooting?

hi all, any1 has transport contact &amp; charges fr s'pore to jb? planning to provide transport for relatives fr s'pore, think e cheapest i know of is abt rm500.....

hi susan, u have many christian/catolic frienz,mayb tis grp of ppl will usually have celebration on x'mas day... will think tat 26 dec is a safer choice....

hi all, have your tot of any place to honeymoon? any good place to honeymoon on july....me haven plan on tis yet...

mrs chan &amp; applestrudel : have your plan your honeymoon? ^-^

hi...i'm a sporean n my hubby is a m'sian..planning 2 hold custom wedding in 2005. still looking 4 date...how u guys chose date, dunno how 2 read 'tong shu' ..is the chinese calander out yet?? Need 2 hold 2 banquets too..one in spore N one in JB/plentong..any recomendation?

Hi priscilla

Welcome!!! u can try the si ma lu (Temple) at bugis MRT. There is old lady who know how to select the dates. But pls bring along u &amp; yr FH's seng cheng ba zi, plus yr parents &amp; PIL seng xiao for her calculation. Just bao a red packet to her. Don't drop it in the box, cos its personally for her.

Hi BB,
Just FYI, I share the website that u provided for the gift selection to my friends.
Those that married telling me that we not suppose to give that bunny hanky as a door gift or wedding favor.
She told me that hanky is not for wedding use :P hope u get what I mean..

Hi Chrisz,
I also haven't plan my honeymoon yet. Tot of going to Australia but it's rather cold in July so drop the idea. BTW, have you viewed/selected your photos already?

Hi Mrs Chan
I have already view &amp; selected my photo... Opppsss,added rm$2000 for addition of 21 15R photos &amp; 51 poses,in e end, my package cost rm$5200,AD makeup not included yet...
have u taken your photo? any photo to c? ^-^

hi priscilla, welcome.... have u tot of where to hold @ JB? where is plentong btw? ^-^
sorrie can't help u in selection of date as mine is selected through recommendation fr frien,e fortune teller knows only a certain dialouge which we r not able to communicate,in e end,my frien got 2 go with us 2 help us do e translation... ^-^

Got this contact from Classified for transportation SG-MY :
Jaafar - 91009860 (12/14 seater van)
XXXX - 02 016 7661990 (Merz Passenger Van)
Abdul - 97835616
Sue - 90409661

Chrisz, thanks for the advice, I'll choose 26 Dec. Your photo package very pricey leh .. are those digital type? How's the charges like for make-up &amp; hairstyling service in JB?

As for honeymoon, .... for me, i'm not putting this as my priority but if we have the budget, I'm considering StarCruise, Sydney &amp; Korea.

Though I've been to Las Vgas and darling has been there >4 times, we also put this as consideration, wanted to have our marriage registered in one of the chapels. Don't know if it is wiseable to go to US again as I've been there for 7 times and darling just came back for good from there, after being in US for 7 years. But it would be romantic to have a mini wedding of ourselves at the chapel.

I'm also having a free return ticket to Hawaii for myself through mileage point.

So, really undecided of where to go for honeymoon + budget constraint.

Hi Susan,
U have not login to this thread for couple of days ah? Have not seen u posting for awhile..hehe

Wow..plan for honeymoon..I still haven't plan for it. My wedding is end Nov..I can only go honeymoon end Dec, during the X'mas period.
Not much choice for that period, Europe and States gonna be very cold. OZ and NZ will be summer...real headache!

Hi Anne, actually not very sure abt this. But aft some consideration, i thk i will use the money to treat my helpers instead &amp; to prepare a gift for my mom &amp; MIL.. hee.. for bringing up us. I believe this will be much more pratical.

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&amp;spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&amp;spore
Anne/Nov/Penang
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&amp;spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&amp;spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung/21 Jan05/spore&amp;JB

Anne, I was busy for the last few days.

There are nice cozy places which you can go in cold country. Like in US, California or Florida would be a nice place to enjoy the cool weather in December. Really recommend you to go to US if you have the budget. Talking about this, I really missed the time when we were in Florida during Xmas of 2002. Actually, I've been to a lot of places in US liau.
Should pay a visit to the Travel Fair in November. I'm sure there's going to be one in Penang. Talking about Penang, my colleague just told me yesterday that the Tom Yam in Bukit Genting (near Balik Pulau), taste very good, have you tried? And Pulau Jerajak is being one of the tourism islands? I've asked another colleague about rental of Bridal Car and being told that usually, people will get from car rental agency.

BB_2, I agree with you .. instead giving out favours, better use the money for other useful thing.

Chrisz,
I guess you must be very happy with the photos lor... Heehee, dat's the problem with most bride-to-be, usually end up with more photos. Can share the photo when it's ready?

I've not taken my photo yet but already make an appointment to take in mid May.

Priscilla,
I got my date from a master at Fu Lu Shou. He also provide the date &amp; time to An Chuang &amp; Guo Da Li.

thank eveybody for your help..actually i dun wan 2 go 2 temple 2 chose date cuz my PIL,my bf n me are christian but my mom is not..she feels uncomfortable 2 chose a date from website..i think me got no choice but 2 go along wz her...anyway chrisz, plentong is at JB..near 2 the biggest Giant in JB..

Mrs Chan , ca.n i know the exact address of the master at Fu Lu Shou? I think we feel more comfortable 2 go there than temple

Morning ladies..

Susan, thanks for the recommendation. I might want to go US but recently alot of terrorist cases happened..very scary!
I can go California and Canada, we have family members there.
To me, any corner in Penang u will be able to taste good food
Balik Pulau there is famous with the nyonya laksa, I dunno about the tom yam yet..keke..going back this evening, will find out more.
Pulau Jerajak is open for public now. Previously was prison. I been there once only. Nothing much..
Bridal car problem solved. My boss and the marketing mgr is arranging our company pilot car for me. I'm working in automotive company

Alright..see u gals coming Tue. I'll be going back to Penang.

Anne, the last trip I had in US was last summer in May for 2 weeks. Went to South Dakota, New York, New Jersey, Atlantic City &amp; Boston. For a start, you can go to California first. Would be better since you have family members there.
So good, Malaysia is enjoying so many holidays next week. U'll be going back to Penang? Where r u staying put now?

Hi Priscilla,
Sorry for the late reply.

I don't have the exact address. It's inside a shop selling those feng shui stuffs &amp; alter table. The shop is at the most corner of 2nd or 3rd sty (can't remember), there's a sign at the entrance of the shop.

Maybe you can ask around for Mr. Li3 Lin1 Zheng4 or call him to check with him.
(HP) 98394309
(Tel) 63368171

You will need to provide him with you &amp; your partner's birth dates &amp; both sets of parents brith dates. It cost about $48 or $58 (can't remember).

What I like about his service is that he'll provide the actual wedding, An Chuang &amp; Guo Da Li dates &amp; also provide what animal sign to avoid on the actual day. He will also write all the dates down so that you can give one for each family (one original &amp; one carbon copy).

Hi Susan,I just back from Penang, my hometown

Met up with my AD makeup and hairdo artist and also videographer and photographer. At least a worth while trip..hehe..very limited time..so must fully utilised.
In S'pore I'm staying at Sembawang, what about yourself?

Anne, I thot u're in Penang all these whiles. I work at Changi Cargo Complex, so stay at Pasir Ris. Hey, I speak Penang Hokkien, u know ... Your hubby also working in SIN? How's the charges like for videographer/photographer/make-up artist in PEN?