Burkill Hall

hey deedee..yupz..will not be worry...since still got 9 more mths..haha.. i have given Letty the budget already...so now waiting for her to give details lor..Shanghai is extremely cold now...*freezing*

to hold weddings at Burkill Hall, does the coord covers everything, like deco, food?
or we only rent the place? all other things by ourselves?

hi lilacblur! u're alsointerested in burkill hall? ya, for burkill hall the place alone is bet $2000-$3000. all other things, we find ourselves. however some of the caterers will help plan & arrange things.

hey zen! you're here also hehe

hmm, but 2 storey? means we must split the guest into 2 grps? how many tables can 1 st. accomodate?

lilacblur, as js had mentioned previously, the entire area is able to take up to a maximum of 400 guests however it really depends on the setup that was down by your caterer. The 2nd level max capacity is about 80 to 100 pax. Mine is abt 150 pax onli so if i confrim holding at burkill hall, all will be seated downstairs. No aircon but nicer looking.

Hi js,
Letty was supposed to get back to me by Tuesday but till now I have yet heard from her....perhaps like what deedee mentioned, she is real busy rite now.
SAM's rental is 1300. But it can house around 150 ppl max.

I really like the glass house but if Letty dun get back to me by end of this mth, I will have to settled with China Club instead.
My hubby (ROM ages ago liao) all along wanted a chinese sit down dinner. Me die die wants something diffrent. Am given till March to come up with an alternative package/venue.

CC is pushing us to comfirm by March due to price increment. So we dun have much time left (sign)

It must be tough for you to coordinate your wedding over in Shanghai.

deedee,
Looking forward to read your feedback

Hi Sheron,

Ya, same problem as u. For me is worse, i have met Letty for more than 1 month..still no reply from her..hmm..u have not confirm on SAM yet? I saw some pics of SAM, it looks gd..
Sorry to ask but wat is CC? If you want other contacts for catering, you can try Kriston. I have the contact too, let me know if you need.
Hmm, i'm actually flying in a few hrs time back to SIN. I goes for biz trips very often almost like 2 wks per month...so can only do all these planning over the wkend.

btw, i got a contact for a jazz band. If you plan to engage one, let me know, can pass u his contact.

Hi Lilacblur, my guest list is almost like yours. Abt 250pax. Depending on wheather you intend to have it for dinner or luncheon. Coz I am intending to spread my guests over 2 levels. Usually the relatives goes upstairs n the friends downstairs. You can even utilize the garden area...So it really depends whether u want a different setting from a hotel or not..

enjoy ur day gals!

hmm.. but if spread 2 levels, then how the event flows huh?
means to say march in from 1st fl to 2nd fl? then the speech and all leh??
*confused*

Hi js,

Nope. I have not comfirm with SAM yet. For me a good date is not an agenda. Just need to have my dinner in Nov coz that's my annual leave.
I dun work in SG and am on shift work so my date is restricted.

I have already gotten quotations from several other caterers. But I loves Letty's sense of decorations too much (saw alot of her previous works on bridal mag). Thank you!!!

CC is short for China Club. It's on the 52nd floor of Capital Tower. Beautiful deco and view too. (it's very chinese)

Yah, I am also curious how do you intend to do your march in etc in Burkill if your guest is seperated in two sections? Tkz.

Welcome back to SG! Shanghai is really too cold at this time of the year.

Hi Sheron & Lilacblur,

I'll be having a lucheon instead of a dinner. Mainly becoz i'm planning to have the event stretch the entire day.

My AD event will be something like tis:

11+ - solemnization by my pastor on the burkill green.
12+ to 1+ - photo taking, small cocktail reception
2pm - luncheon
4-6 - tea + hang around

My main point here is the solemnization, we dun do any march in of the couple for the luncheon...
I think FH n i took out a lot of those traditions stuff...
No march in, no yum sheng, cake n champagne we r still considering..
we r doing also western set lunch...so the ambience n flow of event is slightly different..

oic, i guess Burkill Hall is really out for me then, one thing is, i can't accomodate all guests at one level, and march in will be odd.. though i also omitting the yum seng thingie..

thanks anyway

anyone noe wats the rental like for SAM? cos feel that burkill hall rental a bit too high liao...

deedee, yr wedding coming soon rite? how's eveything? keep us updated.

