Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Hi Joanne,

As i will be chujia from JB, so I need PG & VG to start from my house. They said there will be an additional charges for S$50 per person to go in Malaysia..

For ur case, may be u can call & check w/ them..
This is his Hp#: 96827883 (Patrick)

For my case , i also chujia from JB .. but mine is very near to s'pore (Nearby holiday plaza) .. so the PG & VG will start from S'pore come to JB .. then from JB to S'pore .. charges same as teresa's .. S$50/person ..

joanne , u can give SK Media Works 016-7111365(Sim) a call too .. i saw their website .. they got travel to KL , Muar , s'pore , JB & etc ..

HI Teresa & vincents wife,

will check it out next wk as having exams this coming week...and update u all again

stress... now terribly sick, major flu... withn slight fever... hai...

Hi Joanne,
Wahh.. thanks for your emails.. =D
But they are v out of my budget.. lol

I think of seeing SK Media Works & Simon's..
Hi Vincent's wife, you have the quotation for SK Media Works?? if have, can send me?? my email is [email protected]

Btw, Simon's, they are charging me another 100bucks cos I spit my wedding to 2 dates.
but hor, on second thoughts.. are these necessary?? headache..

i am sporean n htb is msian,i also be travelling to jb to my htb place n hv the ceremony.
as for vg, maybe can consider istudio in jb.i took a package frm them too.

just ended my exmas... phew..pass liao!!...

Time to continue searching for VG ang PG liao... now headache..we decided to take up santiago bridal package last mth, now, he tot of changing to venus...alamak...gota check out again..

Hi vincents wife,
thanks for the info. just wondering for the malaysia side, if they will go all the way to my hubby hometown w us? gota wait for their reply in email...

I need help.

At first, I plan to chu jia in Sin, now hv change to chu jia in m'sia,will rent a hse for bride side as I'm s'porean & hb m'sian. According our shifu in m'sia, he did not given me any timing to 'chu men' only give timing for my hb to come out from his hse at 9am to fetch me & by 10am we must reach hb hse that all. Then later my mum additional request that we have to 'hui men' in the afternoon (which follow sin rules).
It's sound rite with no 'chu men' timing for bride? What should I do now?

I am sporean and bf malaysian. Am confused with the tradition for crossborder wedding..please give me ur advice..
Going to have 2 banquets here in sg and msia.
Can he fetch me from my hse to our new hse, and then back to my hse for tea ceremony, follow by banquet? Is it okie for bride side to have tea ceremony first? Coz 1week later, will be gg msia for another banquet, then I serve his parents tea? Can I wear my wedding gown for both banquets? Please advise me...

Hi Hcy ..
i also have no "chu men" timing.. our shifu give us timing from 7am - 11am .. He 7am must come into my hse then by 11am i have to go into my hb hse ..

Hi eteo
my friend similar as u ..
but her one , gal side banquet 1st .. there's no fetching & tea ceremony .. just purely banquet only ..
until the guy side banquet which is 1 week later .. then she "chu jia" from the hotel then go to his HB place for tea ceremony .. then go back to the hotel for "hui men" tea ceremony.

But then my relatives will not be gg malaysia, so hw do I serve tea to them?
Also the gate crash will also be in sg, since the jiemeis and brothers are all in sg, so I thought the chujia is from my hse? Then in malaysia, he juz merely fetch me from hotel to his hse. No gate crash there..

oh icic ..
is their parents or parents in law particular abt traditions ?
if not strict .. then u just follow the comfortable way for both u & ur hb ..

I think they are coz he is the one son in the family...
Hope I can find a gd solution...
Can I wear my wedding gown twice for both banquets?

check with ur parents & parents in law & discuss together ..
hmm .. my friend wore the wedding gown for 1 banquet .. then the other banquet didn't wear the white one , wore the same evening gown.

Hi vincents_wife,

Thanks for the advise. So it will be still alright with no 'chu men' timing rite. But my mum insist to hv 'chu men' timing leh. How?
Your timimg is long enough to have gate crashing & others activity but mine is less than an 1hr.

