Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

jelly

sp, no craving for me lei, just that i dun like to eat fish and vege, feel difficult to swallow. Still eat the normal portion as before... So u thinking of bb no.2?

hihi tlc, long time didn't see u around? How's ur new job? Any good news from u?
Ya, initially we dun want to know, later overwhelmed by our curiosity, heihei... So far so good lei, no ms or anything like that.

tlc

Jas~~suprising tat u still active here! soly to disapooint u ler...we not going pregnant bout same time huh~ keke~ no good news yet...now concentrate on house reno 1st. so now u oledy nearly 6-7months? when is ur due date, wil b doggie gal? can dress up pretty like mum...hoho
BTW, how bout Anne le?

Juz meet up my new neighbour, guess wat most are newly wed couple around our age ler, hehe ;) my next door is Sg bride married to M'sia groom, both them drive in work & back JB everyday! hubby show them our fencing area concept & discuss, since both agree we will share the cost for those cost for wall extend part...

well, my new job in Bt Batok (near ur area) but working hr very long & reach home q late, bit tired, job scope so far ok...getting used to it.

jelly

tlc, me now more active on another forum on motherhood lah. Haha...

Ya, now 6 months plus liao, will due during CNY, cld be a doggie or piggie.

Heihei, enjoy ur reno process. Good to know ur neighbour from the beginning. Invite me to view ur new house after renovation k?

migil

Hi, Im a singapore bride and my FH is from JB.

As my FH will fetch me from my house in sg to his house in JB, will it be troublesome to cross the Malaysia custom? Afraid of traffic jam.

anyone care to share your experience?

tlc

Hi Migil,

when is ur day? if is on weekend & peak hour, will meet traffic jam...it's bit risky & stress. Or, ur FH out early. To play safe, mayb u marry off fm JB hotel or he out fm Sg place, if u hv those 'good' timing to marry in his house, beter plan it well.

migil

Hi tlc,

I have not confirmed my date. Hope to make it on a weekend, donno Sat or Sun is better. I have never seen a wedding car on the causeway before.

Wat about coming back to Sg in the afternoon for tea ceremony? Is there any way to simpify the procedure so that i don have to travel to and fro so many times?

tlc

maybe u can try 2nd link, sure no jam & u can estimate timing well.

Think i saw bridal car on causeway b4, my hubby's sis oso marry off fm JB to Sg but that time no 2nd link yet & groom stay at Woodlands!

teddy_teddybear

Hi Migil,

Try 2nd link be safer. My cousin doing this way before. From Johor to SG.

My AD is on next year April. My hubby will come along the way from SG to my home town. And we got to reach his house at 11am. To be safe, we also plan to go by 2nd link. ;)

migil

Thanks for the reminder, but i stay in Yishun and my FH stays just 5 mins away from the woodlands checkpoint.

papakotyah

Siggghhhhh, my hubby apply PR for me since 22/9 till now 3 months already..still no sound no picture frm ICA.. can i call n check with them? hmm... dun know whether is it am not high educated...sighhhhh...

marilyn_chh

merry christmas and happy new year!

Jas,
COngrats for being a mummy to be!

papalotyah,
Yes, you can called and check with them. If I'm not wrong, there is an option in the phone to check the status of application? Check out ICA website too for into.

tingshen

hi guys, I am going to file my marriage at the high commission there. Is there a stack of complicated Bahasa Melayu forms to fill up?

guazi

hi gals, it was so so long ever since i last visited the forum!! hope you gals are doing great!

congrats to jas too!!

TS, no many forms to fill in, only 1 or 2, but i think the forms are in malay if i'm not mistaken.

krystal80

i got a question to ask. If my FH is malaysian and a SPR, after we ROM, must we still go back to the High Comm to register our marriage on the Malaysia side?

guazi

TS, I submitted the forms on the spot and no witness needed.. not sure about the procedure now bcos i did it last 2 years.

andrea, if you ROM in Sg, you still need to go to the High comm to register your marriage for Msia's record.

honey_c

I am a PR. I'm from Malaysia, my bf is a Singaporean. We planned to get marry end of this yr. As i am a Catholic, i need advises on customary/traditional wedding ceremony. What is the things i have to take note, esp on the 'guo da li' session. How it goes abt?

I really need HELP!!

krystal80

Hi Maria, my fh is a Malaysian and I'm Singaporean =) We're both catholic, so might be able to help on that bit =) Can pass me ur email so I can help?

