Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

can anyone share with me what shall we buy for wedding - the necessities? I've not started shopping for anything yet.

1.Bridal Shoe (1 or 2 pairs)?
2.Cosmetics/applicators for dressing table display?
3.Lingerie?
4.Bedsheet set with comforter/blanket
5.Jewellery (any specific purpose?)
6.corset & girdle?
7.Nighties?
8.Kerosene lamp (1 pair)?
10.Dresses?
11.Candles - Dragon & Phoenix?
12.Dried Longan
13.Ribbons to tie on dressing table displays?
14.Film/cassette for camera/camcorder?
15.Anything else - pls help!

Also, stuffs for groom - what else shall we get?

Morning ladies..

Susan, all these while I'm staying in SG

My workplace is at Jurong. Hubby working in SG too, Yishun for him.
Regarding photographer and videographer, one of them actually my friend's bf. Both of them r partners, they charge me total of RM800 for the dinner reception and AD morning. With 200-250pcs of 4R photo print and balance of photo will burn into CD. Then, another 2 to 3 VCD depends on the condition of the night and day.
The price is cheap compared to commercial photographer bcoz partly they r freelance photographer and also they r my friend

Make-up artist and hairdo is also my hair stylist partner who is also Shu Uemura makeup artist for the models..he even willing to serve me fr Penang to Kangar. I'm more than happy for that!

Hey, Anne .. u really got a good deal leh, the photography & videography package price is really reasonable, eeemm, don't know if they can come to KL. R u inviting SG friends to PEN or u're going to have another reception in SIN?

BB_2, I thot accessories are provided by the bridal shop? So, u've decided not to give out favours, right? Sorry, I missed your question - I took bus from Golden Mile Complex (Grassland). Are u going to chu-jia from Batu Pahat?

From other posting, seems the Xuan Xi stickers & red packets can be bought from Chinatown, but which part ah?

Anything else that we should buy?

Hi Susan, when is your AD? I can ask my friend and see whether they can go to KL or not

Actually my god bro also want them to go KL, but their reception crash with my AD..coz they have their KL reception same evening as mine one in Penang. Therefore, the photographer can only shoot for them on their Penang AD one week after mine.

I still haven't buy anything for my wedding..hm..probably will ask my mom for help..keke
I will not invite SG friends except a few of them that really close. Actually I already invited all my SG friends for my ROM reception last year.

Susan, thks! How much do thy charge? (Glassland) & how frequent do thy hv in a day? Thks!!!

I don't thk thy will provide all stuff or sometime the accessory tht thy provide r not to your liking.

Ladies, for my case, i created 4 copies of blank forms & print them out. I will write down if i recall anything tht i need to buy or do.

1st form - Things to do in Spore.
eg. 1)To order Roasted pig, 2)To check coach's tickets price for jia mei to go to BP 3) To extend credit limit 4) To change notes for Ang Bao etc....

2nd form - Things to buy in Spore
eg. 1)To buy 2 tea set 2)To buy oranges, kwek etc.. for Guo Da Li ...etc.

3rd form - Things to do in Batu Pahat
eg. 1) To check hotel rate 2)To put an umbrella in all the cars...

4th form - Things to buy in Batu Pahut
eg. 1) To buy Xuan Xi stickets, angbao envelopes.. etc. (cheaper to get stuff in msia, hee)

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
List
List.xls (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I will also print out the calendar in terms of months. (for easy count down too) I will start to fill in the items from the 4 listings into the calendar. (a overall view)

Hope these can help.

BB_2, thanks for sharing your homework ... I bought my ticket back to KL at 7pm, can call them at 62921166 to check the schedules for other destinations.

I also did some homework into one spreadsheet and have sheets for
1. Budget Planning
2. Actual Expenses
3. Ceremony Stuffs/Taboo
4. Words phrased for Invitation card
5. Invitation list
6. Table list
7. Players &amp; Roles
8. Program of the day
9. Emcee Speech
10. Groom Speech
11. Songs selection
12. Requirements for hotel
13. Photo shooting poses
14. Collection of bridal hairstyles
15. Honeymoon planning

When I recall and referred to any new thing, then I'll put them into this spreadsheet. Mine can be a quite comprehensive one.

Eventhough my AD is about 8 months away, the man so call the groom, never even bother to help in any planning.

