Burkill Hall

Hi Freaky,

I'm also shortlisted PS after the wedding workshop. Quite impressed with them.
I'm going to see Burkill Hall this fri.
Then I can really decide.

Who are you talking to in PS? Can you provide some feedback on person service?

Hi Tulips,
Hope you have a good time visiting the place then it'll be one less thing to worry about

We even had the boss asking us if we needed any help. I spoke to a lady from the marketing dept first and she was quite helpful but I've been liasing with another lady, Jasline through emails beforehand. Michelle, I was quite worried to start with cos I'm not too sure what to expect from her and she looks rather young. I only managed to speak to her after everyone is gone and she was very helpful and professional as well! She even helped me to ask her boss if it's possible for me to have something I wanted which they only provide for the $58 and above menu which I thought was pretty good.

I haven't heard from them yet since after the workshop though.

Hi freaky

Tats how they practices, only when come to payment or extreme near to your wedding day than you will hear from them. Think you better chase them abit. Tat's the women i spoke with earlier! action party, she not tat nice from wat i know of.........

After viewing the place, I have more or less confirm to use this place. It really quite nice.

Anyone has any real wedding photos of Burkill Hall to share? I would like to see how it look in the nite time.

Hi Tulips02,
I'm glad you like that place too. Did you happen to check on the toilets in the ground floor? I forgot to take a look at it when I was there and I'm not sure if it needs some little decoration.

Hi kayabread,
I'll be having my soleminsation at Burkill followed by buffet dinner. The buffet line will be inside the hall rather than at the back which most caterer seems to be doing most of the time. I did check out some marquee and there's this mongolian tent which I like a lot but it's going to be too costly so I'm going without one. If it rains, we'll be in the hall as I don't have a lot of guests. Someone I spoke to was suggesting that we can have mist cooler or fans at the garden to cool the place down. It also depends on when you're having your wedding.

Decoration can come up to quite a bit. But it depends on how much you want decorated. The hall and garden has very pretty landscape so you don't really need much decoration. Perhaps you can try asking some florist for quotes. Do remember that even though it's not in a hotel, all these extras could add up to the same as hotels.

As for sound system, you may have to set aside around $600.

Some caterers will include tables and chairs in the quotation and some don't so remember to ask if there're any extra charges when shopping for a caterer. You could even get them to do some decoration for the venue as well.

Hi Freaky,

I din not check the ground floor toilet hehehe...din think of that.
But if it the same as the vistor center one then maybe some flowers petals are good enough. But this i'm not really sure.

Hope to view the place when there is a wedding going on. But i think it too much to ask. I'm happy if there are more photos to view.

Hi Tulips02,
I was at Burkill once when there was a wedding but that was before any of the guests had arrived. The couple had about 8 or 10 tables on the ground floor placed at the two sides around the pillars and the food at the back of the hall. Personally it feels quite bare and a bit weird to walk to the back of the hall to get the food. Apart from that, it looked nice and the speaker was good. The couple had some standing cocktail tables at the front porch as well and it felt very wedding-ish.

Hi Freakyfairy,

Thanks for sharing about your setup. When you mention "the hall", are you referring to the ground floor? So you're not going to use the 2nd floor at all? I haven't actually seen the place personally yet although I have the floorplan and some photos. I was thinking of shortlisting some venues first before arranging to go down to see the place. Burkhill hall is definitely on my list, although the drawback is that the rental is quite expensive.

Not to mention, I am the paranoid type, so might need to spend on a marquee too. By the way, how does a mongolian tent look like? And how many guests are you having? I'm planning for around 100 or so, not sure if they can all squeeze into the hall if it rains and still have space for us to walk down the "aisle".

By the way, I saw a website for mist coolers and dehumidifiers...but not sure about the price though. Found some pictures here (http://www.sunshinemist.com/htmdocs/gallery/wedding.htm). Some of them look quite bulky, but I guess depends on the type that you choose.

Thanks for your advice on the additional costs there might be. Hmm..sounds like I might not have to worry too much about decorations if the landscape is nice enough. Hopefully can minimize cost on that

Hi, im looking into a outdoor event, and it sounds nice at this Burkill Hall, can someone pls share w me more pics and the planning.. I saw the rental fees, a bit costly hor.. Any discounts? Thks!

Hi kaya,
No worries at all. I'm actually refering to the house as hall. My plan is to have the buffet on the ground floor and the upstairs for people to lounge around after they have taken their food and Im' going to have some light refreshment there while the buffet is being cleared later in the evening and some people could head off if they want to.

