Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

rastpiggy

heard from a friend told me is better to have both country recognize ur marriage cert. , if anything happen (for example divorce next time) u r protect by the law from both country. if ur cert only recognize on malaysia but not in s'pore, u r not protect by the law in s'pore and they can't charge ur hubby.

tingshen

rachel....sometimes I feel quite sad for people talking about divorce....but i know, sometimes, it can't be helped.

When I have decided to sign that piece of paper with my wife, I have told myself, never ever brought up the word, "divorce". We vowed infront of JP, infront of all our good friends and family members, it's a promise we shall keep.

1 thing to take note, never ever "shout" or "yelled" at your other half. Unless it's for joking purpose. I think it will reduce a lot of conflicts by just doing this.

huiz

Hi TS,

Both parties have to be present coz they need both to sign the forms.

Wa, 318bi, your colleague is the ultimate ah.... Heehee.... But if her family has been staying in Sg all these while and have no intentions of settling down in Msia later, perhaps its ok lor... but then again, better do it to be safe la. We wouldn't know what will happen in future that this one off registration can make life much easier for us

huiz

Hi TS,

As far as I know, I am afraid not. I even had difficulty finding information of what to bring on the net man

susany

wow wow wow, good to know that this thread has become active again .. TS, still the only thorn among the roses here, ah .. good, need your support in sharing information to those who are needed.

huiz

Glad to be able to share what I know with everyone here. It's certainly my pleasure

Are most of us here spouses of Msians or are Msians themselves? I am from the former. My hubby is a Msian who had spent about 13 or so years here since his NUS days. Decided to come here to further his studies after High School (is that the equivalent of Sg's A levels?) He is now working in Sg.

Anyone here care to share a bit more of your personal info?

storeberry

Hi is it neccessary to bring birth cert? My hubby's birth cert is don't know where... Anyone managed to submit without?

Hi huiz, I am a Singaporean & my hubby is a Malyasian.

melodygirl

Any idea whether it will be difficult to apply PR for my husband-to be if his basic is ard 1.3k but his average monthly gross is ard 1.8-2k ? Do they look into basic or gross ? The sposnor ( that is me ) salary is also taken into consideration ? oso very sianzz about this PR thing :-( Anyone got any fren's example to share with ?

melodygirl

Hi rachel, mind to tell me more about your hubby's background when applying for PR ? Probably we should discuss separately in any case which certain things are quite personal.
Hope you can understand how i feel

blurberry

Hi Melody, heard from colleagues if your husband have any certificates will be easy to apply and your salary should be taken into consideration. My colleague have diploma and salary around 1.2k per month.

melodygirl

Hi Bluberry,

Thanks for your reply. Btw, is your colleague the sponsor or the applicant ? He or she ? Got PR already ?
My husband to be only got SPM leh... but salary still sort of higher than ur colleague loh.. my salary should not be a problem. got ard 2.5k.

Fanzz...

huiz

Long time no come here liao. Glad to chat with u all again.

I believe the authorities do look at salary and skills level to approve PR application. My mum's cousin-in-law tried for a few times but gave up in the end.

My hubby got his not long after he started work here. They had offered him citizenship twice but he had rejected. Hah, we are thinking of moving back there to retire.

Btw, anyone here from Melaka or holding another dinner in Melaka? I am totally clueless about how and who is good enough a MUA to engage.

falling_star

hi hi...

any idea how much should be ping(4) jin(1)? and what to prepare for xia(4) pin(4)?

me malaysian and my HTB indonesion. we both PR at singapore....

karentay810

i hope to join you all in this farum cos i also a malaysian.My future husband is a singaporean. our ROM shall held on 2/12/2006 in singapore. wedding date is on 9/6/2007.

i had several question to ask la ...really hope for all of your advice.

- what is the Qualification for my husband need to have to apply a PR for me? how about me also?

- my wedding on June 2007 any idea where to get to rent a house or appartment for a reasonable price? i need to rent for my parent n relative to stay le for 2 days, stay in hotel very expensive.

- can intro me a freelance profersional
photographer for my Actual day n nite dinner?

**hope to get your advice**

huiz

Hi Karen,

I think qualification is not so much of a question for both of u as basically u are a Msian marrying a Sgrean. He can apply PR for u through the marriage avenue.

If your husband is a Msian wanting to apply PR here for himself, then qualifications would matter. The matter further complicates if he wants to apply PR for u too.

karentay810

dear HuiZ,

thanks for your reply to me, sorry for the late reply.

dear All frens...

now i have probelm now. may i know before i getting SPR can i work in singapore? cos some of fren say in singapore law before i get the SPR i cannot work in singapore if not my SPR very hard to apply is it true?

i m so worry now cos if cannot work then what i goigng to ern for my leaving in singapore while waiting for my SPR? and it take 3 - 6 month to process, and i had resign the job in malaysia 31/10/2006 shall be my last day. then if singapore not aalow me to work cos of the SPR then how? i m so worry . can pls some 1 advice me for he topic.

my Fionce is a singaporean, i m a malaysian n i m working in malaysia currently, my Fionce own his own business.he contribute tax every year but dint contribute CPF for this past 2 years. will it effect the process of the SPR?

