Batam-weekend gateway?

icebaby0

snowysoul,

You can try holidaybagus.
They advertise pretty frequently in the papers or u can do a web search for their company as they recently launched their own webpage.

does anyone has any updates on the prices and packages that tea tree spa offers at holiday inn?

hi coolman,

Last weekend i was at Holiday Inn batam resort for a weekend getaway.. I wanted to have the raved about Tea Tree Spa there, but i realised tt pricing is comparable to what u get in SGP.

So if u want to go have the spa session there & disregard the pricing, i believe the quality shd be comparable or even better, the hotel staff are all very polite & customer-oriented & i wld rate 6 *s for their service!

coolman

tks mehmeh for the info.
i wondering whether u got go to the town? did u tried the A1 foodcourt they introduced?? did u go shop shop?? did u do any water sport??

i heard alot of ppl said the town not veri safe.. isst true??

coolman

hi friends,

have u all try batam view resort before? As i prefer to have a resort connected to the beach. there only batam view resort and turi resort connected to the beach.

hi coolman,

most welcome! I did to go to town.. Via cab. Though i wanted to take the shuttle service provided by Holiday Inn to the town, but it was full!! Town was quite safe.. Not a prob

I went to the A1 foodcourt.. But it's not really a food court.. Think of it rather like our Newton hawker centre, but the locals call it the food court.

The only place i shopped was Batam Centre.. Nothing much, prices are not exactly tt cheap, even the local prodcuts.

Hmm, no water sports.. heheh, not a fan of water sports. I think if u want to, go Harris.. They have cable ski in their premises or super close.

I did consider Turi, but the reviews weren't great. Lack of facilities, and the only food place is the restaurant of the resort.. But if u want the sea, tt's prob the place, though not sure if there are going to be water sports available.

try this website: www.holidaybagus.com I booked my trip via them, quite efficient & fuss free. They shd be able to offer u more info for those hotels/resorts u're interested in

coolman

hi mehmeh.. tks for the info..
ya i called up holidaybagus.. only batam view resort n turi is connected to the beach..
but so far seems like holiday inn n harris r more popular.. is holiday inn near to the beach?
As oni mi n my hub will b going therefore need to know whether the town is safe.
once again, tks for the info : )

The service in Harris is good, feels like a family-run business. But choice of food is limited to the hotel's restaurant. It's a pretty quiet place if you go on weekdays.

mar_mum

Seems like there's a "fight" between Harris and Holiday Inn. Which will you ladies recommend? Anyone been there during pregnancy and did a massage? If so, what type of massage?

coolman

hi mar_mum,

i will b going to batam 2molow. currently 6 weeks pregnant. i booked the trip b4 i know i m preggie.. i have to cancel the spa treatment as heard tat the essential oil used for the massage is not good for the foetus..

i will b going to stay at batam view beach resort.

arte

for a comfortable and nicer room with good atmosphere for relaxing getaway - which is good?
Holiday inn 1 bedroom suite
or Batam view deluxe room ?

Any1 know of any promotional package that is ongoing?

When u return from trip... pls let us know your feedback! Cheers

arte

for a comfortable and nicer room with good atmosphere for relaxing getaway - which is good?

arte

miralyn

Im going Harris & book City Tour, any1 went b4?

Oni shopping ctr: Batam City Square, wondering if any other Shoppin Ctr should go & Location?

Tinking of venturing @ nite, duno if safe & closing hrs??

gervynne

miralyn, try not to venture out to the batam city at night or after closing hours, because there are alot of crooks around!

I went to Batam last year with 3 of my gfs (yeah only 4 of us) and we took a cab from Batam city Square (did some grocery and toiletries shoppin) but we were hijacked by policemen halfway thru the journey and were extorted! It turns out that the cab driver was in cahoots with the policemen but we managed to get away after giving them S$50 but it was a horrible nightmare. The cab driver towards the end of the journey even tried to drive us into some ulu places and we were scard stiff! Luckily we got back to the hotel safe and sound.