I have to agree that Burkill Hall is really expensive. We wouldn't be able to have our wedding there without the help of my FPILs. I was initally planning to have it at Aloha Changi Fairy Point 7 but was told that they're having renovation on the date I wanted and they couldn't change it but a month later, being nosey, I went back to the site to check if it's still available and it is. They only allowed us to book the place two months in advance so I think it's too risky to wait around.

You can see some pictures of the mongolian tent at http://www.blessedrom.com/ I do have a quote on the tent and a couple of bigger ones and it's way over our budget. I'm going to hae around 100 as well and was told that there is more than enough space as the max they told us is about 250 for a sit-down. I'm still considering whether to go for coolers as they cost quite a bit as well.

Sspl, I don't have any pictures on hand at the moment. The rental is very high but it really worth it. They would actually allow you to have the place from noon if you're going for the night rental and there isn't any event on the morning before you place your booking. Don't think you can get any discounts on the venue. I did ask why the rental is so high and was told that the money goes to mantain the garden which I think is nice.

hi freaky, tks for ur reply.. ermm, my fh was afraid of the weather thingy.. somemore he wanna play safe, which to have a sit dwn dinner instead of buffet... so im stil hestitating..
wil look ard 1st..

Hi Sspl,
ha the weather is always a big issue for weddings. I've seen some tents from Blessed ROM when lighted up in the evening and it looked really sweet and romantic. You can try Mandai Orchid Garden as well. I've seen clips of the place and TV and it looks sweet with flowers around but I don't think there's an indoor alternative. I guess if you're planning to have a tent, it doesn't matter too much. I believe the rental there is much lower than Burkill. Lots of people have sit-down dinner at Burkill. In fact, our caterer told us that this is the first standing buffet they're doing at Burkill!

Hi freakyfairy, Your plan sounds quite good... since the 2nd floor has aircon, it's a good idea to let people just hang around and chill out
Same as you, one of my main choices is Fairypoint 7, cos I think it's nice place set by the sea and can be pretty when the sun sets (provided the sky is clear). And the price is so much cheaper than Burkhill. But the main problem is they also told us we can book only 2 months in advance which is really not practical..sigh....

Thanks for the link. Just wondering, is the mongolian tent the triangular tent in the picture on the main page? I think I'll ask them for quotes after I've more or less settled on a venue.

We'll probably be going down next month to have a better look around Burkhill and decide whether or not we want to fork out the $$ for it. Tough decision... between having a nice and different sort of venue and the price you gotta pay for it..

Sspl One thing good about Burkhill is that there's at least some shelter from the weather unlike completely outdoor venues, and the 2nd floor is airconditioned. You can actually email nparks to ask them for some photos and the floor plan to get a better idea of the place. Another thing is that Burkhill is something like a private area, so you won't have members of the public wondering around your wedding. I'm not sure if Mandai Orchid Garden has that, cos the impression they give me is that the place is quite open (although I haven't actually gone to see it personally, just from photos etc).

Hi, freakyfairy, talking abt the sit dwn dinner at burkill.. actually, abit sianz too leh, cos i was thinking of 2 separate dinner for my wedding, maybe a garden event for frds and sit dwn dinner for relatives.. but a bit shag to hold 2 days.. so was thinking if at burkill, shd i do the lunch buffet and solem there then evening at the 2nd floor do the dinner thingy.. but a bit hesitant too.. scared not convenient for the elderly.. sianz.. thinking of Peony Jade @ Clarke Q..

Hi kaya, ya, burkill got shelter jus in case bad weather.. ive email there last week but they no reply me leh.. ya, i like the part that its private event lor.. so now, scratch head, duno wat i want..

Hi Sspl, oh I think they're currently in the midst of shifting office or something like that. they should reply you soon i guess. by the way, why don't you hold your solemnization and lunch buffet there in the afternoon and your dinner somewhere else? The rental there in the day time is much cheaper ($1500 for 1st 2 hrs i think).

Hi kaya, oh, is it? i not too sure abt the rental price in the mornin.. but i think 2 hrs might not be enuff leh.. then i feel so sianz holding 2 separate wedding just for the relatves.. so stil hestiting..

Hi Freaky,

Did you engage any guys for sound system?
I planning to get 1. Was thinking of asking PS to do it together with the catering.

What your plan for entertainment?

