Batam-weekend gateway?

pegsfur

tsukushi,

The couple spa which I chose is a 2.5hr spa session, to be done together with my hubby in the same room
It includes a Body Scrub, Body Massage, Face Treatment & either Herbal or Milk Bath.

Actually i was thinking it might be pretty crowded cos it's the school holidays now
I hope I'm wrong.

pinkyweng,

Tks! Will update u guys when i return on Sat

I am interested to go to batam for spa as well.

Hey pegsfur, did you have to book your couple spa beforehand?

pegsfur

Hi gals, I'm back from my trip
Here's my account:

Was planning to try some watersports there but didn't in the end cos we didn't have much time left for a 2D1N trip.

The staff were indeed friendly and helpful. They always wear a smile and are always ready to help.

The bad thing was, check-in & check-out service was a little slow. When we arrived, we were told our room was not ready yet. We thot that was pretty normal & ventured the hotel while waiting. By the time we came back, those who arrived with us have already had their rooms except us. We finally got our room after another 1/2 wait. We were made to wait again when we checked-out.

Room wise, we were put off with the slightly stained bed sheets, but as it was a king sized bed, I just had to sleep a little further away to avoid the stain. In the pamphlet, they showed the orange slippers and we thot it was complimentary. When we asked for a pair, we were told we have to pay $3.

Our spa session was very good!!
The 2.5hr Revive Spa we opted actually stretched to 3hr plus. Both hubby & I actually fell asleep when they did the facial for us. After the massage & scrub, we were given ginger tea & gree tea when we had our milk bath. Silly us didn't know that the bath tub was actually a jacuzzi until my hubby itchy fingers & pressed 1 of the buttons

Then we went for seafood dinner at nagoya. We went to this A1 foodcourt which was recommended by Sloppy. (*Sloppy - Tks for the recommendation!) We ordered a crab, promfret, la-la and stir-fried chicken. Cost us only S$19 !!!! My hubby's eyes nearly popped out cos we estimated it to be at least $25.

Didn't do any shopping at all cos by the time we finished our dinner, it was already 9+ and most of the shops have closed

Overall, we had a good time there. I'll give the following rating:

1. Harris Resort :6 out of 10 points
2. Spa: 8 out of 10 points

Ryes,

The spa was booked by the tour agency when we booked our package as the spa was inclusive in the package. U could still go without booking in advance but the slot might be full espcially if you go at peak periods.

tsukushi,

Yup, I only went there for a night. Good enough for us as it was a surprise trip meant for my hubby .... cos that day was his birthday
I booked my package thru www.sunplanners.com . Pretty good service and everything was done thru emails ... saved us the hassle of travlling to & from travel agencies to collect tickets & stuff. Once it's booked, they will send you the confirmation thru email, and u just need to print it out & bring it along to the counter/ reception when u checked in.

icebaby0

pegsfur,

Hi, glad that you enjoyed urself. (I am sloppy...had to change my nick for some reason to icebaby0)

I think it was rather simple and easy to do everything urself. I think cos it's school holidays and that's why service abit slow. Was it very crowded at Harris? I very tempted to go again just for a weekend break.

pegsfur

icebaby aka sloppy

Yup, everything was free & easy & we had no problems at all.

We went on a Friday & checked-out on Sat. Friday was still ok but when we checked-out on Sat, droves of singaporeans just arrived & was waiting to check-in. Kids were noisy, as usual ... I dunno if the crowd was due to the school holidays or what. But I was abt to have a headache while waiting for the mini van to send us to the ferry cos the kids were making a lot of noise

Hey, i'm tempted to go again too .... and it's all becos of the cheap seafood

Hi pegsfur,

Thanks for sharing! Do you think 2D1N is too short??? Is nagoya and A1 foodcourt within the resort or have to walk out?

icebaby0

tsukushi,

to get to nagoya u need to take a cab. It's abt 20 mins ride. A1 food court is at Nagoya there...near their "lucky plaza".

icebaby0

Tsukushi,

No hope. There is no FOOD outside the resort. In the resort - yes. But the price is in S$, and it's not so cheap. I ate in Harris for lunch before, dh and I ordered a pizza and pasta (surprisingly it's good! but pasta very little only) cost us S$27.
So advice is, to take a cab out and go have a good meal instead. It's more worthwhile.

