Batam-weekend gateway?

hi happi,

IndoThai
Komplex Penuin Centre Blok K No. 2-3-4
Tel: +62 778 423268

Its not directly by the main road but just a few seconds walking distance. then its kinda opposite this 'supposely big' penuin shopping centre.

diamond42

HI all,

Here is the phone number for Tea Tree Spa Singapore Based Office: 64780847/ 64470121.

My friend just went on last saturday for their $100nett Spa Package that includes a Body Scrub and Massage. She said it was very good!

She brought back the brochure for me and below are some of the spa packages they have:

1. Island Breeze (180 min) - SGD182++ per person
* Avocado Body Scrub
* Seaweed Body Masque
* Body Massage
* Deep Cleansing Facial

2. Inner Touch (180 min) - SGD 176++ per person
* Choices of body scrub
* Choices of Luxury Bath
* Choices of Body massage
* Hair & Scalp Treatment
* Foot Reflexology

3. Batam Remedy (150min) - SGD 148++ per person
* Sea Salt Scrub
* Rosemilk Bath
* Body Massage
* Face Massage

4. Bali Bagus (150 min) - SGD 156++ per person
* Kopi Bali Scrub
* Boreh Body Masque
* Balinese Massage
* Foot Reflexology

5. Bali Jegeq (150min) - SGD 156++ per person
* Kopi Bali Scrub
* Boreh Body Masque
* Balinese Massage
* Dry Face Massage

6. Aura of Java (120min) - SGD119++ per person
* Mandi Lulur
* Mandi Rempah
* Javanese Massage
* Bedak Dingin Face Masque

7. Passion (120min) - SGD130++ per person
* Cinnamon Scrub
* Boreh Body Masque
* CHoice of body massage

8. Floral Retreat (120 min) - SGD116++ per person
* CHoice of body scrub
* Flower Bath
* CHoice of body massage

9. Soulmates (150 min) - SGD 298++ per couple
* Rose Milk Bath
* Avocado Scrub
* Tired Foot Treatment
* Romance Massage

10. Spice of Life (120 min) - SGD 122++ per person
* Choice of body scrub
* Choice of body massage
* Face massage

11. Keraton Remedy (90 min) - SGD $95++ per person
* Javanese Lulur
* Javanese massage
* Bedak Dingin Face Masque

12. Bali Exotique (90 min) - SGD$95++ per person
* Balinese Scrub
* Balinese Massage
* Pilis Face Masque

Above are what i have got out from the brochure and according to my friend, Tea tree spa is much better than the one at Harris Resort. But the ++ is 21%!

Do check it out.

happi

Thanks so much.... i will be going this coming sat.

btw, anybody had tried the go kart there? and any yummy seafood restaurant to reccomend?

5ane

Hi, I need some help here.
I will be in Batam for 3D2N. I have booked both resort, Harris and Holiday Inn, and a 1 day Batam City Tour (9am-5pm).
I would like to know which resort offers more facilities, so that I can plan my City Tour on the "less facilities" day.
Below are some details --
Fri to Sat - Harris Resort
Sat to Sun - Holiday Inn Resort
Batam City Tour - 9am to 5pm (should plan it on fri or sat?)
Will have elderly and kids

appreciate all advise Thank you

hi 5ane,

3D2N ah? maybe you will be bored :p

anyway, holiday inn is a nice hotel but i doubt you can do much in the hotel.. try the massage lor.. shd be quite cheap though outside can be cheaper...

as for the city tour, do it on a sat lor.. it will take you the whole day...

harris is popular with the massage too...

5ane

hi minssy,
actually personally find 3d2n boring too but its a big family gathering (5 full family wif ah ma & kids)and Batam is the cheapest alternative compared to other country. and since the happy gathering is what matters most, I think anywhere cheap is fine (abit cheapskate hor keke)

you mention to do city tour on sat, meaning harris resort more facilities?

hi 5ane,

i see i see

i find it quite boring for the city tour cos we never play go cart or parasailing.. so we just sit in the bus and walk around the hotel etc etc... i suggest tour on sat cos its weekend and places will be more crowded so more intersting mah

i dun think both holiday inn & harris has alot of facilities... its mainly the swimming pools & massage thats all lor.. thats why pple go batam for massage and probably thats about it...

however, should you go to places that sells local products, the titbits are quite worth to buy... not bcos they are super duper cheap but its the better stuff that you can spend money on....

5ane

Juz to check with you, the watersports center is nearer to Harris and a distance away from holiday inn right?

and yes, the local products, I think my mum and in-laws will love them alot!

totto

Seems like turi beach is quite a nice place.. however, i understand that there are at least 3 resorts there : batam view, nongsa marina and turi beach resort..

would anyone b4 able to advise which place is better ? thanx !

