Bliss Garden Restaurant - Singapore Expo Foyer

lalaa_27

Shawn.. my email is [email protected]
but I can't access hotmail at work

dai_van

For those who are considering Qian Xi for your wedding banquet,

I have to say that suzanna (managing director of Qian Xi) has the worst attitude a boss can ever have. My HTB and i signed up with her on 22nd Aug 2009 for the outlet at singapore expo..then we got to change date as our parents prefer to have the banquet on sat, actually just one day earlier, which is from 21st march 2010 (sun) to 20th march 2010 (sat)...she told us that the date is not available at expo..so referred us to farrer park...we dun really like the lightings and deco at farrer park so we were quite reluctant to change the venue...the date cant be changed...we then called suzanna to ask her whether we can cancel the banquet...u know what she said? She said we have to forfeit the deposit we paid and on top of that..pay 40% of the whole banquet bcos we r only abt 6 months away from the AD! Faintz...that means we have to pay her $8576 including the deposit for NOTHING!!! Can anyone of u believe she is soooo unreasonable?! So guys...my HTB and i have decided to stay on with the banquet package...and change the location to farrer park which we dun like...quite dampening for a wedding preparation where the banquet should be something BTBs look forward to...but now we just want to get it over and done with...

for those who are attracted to the FREE FLOW of hard liquor, wine, drinks etc....and do not hold more than 35 tables...i strongly recommend u to get FU LIN MEN at royal @ queens hotel...not that i'm advertising for them...just that i saw they have all the things Qian Xi give 1 month plus after i booked with Qian Xi...i really regretted signing with Qian Xi...but there is nothing i can do...just hope that u guys dun get cheated by the "free flow of wine, hard liquor etc" of Qian Xi cos Fu Lin Men provides them too! Trust me...u will not like working with suzanna...even my HTB who is super even-tempered (i have not quarelled with him since the first day we date) cannot stand her... You can check the website out...

http://www.flmrest.com/Home.html

they have "all in" wedding banquet package...it is really ALL you need in a package...and catered for any 'kiasu' mentality...good price...good food...all perks u need...and most importantly...good coordinators for ur wedding that would not make u vomit blood! Btw...u can opt to hold ur wedding at the hotel ballroom (no pillars) instead of the restaurant (which has pillars) with no extra charge~ one more plus point..haha...one thing to note: Qian Xi's menu starts from $498 (Farrer Park and Paya Lebar), Fu Lin Men's package also starts from $498. So Qian Xi does not have any edge over Fu Lin Men, except that they can hold more tables...whereas Fu Lin Men can only hold 35 tables at most...hope these are useful information to you..

No offence here...for those who are happy with your Qian Xi wedding package...i guess you have talked to their manager instead of the managing director suzanna...anw hope u can voice out too if ur encounter with her is good... ;)

Wish all BTBs who have not booked your banquet package have a wonderful time searching and are able to get your ideal deal! ;)

princess_shawn

Hey Dai Van,

I totally agreed with u cos i experienced such incidents as well..Sort of regretted..sigh..actualli i wanted holiday inn hotel/ orchid country club but it was taken up on the dates i want. Meritus was my first choice but it was too exp..ard 1k per table..Their food is great!

n so coincidently, my htb sister wedding held at queens hotel..the service is very good and their table is ard SGD 700+..everyone praised the food maybe they choose the 700+ menu as in better food..the environment quite romantic..

I tink i heard alot of good tings abt the ppl there from the relatives..

princess_shawn

So happy,

We have seen you here again! U have 2 nicks!
One happyprince and another one kaori aka sir lex..mmm why do u need 2 nicks? Trying to trick others?? Hahahaha

We Jan brides have kicked u out of the threads cos u do not belong to our jan thread because your wedding is in May 2010..ppl think u r stalking me! haha n it might be true cos all the threads that i am with or in..u will also be there..Its so funny!