Anne, my actual day will be on 25 Dec and the dinner will be on 26 Dec. I want to have captures for 25 Dec, so that I can show to all on 26 Dec during dinner time. They're bases in Penang, right? Eeemm, will have to pay extra for them to come over to KL hoh.

Hello everyone...

Sorry I MIA for a while... Was in JB and only has a dial-up, so din bother to log in.

Wah... you all so on in planning already... I quite lazy and busy to start. Still looking for jie mei
. My hubby's side got lots of siong di, my side, all my good friends married liao.

Hi Anne,
You got a good deal. Do they come to JB and Singapore? I suppose they charge more for others... Do you know how much? I am still deciding whether to get photographer and videographer, cos it cost quite a bit leh...

Have you gals decided where to go for honeymoon???

I got this contact when attending my fren's wedding last Jan. Based in Singapore and my fren engaged his service for both M'sia &amp; Singapore. Quite good and attentive.

Tucky's Photography - www.tuckys.com
Photographer : Tuck Hong
Tel : 67497586
HP : 98632707
Email : [email protected]
Add : 28 Lor 41 Geylang

Morning to all...
Susan and a2oo2, I spoke to my photographer and videographer yesterday..they don't intend to extend their service to KL and JB.
According to them, is not worth for them to travel all the way and also not worth for ppl like u gals to pay extra allowance for them.
They suggest that u gals shd get it locally..although it cost a bit more.
For my deal is something special bcoz one of them is my friend's bf.

Anne, thanks for the effort.

a2002, looking for jie-mei also quite demotivating. I always thot my bunch of frens would be the suitable candidate, till when i told them about my wedding date (in fact, they're the 1st ones to know), one of them really being so calculative - because I'm choosing a hotel as the dinner venue and on top of AngPau she's giving to me, she has to pay the parking fee of RM5!! She has forgotten when she came to Singapore and stay with me for 5 days, I spent so much on her, lend her a handphone, almost all of her meal including her MRT &amp; SBS fare! Have not even help me with anything, already threw such remark.

I wasn't being petty, so still include her in my jie-mei list.

Ya Susan, u r rite. All the while, i tot one of my close fren will be most willing to help me but when she heard GOING MSIA! she start giving me excuses. I guess the most impt role is the coordinator. I have not choosen my coordinator yet. I believe this must be a helpful person. Kind of headaches too.... I believe i can do a good job for others but don knw who will be doing for mine

Hi Susan and BB, don't be too stress up while looking up bridemaid and jie mei.
I feel that when the date draw nearer, u will be able to get a suitable ones.
What about cousin? I will have my cousin sis to be my bridemaid and some of my Penang friends be my jie mei.

Hi anne, maybe u r rite. Most impt is to plan the prog &amp; duty list first. By then, the person in charge will able to follow. Hey, i wonder how's the preparation for Mrs Chan, Chrisz, applestrudel? Kind of excited for them. Hope everythings is fine for them.

MrsChan/11 July/bentong&amp;spore
Chrisz/11 July/JB/
applestrudel/11 July/Johor(Yong Peng)
Little_star/23 Oct/BP&amp;spore
Anne/Nov/Penang
Susan/25 Dec/klang
BB_2/25 Dec/BP&amp;spore
Lynn/25 Dec/Perek&amp;spore
Wendy/2005/Malacca
Ung/21 Jan05/spore&amp;JB

My cousins are either too young or too old, don't have a suitable one. I've planned for the program and the duty list.

Anne &amp; BB_2, how's your leave planning like?

BB, is good to start the plan and duty list early.
Easier to work things out if you have a systematic list with u on-hand. Especially ppl like us, we r so far away from our hometown.

Susan, I'll be taking a week's leave for your wedding.
Driving my bridal car from SG to Penang. Will stop by KL for a night while on the way up.

Susan, i still have abt 14 to 15 days to clear. Just enough for me, still need to take leave to try my gown, photo shooting, selecting the photos etc... I still need to take a day for the Guo Da li on 16 Dec, thn intent to go on leave frm 22 Dec till end of the yr. What abt u?

Anne, u r rite! Must really spend our time wisely especially in msia. To meet up? Great! But i guess it must be on a weekdays cos Susan will be going KL every wkend &amp; me alternate wkend to BP too.

BB, i think is a good idea to meet up for some sharing. Especially ppl like us..long distance planning..might missed out this and that

weekdays..let see..we can arrange that. If nothing urgent..I knock off quite early. My official off time is 4.15pm.