Since then, we did not want to even step into Batam anymore.

sirwin

I be gg for 2D1N stay in holiday inn batam in june, complimentary bus shuttle to town is not available anymore, so anyone know roughly how much it cost to take taxi from holiday inn to nagoya town/batam ctr? which type of taxi is reliable there?

saw from the map holiday inn is quite near if I inteprete correctly to water ski, snow world, go-kart, recreational ctr...anyone tried walking to those plcs & worth gg? thanks.

icebaby0

to nagoya, shld be around S$10. to batam centre, shld be around S$20. That was based on the rates of last yr when I went from Harris Hotel (which is near to holiday inn)

I think those places are NOT near to each other. U probably will need to take a cab to those places.

sirwin

thanks, icebaby...

checked & confirmed, no free shuttle bus since 1stApr06, now cost $3nett/PAX/per way for 2 timings(11am-3pm & 2pm-6pm) for wed, sat & sun only.

miralyn

Thks Gervynne,

will be more careful, lucky gt hb accom. Mayb they c all gals can bully. Btw wher is this Batam City Square? I'll stayin @ Harris & gg tmr

Hi Win,

U stayin @ Holiday Inn? I've gt taxi/sports price list @ Harris, If u 1 can fax for ur ref...

sirwin

Hi Miralyn,

yes, be staying @ Holiday Inn on 1st wkend in june, can U fax e price list to mi at 6785nine09six? thanks.

Do harris provide free or paid shuttle bus service for their guests? I was thinking to take their $3 bus one-way to Mega Mall, then take own taxi to Nagoya town, then from Nagoya back to Holiday Inn, think the direction is logical cos Mega Mall is further then Nagoya? so is like making a U-turn back in this manner

hotel-(bus)->megamall-(taxi)->nagoya-(taxi)->hotel

now juz like to confirm the est. taxi fares.

Sorry, I not sure where is this batam city sq, seemed different pples refered a same plc by different names? haha.

oh ya, looking for e so-called 'kelong seafood restaurant' near harris too...;)

miralyn

Hi win,

This $3 shuttle bus is fr Holiday Inn only?

Harris gt free shuttle bus, info fr Tauzia mgt-their direct sales agent abt 2mths back.

Bt when i enquired its full booking for tis wkend,jux try my luck w other agency & lucky gt.
Wonder y they s Direct sales cant gt yet other agency can??

Anyway realized spa pkg is nt standard, depend on agency deal w Harris.

No idea wher Batam City Sq, saw another name Batam Ctr, duno if its same.

Will fax u on Mon when back in office, need attn to u? name?

sirwin

Hi Miralyn,

for holiday inn, yes, not sure for harris. understand the free shuttle bus was stopped since 1st Apr which was quite recently, so do check back with harris again. I gt my pkg from holidaybagus, they are the one who say no complimentary shuttle bus for hol inn & harris, but I guessed they oni mentioned no complimentary shuttle, paid one still possible.

which one full booking? e shuttle bus? or hotel rm tat U r refering to? I believed direct sales is also work like distributor, thru agents will sell faster, so now will be up to agents to clear their stock.

yes, spa pkg not standard, in fact hol inn gt $188 per couple (excl. ferry), 1 nite stay, 60 mins massage, bf, land transfer but till 31 May. Mine with holidaybagus juz e basic @ $186(incl. ferry) all in w/o massage/spa.

sure, thanks. pls attn to: irwin. ;)

miralyn

Hi win,

Im back fr Harris. Mine oso Holidaybagus, their spa pkg lose to T. & ttl bill $30 more exp. But no choice s T. fully bk & don1 miss date 4 anniversary. Mine: couple spa $190 3hrs + rm: $70/pax: $330.

Duno le, feel T. as direct agent shld hav more power to secure rm, esp if other agent still hav rms.