U SEEM TO BE VERY INTERESTED IN MY WEDDING?? THKS SO MUCH!Appreciate it.. Even Lalaa in this thread also noticed that u have been following me through all my threads / forum.. Are u ok?? U need alot of help in your upcoming wedding with ur Wife to be?

If u wan, i can share with u..dun have to follow me in all the threads i am with..thanks! Am sure u do not want the whole of singapore brides ppl to noe u..n alot already noe that u have been following me..

Can u please go to ur OWN thread & stop being a follower! Thanks!

dai_van

Hey Princess,

When is your actual day? You mind sharing your experience of Qian Xi with all the forum readers here? I think they ought to know how the managing director is like. Afterall, all brides want their wedding to be memorable and wonderful right...not point getting pissed with someone who is not even related to us (referring to suzanna the managing director)...hahaha...

Oh yah my good friend works in Merittius Mandarin! She is a duty manager there...i thought of asking her about the wedding package..but needless to say..it's expensive even after her staff discount...it's really out of budget la...haha...

I heard numerous positive comments about Fu Lin Men at Royal@Queens Hotel too...i think ur HTB's sister took the most expensive menu $798...imagine a hotel's most expensive menu is only $798...really worth it loh...didn't you consider it in the 1st place before u signed with Qian Xi? ;)

fionloke

Hi Dai Van,

Pardon me...

Hmmm....I have signed a package wif Suzanna last mth...

Those conditions like deposit forefeited plus u have to pay 40% of the total amt...I guess all these are mentioned in the contract which u & ur HTB had signed.

Didn't u check through the contract when u & ur HTB signed?

Hence, I dun find tat she is unreasonable...

princess_shawn

Hey Dai Van,

Next yr jan.. I remembered calling to ask if we have free parking coupons..she answered loud NOPE and wasnt very happy in her tone..n when i wanted to ask 2nd question, she slammed my phone..i was damned pissed..

I didnt noe where she invite till recently then we all noe cos we seldom see her at home u see..

dai_van

Hi Fion,

We were quite in a lost of what to do then when we signed up with her, now we really regretted signing with her without reading the contract carefully, our fault is really signing the contract under her presssure and coercion. We actually meet up with her twice that day, once in the early afternoon and once later in the afternoon. We need to leave halfway through bcos my HTB needs to meet his buddy to see his flat which is renovating, we told suzanna and she said we cant leave her like that, we spent so much her time and just going leave like that? We felt paiseh, so decided to arrange another meet-up later in the afternoon. The 2nd time we meet, she was like waiting for the answer alrd, but I told her I need to go back and ask my parents, cos afterall, they need to like the place and dishes before we can book rite...

but she said a classic line,"why cant you call them and ask for their consent?"

I was like...they din see the place how would they know whether they like? That's a really funny reply she gave...but we din realised that until recently...i then called my parents...they said the location at singapore expo is ok...but they din expect me to sign...but suzanna wont let us until we sign...she said,"if you dun sign TODAY, I will have to let go of this date to someone else." and guess what...as usual it is non-negotiable...we said we want to consider...din say we dun want to sign with her...dunno why she cant wait for a few days for us to discuss with parents 1st...i mean it is respect to ask them 1st ma...but at that time we thought the package was affordable and got free flow wine, liquor etc...and so scared that she will release the date n we will not able to find a place as our AD is only half a year away...so we signed with her...Qian Xi was the 2nd place we went...the 1st was sentosa cove...but my parents din like the location so din sign up...but the person adrian at sentosa cove was very kind to let us go back and ask our parents...not like suzanna...seriously, we should have looked at more places before we decide...shouldnt be so gan-chiong...so scared that we cant find a place...haiz...

Anyway, u will understand what princess and I are saying if u try to call suzanna now...her "after-contract-service" is really full of attitude...i think that is why she states 1 year as the duration for forfeiting the banquet, instead of half a year (like most restaurants and hotels) cos she scared ppl just sign and want to cancel...din u realise there are quite alot of ppl who want to transfer their package? be it farrer park, hilltop or paya lebar...we see ppl wanting to cancel...just call her and ask questions...like whether got free parking coupons or anythg...then u will know... ;)

Hey Princess,

It is a pity u all got to know it late...otherwise if u compare Fu Lin Men and Qian Xi's packages...u wouldnt have given Qian Xi a chance rite? Anw I saw a person who is transferring her hilltop package has a "free food tasting for 10" in it...did suzanna give u free food tasting?