If u need help arranging banquet and stuff, u can join the Dec 07 BTB thread or whichever month ur planning to get married in to find advise on hotel bookings and bridal studios, etc if you need =)

tingshen

just filed our marriage at Malaysian High Commission. It's better to go early so that your stuff get processed earlier. My wife arrived at 9.45am, we only get to leave at around 11.30am.....

the forms is quite easy to fill up, nothing special, mostly just your particulars and your father's particulars only....

tingshen

hi mrc, didn't know we are actually ex-classmate! lol! glad to see you yesterday on WW's banquet

sent you an email for the solemnization highlights which I showed you yesterday too.

jelly

Hi mrc and angie, thanks thanks! Now waiting anxiously for my little one to pop. Hopefully she will only come out during cny.
Both of u jia you also ya... hope to hear good news from u soon too.

jael

Me and my hubby are malaysian SPR. Recently my hubby thinking to take up the citizenship of singapore. Any advice ?

tingshen

if you guys are serious about it, either one to apply is better, in case you need the Malaysian citizenship, you're doomed....so, just in case, keep one, Malaysian citizenship is damn hard to get one....unless you're erhem...you know.....

sunflower44

need to check with u....
so we have to ROM in S'pore, if we register our marriage in M'sia liao?
If ROM in S'pore, izit recognised in M'sia?
FH and I duno to register our marriage in M'sia or S'pore leh....any pros ad cons?

guazi

sunflower, you can rom in SG and and go to SG's Msia High com to register, if not your marriage in sg will not be recognised in Msia. and there will be fines too if you do not register after 6 months

flowertyl

Hi, Angel

My bf is Sporean , I am Msian , so you mean we should register our marriage in both country huh ?? I do not know this until I saw your post , heng ah.....

After we ROM in Spore , we should register in Msian high com within 6 mths , isn it ??

Can we register in Msia B4 ROM in Spore ?

guazi

flowertyl, my hubby sgprean too and i'm msian. i had my ROM in SG, then we went to register at Msian hicom near cityhall. the process is easy anyway. yea my understanding is 6 months, if i'm not mistaken.

of course you can do it the other way round too! you register in msia first only then sg. but not sure whether sg will impose any fines like msia.. who knows there's no such rule in sg??? i'm not sure about this though..

dot1980

Everybody here. I think it kinda stress up for ladies to have a fh to be malaysian. I am a singaporean & My fh is also from malaysia & he had been working in singapore for the past 5 years. However, he does not have a high education. he only completed secondary school. I do have a dipolma from the local polytechnic. We will be going ROM next month. After that, I will act as his sponsor to apply for his PR. Is there anyone with a similar situation whereby their FH is from malaysia with little education? What is the chances for a woman to sponsor for his husband. This "PR" thing had been making me worried since the day we decide to ROm. Haha Im really worried. Hope to hear some scenerio how the FH got their PR.

Happy Girl

denjan

hi HappyGirl,
my fren having same situation..but both the couple r malaysian...the gal is PR who hold a degree while the guy having lower education(secondary)... they ROM last year and recently my fren succesfully sponsor and apply her FH as sg PR.... so i think ur case shouldn be a problem since u r a singaporean... anyway u should check the details at ICA for further information.

btw,im sg PR,malaysian gal while my FH having same status with me but he had been living in sg since he was 5year old....and i work here since 5 years ago..

sunflower44

Hi Angie,

My FH checked with S'pore ROM, the lady said if we register our marriage in M'sia, then we wun have to do the solemnisation in S'pore again.

Our case abit "messy" loh, coz our customary is 1 week b4 our dinner.Initially we plan to do our solemnisation on our wedding dinner. But its agst the law to solemnise AFTER the customary, so we had to register our marriage b4 that. Now the problem is:

1)Is it better to ROM in S'pore 1st, then go to M'sia High Com (in S'pore rite?) to register...? If i do that, theres actually no need to go down to M'sia (my FH is from Batu Pahat) to registr ah?

2) If i go over to Batu Pahat to ROM, then do my parents have to go over as well to be the witnesses? Then what are the procedures when we come back to S'pore?

Headache ah...... =(

guazi

sunflower, oh so good, that means SG gov recognises msian marriage cert? no solemnisation to be held in SG as in the ceremony or the registration/filing with SG ROM?