NOV only will move to singapore. my ROM is on Dec 2 2006.

pls advice urgently. i m so worry cos i m movning to singapore on NOV 2006 already. can some 1 advice me. thank you.

spongme

karen,
congrats on yr coming ROM! everything all plan out nicely already?

u no need to worry lah! u go spore in Nov, find a job and apply for employment pass then can work already lor! so, just in case yr SPR is delayed for whatever reason, u still can continue working!

karentay810

dear sp,

thanks for you congrats. realy appreciate it.

my Fioce say he wil be goign down to ICA today to clarified. ai i dunno la so funny la singapore law, later this later that make me so confuse, hopefully eveyrhitng shall be find.

i still hope to hear from those ppl that got expirience fot applying SPR to give me an advice loo.

huiz

Ya Karen, not to worry. U can still work in Sg without a PR status. As long as your potential employer is willing to apply WP or EP for you, it should be fine

Congrats for your ROM too!

marilyn_chh

hi karen,

dun worry. before i got my SPR, i 'm working under employment pass. depending on your pay, you might get working permit or employment pass. After that you can ask your company to sponsor your SPR application. That was what i did. My company sponsor me for abt 5 years before I change it to my husband sponsporship. He's a singaporean too.

By the way, when i went to extend my PR, the IRA officer asked me whether do i really want to change cos she said if i divorce i will lose my PR. She said better be under company. I never tot of divorce, i just tot, if i leave my current company, then i need to change sponsorship again? If i change to be under my husband, i sure won't need to change husband right? of course considering that i'm expecting my marriage to be till death do us apart kind lah..hahaha..

karentay810

dear Marilyn ,

really really thanks alot for your advice to me , it really help me alot. now i no more worries.

by the way b4 you maried your husband r you working in singapore ard? the problem is me working in malaysia now , NOV only i go singapore then DEC ROM only i start my work. but now still dint aplly any job yet la. shall apply while i in Singapore on NOV.

so will i effect? or as long as i have he employment pass then i sure get the SPR but it only time only right? pls advice .

marilyn_chh

karen,

actually, i study uni here and then after that never leave this country anymore..haha..met my hubby in school too. so, yes, i worked for a couple of years before i got married.

if you're a tertiery student, i think you don't need to worry. even if you're not, dun panic and dun worry. Focus on your ROM. settle one thing at a time. once ROM over, your husband can apply PR for you.

And for best clearification, ask your husband to go down to ICA (Immiggration and Checkpoint Authority) personally or called them on the hotlines or email. They're quite efficient and willing to answer your queries and they do reply your email.

jelly

Me fine too, being preparing for the arrival of my little one.

U take care, and do hope to catch up wif u gals sometimes...

migil

Im a Singaporean while my FH is a Malaysian who has not work in Sg before. We plan to register our marriage in Singapore. Im kind of confuse, donno what i should do first.

I heard that Malaysia with work permit needs to apply for approval from MOM before they can ROM in Sg. What about those not working in Sg at all?

Does anyone know what are the documents needed to file our marriage?

spongme

hi, Jas,
u preparing for yr little one? u preggie already ah? congrats leh, I didn't know... when yr bb due?

me ok as per normal lor, very routine life nowadays...

hi migil,
sorry I'm not sure, hope someone else will be able to help u.

jelly

Hihi sp, i am coming to 6 months! Bb due CNY...

Have u shifted to ur new house?

migil, suggest u call MOM to clarify. 64385122.

spongme

Jas,
Wah, so fast u gonna be mummy! Time really flies as it's not that long ago when we were chatting about yr wedding and admiring yr pics!

Yr bb girl or boy? So fun to start shopping for clothes ya...

jelly

Sp, ya time flies... Didn't expect to strike so fast also.

Mine a bb girl. Haven't start shopping for bb stuff yet lei. Got 2 big bags of bb cloth from my SIL. Will sort them out first then see whether need to buy anything in additional. Think my brother will pass me his bb cot then can save a bit of money loh.

How's ur boy? He is almost 1 year old liao rite? Start walking? Must be real fun to watch him grow day by day.

spongme

Jas,
so good to get hand-me-downs! last time my boy also got old clothes to wear... he was wearing pink for first 6 months of his life

now he is 15 months old, can walk quite well already, he's great fun and joy!

got any unsatisfied cravings? keke...

tlc

Hi Jas, SP & mrc....

Great to noe yr still active here! soly, long time din join in as juz change job & busy ard...keke~ no sure yr stil remeber me mah?

Jas: Congrats! u oledy noe ur bb is gal ah? tot u & hubby dun wish to noe 1st untill u gif birth....anyway it's doesn't matter B or G, as long as bb healthy & no suffering duing pregnant wil do. Any uneasy feeling so far? no morining sickness at all?

mrc: still concentrate on fashion study? shld catch up like Jas le... heehe...