pinkyweng

I am back from Harris today..hehe..overall is a nice retreat lah.. but i find Harris rather old leh.. hehe.. Holiday Inn looks better...i went to nagoya town to look for A1 foodcourt but had a hard time to find... when we found.. heard it open at 6pm.. i was there at 3pm... so in the end didn't wait and found the people there keep looking at us... scare scare.. haha..so i went to the kelong which Harris can provide free shuttle...food is not very cheap compared to A1... but is still cheaper compared to Singapore..the crabs are very fresh..can try if those feel uneasy to go to the town.. but still ok to go town lah... cheers!!

pegsfur

Hi pinkyweng,

Yah, i coulnd't find A1 Foodcourt at first too until we asked around. Turn out that it's only behind the Lucky Plaza

Did you try the spa at Harris?

icebaby0

Yah, it's not so easy to find but better than getting CON by taxi driver! Like what happen to me and my hubby...had to pay S$4 to find the place when it's just less than a walking distance.

And A1 only open at night. Sorry, should have mentioned it earlier. (Cos most of the time we eat crabs at night mah...heehee)

Hi icebaby, thanks for the info! Scared of getting conned by cabbie if we go to town leh...

Harris resort provide free shuttle to the kelong? Is there a free shuttle back to the resort?

icebaby0

I don't know abt that part, maybe not they have. Have to wait for pinkyweng's response.

Cos that time I was there...don't have leh.

pegsfur

But if you get taxi directly from Harris, I'm sure they won't dare to con you rite?

The taxi driver did asked us if we want to have seafood dinner at the 933 Golden Prawn Seafood which was popular with s'porean tourists, even though we already told him we want to have our dinner at A1. We told him 'no' again cos i remembered abt icebaby's story (*tks to icebaby again
).

We were quite scared of getting other 'unauthorised' taxi for our trip home, so we asked for the driver's namecard, so that we cld call him again to drive us back to Harris when we are done with our shopping/dinner. We called him & he arrived within 5mins

pinkyweng

Here to share more.. hehe.. hope it is helpful.

1) I tried the spa at Harris - Hot stone and foot reflexlogy. Hot stone is not nice one..just use stone to massage u..that's my first try..so dun noe wat's that at first..foot is okie lor.. not pain one..i think should try the massage lor coz that's the most enjoyable in harris.. nothing much to do there mah..

2) For kelong - Just go to reception and say u want to go to the kelong..free shuttle there.. then when u finish eating.. tell the kelong pple and they will call harris to pick u up free too... i think if scare to go town..like me.. better go kelong to eat seafood...i found A1 foodcourt.. but from outside..find it dark dark old old.. so dun dare to go in..probably not open yet..and really uncomfortable to go town...go there for a while then want to go back hotel liao.. haha..waste the cab fare like that.. but experience lah.. can still go to town lah.. haha.. maybe some of you more adventureous than me lah..yar lor.. dun noe the timing of the A1 foodcourt.. so when i touched down on day 1, told hubby to go there for seafood lunch.. in the end..kanna 'scolded'.. haha.. we like seafood.. so only sad that we cant enjoy the seafood at A1..haha.. but thanks for the infor icebaby.. no worries..

3) Cabs-I also scare to take their cab...a lot of taxi drivers keep asking you about taxis when you are on the streets..hehe...

Overall should be fine lah.. dun worry.. enjoy your holiday..

twinklestar

i paid abt $250 altogether for both of us 3D2N... incl ferry tickets, pickup at terminal, massage & foot reflexology for both.

there r 1 for 1 packages offer by the travel agent of harris... tat is tauzia mgt.

u can email to [email protected] to enjoy the exclusive discounts offer by harris.

icebaby0

The cabs are fine. Took them (as long as u got a male with u...I think it's safe).

Twinklestar, urs is $250 for two person is not too bad.
I think harris price has gone up alittle, for those who like to go for spas, take the offers from the agencies. It's cheaper than booking urself.

twinklestar

hi icebaby,

ya... i wld say its value for $. we not only had the stone massage, we did foot reflexology too.... all 1 for 1...... for 3D2N. not easy to find such bargains..... there was complimentary pizza too.... v nice... n tat saves another meal.