No free shuttle & price has increased again, past Nagoya $10, nw $13...Anyway if on streets,ask 4 rupiah & best prepare exact. like we bargain fr 50k to 40k bt when reach say no 10k loose change, 1 makan us bt no choice jux give lor.

Anway H.Inn looks much better & spa more reputable.
My stay @ Harris so-so 4 both hotel & spa-can believe run out of diposable panties?!

Xchange rate der much better den here.
Went Top 100-very old & norm, more for groceries/titbits, Ctr pt/lucky plaza-hp, electronics, dept store. Batam City Sq-newer plaza,alot soft toys/accessories/clothes.

Hav obtain latest price list will fax to u tmr.

sirwin

Hi Miralyn,

thanks, but unfortunately was on urgent leave yday, will pick up later when bck to office.

yes, taxi rate to nagoya is at $13-$14 now, same for batam ctr, $23-$24. I be taking the hotel 11am bus to batam ctr at $3nett/PAX, then recce to nagoya by taxi from there, & lastly bck to hotel. Thanks for e advises, will try to neg. using rupiah.

Tea tree spa is ex actually as compared with harris though beter facilities cos couple spa is ard $250-$340, spa alone I mean.

where did U settle most of yr meals? Did U go to the kelong seafood near harris? If yes, where is it actually? thanks.

sirwin

Hi Miralyn,

i came bck to check but didnt saw yr fax, can fax again to 67859096? paiseh, mabbe 1 of e cols who retrieve it wan to reference it for his/her fut batam trip? keke.

miralyn

Hi win,

Bside ctr pt alot shophse "restaurant"-non aircon. But all empty, tot mayb nt so gd thus biz poor. Act bcos only 7+, their dinner time aft 8pm. And oso v.old, nt sure of hygiene standard & we need halal food.

So walk out to main street & crossed opp, Der gt 1 small aircon Nasi padang (Mixed veg), 1 Western/bar cafe?? Both looks better. Gt food court bside bt v old, far behind hidden another foodcourt "Windsor", its newer & v.big. Alot seafood stall, hard to judge which better, fierce competiton, all try pull customers.

We ate chilli crab, hotplate beancurd, veg, ginger chk=S$20. V cheap bt taste so-so.

Mayb u can ask cabbies wher gd, knw 933 is famous-is tt the kelong u seeking?

sirwin

Hi Miralyn,

did saw yr post & chk e pricelist but too busi too reply after a quick check...realli no luck to receive yr valuable fax, realli dun noe why, think dun bother lah, & sry for wasting yr efforts/time.

Just to cfm, U went to Nagoya town where ctr pt, windsor, etc. is...e seafood is inside windsor, not the A1 foodcourt tat I understand from prev. posts? U went to batam ctr, rite? so U went from harris->nagoya->batam ctr->harris? Is nagoya or batam ctr near to harris? nagoya is nearer, right? How muchie is yr cab rides from nagoya->batam ctr & from batam ctr to harris?

I went to 933 & tried once on day tour before, but confirmed not near to harris...cheerios.

I wil take e 9.20am SG time ferry to batam on sat, wil go for a quick swim at their pool, hopefully can early check-in cos have book their shuttle to batam ctr at 11am, will proceed to take cab from batam ctr to nagoya & bck hotel by 8pm. Will spend e night time at e hotel lounge or a game of pool before turning in.

on sundae, will have a early bf, hope to go for a go-kart session, then spa appointment before our ferry back to singapore at 4.30pm BAT time.

The oni regret is for 2D1N, not enuff time to plan for water sports games...unless I squeeze 2 hrs off on sundae between bf & spa session.

miralyn

Hi Win,

We lucky to hitch free ride on $3/way shuttle gg Top 100 to pickup ppl....tink our route: Harris> Batam Ctr >Nagoya >Harris

On way der (abt 15-20mins)saw white big shoppin ctr which opp Top 100...Its nt obvious as nt bside main rd. Jux cross rd & opp are shophse "restaurant", btw them is a small rd leading to Batam City Square. Tink location: Batam Ctr.