Glad to meet the Burkill brides here. I am considering Burkill for my wedding. My dream is to have a garden wedding and Burkill seems to fit the bill quite well

Can anyone share with me the quotes for logistics ?

Rental - ?
Floral Decor ?
PA system ?
Dinner ?
Projector Screen ?
Entertainment ?
Lightings ?
Solemnization setup ?

Hi Ladies, Can i just ask how much did you spend for ROM at burkill hall? I understand that the rental is not cheap, we are looking at ard 20 to 25 pax. Any adv whether is it worth to hold it at burkill hall with that number of guest? I love the place after seeing the photos. Can anybody gave me a rough idea how much will I be spending from buffet to solemnisation set-up @ burkill Hall? THanks!!

Hi Kaya, hehe I'm thinking of renting Fairy point 7 one day for some get together or something cos it's such a nice place. I did see someone's wedding there and from the pictures, it looks like lots of work needed to make the place looks very wedding-ish cos of the size of the garden.

Yup yup, the mongolian tent is the one on their main page. It's actually square based, comes in two sizes I believe. The lady I contacted told me that for wedding purpose, they'll line the poles and include fans and lighting so you'll only need to get your florist to put some flowers on the pole. There's a choice of floorboard as well I think. My florist was suggesting to go without as it'll feel more gardenish. I do find that since the garden is Burkill isn't that big, having tents might actually make it look smaller and take away the view of the landscape.

I think Sentosa has a colonial building as well. Its called The Arches I think. Not too sure about the details although I believe it's cheaper than Burkill. We didn't look much into it since Sentosa is too far.

Sspl, Not sure if this is useful to you but my florist had his wedding at Burkill a while back and he said had his soleminsation at the garden in the day followed by lunch recep and later in the evening a sit-down dinner for relatives all for the cost of the night rental. The lady from Burkill mentioned that they will block the morning slot as well if you're the first the reserve the place for the evening. They might be able to do something like that for you. Durning the day, you can only reserve the 2nd floor and garden as the ground floor is still open for public. The loading limit for the 2nd floor is around 100 without tables and chairs so it's only good for a small gathering. Having to travel to different places on the wedding day can be so tiring and hot.

Tulips, My FH is in charge of the sound system so I'm not too sure about the details. We're getting it from the band we're engaging and they're sourcing a vendor for us. I do know that Blessed ROM (http://www.blessedrom.com/) provide sound system as well. Its PA System with outdoor speakers, mic and standby crew. PS can provide sound system as well. You might be able to get a discount with them since they're catering for your wedding. Not too sure about entertainment yet. At the moment it's prolly just a 45min set of live jazz followed by recorded music.

Hello Erica, glad to meet you here too. For the full rental cost, you can go to http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/venueforrent.asp for the details. Apart from the location, you have to provide the rest yourself. The cost of floral decoration depends on how much you're willing to spend and which florist you choose. Some places might charge $800 onwards for a package. The florist I'm getting, Boenga, quoting us based on the theme and items we required. PA system as mentioned earlier, is around $600. You'll have to source for your own caterer for the dinner. So far, the caterers I've spoken to has menu starting from $10 to $55 per person for package or they can customise a menu based on your budget. Some of them include tables and chairs whereas some required you to pay extra for them. I'm not too sure about Projector Screen as we're not having them but I've seen pictures of people having them for their weddings. Entertainment wise you can get live band which do very well for the garden setting or you can have a DJ to play records throughout the wedding. Burkill Hall has quite good lighting indoors, kind of romantic yellowish I believe. There are a few flood lights for the garden but I was told it'll still be dark at night and it'll be good to have some garden torches. I believe most florist will be able to provide garden torches. Blessed ROM has some garden torches for rent as well. Another good saving alternative is to make your own luminaries with block candles or melt them in teacups. The lawn is very lovely for the soleminsation and all you need is some chairs for starters. You could have an arch or standing flower pieces from your florist along the path. If you're having your soleminsation in the evening, it'll look very romantic with garden torches along the path too. Just make sure you don't get your veil too near the torches. Burnt hair wouldn't look or smell nice.

I hope the information helps

Hi Jaslyn,
We're setting aside just under $9k for the venue, food and flowers. It's quite a bit mainly cos of the flowers. I understand that Burkill Hall has a capacity of up to 250 and I was told that 100 is a good amount for easy movement so I think 25 pax might be a bit too spaced out. If money is not the issue and you really like Burkill Hall, perhaps you could have rent the place for the day time and have soleminsation on the lawn and move everyone upstairs for the buffet for a cosy get-together?