Wah Anne, u r lucky, u can go off tht early but what time do u start work? 7am? My official knock off timing is at 6pm. Working somewhere near Somerset MRT. I am staying at Geylang Bahru, hee.. quite near to Lavender Bus station, really convenient for me to go BP during the wkends.

Ladies, where are u working &amp; staying? Maybe we should find a convenient place for everyone.

BB, morning..I start work 7.45am till 4.15pm. I work in Jurong..halfway to 2ndlink
very far.
I stay at Sembawang

Hi anne, wah there's far....

Ladies, did u engage a photographer in spore for photo taking? I am still sourcing one just only for my dinner on 26 Dec. Anyone has any recommendation? What is budget like? Ard 300+?
thanks.........

Meet up, good ... I stay at Pasir Ris, work at Changi Cargo Complex leh ... can meet at City Hall lah. I'll be around for next few weekends in Singapore, attending a course - Bridal Makeup &amp; Hairstyling course. My work off at 6pm, but then leaving to attend the course till 8.30pm.

BB_2, u'll be taking leave only from 22 Dec onwards? Have u tried to call Tucky for the photography service?
Anne, is 1 week of leave sufficient for you?

I'm doing my leave planning &amp; because of long distance, thought have to take more days, maybe starting 13 Dec till 3 January. I thought of doing GuoDaLi on a Saturday when I go back KL or is there a specific day chosen by the temple for Guo Da Li? If not, then I'll choose a Saturday.

Hi Susan, we r so far apart..hehe..I work the end of West and u work the end of East :P
Let us know which are the weekends u will be around in SG..we can arrange with BB.

I'm taking a week leave only..shd be sufficient. No choice lah..I'm taking company car so have to return after a week. Then I'll be taking again from X'mas eve till Jan 05

sorry guys, for the late reply. I'm available in the late afternoon of 29 May, > 5pm. Maybe can meet you guys somewhere near City Hall.

can?

Ladies, sorry didn't log in for quite a few days. Rather busy. Hi Susan, yes most likely i will take leave on 22 Dec. Ooops not enough annual leave. I didn't call Tucky cos i just intent to spend only ard 200-300 on dinner photo. My Guo Da Li will be in Spore on 16 Dec. Should be a simple one follow by a lunch at a restaurant. Hey gals, do u find yrslf rather free? I am not tight up with the wedding preparation or the real preparation have not start only till 4mths before the AD?

Ladies, maybe we can give a few dates for selection.
BB : 1 Jun(Tue)to be cfm
3 &amp; 4 Jun Nite, 5 Jun(Sat)AM
Take care ladies

Hi BB, good suggestion

I would prefer 1 June(Tue) evening after work.
2nd June is public hol..hehe
I haven't have real preparation for my dinner reception and AD event yet! Let mom decides most of the things back home..

I'm OK for 1, 3 or 4 June evening but not morning of 5 June.

BB_2, 16 Dec is a chosen date by the SiFu or your own selection?

So far, I've just paid deposit, bought my dinner shoes and do a lot of research!

Hi Susan, its a long story. Actually my AD date(25Dec) is choosen by sifu in Malacca(By MIL). I worry i will hv poor attendance cos its a public holiday so I go to the temple at bugis to get another date. But so happen we get back the same dates again...

Hey, we have a common date 01 June, holiday eve. Any suggestion where to meet?

hi ladies, sorrie MIA for quite long liaoOOoo..hehehehe Ü

BB : so far, not much preparation work for me yet, still shaking leg..oPPppsss,it's juz tat when i got e list of stuff to prepare for guo da li, an chuang, &amp; customary schedule from my frien whom have download fr internet, found tat quite a number of things to buy like those sewing kit,ruler etc for guo da li....wat other stuff, arrangin for food tasting, e hotel need more time in advance to prepare, so ladies be sure to make appt with your hotel,restaurant if u intend to go for food tasting....Ö
bb, i know tat there is a bridge at other thread oso headache as her AD fall on 25 dec, but she has alternate choice to choose 26 for her wedding dinner,in e end,she choose 26 as she is afraid may have poor attendance like u,y not u split into 2 days? 25 AD &amp; 26 wedding dinner? Ü
i'm oso still sourcing for AD photograher, think it's hard to get $300+, cheapest i know is $400+ for 8 rolls, there is a photograher not bad through my colleague's wedding, allan dai charging $450 for 8 rolls if i'm not wrong, actually intend to engage him but he is already booked on my AD, let me know if u want his contact.

wOowww, good suggestion to meet up so tat can share more stuff.....me living @ admiralty,bery near anne (sembawang)....think will b good to meet in central location like city hall or orchard or bugis (not so croweded)....btw, wat public holiday is 2 june?

mrs chan : have u go for your photo shoot yet? u mention mid-may,right? i only have some snapshots taken by own during the photoshoot, will collect album end of may which is reaching, wonder how the photo will turn out.... Ü
which bridal shop is yours?

