Bishan Area

Hi Purple & Hui

Bishan street 12, low floor, the condition is quite ok. Is possible that under valuation if u r considering buying 5 room. HEHE

what makes a flat above/below valuation?
actually i do not need a very gd renovated condition one i guess since i will be doing renovating... so does that mean can get those below/at valuation ones?

Hi Winnie

I am looking for 5 room, hehe. But I guess all the units I saw are high floor thats why above valuation. But its great that you found a place you like! I'm hoping to find one soon too!!

Hi Currahee
HDB will send a valuer to determine the valuation. Usually it is dependent on the state of the house, which floor it is on, environment..etc. If you are intending to do major reno I suggest you get a cheap unit and just ram out the whole thing.

hi marchbride.. can can.. juz let me know when u wanna come over..

ya.. we also quite heart pain in e beginning.. but really no choice.. we wun b spending too much on e wedding lah.. so try to cut down on tat lor. hehe.. furniture we'l juz get e essentials.. e rest slowly buy. hehe

hey ladies, i am also looking for a 4room flat at bishan. Currently, my FH's home is at Bishan too. They staying at st 13 exe appt. His sister also staying at bishan, at st 22.
I heard that 4room flat at bishan is valued at 300-330k.

nemo_fc,
Generally higher floors are more exp. take yr time in searching for yr new home. bishan flats are more exp than other areas, not talking about toa payoh, redhill areas la. when buying higher levels, sellers tend to ask for more cash. I ever come across one seller asking for about$15k to $20k above valuation. the valuation that you quote I think are those flats less than 10 years but more than 5 years flats. or if less than 15yrs, then the higher floors are normally sold at a higher selling price.

I did try looking ard units near the salvation army but i find those units too hot cos the few blocks of flats are close together.

tunagirl,
how to cut down spending on the wedding ah? can teach me or not? =)

hi hui,
oops, got the name mixed up.. blur me! :p But will wan to view ur hse if you have found one
But then hor, 5rm in bishan very ex leh.. must take some time..

hi tunagirl,
thanks in advance... waiting for my hubby to be back to tell him this piece of gd news.. keke.. when is ur AD? So you going to have a simple wedding?

hi serene,
the flats ard salvation army quite old already right? We also thought of there but after viewing a few times, find that we dun like the layouts...

oh ya serene,
me on the 12th storey.. just went to 'open' my house on sat only.. think will be sourcing for a contractor soon...

ur house finish reno already? which flr are you at?

hi marchbride,

ya I finish my reno already, didn't fix my kitchen and window grilles and flooring tiles. me on the 8th floor. yrs 4 room or 5 room ah? exp or not when u buy?
my reno done by my uncle. u need his quotation or services then u let me know loh. =)
No id for me. we actually bought designer magazines to brain storm for reno ideas. cos we thinking of saving the $$$ for the reno stuff. keke :P

hi marchbride again,

didn't see yr earlier msg.
ya the flats there are much older. I dun like the layouts there too. plus i find them hotter than the rest maybe they are at the bottom whereas the units at st22 are higher and more windy. me cannot tahan hot la...

must see tunagirl's house cos nice nice... :P

Hi Marchbride,
Ya lor taking my time to look now. :P Just hope I'll be able to join all of you soon and talk about my flat! Hehehe.

hi serene, flats at st 22 are mostly quite close. My FH's sis staying there and opp flat, the kids always peep over at their house.

Is there any point bloack around bishan?

hi nemo_fc,

u mean yr fh's sis flat is those like door to door type ah?

not too sure about the point block thing. but from what i know from my friend, point blocks are normally very obvious and along the main roads.

Hey Marchbride, we same flr. haha.. so u directly opp mine! Serene's and and ours also facing each other.. hehe..

