Burkill Hall

hi freaky,

burkill hill is one of my shortlisted choice venues for my wedding.=) i hadn't been there to recce it yet but i simply love the venue pics i've seen so far!=P

could u pls email me the breakdown of ur wedding expenses there? my email is [email protected]

btw, is it warm there at night? n as it is a garden, do u tink we need to prepare insect repellents or spray stuff, for the guests?

thx in advance! =)

Hello there!

hehe sorry I'm late. I don't often check the forum much these days cos my husband often gets to the computer before me! Anyway, I've sent you all an email and hope they're not too late

I have heard from another bride-to-be that they have stopped renting Burkill Hall out. I'm not too sure about the exact detail like if it's no rental after a certain date or not taking on new ones. It's sad that they've decided to do that. I wonder what they intend to do to the building...

JJ, It was raining at my wedding (was still drizzling during the solemnisation) and only stopped when we started the dinner so the whole place was very cooling. My husband and his friend who did most of the running about and also my dad were sweating quite a bit though but I was just the right temperature hehe. It'll be good to have some fans or cooler in the garden. The hall itself is quite cooling especially upstairs with the air-con.

I don't remember anyone complaining about the mosquitoes. Maybe cos my florist sprayed some Citronella Oil in the garden. I heard they help to keep mosquitoes away. There are places that sell candles with the scent. I have one at home and my dad said it really works.

Lemme know if anyone managed to find out about the rental of Burkill Hall!

Hi Freaky,

Thank you so much for you info n photos.
U look so so beautiful. N u really done a great job in plannin fror your wedding.
Everything look so beautiful, the flowers especially.

Do you have a breakdown of your wedding expenses n vendor list?

I'm going to call burkill first thing tomorrow to confirm the rental. Din hear about that from Burkill. Must check again....

hi freaky,

thanks so much for sharing the pics!!

i was drooling over your wedding pics..the wedding looked so perfect n the guests looked like they were enjoying every bit of it!! wa..this concept is just wat i have always wanted!!! =)))

it sure creates a very different ambience, not the typical hotel or restaurant dinner stuff.=)
goodie goodie! =P

*ok..i go check out where i can get citronella oil. he he...=P*

Hi all, I think they stopped renting for the moment because of renovations going on as this is their lull period. That's what they mentioned the last time I spoke to them. I'm not sure how long the renovations will take. But if your date is next year, you'll probably not have to worry

Hello Tulips, hehe thank you! I've emailed you the expenses breakdown. Hope they're useful. I love the flowers at the wedding so much I wish I've got a truck to carry them all home! Too bad the car was loaded with wine glasses and things and I could only have my hand bouquet.

JJ, I got a citronella candle from Unity Pharmacy but not all the outlets have it. You can prolly check with your florist as well if they have any of it in spray to give a wider coverage. hehe I think not all the guests are comfy there. Some do look like they would prefer the more conventional wedding though. But most importantly, we had a good time

Hey Freaky,

Thanks for your mail. U r a great help.
I would also luv to bring all the flowers back if i can....hehehhehe....

Hi Freaky
I will be holding my wedding at Burkill Hall next yr as well. I would really appreciate it if you can also share with me on yr vendor list & cost and also pics if possible !!! Thank you so much...

hey ladies,

Can i get the contact details for the Burkill Hall venue as I tried to contact them but no response.

thks ya

hey ladies,

Can i get the contact details for the Burkill Hall venue as I tried to contact them but no response.

thks ya

hey ladies,

thks ya

Hi Oceanluv,fyi,they r not renting out BH anymore.I've confirmed this with the staff.For those who had booked earlier bf they made such decision are not affected though.

I'm also a Burkill bride-to-be next Jul.
Been quite bz so juz got to join in here..
Care to share wif me any gd vendors etc?
I'll be having a chi sit down banquet there to pls e parents =P

So sad they are not renting out the place anymore.
Lucky i booked quite early.

Welcome Aspirin, have u booked the place yet??/

I'm going to sign up with Purple Sage as my caterers.They can provide anything I requested. So i do not have to source everywhere.

Hello Esther! =)

Yeah, I've booked e place oredi..
Lucky I book early b4 they decided not to rent out e place..
Dunno y they wanna stop =(

Wow! But Purple Sage pretty ex hor? But e decor is nice! =) I hafta do a chi banquet so quite restricted.. So most probably using Gim Tin cos Nparks oni allows caterers wif mobile kitchen..

When's ur AD? =)

Hi Esther!

Well well, I've finalised caterer liao.. Using Gim Tin cos parents want chi banquet..

But haven settle invites, florist etc.. U done any of these? Any recc?

Oh I see! =) So u oni using Burkill for ur solemnisation?

I'll be doing everything together there.. hehe..

I'm wif D'sire Bridal so in dat thread as well.. But since e New Year I've been bz so havent been tokin much =(

Oic.. Then shld b a smaller affair for u hor?
How many guests u inviting for ur solemn?
U booked JP liao? Any recc? Me havent done so! =O

Where's ur banquet gonna b at then?

Ya small affair of about 100- 150 pax.
How big is urs? U using both level???

We not booking any JP as my FH is asking his Pastor to do it. Sorry cant help u on this.

My banquent is Shangri La.

Tink a small affair there wld b so lovely.. *envious*
For me, we wanna do everything there so no choice.. 28 tables so gotta use both floors..

Oic.. No worries!

Wow! I havent been to Shangri La for a weddin! It muz b beautiful!

Wow Esther! Ur AD sounds realli huge! =O Wad's e max ur ballroom can take?

Hi duckizz, Yeah, itz a real pity they stop rentin out e plc 4

Actually it mainly because of parents that why we having such a big one. No choice...if can I would rather have a small one.

The max it can take is 100 tables.

I totally ustd.. Act weddin is realli not juz abt e 2 of u hor?
I oso had q.alot of probs b4 we finally convinced our parents 2 let us haf it at Burkill.. Thot of seperatin for relatives & frens but difficult & tiring oso..

Wow! 100 tables! Dat's a huge ballroom!

Tat so gd for u...I like small wedding, can mingle with my guest better especially if it is with close friends.

Ya the ballroom is pretty big.It recently renovated n i like it very much.

Thankies Esther..
But now headache over co-ordinating all e logistics at Burkill.. haha..

Dat's great! I'm sure u'll enjoy ur Grand weddin too! Itz so nice oso tt u can haf a nice & small garden solemnisation then a grand banquet! Can experience both!

How abt ur honeymoon? Where u intend to go?

Ya man i would prefer Burkill hill ....honeymoon haven decide yet. Still quite far...my FH wanted to go back to Europe. So see how la....heheheh u le

Me too! hehe..
Oh yeah.. Cos ur AD in Dec hor? Europe wld b pretty cold rite? Ur FH is from Europe? Which part?

Me oso wanna go Europe! Tinkin of France & Italy.. Had always wanted to go Venice for my honeymoon.. hehe

Dear girls, I had a great n memorable wedding at BH last dec. And I worked on a super tight budget given by my hubby. My guests enjoyed themselves very much too. I had about 200 guests. If you need any advice or contact, let me know.I hope your wedding will turn out as nice too.