Cost of the buffet depends on how much you want to spend. Some caterers offer $8-$10 per person menu whereas some goes up to over $50. The place is lovely on its own and doesn't really require much deco. You could even do some DIY yourself if you're feeling adventurous. Some of the quotes I get from some florist starts from $800 for the standard package which includes bouquet, corsage and a couple of floral stands.

You might also want sound system which you'll have to set aside about $600 or so. If you're planning to have your soleminsation at the lawn, it might be nice to get some chairs for your guests. It cost around $3.50 for a plastic chair with seat cover. Cushion chairs would be quite a bit more and heavier to move around after the soleminsation.

You might want to check out this thread as well http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/228579.html?1149489628

Thanks for the comprehensive info. Any idea if the walk-in from the carpark or entrance is really 15 mins ? My bf was grumbling bout the distance.

happy to find this threads, hope I'm not too late to join now. I also hope to hold my wedding in either Burkill or ACM still waiting for In law side to approve.

Hi Erica,
I believe it's about 15 mins or less for a slow walk from the Visitor Centre to Burkill. There is also a small parking lot just next to Burkill for about 7 cars but some caterers would request to have about 3 slots for their vans. There is also a side gate about 5 mins away for those who arrive on taxis.

Welcome Seline,
Of course you're not too late to join.
ACM looks like a nice place for weddings too. Which room at ACM are you looking into? Are they mostly indoors only?

Hi Freaky,

I'm looking at River Room and River Terrace.
For booking wise, I just need to book River Room will do and they allow me to use the River Terrace for FOC cos I'm only intend to invite about 100 guests.

River Room will be indoor where River Terrace are outdoor. It looks really cozy especially at night when you can oversee the whole Boat Quay.

I know Burkill are quite nice at night too but still considering cos their rental are more expensive and my parent does'nt allow me to spilt guest into two area. "SIGN"

Thanks Freaky for the info.
I really need to meet PS to see what else can they do for me.
Haven got the time to meet them yet..sign...

Hi Seline,
River Room looks impressive. I saw some pictures of event setting with black table cloth which looks grand next to the orangy-red walls. Are you going to be having a sit-down dinner? Trouble about Burkill is that there're two big pillars on the ground floor and a loading limit on the upstairs which can be tricky when it comes to sitting guests down. I planned to have my guests mingling and moving around the place which is why we choose Burkill as it feels more like a home setting compared to a ballroom. I think the location you choose depends on how you want your guests to move around.

Tulips,
No worries
I saw on PS site that they do wedding planning as well as photography and entertainment. Not sure if the people they get are good in those though. When's your big day going to be?

Hi Freaky

Ya the two big pillars really crack my brains. Don't know what to do with it now.

River Room looks great but parking abit problem. I'm having a sit-in buffet, haven got my caterer yet.

Hi Freaky, yeah fairypoint 7 is really nice and private and cheap! i popped by the other day and someone was setting up a wedding there. I guess it's quite popular actually with the "wedding crowd". Yeah I agree that you shouldn't have tents in Burkhill. Cos the garden seems so nice! Thinking of Arches too, but it doesn't have a garden like Burkhill lah...(i'm very fussy..want nice and pretty and good but cheap..hahahaha)

Seline, just wondering how much is the rental for River Room? I emailed ACM but they didn't reply...

Hi Kaya,

River room rental $2600. Amount can be found in their website. They are quite slow in replying email so I mind be getting my caterer to book the River Room for me.

Thanks Seline..will the caterer be able to get a discount then? By the way, I thought River Terrace has to be booked separately. You managed to get it free?

Hi ladies.

me thinking of having my ROM at Burkill hall in Jan 07. Can anyone pls send me some pics of the place? im dreaming of a nice outdoor evening ceremony!. thank u so much!!

Hi Kaya

Discount? Don't have! Ya i manage to get it free cos I only have max 150 guest. They can't have 2 wedding at the same time but of cos since they are not charging you, they don't expect you to lay tables & chairs outside. Guest are free to minger around.

I just had my food sampling with Rasel on Monday. Overall very happy with their food and services. Thumb up!

Hi Freaky

I'm going to use Burkill Hall next Aug for my ROM.
So still have quite abit of time to prepare.
Just slowly plan for it now....