TO ALL OUT THERE CONSIDERING QIAN XI:
Fu Lin Men has everythg Qian Xi has, and on top of that, they have:
1) 1N free hotel room stay with breakfast
2) Good location at bugis area
3) Free upgrade to hotel ballroom (high ceiling & pillarless)
4) FREE WEDDING FAVOURS
5) Free food voucher (not that we need, but it is extra perk)
6) FREE PARKING
7) FREE FOOD TASTING
8) Great service (comparing suzanna's)
9) FREE COCKTAIL RECEPTION (farrer park n paya lebar dun have cocktail reception)for menu $498 n above
10) max tables is 35 (hotel royal@queens)and 41 (jurong)

I'm stating all the things that Qian Xi dun provide...rest assured all the things that Qian Xi provides...they have it alrd...i'm just not repeating...anw wedding favour is going to cost time to get and quite a sum to buy too...this is quite neccesary to get but not included in any of Qian Xi's packages... ;)

fionloke

Hi Dai Van,

Understood ur situation now...haiz...u shld stay persistent when she said u might not be able to get the date when u cum bk the next time...dis is sales talk tactic...it happens everywhr...but too bad...coz u have already signed the contract so u can't do much now...hmm..u can transfer to others in dis forum...maybe someone needs to hold their wedding urgently...den u dun have to pay this unnecessary amount le....

Anyway, the one u recommended at Fu Lin Men sounds so attractive...haiz...u shld have share wif us earlier...hahaha...coz I have already signed wif her....sian..

And I do admit tat I heard many ppl complaining tat her after-contract-service is sucks...bt my colleague signed wif her before & she said Suzanna is ok de..so tatz y I din believe those comments in dis forum lor....hmm...so hope she wun give me tat attitude during my wedding preparation...

Now, I need to buy the materials for making my wedding favours....this yr end will be gg to Bangkok to buy..cheaper...hee...

dai_van

Hi Fion & Princess,

Yah there is nothing I can do now, except to go on with the wedding preparation with Qian Xi. I saw one of Qian Xi's ex-bride trying to sell her package too, but suzanna said it is non-transferable nor refundable. On the other hand, a funny thing is, I emailed another person who was transferring her Qian Xi Hilltop package, the one where suzanna gave her free food tasting for 10 pax, she replied me saying her package was SOLD!! I was quite shocked to hear that loh, in the first place, it is already amazing that suzanna will give her FREE food tasting for 10 pax, then she approved of her TRANSFERRING her banquet package!? Really horrendous rite?! She can give some ppl free food tasting, but refuse to give others loh...super double standard...

Anyway, for myself, my HTB and I were so dismayed by what she did so he called her to ask for the same thing...free food tasting for 10 pax...she declined him...claiming that "their restaurant dont give free food tasting at all"...I got even angrier when she said that...so I took the phone and talked to her straight...I told her the whole thing...and ask her why others are not given the food tasting for free...she then said that the person booked late, her banquet date and booking date is only about 2-3 months away...so she can give her free food tasting...then she adds on...

"If you are my son's friend or my relatives then I can give you FREE FOOD TASTING, but you are not, so i cannot give!"

then I asked her...isnt this being double standard? Giving some the goodies, and not the others...she replied plainly...

