Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

huisheng

Hi Joanne, 4 hrs drive is quite a distant drive. But I can understand your mum's feeling too. I decided to chu jia from singapore hotel even though my hometown is only 2 hrs drive from Singapore. I hope this issue will be over soon and you'll be back to happy and excited mood in preparing for your wedding. My actual day is 26 Sep 2009 and my Malaysia dinner is on 19 Sep 2009 (One week before).

jaslyn288

Hi Joanne,

Chu jia can only do once.. Better reconsider again.. What's ur hubby say?? U can make 2 dinner de mah.. u can start ur dinner in M'sia 1st, u may stay in ur hubby's house, when time up, u can come out for praying n tea ceremony den follow by a dinner at night. After that, you can chu jia from singapore den follow by dinner..
I tink ur MIL is particular with the praying (pai tang) and tea session..
Please lor, from singapore all the way, 4 hours travel, to malaysia, not tiring meh?? She oso know how to say, dun make sense. Ur mummy angry is rite de, you are her daughter leh, of cos wants u to chu jia from own house. I can understand ur mummy's feeling.
Make it sounds abt the same route, i tink the elderly will accept..

Actually my hubby wants me to chu jia from malaysia, tell u lor, mine is abt 7hrs travel.. More mad rite?? I disagree.. heehee =D

Don't worry lah, still got time.. can change de.. scary tat day u aldy have yellow card to talk loud leh.. never know de.. lol :D
My AD is 07.03.09 (Customary) den 08.03.09 (dinner) and my Malaysia dinner is one week after.

jaslyn288

Joanne.. Don't drive here n there lah.. v tiring de.. at the end of the day, u will not be happy.. most impt, u must be the happiest person tat day, u know.. think abt my advise lor.. discuss with your hubby again..

Btw, Joanne & Huisheng, have you select your BS yet?? In JB or Spore? share share leh.. :D

huisheng

Hi Jaslyn, yes I have selected my BS. My BS is Sophia Wedding Collections in Singapore. How about you? If you haven't choosen any yet, you can try to visit SWC one day. The gowns there are really beautiful and their serivce is excellect. If you are thinking to find one in JB, My friend is Venus's bride. I like her wedding album very much!

jaslyn288

Hi HUisheng,

Me taking BS in JB.. Wahh.. heehee.. I will be taking the package frm Venus.. =D When is ur AD??

Joanne not in today??

xiaocai

Hi Jaslyn and Mrs Tan to be,

Yet to decide on the driving part.. so leave the question out first since it is early.. haa~~

But anyway, the shifu told me i am not supposed to serve tea to bridal side on the singapore banquet. Which means, i will hold my singapore banquet on 02.10.2009 then customary w malaysia dinner on 10.10.2009 then maybe choose 17.10.2009 or 24.10.2009 and invite my relatives to come my house and serve them tea... abit troublesome...hai...this part yet to tell my MIL on mum... so duno what is my mum reactions on this..

think both MIL and my mum wanted "their ways" of customary wedding.. Mum wishes everything in singapore (but i think this is wrong la) as we are going to stay in singapore anyway. MIL wanted everything in malaysia. My hubby is "anything" one la..so long as everyone agrees with wat plan he will be ok one... so i voice out to him only lor

Hee... I already ROM on last yr 12.12.2008 as i got my balloted flat.

Choose my bridal package at JB (Santiago) booked last yr! & Singapore banquet @ park royal beach road book during their wedding fair earlier this month...

my hubby said i super kiasu, typical singaporean.. hahaha

jaslyn288

Hi Joanne,

Wah.. seems like you have alot of days to be busy.. Since you are having singapore banquet on 02.10.09 den do it one shot lor.. Have ur tea ceremony in the afternoon den follow by dinner.. U can have some small buffet in your house, for your relative..