Am new to the forum! Looking at having a outdoor wedding next Jul. Any tips? Photos of Burkill to share? I will be popping down to view an event setup there on 9 Jul! =)

hello aspirin68,
My wedding was on the 9th July in Burkill Hall! You must be one of the two couples we found wandering around the place. We weren't told that there would be someone coming to view the place while we were there. I hope you like the place.

It was raining on the day but it wasn't too heavy when we were solemnised. We had all the chairs under the shelter but solemnised in the rain with most of the guest out in the lawn with us.

I'm very very glad we chose to have our wedding at Burkill Hall. The venue is so romantic and the tree arch thingy that our florist did match so well with the backdrop in the lawn. I highly recommand the place.

Oh, and not to mention the officer on duty that day was really helpful and helped us to look for guests who couldn't find their way including my dad.

Tulips, So you've booked the place! One less thing to worry about now
Do lemme know if you need any contact for any vendors. I had a 3-piece jazz band to sing for us and got us dancing. Sweet 5-tier cupcake towers which I wish I had more.

Hi NiqLuvChris,

I just had my wedding catered by PS and while I do agree that they do take some time to come back to us on quotations and things like that, their service way exceed what we were expecting.

Before confirming PS, we did look at quite a few other caterers and most of them dissappointed us for being unflexible and charges too much for all the extra little things we wanted and also their presentation just don't look too appealing.

PS provided us with full sets of glassware, procelain ware and metal cutlaries at no extra cost. We had a standing dinner buffet and PS placed the cutlaries in linen napkin rolled up and put in little wicked baskets which fitted really well with our garden theme setting. Even our florists said they were very helpful to them too!

I'm not trying to sell PS here but we are pleased with their service on the day. All the staff were more than polite, the food was delicious.

I believe there is only a lady doing all the coordinating and they seemed to be looking at hiring another person to share the job. I was still sorting out some last minute thing the week of the wedding but that's partly due to me adding some more stuff just a couple of weeks before the wedding. They may be slow but at least they do get back to you.

Congratulations on your wedding!!!!
Sounds like a lovely wedding and one important thing was that you didn't let the rain dampen your mood

Thanks for sharing with us..I still haven't decided on my venue yet. Out of the shortlisted venues, most of my friends prefer Burkhill after looking at the pics! Our concern is the setup, cos of the max loading capacity on the 2nd floor. Was yours a standing buffet on the ground floor with chairs and small tables on the 2nd floor for lounging around? Any photos to share of how you did your setup? Thanks in advance!

Hi Kaya,
Sorry for not getting back to you sonner, thought this thread is dead again hehe
Are you planning on inviting lots of people? We had less than 100 guests that day but most of them prefer to mingle downstairs. Only a small handful stayed upstairs.

We had the buffet tables set up in the middle of the ground floor with two L-shape tableline around the two pillars and the round table that's there usually set further back near the backdoor for the desserts. The guests pulled the chairs we used for the soleminsation around the place. We kept the upstairs as it is originally but with two nicer chair on the balcony for the tea ceremony.

I don't really have proper pictures of the setup but I can draw you a floor plan if you're interested. Email me at [email protected]

One thing about standing buffet is that people tend to leave when they think there's nothing worth hanging around for. So if you want to stretch the night longer, plan for some entertainment like perhaps if your budget allows, get a live band to sing through the evening or have programmes letting guests know that there are things happening after food.

Hi freaky fairy, i will b having my wedding in dec. May I know how much did u pay for holding the wedding at BH?like sound system,florist..better if u can provide breakdown for usage at BH. tks in advance. [email protected]

Hi Freaky, sorry I haven't been checking this thread too. Thanks for sharing all the details! Too bad I'm not going for Burkhill anymore as the date we wanted has already been taken. So no choice but have to find another place lah

Hey Freaky,

Congrates on your wedding! Sorry haven been coming in. I really got to start planning since it 1 yr more to my ROM.
Haven really sit down n planned yet.
Any photos to share on your wedding day?
Need some ideas. Going to make appointment with PS to see ideas on preparing for Burkill Hall.
You use them right? How do you find them?

Hi Freaky,
Here is another "just starting" to look for venue bride...kinda of confused now...am considering Burkhill hall,care to share any infor like breakdown of costs,pixs,tips?
Email : [email protected]

I have also shortlisted PS.
Will be meeting up with them soon to discuss about their proposal.

Seem like they are quite good.

Hi slgerman,

Have you got the quote yet from them?
I think Freaky enjoying her new life now...hehe...

So far who have you shortlisted?