Batam-weekend gateway?

rara

Nope. I was keen in going on one of the coming weeks, but decided to save the money for krabi later on in the year instead due to a very tight budget.

So, we'll make do with a night at Sentosa's chalet for now haha...

worry

Really? I intend to go Krabi too but dunno when.

Sentosa also nice but a bit ex. Anyway, enjoy your trip. And relax during ur holidays.

worry

I think i saw the promo on the UOB card liao.

The promo is Holiday Inn 2D1N at $95 per person, excluding spa, but includes 2-way ferry via HarbourFront Centre
2-way pier-resort-pier transfers
accommodation with breakfast

I'm still wondering how much is the package in tea tree spa. Can't find any infor on the internet.

worry

I'm only intending to stay 2D1N So very limited time. Was wondering is it worth to go shopping at Mega Mall and Ngoya Town or not? Or should I just linger in the resort? Any advice?

rara

erm, I think I saw the same promotion as Jus Mi. It's $200/couple and comes with 1 free spa... but I don't have the details with me anymore. It came in the brochure that they send with the bill every month.

worry

maybe is over already?

cos i just go my this mth's bill yesterday and not the $200 one leh. If over liao, then it's wasted!

dreamymi

Hi S,

I got my bill not long ago also.... so should not be over... cause my FH birthday coming so i notice this ad in the brocher maybe u can call UOB up and check wif them

nyh

U can email to this add: [email protected]

The trip muz go b4 Jul 31.
Package inclusive:
1 night accommodation in One-Bedroom Suite for 2
American Buffet Breakfast for 2
One 60 min Balinese Body Massage for 1 person only (Advance Booking Required)
One 30 min Balinese Coffee Body Scrub for 1 person only (Advance Booking Required)
Round Trip ferry tickets (excl. Batam Exit Tax) for 2 persons
Complimentary Shuttle bus from Terminal to Resort

kar

i saw this UOB promo too, i tried askin if i can change the scurb to 1 more body massage, they say cant, i even offered to top up.

still thinkin if tis is a good deal, any idea if holiday inn is near any shoppin centres?

nyh

you can email to this adds:
Trip booked muz travel b4 Jul 31.

Package inclusive:
1 night accommodation in One-Bedroom Suite for 2
American Buffet Breakfast for 2
One 60 min Balinese Body Massage for 1 person only (Advance Booking Required)
One 30 min Balinese Coffee Body Scrub for 1 person only (Advance Booking Required)
Round Trip ferry tickets (excl. Batam Exit Tax) for 2 persons
Complimentary Shuttle bus from Terminal to Resort

peg76

Just booked the UOB promotion for Holiday Inn. Their room and spa reservation officers are friendly and quite prompt with their reply.

As the promotion package does not allow the scrub to be changed to a massage, we took up extra package of the same treatment at $90++.

Is it true that the local shops only accept rupiah whereas the hotel does accept S$?

peg76

milo66
me too. where are u staying??

I am thinking of changing S$100, dun know whether enough or not?

worry

I just went to Holiday Inn last week.

The hotel, restautrants (in the hotel), retail shop (in the hotel) accepts S$. Whereas if you are going out of the hotel for shopping, then must prepare some Rupiah.

worry

Hi Peg76, U're welcome.

The stay is not bad. View is also not bad. Service very good. Room is also quite good. But the bathtub got spots for my suite. We stayed in 1 Bedroom suite. sofa and bed is comfy. I have tried the food in the Chinese rest, quite nice. Also tried the BBQ buffet, the food so-so only. Breakfast buffet not bad.

As for the spa, for this mth, they got a package at S$139nett which include body massage, body scrub, relexology, Free Gift and one more thing i forgot which type is it. U can call or email them to find out more. Have tried the spa, in fact i feel is only so-so. Maybe cos i expected more from an award winning spa.

chipndale

i think this thread has died a while ago.. but posting this just to share my experience

michiko, book direct from harris- its cheaper by abt 20-30 bucks per pax.

just came back from harris resort yesterday, overall a pleasant stay. pretty relaxing and good place to nua. nice big pool, decent facilities i wld say, tho a bit old. room was clean and big, though again, there were some stains on bedsheets, so a bit uggh...

staff were very friendly, and helpful. all smiles- reminded me of the service we usually get from filipino staff in some shops here in sg.