I think you can gather all our advise, den tink abt it lor.. the more days u spit, the more luan u will be.. maybe spend more $$$ oso..
Wah.. u got your balloted flat.. where?? =D
U are not KS lah.. it's better to book it early den later.. I tink u hv made the rite choice.. like me, I have to spit into 2 days. sianz..

huisheng

Hi jaslyn, my ROM will be on 31 July this year and my AD on 26 Sep 2009 next year. Hi joanne, glad to see you have cheered up a bit!

xiaocai

hmm...thats wat i think too. To combine all into 1 day- that means 02.09.2009, morning, "na cai" (from wat i know, it is same as guo da li), before the banquet serve tea to my relatives ten at night banquet.. but gota make sure my MIL and mum agrees first...

a lot of $$$$$$ spent.... plus my new house renovations... alamak, burnt a big hole in my pocket liao...

We tried our first balloting in july last yr and who knows, the first try, we got a chance to choose a flat so decide to take up ba... tat y last yr go to ROM first lo... In jurong west st 64 (near jurong point and my current house)

So Jaslyn and huisheng, wer are you all holding ur singapore banquets?

jaslyn288

Hi, I mean, do ur tea ceremony n ur banquet in the same day... =D

I will be holding mine in RELC Intl Hotel - Tangs Courts Rest. how abt u gals??

foreverlove08

Hi Joanne,

My AD in singapore on 06.12.2008(Chu Jia), a week after will hold another banquet in Malayasia.

Hi Huisheng & Jaslyn,

Are u both s'porean & FH is M'sian?

jaslyn288

Hi hcy, yup yup.. I am S'porean n Hubby is M'sian..

Joanne, can see that most of the Chu jia, will held at the bride's place 1st.. have a gd discussion with your hubby again ba... =D

huisheng

Joanne --> ya, will be having banquets in Singapore and Malaysia =)

hyc --> hello, nice to meet you here. No, I am malaysian and my FH is Singaporean.

teresa45

Hi Jaslyn,

I also ROM last yr 25/9/07.. Same date w/ u..

Hi Huisheng,

Where will u be chujia? Same as u, i am malaysian n my hubby is Singaporean..

I will be chujia from JB...

xiaocai

Hi Jaslyn & Huisheng,

really appreciate ur advices...

felt really gald that u all share ur "knowledge" and experiences w me..

So Teresa, when is ur wedding to be held?

jaslyn288

Hi Joanne,

Don't mention lah.. ger shd help ger de.. heehee.. =D I oso wish you can chu jia happily mah..

Have you plan for ur BS?? =D

yipphy

Hello..Finally find the thread.i am malaysian from malacca. and my husband is singaporean. Now i am looking for my chu jia place. Any idea where to get one day stay in service apartment / condo / suite room?

vincents_wife

Hi all ,
I'm Msian , Hubby s'porean ..

Hi Jaslyn (jaslyn288),
I'm also Venus Brides.

Hi Teresa Chang (teresa45),
I'm also chu jia from JB. Do u know how is the procedures like ? i duno how .. some of them teach me is go out from my house , drive the car turn 3 rounds .. then go back to my own house for tea ceremony .. finish liao then proceed to s'pore ... is it like that ? my AD in 31st Aug 2008.

vincents_wife

i would like to share www.simonvideo.com.sg
their pricing is quite reasonable ..
S$1200 for videography & photography for AD.
For morning express , +S$200
For mine i ask them to go JB .. so + S$100 (2 person x S$50 each) ...
Total is S$1500 nett

jaslyn288

Hi Vincent's wife.. =D
Just sign up with venus today.. taking our PS on 10.10.08.. heehee.. =D

Wah.. package okie leh.. But u mentioned 1200 hor, they put 1288 in their website leh.. or aft neg??
heehee.. btw, so how many photos they will give??

teresa45

Hi Vincent's wife,

I'm also not sure about the procedure leh.. But I'm sure that we will have our tea ceremony for bride side at jb 1st then only proceed to s'pore..