"YES. I AM DOUBLE STANDARD, SO WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO?" (anw she said this in mandarin)

wah best answer u can ever get from a service provider loh...after she said that...I continued arguing with her but she turned abit insane...keep repeating her words over and over again....then in the slammed my phone too~! (so princess, you are not the only one who got slammed by the phone) I called back...she told me the same thing and slam my phone shortly after...I called again...she dont answer...so I called one more time...she switch off her phone! After that, we called the restaurant and told them we cant get through suzanna's phone, so we got her husband's number...and called him instead...he is much more approachable...at least he wont give u answers like what suzanna will give...u all can call him to discuss stuff...his number is as below:

Mr Foo: 94568788

Hope all of us can have a wonderful day wedding day~!!! ;)

fionloke

Hi Dai Van,

Omg! I fully understood ur frustrations....haiz..I guess this has totally spoilt ur wedding mood...but juz forget about it coz u cant do any change now....tink on d bright side...I am sure u are looking forward to receive every of ur frenz & relatives' blessings on tat nite when u & ur HTB are marching in.....cheer up!

lalaa_27

hey all.. im surprised to read all the bad comments here.. i had my wedding dinner at bliss garden expo 2 weeks ago & their service was very good! our guests complimented their service & the food tasted great! by the way we didnt deal wif suzanna luckily.. we dealt wif Owen.. his service is really good! he did a lot to help us & everyone enjoyed the wedding dinner! thumbs up to Bliss Garden for making our wedding dinner an enjoyable happy one!

fionloke

Hi Lalaa,

Congrats! Glad to hear some good comments here!

I hope mine will be a peaceful one! Anyway, I heard from Suzanna tat she is gg to purchase some new colours of the table clothes & floral stand. Me & my HTB will be doing the selection next yr...hee...I am reali looking forward manz...

fionloke

Hi Princess,

Hmm...she din mention wat are the colours...but will be a few lor...she mentioned she will change next yr...bt duno when...

fionloke

Hi Princess,

I tink will be next year Oct liddat...coz nthing much to liaise wif her at this moment...

Will share here if I rem...hehe

princess_shawn

Thanks Fion

Wow lala..happy to hear that u have a great time..hehe that is good..care to share the pics? hehe u can send it to my email..i tink we communicate there before..hehe thanks

losh2909

Hi dai van,

Sorry to hear abt ur bad experience wif Suzanna. Anyway I have called her to check on the availablity for Qian Xi. She sound sincere and even suggest to meet me over tis weekend for discussion. But I told her I nd to check wif my hubby 1st b4 we can confirm the time to meet.

But after readin tis thread, I'm a bit hold back lor... Haa...scare another NIGHTMARE for me man...Haha...Bcoz I oreadi gt 1 fr Fu Lin Men recently.

They told me gt slot for booking. So book and made deposit payment oreadi. 5 days later, they call me and say they overlook, gt ppl book le, wan me to change my wedding date...

So disappointed lor, nw gonna find venues again...5 days were wasted jus like tat bcoz of their mistake!!

Anyway the pillarless n high ceiling u refering izzit at Bugis?? If so, jus for sharing... the ballroom gt 3 big pillars n is norm ceiling ht. =)

dai_van

Hey Losh2909,

When is your actual day? I didnt know the ballroom has pillars and low ceiling, but are u refering to the ballroom or the restaurant? If it is the restaurant u r refering to, then it has low ceiling and pillars, but i thought ballrooms are supposed to be pillarless and have high ceiling? Haha...but i'm not sure about that...

Suzanna normally has good service attitude before meet-up, but once u meet up with her, and engage in a discussion, she will not let u off. If u show interest and sign the contract right away then her attitude should remain good, but if u decide to go back and consider 1st then she will start to give u attitude. By then u must be firm enough to say 'NO' under all the pressure she might give u. It is a pity Fu Lin Men overlooked and the date was booked. Anyway, I think only Qian Xi and Fu Lin Men provide free flow for all beverages...so they refunded u all of the deposit?

losh2909

Hi dai van,

My AD is on 12/09/10. We had booked the ballroom at level 3 and had went to see b4 we sign up. They are pillars wif mirrors and low ceiling.

I have yet to call Suzanna for meet up. Rather scare to meet her lor, coz nw still waitin for the remaining venue to reply me on the availability.

But seriously, FLM reali gif many perks compared to the rest but then such mistake made, reali make ppl piss off lor... I have yet to meet up wif them. Anyway over the phone, they oso nvr say things like refund...