Erm, not sure whether there's any law that forbid solemnisation after the customary..

for option1, yes, ROM in SG, then go register at Msia High com in Sg ( near cityhall)

for option2, i think Msia registrar also needs a witness to sign. you mentinoed that your hubby checked with SG ROM that you dont need to register again with SG right? that's actually my queries too la hehe

sunflower44

Hi Angie,

I think what the lady at ROM means is that, we dun have to go thru te solemnisation procedures again in Spore loh... BUT i suppose we'll have to keep ROM informed of our marriage in M'sia ah.. if not, how is the Spore govt going to knw we're married...sounds logical hor? Heee...
The thing is, we've wanted a solemnisation ceremony b4 our dinner commences loh...in my WG... looks like now canot liao.. *sigh*

Yup, if u go to the Spore ROM website, its stated that its illegal to go thru customary b4 the solemnisation ar...can be fined or go to jail if im not wrong...scary!

Hey, when u ROM in S'pore, did ur parents come down to S'pore as witnesses? Coz on ur side, u also need witness rite?

Ohya...have u gone thru the customary liao? =)

guazi

sunflower, when I rom in SG, my parents came down as witness ( only 1 will do). yea, I had my customary wedding too, 1 year after I rom, hehe.

dot1980

Hi Janice
Thanks for your advise. Did you know tat ICA came out with the Assessment for Eligibility for Singapore Permanent resident. I tried doing it in the afternoon, I was shown a green light means I can try to apply for the PR. Now when i input in the same information, im shown the red light. Im so upset
I duno is it becoz the system is really inaccurate or my fh cannot apply for PR. I had checked the ICA rules before, for Spouse sponsored PR, it is case to case basis so it is kinda help to say.

Haha Im kind of confuse & stress now. Should I go on to ROm next month? My ROM date is 17th Mar but Im worried wat will happen in future if my FH is unable to get his PR.

I always wanted a new house so now coz he is only holding a work permit, I can only buy a resale flat. Im looking at resale flats now.

Janice which part of Malaysia r u from?

denjan

HappyGirl,

i am from Johor..hometown quite near to sg and have many relatives here...

my gal fren's brother got his PR after 10 year plus working in sg(as contractor)..he's even lower education...so i think is really case to case...since u r singaporean,so shouldn't worry so much..think this way,there r many midddle aged men in sg marry overseas wife(china and vietnanese gals)..they apply for their wife after marridge also...if u FH contribute and working in this country,there will always a chance for u to apply PR and sponsor for him,jz that u must try and be patient before ur wish comes true...
i believe two of u r really in love then only decide to tie the knot rite? my opinion is,no matter how tough and troublesome,jz keep on trying but then try not to bring out nationality and education level issues too often..this may cause argument..and men,,,u know,,they have their male ego....hee..

housing issue,i tot as long as anyone of the couple is singaporean then u can apply for HDB new house?? for my case,(both PR) we can only buy resale flats in open market..but then temporary we r renting..cos not sure how long we r going to stay in sg..we might consider shifting to malaysia in future,who know?even if we decided to buy HDB here,we don mind if it is jz resale flats.. because they r bigger unit and more spaceous if compared to new HDB..also u can choose any location..new HDB usually has limited choice of location...moreover,if u can get a well renovated resale flat,u might save on re-renovate the house..after all,HDB is jz 99years property...not freehold...anyway the above jz my personal opinion la....

Happy Chinese New Year to everybody here!

pinklady23

Hi to all,
I'm having some problems with the preparation of the wedding with my FH. He's a malaysian but holding PR here. Our problems now is where to hold the customary. His family wanted to do it in Malacca but my parents and myself wanted to do it from S'pore. Can anyone advise me on this? Thanks.

dot1980

Hi Joelle,
I will suggest that you & ur FH hold separate Customary. If you are singaporean & most of ur relatives are here, you can hold your banquet in Singapore. As for your FH, he can hold the banquet in Malacca for his relatives. Hehe my bf is also from Malacca :p Quite coincidence ya

Wat do you think of my suggestion?

storeberry

Hi Joelle, agree with Happygirl that the best way is to hold two wedding to satisfy both parties. My FH is from Negeri Sembilan but his parents is fine that we will not be holding any dinner at his hometown so we will only be holding in S'pore.

guazi

Joelle, i'm from KL while hubby Sgprean. We held 3 wedding banquets! 1 at Sg, 1 at KL and 1 at my hometown Johor. Tired but it was a great and happpy experience!