Hi Chriz, thanks so much. I will hv 2 wedding makan. On my AD 25th Dec, I will have wedding lunch, rest a nite &amp; will proceed to Spore for wedding dinner on 26th Dec.

Can I have allan dai's contact no. ? Sorry Chriz, other than paying the $450 for 8 rolls, any other addition charges i need to pay? Thanks so much.

Chriz, its Vesak Day on 2 June. Hi Ladies, maybe we vote. Feel free to add on the list if u hv better suggestion.

1)Macdonalds at Centerpt (Dobby Gh)
2)Cartel cafe at Pz singapura (Dobby Gh)
3)International buffet at Allon Ht (Bugis) or ...
4)Suntec..?
5)Vegetarain buffet restaurant at Somerset.

My Photo shooting is in Sept, my bridal shop is in Batu, should i start trying my gown end of June? hee... me still have not lost weight yet.

HI all,

My hubby is from Malacca and me is a Singaporean. Did not know that there is this thread otherwise will have join in much earlier

AD is in 19th Dec 04 and no banquet for both side

Just taken my desaru PS and studio PS with JB Santiago.

I have also confirmed my AD photographer and videographer

Hi doremon, welcome here

We gonna organise an outing soon.
Tentatively, set it 1st June, Tuesday evening.

BB..I got some places in mind like:-
1) Baker's Inn(Plaza Sing)
2) Sketches(Bugis)
3) Beppu Jap Restaurant(Far East Sq)

ah, another week will be our outing ... I'm not really familiar with places in Singapore. I'll be going to City Hall first (attending class), before meeting you all. You guys can go ahead and I'll see you all later.

BB_2, me too have not put down weight. I'm going to be a Big size bride, ha ha ha.

Susan, what time your class end?
We shall consolidate attendance and finalised the venue soon
excited to meet up..hehe
I'm going to be a big size bride too..sigh..trying to lose some weight..but end up putting some :P

wahaha.... i think we are the big size brides

Would like to attend on 1st Jun04
1) BB (off work at 6pm near town)
2)
3)
4)

BB, thanks for putting up the list..

Would like to attend on 1st Jun04
2) Anne (will reach town around 6pm)
3)
4)

2) Anne (will reach town around 6pm)
3) Susan (off work at 6pm, Changi Cargo Airport)
4)

finished class in between 8pm-8.15pm. Having class at Capitol Building.

Can choose the venue nearby there?

hi ladies, sorry to inform that I'm not able to make it for tomorrow's gathering.
Shall we re-arrange for another day?

Hi Ladies, sorry for MIA for a period of time. I was tie up by my work. Ok, since anne couldn't make it for tonite, i suggest we arrange another day. Maybe by then, we will have more to join too. Keep in touch!

hi bb, here goes alan dai's hp 97591469....fr wat i know, there shd b no other charges incurred, ask the price clearly 1st...^-^

hi anne : start gg joggin &amp; exercise so tat can lose more weight, jia1 you2... ^-^

oh, the meeting postphone hah....think it's quite hard to organise outing...

hi doremon : welcome, when r u collecting your photo? so xcited 4 u, can see see your photo when it's ready? how much r u paying 4 your photographer &amp; videographer? your AD will b @ s'pore? ^-^

Hi Chrisz, thank so much. Hey Chrisz, yr AD is next month rite? How's yr preparation? I guess I will be really excited by then. Going on leave soon. Hee... seriously abit can't wait for that day but also must watch my budget, not to get toooo excited.. hee

Doremon, thanks for the suggestion, will go to Raffles City to take a look.
BB_2, FH doesn't want to tailor made his shirt, he said it's not necessary to spend additional money just for shirt. Haiya ... I just want him to look like a Superstar mah.

By the way ladies ... please let me know if there's any vacany at your office in Singapore for job relating to Finance/Accounts for an experienced Malaysian US graduate.