Hi, when do they deliver the complimentary pizza to you? Do you have to inform the counter staff when you check in?

Hi twinklestar

what is this 1 for 1 $250 for 2 person promotion about?

What does it include of? What should I tell them when I email them if I am interested in the same package as yours?

twinklestar

hi tsukushi

when you check in, they will give u the FOC pizza voucher, so u can exchange for your pizza according to the times stated on it.

if u hv prepaid for your spa in sg, they will oso issue spa vouchers to u upon check in.

twinklestar

hi ryes,

we purchased:

Harris 1 for 1 Package, buy 1 nite free 1 nite. (free pizza-per rm per stay)

Marina Spa 1 for 1 promotion, pay 1 spa and get the 2nd free.

u can jus email them ans ask for packages to harris. they will give u a list of diff promo pkgs... so u select based on ur needs.

if u wanna book the city tour @ $12... u hv to book in sg. they will not entertain u when u decide last min to go when u r in batam.

kejo

just to share, i've just came back from a short 2D1N stay at holiday inn batam. Is good!
We've got a one bedroom suite..the room was spacious, clean and cosy.. I like the toilet esp.. very classy look.

Their swimming pool (with jacuzzi) is beautiful and clean..i notice their staff even check the Chlorine level at interval timing.

Their service there is one of the best hotel i've ever been to. Perhaps as a 1st time cust they treat us better lah i'm not sure.. But is really good lor.. they even send the survey form to our door and ask for feedback. After breakfast also ask for feedback.. I think they r very cust oriented.
They r very attentive to customer's request. I got abit impatient during the check in time when the cust infront of me ask so much qs and delay the Q. their staff notice it and bring me to their other counter to process the check in.

If you r looking for a hotel like resort.. go for this holiday inn. I saw Harris is older abit but is cheaper lah..

Thanks for the info here..i manage to find A1 foodcourt and the seafood there is really cheap and nice..

kejo

hi ryes,

Given my time constraint, i didnt go for the tea tree spa. But i went to take a look at their spa area is very nice. U been to Bali b4? is very balinese style.
U may choose to do it in the small hut beside the swimming pool.

Check out their website
Click on the photo tours.. my room is the deluxe suite..

hey twinklestar,

I was surfing the net and found a similar package as urs, the marina spa 1 for 1.

Hi pegsfur, that time for you, what is the check in and check out time? Did you ask for extension of room check out? For the ferry, we can choose any timing we want is it? I think I'm booking your package. At the point of making reservation, do you tell them u want spa to be done with hb in a couple room? So whole room only two of you har?

haha, i just read you have replied in previous posting : The spa was booked by the tour agency when we booked our package as the spa was inclusive in the package. U could still go without booking in advance but the slot might be full espcially if you go at peak periods.

Who is the tour agency? Sunplanner?

twinklestar

hi ryes,

there r other packages other than spa 1 for 1. i hv them but not convenient to post here as its their property.

if u want u can leave ur email add here. i fwd u the packages.

as for spa.... thre r couple rooms.... try to take the outdoor pavilion. the rooms r quite brightly litted so not so cosy for massage. we regret when we saw the pavilions while doing our foot reflexology outdoors.

twinklestar

hi ryes,

i chose ala carte, not the spa package. ummm, not v comfortable to hv my face done in other regional countries coz my skin is quite sensitive.

hi twinklestar,

i see i see. i think the packacge the company offer is the same as the sunplanners one, the spa indulge one...

Think i will go for that.

hey pegsfur, how was the spa? the facial okay?

Hi Twinklestar,

I got it. Thanks. Same as you, i'm not taking the revive as it comes w a facial... Any idea if they allow you to chg to another spa item?

twinklestar

hi skywolf,

i am not sure abt tat. perhaps u wanna check with the agent.

btw, jus a note.... think its ramadhan soon... puasa... so if u guys wanna enjoy tat massage betta do it early morning after their heavy breakfast, or after sunset. their energy will drained out when they fast yo.... lol.... then u only feel fingers scratching ur back....

twish

sakura,

i've tried that.. not bad an experience. 'cept body might ache abit for beginners :p no worries if you're a non-swimmer as you'll be donning a life jacket.