Serene, wedding ar? not sure leh.. but for now i'll juz b taking OTR packages, and photos die die must tahan cannot choose too many. As for dinner, my mum volunteered to bake cake for my favours..hehe.. wun save on $$ but can change for something else.. since u hv already got ur package u hv less to worry abt liao..

hi nemo_fc, so when's yr wedding?
if not too near, take yr time to look ard cos long term commitment. and if you decide to do reno, u probably will need more time to do and it's tiring if u doing your house too near your wedding. if u need agent, I can intro u as well.

hi tunagirl,

i agree with u, photos die die must tahan, we had a hard time picking the photos as well. we also take up OTR packages... the AD wedding gown and evening gown to be selected after I pick up my photos in mid July.

we wanted to settle it early so leave as little things nearer to wedding date, then can relax a bit cos work very busy from may onwards loh....

maybe when marchbride finish her reno, we can visit each other house... sounds fun to me, looking forward to it

Recently bought a unit along St 22..looking for a designer/contractor and planning to start renos soon

Anyone else along St 22?

hey dreamdoll, possible to furnish with info? which location? near salvation army? point blk or corner/ corridor? how many rooms? what's the valuation? any cash upfront (buying above valuation? Else can email me [email protected]

Hi nemo if you need recommendation for agent can let us know. A few of us have quite nice and reputable agents.

wow, this thread is moving so fast out of a sudden :p

Hi serene,
Agree with you leh. St 22 generally more windy
Mine is a 4rm unit. Bot for $300 towards end of 2005. Ex or not ah? Ya, me sourcing for contractors now. Can I have your uncle's quotation ans contacts as well? Will like to look at a few proposal before deciding on which contractors to use :p

Hi tunagirl,
onz, will discuss with my hubby and see when he is free then I can arrange with you. So you and serene both living at your new houses already? haha, since you are at 12th storey too, we can greet each other thru our windows liao.. :p

Hi hui,
When is your wedding? If no hurry, then look for one slowly. I took about 4months before I came across the unit that I like... I can even memorize most of the flats layouts along St 21 - st24.. haha..

Hi currahee,
can apply for resale before ROM. But once you buy the flat, you must produce the ROM cert within 6months.

kekeke, I think the thread is moving faster than normal too.

hi marchbride,
I think so. hmmm $300k ok la as compared to many yr back. is a corridor unit right? so u bought at valuation or u did pay cash?

no problem, can give u my uncle's contacts,do you have any email address? I forward his contact number to you. cos it's better you talk to him on what you all want to do in person and he can give you a quotation on the spot.

no hurry think renovation is better to be done slowly rather than rushed rushed than turn out not nice.....

heard tunagirl mention about moving in in may. not too sure she's still sticking to her plan.. as for me, sometimes living here , sometimes not living here, but my hubby is definitely living here. hehehe

btw when's yr AD ah?

marchbride, which blk u are? bought at valuation or above valuation? high floor?
is the condition good? do you need to do major reno?

Hi Marchbride, my AD is July 07. So no hurry.
I can also memorize all the flats in st 11 and 13! Hehe. I just saw one more flat that my FH and I like today. Hoping it'll pull through this time! *nervous* Heheh.

Really hope I'll be able to find a place to call my home soon!

hi hui,
dun worry, u will be able to a place soon..
but will your ROM be on the same date as your AD? If it is, then to get a flat now is abt a year before your ROM.. dunno if HDB will allow or not...

hi nemo_fc,
we are at blk 271, 12 flr. Bot it above valuation. Paid extra cash to the owner but we think quite worth it cos the condition is good. Only need to do up the toilets and paint the flat. But cos we are abit particular, so we might want to do the windows, tear down the build-ins and do up the kitchen.. But havent really finalized on anything. Wanted to see the views of contractors first.. :p

hi serene,
my AD over liao.. just last month. now staying with my HB's parents (also in bishan). so we are taking our time to do up the reno.. Wanted to do up a house that we both really like.

actually after we bot the flat, the valuation for bishan flats went up by about 30k generally. Really heng for us lor...

hee, thanks! You can email me at [email protected]

hi Hui, real glad that u seen something u like this round, hope u can get yr dream flat v. soon like us...