went for the ritual of romance spa package- this was not very good i think. They did not even provide us with paper underwear as is usually done! so u just lie there butt naked while they do ur scrub/massage/wrap. quite gross. also, they did not take care to protect ur privacy during the massage- usually they shld discreetly expose just the part they are gonna massage, but what happened was that they just anyhow flap the towel, and exposed me from pubic area upwards when they were scrubbing my top even though i had stated that i didnt want my bust area scrubbed. the massage itself was so so only.. the strokes were not soothing, and i felt like i was being pummelled instead.only nice thing was the pavilion, and the milk bath. foot reflex not bad too. if anyone is planning to go for spa at harris, do remember to bring ur own paper underwear to protect ur privacy!

well, it was cheap though- only $140 for 2 persons for 3 hour package. so cant complain too much hehe..

overall, it was still a decent place to nua for 2d/1n without busting ur budget!

jastan

jules
Me also just came back from Batam Harris. I went for the same spa as you. I agree with you that the spa seems not very professional. As compared with Tea Tree Spa in Holiday Inn, I think Tea Tree Spa is better but of course more exp. Like what you said, can't complain much due to the price paid. The staff at Harris resort are very friendly. Their GM is very friendly too. I stayed at their Cabanas, actually not much difference from their deluxe room except it is liken a villa. Hubby prefer their deluxe room instead adter viewing.

chipndale

hi jas,

were u there over the weekend? when did u go? hehe, maybe i might have seen u!

how much will tea tree spa cost?

yes, i agree that their GM is very friendly. deluxe room is quite good.. though itsn quite simply furnished. food was quite blah though.. breakfast was quite lousy hehe. the pizza was nice though!!

I felt very exposed throughout the whole spa. =P

chipndale

hi jenn, that's pretty cheap!

Do let us know how the spa was! If its nice, and protect privacy more than harris, then must try BVBR next time!

miralyn

I went few mths back...agreed the treatment so-so.
esp they can say run-out of paper underwear!

Hw can it be same "incident" occuring to others few mths apart? They shld hav been stockin up/well prepare for such occurence...Feel tat mayb they're cuttin cost.

Agreed that we feel so exposed! esp som areas of blinds not in gd condition & roof even leaked & rain drip on me, halfway hav to switch indoors.

@ end of session, jacuzzi bath was oni 15mins instead of 30mins when they alert to get dressed.

This is the 1st & last time tt we'll go to Harris Spa.

happytea

hihi!

we were there at Harris Resort in Sep06, booked the honeymoon package. i cant say the spa is the best but i think its definitely worth the price. we had the ginger jacuzzi bubble bath together and i think its great. for the massage, ya, no paper panties for us too, but they did covered the private part well along the way. my hubby said the one he had is prof enough.

and the dinner by the pool is good, we love the romatic feeling we had w no crowd ard us.

Overall, the grade is still good.

chipndale

ya i must agree it was a pretty relaxing experience altogether.. despite the lack of paper underwear!!

I loved the jacuzzi bath too.. we actually had time to soak for abt 20-30min, then both of us bathed before leaving the spa. so they were quite liberal with the time we had towards the end of the package.

amyyeo

Hello..
Hi thinking of going to harris becos the pool looks attractive!

cos i am thinking of booking myself.. not sure if its cheaper or almost the same... can anyone recommand? Can i check when u all go, did u all pre-book the spa or when u reach there then u all book? and is there any shuttle bus to city and what is the cost of the shuttle?

chipndale

hi Amy, I forwarded u some stuff!

I calculated the 70/pax based on this :

150/pax for ritual of romance package (weekend) with 2d/1n stay
if u opt for just a 2d/1n stay without spa, it will cost 80/pax for weekend. So the spa essentially cost us 70 per head.

the pool is certainly quite impressive! so u wll prob have a good time nuaing there!

