Burkill Hall

zenith

hi deedee!!! how's yr wedding? thot u're hving yr honeymoon now? can't wait to see yr pics! is Wee a female or male? is the person nice?

marnie

Thanks deedee for the tip! And congrats on your wedding - you wedding sound like it was a THE place to be for the night - am glad everything turned out great for you.

zenith

oops! sorry deedee! didn't see yr above posting. saw yr nick & was so excited. immediately ask u abt yr wedding. today then realised tat yr posted abt yr wedding. my mum also ask me to arrange a sit-down dinner in case those relatives complained.

applet08

Hi deedee,

Congrats! I'm so glad that all things turn out well for you..felt so bad that i didn't make it down..
However from your write up, shows tat engaging Letty is an absolute choice

Hmm...when ur pics are ready? really look forward to seeing them...take care ya!

deedee74

U r welcome Marnie and YES Burkill Hall was really THE place.

Hi zen,it's ok,can tell u're really excited, me did ask letty abt sit-down dinner. It's a 4-course dinner and it is definitely going to be more expensive than buffet.Maybe u can ask letty more abt sit-down dinner.
Actually my relatives are fine with the buffet style dinner jus tat some of hubby side's relatives (those that came late and complained one lor) dun like it. Do ur survey first ok? Best of luck to u!

Hi js,it's ok dun worry abt it.YES, Letty was really very nice, although she herself was very stressed up, she still tried to cool me down and make sure that everything run smoothly for me and hubby.She even let my sis have the table decor at the end of the night. Very nice lady! Hope everything turn out great for u too js.All the best!

Will let update everyone when photos are ready!! Me going to Bangkok for a short trip, hopefully photos will be ready when i m back. Cheers ladies!!

deedee74

BTW, jus to let u ladies noe,I was so worried abt the wine and beer thing that i really had a hard time estimating, anyway the result turns out to be : 25 bottles of red wine finished up (for 140 plus guests), 20 litres of beer (one barrel) not finished and extra 3 cartons of beer untouched. So i think nw the IN thing is wine, maybe can forget about beer liao.Can cut cost on this part.Jus take wine will do.Hope this will help in ur planning.

applet08

Thanks deedee for your tips! Am considering having only wine too...however tot that it might not be a gd idea. Now am happy to see your feedback. btw, wat wedding favours did you give out?
Have a gd trip ya!

deedee74

No prob js, my wedding favour is cone incense in a small bottle,comes in different colour and scent.letty oso have lavender and rose tea in a packet form (will look very nice in bottles too) as wedding favours, check with her.

deedee74

oh yes js, another prob i had on that day was the sound system cannot play mp3 format (we burn the songs that we wanted to use), so if possible pls bring normal cds for them to play. Letty sent her staff to buy the songs that i wanted to use (so sweet of her right!) but only managed to get the solemnisation march in song (but was very grateful liao),march out song cannot find lor.Anyway, jus want to let u noe in advance.NORMAL CDs pls..

deedee74

Btw, pls let letty noe in advance if u need the soundman and system to be there early for ur rehearsal, we forgot to let her noe that we need rehearsal so the system came in quite late therefore no time for rehearsal.

Anyway,i will juz post whatever i can remember,ok? old liao, abit forgetful..so bits and pieces here..hehehe..paiseh hah..

applet08

Hi deedee,

Thx for all the tips! Will remember them during my prep. Have told FH about your wedding..he is getting excited about how ours will turn out..

Wow, letty really go all out for you man...hmm..rite choice to get her..i'm really praying for gd weather for my AD too...Have tot of some really interesting favours...Since is children's day for my AD i'm planning some special favours for the kids..

Anyway..better stop b4 i start blahing too much..heehee..enjoy ur trip k.

deedee74

dun worry js , i m sure the wx will turn out fine for u too.

oh yes, have some photos to share, send me ur email before i leave 2nite.

pricee

hi js! me also thot of hving wedding at burkill hall. oh! so yr's on children day! care to share wat kind of favours u intending to give to yr guests? btw, we need to source for our own vendors for almost everything rite?

applet08

Hi pricee,

yupz..on children's day..
hmm...i'm thinking of getting those chinese take-out boxes n filled them with goodies for the kids...maybe put in some small games n some candies for them..so they won't bother their parents n still have fun on their during the wedding...As for the adult guests i'm still planning...still cracking my brains with FH...He loves the ideas i've been putting into his head...hahaha...

Actually, if you engage a caterer who does everything, you could actually get everything from them...we r just researching on our own on certain things to see if we can get it cheaper...Afterall, cost is the main factor of everything..
with an outdoor setting like burkill hall, u can really play around with a lot of stuffs...n tat could mean a hole in the pocket..

When's your AD? have u went to see burkill hall??

hi deedee,

thx for the pics..u look great...love ur wedding cake..

pricee

js, yr idea souonds great! my ad is in nov. may i know where to buy those chinese take-out boxes? i think it's too small tp put in games for the children rite?

applet08

hi pricee,

I do have the websites...i got it from someone in the forum..send me my email i'll try to drop you the link..have it in my office laptop..will send u on monday..

deedee74

Thanks js!Btw, juz came back from bangkok. if u really want to cut cost should go bangkok and buy wedding favours (provide have time lah) den can DHL the items back, so many things to buy from there. wish i went 1 year before, so that i stock up my wedding favours..hahaha...juz another suggestion.