I'm still blur w/ the procedure..

vincents_wife

Hi Jaslyn ..
hehe i tink pricing after CNY increased liao .. that time i signed up is S$1200 ;)
they will give us 300 of 4R in slot-in album.
he written on the receipt is 2 DVDs for photos , 2 DVDs for video.

Hi Teresa ..
hehe i also duno .. my mother also agar agar one ..
some say drive 3 rounds .. some say walk out from the big gate then walk in again .. hahaha i tink i'll wait til AD .. follow the elder relatives instructions.

jaslyn288

Hihi..
As I will be chu jia in Spore so my hubby will come out frm the hotel, PILs wait us in the hotel.. =D
den after tea ceremony in my house, den will proceed to hotel for tea ceremony for PILs..
aft tat, going for photoshooting
den back to niang jia for buffet =D

this is wat I plan to lah.. havent approve from my hubby.. lol
but leh, I tink this is the way ba.. =D

jaslyn288

Hi yipphy,
Of cos.. I have RELC international Hotel.. =D
Recommended by friends also..
Heard that food is nice n place is quite.. Package reasonable too..
If u are on budget, can consider this hotel.. =D

Btw, when is your AD??

yipphy

Hi jaslyn. Tks for your advice. I am looking for the suite room. Actually have called them earlier for the service apartment. But not available as booking is for min 7 days. Mine is 17/11/08.

xiaocai

alamak... too busy with closing accounts for the company...

So Jaslyn, have u got ur photographer?
I ask for quite a no of quotations... still haven decide yet. Plus still not very sure wana VG or not...

papakotyah

Can I check wif u all abt the Visa? Am M'sian and my baby girl is S'porean. I wanna bring my girl go back to my hometown, Terengganu for a month. So I'am not sure whether I need to apply a Visa for her at M'sia High Comm? Baby must attend when apply Visa? What are the documents have to bring along?

Any one can help? Many thanks.

xiaocai

Hi Jaslyn and Teresa,

I had forward quotations from:
360frames, 1950 photography, unique-colors and 1 more company (i think freelance)..
Quite a no of others still yet to give their quotations, only refer me to their websites...
yet to take a good look at all of them...

But i am aware that most of them will only offer their services for singapore banquet, they will not offer malaysia side actual day photography... but my hubby hometown did not have any "good" photography shop... so still trying to ask around if companies will go into malaysia w us or not...

xiaocai

Hmmmm... i m also wondering how am i going to have makeup for my actual day too...

hai... hubby hometown is just a small village.. nearest town also no such "shops" around.. cos to them, for weddings, they just shoot photographs with their own cameras or video recorders...

teresa45

Hi Joanne,

Recieved your email. Tks.

The price seems like very ex leh.. Almost 2k for PG only.. but can consider 36 frame as PG+VG only cost 1900..

Actually I have one which recommend by my friend.. 700+ for PG and 800+ for VG.. I am still consider..

vincents_wife

Hi ladies ..

Those u all metioned price high cos they are considered "branded" ones .. Some can go up to S$3K for AD PG only ..

Most of the PG + VG willing to travel .. as long as u willng to top up the transportation costs.

For me i top up S$100 (S$50 x 2)for them to go in n out of JB to s'pore ... earlier than 7am also need to pay S$30/hr.

There's another one not bad one .. SK Media Works founded by Sim & Ken (SK) and located in Skudai , 016-7111365(Sim)
http://www.youtube.com/skmediawork

hehe so gd why i never take them .. cos simonvideo is still cheaper =p ..

I'm taking MUA from my BS in JB .. they charged me RM 350 (in JB , morning) , S$350 (in S'pore , night)

xiaocai

Hi Teresa,

The one ur friend recommend provide their services to malaysia?

Hi Vincents's wife,

Do the PG & VG travel further than JB? my hubby hometown is at Seramban.. Most of the PG i checked in singapore do not offer their services there.