Hi marchbride,
when you bought the flat ah? I bought it in sep. I heard from my friends that the valuation here have increased, I guess it's v. true.... ya we are kind of heng to escape the price height...

will email to your email address shortly. U check your email as I will be sending you my uncle's contacts via my yahoo email too.

hi serene,
i bot in late dec.. haha.. a few days before the cash downpayment increases to 5%. hey, have rec your email.. Will call up your uncle bythis week.. Thanks alot!!

hi nemo_fc,
my unit still ok.. as long as there is not a need to change the titles and hack the walls, the reno wont be too costly i think..

hi Marchbride, is it a point blk? corner? or corridor? Any flat that is available on hand for sale that you know of?

Hi all, my hse is in st 24. bot it at below valu, 12 flr, so we were quite lucky, no need pay xtra cash. Tho its a corridor unit, but quite alot of privacy..

Yo serene.. yes yes i shld b moving in abt 2 wks' time.. hv arranged for most of the furniture to come in tis wkend.. hehe.. hvn't seen ur sofa yet.. u wan can drop by tis sat. So u still cleaning ur hse?

Hi Marchbride.. yaya.. must really do up ur dream hse.. do u guys hv any ideas wat u wanna do yet? most of e ideas were our own, tho some we discussed with our ID, so when it turned out quite nicely, we were v happy. Serene and her hubby v creative.. do most things on their own one. Champion! *kow tow*

hi tunagirl,

ya i do agree that your unit has a lot of privacy...
oh that's good, wait till everything is in then i come over and take a look on all furniture rather than just the sofa set.... hehe, can i?

nope not cleaning my house liao. more or less finished cleaning, other than minor one...

ok la marchbride, me and my hubby do so so in our house decor la, not like what tunagirl has described. just that we did the painting of house by ourselves , so more tedious loh....

no worries, hope my uncle can help you.

hi nemo_fc,
Mine is not a point blk. Hmm, mine happen not to be along the corridor. It is those two units facing one another kind..

hi tunagirl and serene,
you gals meeting up this sat? can I join u all then? :p can see see and get some ideas on the house reno and decor...

serene, marchbride, tis sat i'll be home after 1.. most elect and furniture coming in, but will be a bit messy lah.. hehe..

hi nemo_fc, sure can lah, slowly lor.. firstly get an agent first.. hehe.. if u wan can intro my cousin to u..she got my hse for me n v experienced.

hi tunagirl, thanks..

hey, you gals meeting up this sat? may i join in too? just want to see how your unit like.. is it okay?

hi marchbride,
think tunagirl say only ard after 1pm. think may drop by her place first loh on sat...maybe we go over her house first before come over to my one loh... no problem, come see see and then decide loh...kekeke

hi nemo_fc,
no problem, come join us.

btw, how to contact marchbride and nemo_fc ah? cos i have tunagirl's contact only.

hello fellow-bishan residents ... kkekek i just bought a 4-room resale unit in bishan :\ Paid 2K above value for it ...

Anyway .. I'm already a bishan resident... staying with my parents at 100+ ...

Starting to scout for a ID liaoz ... any recommendations or idea? I'll need to re-do everything in the house with minimal carpentary .. prolly only need kitchen cabinet .... do you think i'll be able to stick to 20K ?

Hi Currahee, I started hunting for a flat not too long ago ... took me about 3 weeks to find one...
:P

will need to revamp the whole house lor ... old mar ... actually ... i kindaf like their current tiles ... not too sure if it can be restored to its former glory leh ...

Hi Assirac,
Congrats on getting a flat!
I've been looking for 3 months! Still looking.
Where's y our place? If you don't mind me asking.

I think 20k is reasonable and possible.
Can recommend you my agent's husband if you want, I hear he's a very nice and trustworthy man. Well..my mom knows the family for quite a few years and says that they are nice people. Not so sure about their workmanship but I am sure you can check that out.
Let me know if you want the info!