Zen, i send to u via ur email.

applet08

hi deedee,

have tot of tat too..but my travelling schedules r quite bad liao..dun think have time to go bkk...
how's ur HM?

hi pricee,

i've sent u the info already..pls check ur mail.

pricee

hi js! thanx for the info. however if i'm not wrong, it's a us website & after adding in the freight charges & exchange rate, it's abt the same price as buying it locally or even cheaper if we buy it locally. r u buying frm the website?

sheron

hi deedee,

It is great to know that you have so much fun on your wedding day!!!
My wedding is off due to some family issue but I would love to take a peep at your pictures.

Thank you so much.

deedee74

Zen and Sheron U2 have mail.

Sheron, sorry to hear that ur wedding is off. Hope everything is fine with u.

Hello js,u must be a very busy lady hah? Anyway, the trip was quite an eye-opener.Planning for a REAL HM..hahaha..tat was juz a short break,enjoyed myself very much though.Hope u r enjoying ur prep too. Take Care yah!

zenith

thanx deedee! u look veri nice! check wif u. some od=f the photos look veri dark. is it really so dark there at night?

applet08

hi sheron, sorry to hear tat..hope u r doing well! take care ya..

deedee, ya..i fly alot for my job coz i'm doing regional work...it is tiring but rather fun...coz some places i go, if i get some time i'll try to do some shopping..
i'm enjoying myself lots with tis wedding planning..hmm..so where r u planning to go for ur HM? u take care too yah..!

hi pricee, i'm not 100% confirmed in getting from the website...actually i have abt 20+ kids in my wedding so i just needed 1 pack (which they have on this website a pack of 30 or something..)for the children..i know of one sin wedding favours website selling these boxes, if u want to have tis website let me know k..i'll pass u..

deedee74

thank you zen, actually it's not tat bad lah, juz tat these photos are taken by my fren's digital camera. The whole effect is not to have it too bright lor..like tat den romantic mah..dun worry abt the photos, i think the professional one will take better photos.

Wow js, ur job sounds interesting. My HM likely not so fast lor, cos juz got my flat..need money to reno lor..all came at the same time..but if possible would like to visit Spain. Keep in touch,ok? Hope to see ur photos too...looking forward to it...

deedee74

Hope to see more Burkill Hall Brides here...It's really a nice place if u dare to be different,tat is to have ur own kind of wedding theme,REMEMBER EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE!!!! SO COME ON BOARD LADIES!!!

rhino

Hi gals, care to share who r ur caterer. Looking for a reliable one who is good @ presentaion & food & deco...

sheron

Happy CNY to all!!

dee dee and js,

Thank you for your concern. All is well. We will have a a cruise wedding instead. Since am unable to have a wedding banquet that fits into my PIL's demand, we decided to skip it altogether.

We'll go on a cruise to celebrate our union instead.

dee dee,

So sorry. I did not recieve your mail. If it's not too much trouble, can you resend them to me?
Just to KPO only. TQ! [email protected]

js,

all the best in your planning

gnes

HI, Happy CNY! great to see so many BH brides..

deedee, hope to see your AD photos in BH soon. I wld love to see the outdoor evening effects in prints.

We are planning to have solemnisation followed by a sit down buffet dinner on 18/6/05. Frens mentioned that ppl will start leaving after their dinner and there are frenz who mentioned that ppl will give very little angbaos when they hear it's buffet. So sad..

Any plans you have to entertain the guests? It will be a waste -- such a beautiful place but ppl leaving early..

applet08

Dear All, Happy CNY!

Hi Sheron, thanks! glad to hear tat all things r well on your side...hey, cruise wedding sounds fun!

Hi Angnes! welcome!

deedee74

hi SHERON i'd sent the photos to u liao.pls chk ur mail.cruise wedding is something special, hope u enjoy urself.

hi AGNES i did not have any entertainment for my guests. my frens were all eating,chit-chatting,drinking and enjoying themselves.my relatives oso had no prob becos they loved to drink, so all were drinking wine and chit chatting. All my guests stayed till quite late. :>

as for the angpows, they were kind enough not to give me anything below $60. But to tell u the truth the angpows oni enuf to cover the food. But no regrets lah, it's a different kind of wedding no choice lor..

if u need entertainment, den u need to find out what kind of entertainment suits ur guests.
maybe u can try having
1. a singer (jazz kind)or
2. bellydancers or
3. u and ur hubby dance for ur guests or
4. get ur guests to dance etc.

bt don't turn it into something like D&D hor..hehe

wish u good luck!

huiling

hallo all, would like to find out something from you cuz my cousin is thinking of having her wedding at burkill Hall. when you calculate the cost per head, do you include everything like decor, music band etc? or do you just calculate the food and rental? because people will ask how much it cost so as to gauge the hongbao. thank you!

applet08

Hi Huiling,

To answer your question, usually we calculate the per head based on food + venue rental + decor.
As for the other things, it shd be on the side...
however since burkill hall have high rental the best way to advise the guests is to tell them that the cost is actually the same as that of a hotel...

sheron

Halooo deedee,

I saw your lovely pictures awready. THANK YOU!!!

I hope I will not regret not having a banquet lah. If I change my mind years down the road, will try to force hubby to renew our vows lah. hee heee....

gnes

hi huiling,
usually if guest hears its buffet, they may lower the angbao amt, same goes if its outdoor weddings. These are some feedback i hear fm our frens..So we are quite prepared. Anyway, it's once a lifetime wedding. I suppose I don't want to let the angbaos amt affect what i want for my wedding. FYI, our costs work out to abt same range as orchard rd hotel prices partly due to rental as well as other misc which we have to source like deco, music..

deedee, can i view your photos too?

gnes

Hi js,
yep, both solemnisation n dinner in the the evening.
We have talked to Lavish and Continental Delight. In the end, we decided on chinese banquet which only continental delight does..So most likely its them..You have any suggestions?