Hi eteo,
I'm having bride side banquet only in Sin first, will be wearing WG (with no veil) & EG for the march in. A week after will hold my AD in M'sia, also wearing back the same WG & EG

Hihi.. I'm singaporean n hubby is malaysian..
Mmm.. i'll be having my chu jia, banquet n bride tea ceremony here 1st, of cos lah, PIL oso be here.. I tink of putting them in the hotel for tea ceremony, den go for photoshooting (provided gd weather, if not, have to find indoor place).. =D den go back my hse to have tea ceremony with my parents n relatives.. heehee.. =D
den follow by banquet..

aft 1 week, I'll b gg to my hubby's place.. tentatively plan will be, simple praying, den tea ceremony den banquet. I will be wearing the same WG & EG for both side.. heehee.. =D

My timing oso not bad, my chu men timing is between 7am - 1pm.. wahahaha.. my jie meis will have a good time for the gate crashing.. =D

I tink wear the same WG/EG or only EG, is depend in individual ba.. or if u worry, can ask your PIL for advise (cos some PIL are v traditional de)..

Mmm.. hcy, if u have problems regarding your timing, i tink u can seek for your shifu again for advise, maybe he can guide u wat to do.. don't worry lah, got problem sure got solution de.. =D

Hi hcy ,

ur mum wan a exact time or time frame ?

i check at this website ... under the 當日時辰時局
http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar/hourly/2008/12/20081212_b5.html

i see from inside is avoid 7am - 9 am , 日時相沖 諸事ä¸å®œ

Before 7am Or After 9am onwards .. the timing are ok for å«å¨¶.

This website can check from 1912å¹´ - 2031å¹´

For summary of the date is under : http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar/daily/2008/12/20081212_b5.html

I just registered last week..nice to read all your advises.
Joanne Chua, I am from Seremban my HTB is S'porean. We plan to get married on Sept 2009, but date not confirm. We plan to have wed dinner at Seremban too becos all my relative and friends is there. Now I am scratching my head where to have the wed dinner. I thought it's still early to plan, but after i read all this comments that you all write, OMG~ i realise i need to do something now..

Hi Kb,

welcome welcome... =)

Think u gota get ur AD date first. cos malaysia as what my whole hubby family believe, is easy to book for venue. But spore is different, gota book at least 1 to 1.5yrs early if it is a very hot date at hotel or restaurant...

But i guess, it will be easier for u as ur AD will be in spore since ur hubby is sporean.. mine is exactly opposite of urs.. so i think everything gota leave to my hubby family.. impossible for me to settle the things in malaysia as we are both working in spore...

I am a Singaporean and my hubby is Malaysian. Just want to check how does the sequence goes, is the wedding banquet in Singapore to be held first or latter?

Thanks for all your advice.

Hi Sabine,

Me too.. I'm Singaporean n hubby is Malaysian..
Mine will be having my 'chu jia' n banquet in Singapore 1st den after tat malaysia. heehee.. =D

Mostly bride's side will held the banquet 1st den later de.. I think is depend on individual de ba..
as for my case, my PILs are v qin chai, so they let me to decide..
In term of respect, better seek for your PILs' advise 1st, it's a happy event so it won't be so nice if it turns sour.. rite?? =D

Hi Jaslyn

When is your AD? Mine in March 21 for Malaysia and in Singapore April. Where is your wedding at Malaysia held at?

Actually I tried to convince hubby and MIL that we should be doing the banquet here then followed by Malaysia but MIL say it is the wrong way. And when I broached the subject to my hubby he was not very happy about it and he thinks that I am rude.

Actually I was not very happy because like gatecrashing I know I wont be able to enjoy as much as over here compared to there. I can't be bringing my jie meis over there because considering their schedule and the hassle. Then what should I do? If we do it here things will be simpler and I wont have any regrets liao....

I am not too happy about this lo....

Hi Sabine,
My AD is on 07.03.09 in Singapore.. den one wk after in my hubby's place.. His place is near ipoh.. a small ulu place call 'jin bao'.. heehee.. =D

Mmm... there is no right and no wrong.. like i say, it's all depend on individual de..