Den took cab bargain 20k rupiah less den 10mins away but by foot v.far & reach Ctr pt/Lucky Plaza. Tink location: Nagoya.

We walk out back to main rd wher cab drove in (alot shophse "restaurant" surround both ctr) & cross opp wher Aircon Nasi Padang, western cafe & old foodcourt along rd.

Behind em is "Windsor" foodcourt, if standin @ old foodcourt entrance, u can c "Windsor" light sign.

Wow, ur schedule well packed, heard their water sports pricing same as Sin. Hope above helps & Hol.inn shld hav same cab price list & their staff can give better directions.

sirwin

haha, plan plan nia, not all will be realised...

but e 11am shuttle bus & sunday spa is confirmed, e rest will be cfm based on e situation.

thanks, Miralyn!

sirwin

time flies fast, i gg off to batam tis wkend...will provide a report of my trip after I came bck...cheerios!

sirwin

Hi all, I m bck from batam, realli fast, 2D1N trip, realli a getaway trip.

On e 1st dae, upon check in, we book our return ferry bck to sg on e spot. The deluxe room was realli big, king-sized bed, with own hall, sofa set, dining table, etc...realli cosy & comforty, at 11am, we took e shuttle bus at $3 per PAX to mega ctr, more modernised shopping ctr as compared with nagoya. In fact, we have A&W there which is not available in sg for lunch, we proceed to shop after tat, did managed to get something there at a gd price, number 61, future men, matahari...I even hav a hair cut(16,000 ru) & wash (16,000 ru) at a saloon(3rd flr, one & only, called johny beareau or what) there, which is abt $5+++.

We proceed to nagoya taking a cab (30,000 ru/ 20mins). Seem nothing much to get there, we browse thru centrepoint, lucky plaza & ate seafood at A1 for abt $21(crab,prawn,soup,doumiao,lala)! The food was so-so though cheap, at han san seafood, stall no. 15. There is a free shuttle bus to holiday inn outside centrepoint on wkend at 1+pm?, 5.30pm & 8.30pm but we too tired so take a cab at 7pm at 60,000ru.

The next day, we have their bf, went for a swim then proceed to our 2.5hrs spa treatment( I took the soul mate - all right lah, realli ex at $360+++) before taking the 4.30pm ferry back home sweet home.

sunflower0707

Called up Holiday Bugus for the quotation and found out that they have a 1-bedroom suite & 2-bedroom suite. Dunno whether to book 2 1-bedroom suite or 1 2-bedroom suite as there are 4 people going. Any suggestions? Thanks.

sirwin

this depend on how comfortable 4 of U with 1 2-bedroom suite & the pricing factor? for 2-bedroom suite, gt breakie for 4 PAX?

worry

Just called up HolidayBagus on Harris Resort in Batam. They are charging us $75 per person, including 2-way ferry via HarbourFront Centre
2-way pier-resort-pier transfers
1 night accommodation with breakfast
Free 1 time lunch or dinner for maximum for 2 adts per room
Complimentary 2-way shuttle service to Centre Point Mall (Nagoya Town)

Is it worth?

Is Harris Resort better or Holiday Inn better?

dreamymi

Jus info sharing....

For those who have UOB card rite... think now the have a promo wif Holiday Inn 2D1N at $200 inclsive of massage and spa i think....

Btw personally i prefer Holiday inn massage more... but i always stay at harris due to budget.. eheh

rara

If I didn't remember wrongly, for the UOB promo, the massage and spa is only for one person, although the package price is for 2.

S, is the HolidayBagus package 1-for-1? as in, buy 1 night free 1 night? Because there's such a package available by tauzia and sunplanners and they only charge $65/pax.