U need to prebook the spa when making reservations for the room and ferry tickets. My suggestion is to go early morning, and opt for the outdoor pavilions if it is not hazy or too hot. We tried the indoor room cos it was hazy when we went abt 3 weeks back and it was cold... and ambience not as nice as the outdoor pavilions. oh pls remember to bring paper underwear if u are not comfortable with going stark naked during the massage.

amyyeo

Hi Jules,

I dun get what u mean. so u are saying 150/pax for hotel and spa. how abt the ferry? is it book seperatly? and u said i need to prebook the spa when making reservations for rooms and ferry. U mean i book the ferry and hotel everything via Harris directly? or u went through agent.

chipndale

Amy,

I sent you the packages that Tauzia (the office for Harris in Singapore) sent me. The packages include ferry, hotel stay, transfers.. so the 150 is the total I paid, excluding the ferry taxes

When you fill up the reservation form, there is a column asking u what time ferry u want, and what time u want the spa to be, so that Tauzia can call Harris and make arrangements for u. Payment is via UOB bank transfer or u can drop off a cheque at Tauzia's office. fuss free!

chipndale

Tauzia is the Singapore Sales rep for Harris Resorts btw..

Just check the email I sent u la.. its quite clear cos all the packages are included there.. and what the price includes is also explained very clearly! good luck!

chipndale

hi felicia,

not sure if the packages are up to date as I asked abt them in end sept/early oct. Might be better to check with them at the email add above? The sales person also told me they may have new packages and promotions so u shld email them to be clear!

amyyeo

can anyone comment on the food at harris? is there any cheap food there? and how the variety of the breakfast there?

chipndale

breakfast- like s**t. cornflakes and koko crunch were the nicest food there... so u can imagine how it was la.

food at the cafe is pretty alright. the pizza is yummy!! we saw some pp order their main courses, portions were huge and looked quite good and nicely presented. abt 10Sgd per main course. quite cheap cos it looked like the kind of food u get in nicer restaurants here- ie the 20+ range kind

chipndale

oh harris provides a free shuttle to a kelong restaurant. food there is not great either.. we had drunken prawns, kang kong, hot plate tofu for abt 20sgd total. wouldn go back again. the place was deserted when we went lor! kinda creepy too..

chipndale

breakfast- oily limp sausages, plain bread- machiam sunshine bread kind, soggy croissants, eggs, and cereal that comes with room temperature milk. ermm some stale pastries too.

jastan

jules
Sorry for the late reply. I was staying in Harris for a night. Checked in on 5th and checked out on 6th. I didn't went to Holiday Inn. I not sure how much the Tea Tree spa cost now. the last time I got is a promo of $100 for massage, scrub and reflexogy.

Indeed the spa in Harris is making me feeling more exposed than others I had tried.

chipndale

hi jas!

oh i went on 7th checked out on 8th!
so zhun!

just went for angsana spa.. and compared to harris, it was heaven! i felt so pampered! even the underwear given at angsana was the good quality cotton soft soft kind, not even the crinkly paper kind. we spent abt 80sgd for a foot scrub and a 60min full body massage at angsana. must say the price is still alright although it was in USD.

belleteo

This thread seems to be very little ppl coming in. I am planing to go Batam this Dec. Have a few worries. Need help and advise.

1) Dec is raining season, so afraid rain will spoilted everything but i have to on end Dec as my ROM is on Christmas eve so thought of after that go a short trip
2) Thinking of either Holiday Inn or Turi Beach resort. Which is better?
3) Should i book package or book directly online from the hotel?
4) should i book the one day tour as is my first time there so abit scare will be con or dont know how to travel around to town

Thank you for your help and advise.

elly80

Hi All...

Juz 2 share my trip 2 Harris just few wks ago & I really felt I should post a compliment on their service.

I would say their service is reali reali somethg 2 rave abt, thou there isn't really much thgs u can do except for a gd spa massage. :D

Actually, I surprised my hubb with tickets to this 2D/1N getaway..so we actually depart 1 day before his birthday on a sat.

When we checked in to our room, we realized that they had upgraded us to the japanese suite which was reali cosy & spacious...somethg reali different from the normal hotels we'd stayed, so tat had left an impression to us, though we din bother to ask why they gave us the complimentary upgrade..keke

Then on the next morning, we went for our breakfast as usual...& guess wat, suddenly a group of waitors/waitresses walked to our table singing birthday song with a nice choc cake to my hubb!! We were both stunned & my hubb commented that it certainly left a memorable birthday experience for him. My hubb thought I'd planned it, but I didn't even mention anythg to the service staff.. (The staffs would have taken note of our Room No. & "watched" where we were sitting...) hahaaa

Definitely a thumbs-up for their exceptional warm service & thoughtfulness & of cos, their "Ritual of Romance" spa package is a must-try!!

noxy

Hi Elly,

How much was the stay and the spa package? Care to share?

Thanks for sharing your experience!