Or maybe can try.. arrange ur banquet in malaysia 1st, can have a traditional praying, tea ceremony den follow by the dinner.. it's just tat no chu jia.. I mean no fetching.. juz stay in the house, den u and your hubby come out frm the bedroom, den follow by traditional praying, den tea ceremony den follow by lunch (if any).. den rest.. follow by dinner..

Den when april, you can have your gate crashing, chu jia in Singapore le lor.. Den u can marry happily.. lol =D

heehee.. v long winded here.. hope u can understand.. =D

Maybe u can discuss again with your hubby, see whether ok.. Hopefully this idea can help you to convince your hubby & your MIL... =D

Hi Jaslyn

What a concidence !!!!!

My hubby place is somewhere near there. It takes about half an hour or so to reach your hubby's place.

No la they very persistent la.... They insist their way le....

so what are your wedding preparations up to now. We managed to get a restaurant at Jin Bao so who knows we may have the same venue le....

Hi Sabine,

??? u mean frm singapore to your hubby's place needs abt half an hour??

Mmmm.. has your hubby done the 'TI QING' with your parents?? if no, ask your parents to make this as a term n condition lah.. OR worst to worst, if u dare, ask ur parents to be nasty lor.. Oopss.. I mean your parents can insist to have their ways too.. I believe all parents want their daughter to chu jia happily frm own house de.. =D

My wedding preparations in Malaysia, are done by my PILs.. they take care of it.. maybe the restaurant call xin jin bao.. =D

Btw, where is ur hubby stay and is his name??? sekali, ur hubby n mine know each other de.. lol

Hi Jaslyn

Nope I meant from my hubby's place in Malaysia reaching your side takes about half an hour or so... Well we are pretty near...

Ah ya the worst part is my dad quite ok lor and I bet he dont want to spoil the relationship la.... Now everyone thought that I am the bad person so sad.... and I should give in...

Anyway my wedding preparations in Malaysia handled by my MIL and I dont really trust her la... wait she screw up lor.... Anyway I dont get along well with my hubby's sister and as for the mother we have nothing to talk about.... Anyway I made known that over here in Singapore, we do the planning and I do not want tom dick harry to interfere as we are paying for the banquet.... same goes for his mother.

Initailly the mother has doubts about having shark's fin because she dont want the hard liquor to be depleted fast... It is like what the... So I subtlely hint to her that once in a lifetime if want to do, do it nicely if not then forget about it.... I am nmot demanding but I just dont want to have regrets because it is once in a life time and we should not stinge if the things are necessary... To me I think that is quite suay lo if you are stingy with your wedding...

I try to avoid going back his hometown...

Hubby has not done ti qing yet...

Hi Sabine,

icic.. so your hubby's place call what?? heehee.. =D
so tiring, take coach frm SIN to my hubby's place nid abt 6hrs plus.. but no choice lor..

ohh.. sounds like your dad is v qin chai, talk to your dad again lor.. once in the lifetime wor... since ur hubby havent done ti qing, juz bring up during ur ti qing time.. sekali, it works leh.. be positive.. heehee.. =D

Juz let ur MIL do the preparation lor, she oso nid face de.. won't screw up de.. u save trouble oso.. Juz like me.. keekee.. =) I'm focus more here.. here will be more grand than inside.. =D

I'm okie with my hubby's siblings n also PILs.. juz tat they speak cantonese n I dun.. so sometime is like one duck n one chicken.. lol
they do speak chinese lah, den our communication is like one question one answer.. same like you lor, nothing to talk abt.. I oso sianz.. most of my hubby's frds, get sooooooo click with my PILs.. den I realise tat is communication gap.. haiz.. wat to do..??

Since your MIL dun want tis n tat, juz make it simple there lor.. I would rather spend more, make it more grand here and wont have regrets.. This is wat I plan.. heehee.. =D

Hi vincent_wife,

Thxs...I'm going back to Ipoh next week...will talk to my MIL see how.

Hi Joanne,
Thxs for the info...i wrote email to them now waiting for their reply.

Btw, any bride hold their banquet in Sin first then follow by AD & banquet in M'sia.
As i know usually in Sin banquet pratice, bride will wear WG for 1st march-in & EG for 2nd march-in. Is there anyone wear EG only for both march-in in Sin banquet?