Wondering izzit bcoz gt ppl book more tables than us then they lied to say they overlook lor... We nvr noe lor... Nw my worries is can't find a venue bcoz it's like less than a yr to AD liao... So far, those tat we shortlist are mostly booked or menu nt out yet except Qianxi.

losh2909

Wow.... she so bad ah?? Haha... Anyway when I first call the restaurant, the staffs refer me to her by giving her hp no to me. I dun even noe she's the "BOSS" lor.

Then she keep asking me who am I when I oreadi told her I'm jus wanna enquire things. I gt a little shock when she ask me which restaurant I wan, then I thot I call the wrong no. Only later she say "Oh Ok".

But tink of it, she's quite pushy when she say since these 2 days r wkend n wanna meet up wif me. I told her my hubby gonna work n cant confirm wat time he finish work, then she say she can wait for us lor, even at nite... Hmm....But still I turn her down and say will cttd her again via hp. Heehee... Luckily I read tis thread... haha...

dai_van

Hey Losh2909,

Great job u did! Hehe...dun get cheated by her when she gets pushy...but anw come to think of it...i think Qian Xi's business should be quite affected bcos of this thread...those who read it will think twice about signing up with them...anw it's the truth that we are penning down here...but if a person signs up with her and wont ask for anything then wouldnt have so much of unpleasant experience with her...suzanna is quite a no-nonsense person in this sense...once signed the contract...she would hope that the couple wont call n bother her again until their big day...

losh2909

Hi dai van,

I went to Expo yesterday, tinking tat I can speak to another person in charge. But who noes the manager called her up. Then I gt no choice but to tok to her using the manager's hp.

But when I tok to her, I was surprised tat she still can rem my name. Then when I ask her abt the perks, she still kinda dun gif in, then I ask izzit possible to meet up bcoz I feel pai sey to use the manager's hp to tok to her for so long. So we meet up an hr later.

When she arrived, she called me bt I didnt hear my hp rings, bt after knowing she called, I return the call n she was kinda angry bcoz I was late by 10mins. Initially I was so pai sey so I apologise to her bt later tink of it, my hubby and I waited for her for 1hr lor, y am I apologising to her? Haa...

When we step into the ballroom, I thot she was a young lady, bt to my surprise, she's an auntie. So we carry on to discuss on the issue. Her attitude was ok. But when ask for free food tasting, she refuse to gif in. Then we ask for weddin favors and parking bt still she cant provide. Then I ask her whether the price can b adjusted, she still dun wanna gif in. So basically is wat u see on the package, is wat u get.

But we were surprise tat she had change 2 dishes for us free w/o any top up fee and w/o us asking for a change. So we sign up wif her. She even says tat we can call the managers when comes to food tasting etc. Btw, jus to check, did both u n ur HTB sign the contract or onli 1 person sign will do?

Anyway my hubby oso tinking tat he oso dun wish to cttd her after signing up. He prefers to tok to the manager instead coz he lok more friendly.

Most of the venues we wan oreadi taken up.. so we left wif no choice so have to sign up wif them. Haiz... Anyway thruout the whole discussion, her attitude was OK, nvr reali encounter any problems wif her.

Perhaps u're right...if a person signs up with her and wont ask for anything then wouldnt have so much problem with her.

fionloke

Hi Losh2909,

For the free food tasting, wedding favors & parking, she can't provide to me too...I guess this is standard. Anyway, when I saw her, I was shocked too...hahaaha...

Overall, her attitude was gd throughout the whole discussion. She smiles to me all d way...very courteous to me...

Letz pray hard tat she will make my wedding smoothly tat nite...hee...

losh2909

Hi Fion,

She oso keep smiling to us thru out the whole discussion. Haha...Bt my hubby n I happen 2 rem tat we forgot to ask for pre-dinner for the couples.. Haiz..

Anyway she did say she wont b there during the AD. She'll leave it to the 2 managers to run both wedding on tat day. So far, the manager we spoke to, still ok. Shldn't b a prob ba...