SAM's rental is $1365 including GST.

js,

I like your arrangement very much! I am sure it's a beautiful event

Hi Sheron,

FH & I r not the ones who r into traditions..so we r breaking a lot of rules...
Do hope it will turn out well..

hi js!
r u considering taking the glss jars?

sheron,
thanx for providing me the rates. im still deciding whether to hold my wedding at burkill hall. veri confused now.

H...e...l...l...o... everyone, was very busy with all the small small details..juz finished my gou ta li, nw must worry abt photo album (still not ready),wine,beer,flowers,gifts for sisters, angpows etc..so worry abt not hvg enough wine and beer for my guests..not like in hotel got backup, in garden must calculate correctly... *worries and more worries*..seems like everyone is doing without the march in and yum seng, i guess these dun fit into a garden wedding theme..dun worry ladies, will update everyone when the stress is over...hehehehe...counting down...

Zen,

I'm still considering the glass bottles. Coz after including the jam, the cost for the favours is abit over my budget. Have to wait for FH to be back to discuss first...Thanks for your help anyway.

Deedee,

Looks like you have all in your hands liao..

Dun worry k, i believe u will get to enjoy the wonderful day..

js, r u making the jam yrself? if not, wat abt putting rose bud tea leaves in the bottle? suitable for garden. i might get that for my wedding. blends in with the garden theme. also cheaper this way. think 1 bottle adds up to abt $2.50.

oh yes! js, can u give me the contact for the jazz band? i also an to provide some jazz music during the dinner. deciding whether to engage a band or jus get someone to play those jazz cds..

Hi Zen,

I left the contact details at home. Will send you tonite k.
hmm..the rose bud leaves thingy is in my list too, where did u get the tea from? the other option i have is this mexican wedding cookies that i found at Bakery Depot...have to wait for FH to be back next wk to discuss with him..But i'll keep the bottles in mind..Thanks

js, thanx for the contact!
if u need the rose bud leaves can let me know, i can get it cheap too. if not u can get it together wif the mini jar. think abt $2.50 wif customised stickers on the jar. if u need more info, jus pm me.

Hi deedee,

it is your last wk before your AD..R u excited??
Dun be worry k..try to relax n let letty run the race k..
be a relax n pretty bride tat day..see if got time i try to pop by to see your setup..

Take care!

any idea if the rental is going to increase? cos some hotels r increasing the price so i'm working out my budget now.

Hi pricee,

I dun think the price will increase...think the price was pretty much tis way for some time already...however burkill hall is consider to be on the high side...wat kind of budget r u looking at? when is your AD?

hi Zen,

Can you give me the contact for the rose bud tea too? also do u know of any honey contacts? FH am interested in honey or rose bud tea...
you can PM me..thanks

Hi js, do drop by if u have time, i might not be able to go downstairs becos makeup starts ard 4.45pm unless u are early lah, den we can meet up. i m sure letty will do a good job, jus tat now some of my guests are telling me they cannot make it, so i dunno how to calculate the exact number of pax. so pai seh keep telling letty to reduce the no of pax.

hehe, to tell u the truth me still cannot feel the excitement yet, dunno why...but i'll be collecting my gowns tomorrow and tie the car decor on friday, maybe by then i will feel someting hahaha...now all i can do is to put on SK II treatment mask every night and they really work...last min beauty, can u imagine i did not go for facial and did not try to slim down...haha..my friends told me they nvr seen sure a bride before! Pai seh, suddenly talk so much..well u take care. hope to see u.

Not yet a Burkill Hall but considering it. Viewing the place next Friday so we'll see how it goes. In love with the whole garden/outdoors concept though.

Hi deedee,

haha..actually it is gd tat you dun feel the stress...coz then u can just be the bride n nothing else..Anyway i'm sure letty is gd with wat she does..So keep cool n enjoy the day k.
Will pray real hard for u to have gd weather...