Hi HCY

Mine is opposite from you. Mine is AD in Malaysia first then followed by here. So in Singapore I will be wearing my bridal gown but not the veil since already chu jia liao...

Well I feel that I will be wearing my bridal gown so that my friends and relatives can see me in that.... and in a way not left out...

Hi Jaslyn

Ah ya me sian liao dont care about them but to me is that dont like to be a cheapo lor... so if she wants to have face value then all the more she should not talk about saving the $$ when it is necessary...somemore this time is the only son marrying ma...

Me hubby's family is hakka and sometimes when they talk I cannot understand but now I can understand a bit. Ahya must learn to understand a bit or else say something bad about me also dont know... especially the sister...

Anyway over time I realized that because of the area and the culture over here is different from Malaysia so we have nothing common to talk about. Sometimes how I envy my friends and their MIL can be close and can go shopping together. Anyway I dont see them often so that is alright.

Me too share the same thoughts here must be nice and grand as my wedding memories will only retain from here not there....

My hubby's place Malim Nawar... some super ulu kampong.

Hi Sabine,

Haiz... dun tink abt tat anymore lah.. u will be more angry.. juz enjoy whatever u have planned here.. heehee.. =D
me oso dun want to tink so much for inside.. ;p

heehee.. I think I agar agar know where ur hubby stay le.. tink passby there b4.. ;D
my hubby oso staying in super ulu kampong.. long long go back once still ok for me..
if go back offen, I tink I will sianz.. lol shhh.. dun let my hubby hear tat.. keekee ;p

wahhh.. u gOt multiply ah?? me too.. ID same as my nick here.. =D how abt yours?? share share..
btw, where u stay?? can share oso?? =D

Hi Jaslyn

Me think so too la so not thinking about that. When I thought about this matter, my blood boil...

You want to invite, my multiply add is http://veralyn.multiply.com/.

BTW Where is your BS and which venue have you selected for your AD here? Just out of couriosity... Me havent look for a venue yet but plan to do a wedding lunch here...

Me staying at Toa Payoh what about you?

Hi HCY you you can add me into your multiply as well...

Hi Sabine,

juz enjoy your preparation in Singapore.. Tat's impt.. heehee.. =D

Me added you le.. accept me ba..

Yup, aldy found my BS, it's Venus JB and my venue oso, will be held in RELC hotel.. =D
Have you think of any place yet?? better act fast hor.. maybe u tink still early, but tell u lor, it's not.. still got alot of thgs coming up de.. heehee..

Me staying Yishun.. =D

Anyone heard of Focus bride studio in Ipoh?

How is their service?

I would like to ask anyone who engage PG or VG in m'sia, do they shoot the bride side first during makeup & cover veil then shoot groom side etc...

As I ask a VG, he dun shoot bride makeup but can request, I tot this is standard process!
Can anyone share what is the process during shooting?

Hi Jaslyn

Tonight I go and check the invite and accept you...

Wow BS in JB isnt it going to be very troublesome.... Have you gone for gown selection? Will it be a MTM or OTR?

Actually I am aiming for wedding lunch so still ok actually I know I am a bit late for the dates calculation it is just that I am too slack and lazy hee hee....

Hi Sabine,

No problem.. heehee.. =D u have msn at home??
Mmmm.. abit troublesome lor but no choice lah, consider for the cost lor, local de too expensive le, somemore everything they will talk abt $$$.. so sianz.. like my friend's de, she spent almost SGD 6k, (mostly is topup cost)..

Havent go for my gown selection.. tink my gown will consider as OTR ba.. but it's all done by designer de.. so ok lor.. heehee.. =D

Mmm.. since u know ur date aldy, must well book it lor.. u will never know de.. wait u will b headache for it.. ;p

HI Jaslyn

Me have msn at home but I seldom use it...

Yah for a package half the price of Singapore you can get the same thing as what here has offered is definitely attractive. Somemore you can even top up more pics since your budget allows you. I saw your multiply so pretty you are so creative with the multiply.

So when will you be choosing your gown and what type of gown do you like?