Hi Princess,

She had changed the braised ee fu noodles to fried rice in lotus leaf and the red bean paste with glutinous rice ball to yam paste with gingko nut.

Before she offers those, she did explain the price between 2 different menus, eg. like if u wanna change the fish, the difference is $30 bucks or so.

Perhaps mayb bcoz I keep asking her whether wat else can she gif n can she reduce the price or nt etc... Haha... I veri thick skin rite?? Haha... Anyway she oso say she had exchanged them behind her Boss back, nt knowing tat I noe she is the lady boss ba. Haa.. So I guess she will see the couple 1st then there n then decide whether to charge or nt...

Wat did u change n hw much she charge u?? Mind if I ask u which menu u chose?

Btw she oso told me tat there will b more colours for the tables cloth, bt cant rem the colours liao. Sorry... They may have wedding favors in future bt she says still haven decide yet due to the storage of the stuffs if they gonna order in bulk..

fionloke

Hi Losh2909,

Huh??? She charged me $10 more for the change of dessert lei...I changed to Yam Paste...

Hmm...wait...hw many tables do u have & hw much is ur package? coz these 2 factors can be considered why she is doing this....

fionloke

Hi Losh2909,

Oic...I've signed up the $588 package & have 38 tables & 2 reserve.

Anyway, wat have been done already been done. Nothing we can do...so juz be happy on that day bah...

Just dun wana becoz of some little $$ den argue with her...I dun wan my wedding to turn out to be an unhappy one....

Anyway, wun be reading animore here since I have already agreed wif the package she gave. No point to compare here & there while changes can't be made at all. Rite?

Btw, I heard frm my colleague tat this is the tactic in dis sector...every restaurant is doing dlb standard stuff..so wat can we do? Sales is liddat de...

Just be happy lor...hee

losh2909

Hi Fion,

Haha... Ya lor.. wat to do.. Bt still can read up the forum so tat we can share wat we experience wif the rest here. At least everyone can enjoy the preparation for the wedding n noe wat to lok out for when comes to choosing of venues.

Though I had a bad experience wif Fu Lin Men resturant b4 I signed up Bliss Garden bt still I will recommend my frens to them as their perks are indeed veri gd compare to the rest. Anyway wat had happened oreadi happened so jus forget it and carry on wif the other preparation lor.

The most important thing nw is to stay happy always n lok fwd for our BIG DAY!!! Haha... =)

fionloke

Hi Losh2909,

Haha....coz scared noe more den will heart pain more...

Anyway, I will still be here lah...hee...I m stil sourcing for my videographer...headache...haa....when is ur big day?

losh2909

Haha... Wont lah. Tink positively lor. At least nw we're still paying 2009 price lor. They may increase the price next yr oso.

Anyway my AD is on 12 Sept 2010. Haha....I oso haven find my bridal studio, photographer n videographer. Bt my hubby will settle the photographer, tink he gt a fren in tis line so can ask his fren to intro videographer at the same time.

fionloke

haha...true oso...

Oic...earlier dan me worz...hee...

wah..u more jialat dan me lei....hahaa...at least i booked a bridal studio le...u have to be fast lei...coz have to try gown, take fotos & choose fotos to put in album de...all these takes time...my bridal shop called me recently...asked me to try gown in Mar lei....foto-taking is 4mths before weddin date...so u beta look for it now...

princess_shawn

Hi Losh,

me just pissed with their stupid attitude..they charged me everything!

I have 55 tables ,might increased to 60 tables ..His son gave me a very bad attitude..i still saved his messages..will reveal to u if u r keen to read what he wrote to me..i tink they dun care about their business..Cos their business is very good i guess..

If everyone were to see what his son wrote to me, u will be very surprised and will be very pissed becos afterall we r the customers..we have the rights to ask and enquire isnt it?

princess_shawn

Yes Fion, thats was we can do..it is okay..well, our guests will attend on our wedding and judge for themselves if anything turns out bad..:D