I'll try to pop by if i can..

Hi marnie,

Welcome! even though u r not one yet...
but i'm sure you will like the place after viewing it..
When's your AD? Yupz, i'm in love with the garden theme which is why i took the venue too!
Update us k..

Hi Zen,
My AD is slated in April 2006. I love the whole outdoorsy thingee. My future hubby though is allergic to too much sunlight so comprising to do our dinner in the evening. I'm looking forward to meeeting Julia of SBG and viewing the place.

Hi Zen,
yupz got the rose buds n tealeaves thingy..thks..

hi deedee,
how's everything on sat? guess u r off to HM..heehee..Sat was really gd weather..Letty called me, asking me to pop by..but i wasn't able to make it..sorry abt tat, was really thinking of going to say hi to u...remember to share your pics k.

Hi Marnie,
how's your viewing for burkill hall? R u going to be one Burkill hall bride..

Hi JS,

Nope not yet. Viewing Friday, 28th. Excited! My only worry about having my wedding at Burkill would be the logistical/transportation for my guests. Any inexpensive ideas on how to go around that?

Hi Marnie,

R u planning to hold an evening event or a day event? If it is evening, the parking will be more flexible as there r more lots available along the road leading to burkill hall..The other available lots will be the visitors center which is about 15 mins walk however this might pose a problem for your guests as after the event ended at 11plus it might be a little too dark to get back there...
hmm...u can try to charter a bus or something..
When you visit Burkill hall tis friday, they will provide u with a list of vendors that they work with..One of the list is transportation provider..so you can take your pick from there.
In addition, you might want to think of getting helpers to be stationed along the path to burkill hall so as to assist in guiding guests to the venue appropriately...Happy viewing!

hi zen,

You can give Botanical Gardens a call @ 6471-9946
and book an appointment with them..
They will arrange for someone to meet with you.

Thanks JS! We're having a dinner reception so rather happy now that you've mentioned that parking will be much easier then. I am hoping that Julia will give me a list of providers/contractors they work with at the viewing - I'm a lil' edgy on the logistical aspect as half of my guests are from overseas.

HELLOOO Everyone! i m back..Oh js i was waiting for u to drop by! Some couples did came to view Letty's set up though.

Ok,summary on Saturday event,the wx on sat evening was so wonderful - clear sky, windy not hot at all (glad i did not order extra fans - not presentable and additional costs). I went to Burkill Hall ard 2 plus after my morning tea ceremony,cos need to rehearse the march out for solemnisation.When i reached there, the setting was half way thru,the staffs were still doing their setting but i immediately loved it,Letty's setting was so romantic especially in the night -candles light,table setting,the brightly lit moon and the starry sky, everything was so romantic. All my friends love the ambience.Even hubby's grandpa (70+) was full of praise abt the garden wedding theme.

Food (peranakan)and drinks was wonderful!So happy tat they loved it. Everyting went as planned - the solemnisation ceremony, the cocktail,photo taking and more photo taking, the dinner, the cake cutting,toasting and the speech etc...Wow! I REALLY enjoyed myself,althought i was sick (no voice, coughing and flu)!Some of my relatives loved the place so much that they stayed till late in the evening, was really glad they supported me this way..

For me, I especially enjoyed the solemnisation ceremony (Mr David Loh was very friendly) and the cake cutting / toasting part, everyone was very supportive by gathering ard us and it was really a ONE time experience.

Ok,those are the PROS now CONS - relatives (dunno them) late! Reason being cannot find the place,even though we had maps printed behind the invitation cards and complained why the food was not served! why served buffet!Dun worry,they were juz a small portion that dun enjoyed themselves.. BUT BUT BUT who cares, i enjoyed myself!Hubby enjoyed himself! WE enjoyed ourselves, our friends enjoyed themselves.Seriously no regrets at all!!!! I had my wedding the way i wanted it...hehehehe....Enjoy urself ladies, believe me, u r going to enjoy urself!!