5ane

hi totto,
just a note to say I've just been back from Turi Beach Resort 28thMay. Do take note that the 'highlight', Island Bar, is under renovation. Overall verdict, its a really quiet place good for sea breeze and sleep only. Also personally find that the 'romantic bed post' (pic shown on website)act as a very practical mosquito net. Hope that helps

5ane

hi minssy,
we have more or less decide to do watersports(since its nearer to Harris) on day 1 and city tour on day 2.

Fri ~ Check in Harris - Watersports - Night at Harris
Sat ~ Check out Harris - City Tour - Check in Holiday Inn - Night at Holiday Inn
Sun ~ home sweet home

You think this planning is "workable"?

hi 5ane,

friday one seems cool...
for sat, how are you able to do the city tour and yet check into holiday inn?

anyway,for sunday, you can check out penuin shopping centre if you have time.. its like our lucky plaza lor.. hee..

5ane

The 'normal' City Tour works this way-- they fetch u from pier then bring u around and by 5pm they send you to hotel for check-in.

But for my case, instead of fetching from pier, they fetch from harris... when they come fetch us, we will juz check-out Harris then dump our "luggage" onto the bus, then proceed with the tour, by 5pm, they send us to Holiday inn.

I'm hoping things will turn out as planned.

Go for Holiday Inn if you're at Batam. It's really nice and people there all very friendly. When my hubby was there for work, I went with him and basically just lazed by the pool from morning till evening. The Tea Tree Spa is also very good. My hubby made a lot of noise cos I went for a massage almost every day. haha! Anyway, if you check in on Sunday, you can get the promotion package S$100 nett and ferry ticket price will be refunded to you. There's a kelong near to Harris which sells seafood. I went there for dinner and the food is not bad. Quite cheap also. Holiday Inn has bbq seafood buffet dinner on weekend nights. I didn't bother going to the city centre cos it's quite 'messy'. But there's a mega mall there where you can buy their local keropok and stuff. Hope this helps.

whiteveil

Dear friends,

am planning for a 2D1N trip with hubby. can anyone tell me where i can go for shopping and food? Does anyone have a map where i can locate all the shopping centres?

Sorry for all the trouble, thanks in advance

pegsfur

Whiteveil,

I just got a package from a tour agency, u might be interested:

2D1N Harris Spa Indulge (Weekend rate - twin sharing)

A. Renew Spa (2 hour) S$135
Combination of Kinasih Treatment & Foot Reflexology

B. Revive Spa (2.5 hours) S$140
Combination of Body Scrub, Body Massage, Face Treatment & either Herbal or Milk Bath.

C. Refresh Spa (3 hours) S$145
Combination of Body Scrub, Aromatherapy massage & either Herbal or Milk bath.

Above package (A or B or C) includes:

- 1 night stay at HARRIS BATAM - Superior Room
- 1 buffet breakfast
- FREE usage of Dino Kid’s Club (for child below 12 yrs)
- 1 x Choice of massages as mentioned above (Massage is for adults only)
- 2 way ferry ticket from SIN/WFC/SIN
- 2 way seaport tax (SIN/BTM/SIN)
- 2 way hotel transfer from PIER /HOTEL/PIER
- Welcome drink upon arrival

pegsfur

purple star,

Quite good hor?

The package is from www.sunplanners.com. I want to book either Pkg B or Pkg C. I'm waiting for their reply on payment details as well as the check in/out time of the hotel before I book. U interested too?

whiteveil

Hi Pegsfur,

really appreciate ur inputs

btw, does anyone noe of any promos for Holiday Inn? quite interested to book them since they have a award-wining tea tree spa

any comments for holiday inn? heard that they provide free shuttle during weekends to town area for shopping, is it true?

Hi Whiteveil,

Ya, holiday inn do provide free shuttle during weekends to town area.
To be frank, there isnt much things to shop in their town area. The place is quite messy

whiteveil

Hi Jennifer,

does the shuttle bus to town goes to all the shopping centres eg. DC mall, GTS local shop, polo shop, Bengkong dry food stuff shop...? Heard that there r quite a no. of place to shop

sorry for my long qns....abit sua ku abt Batam as my parents does not allow me to travel much when i was younger haha

sloppyfella

Don't try that restaurant, I had heard that it's really expensive and not worth while.

Go to A1 Food Court, it's in Nagoya town, near their "lucky plaza".

When u walk in, the restaurant on the right (not the first one but slightly further in..3rd store or something) called "Hai Seng" or something like that.

Dh and I ate there. Steam crabs, black pepper chicken, dou miao and white rice...less than S$17!

whiteveil

wah! really that bad! ok, shall not try that restaurant then heehee :p

regarding my previous qn, anyone noes how to get to those shopping area from holiday inn? does the shuttle bus goes there? so many places to go...

sloppyfella

Whiteveil, you can take the cab from holiday inn. I am quite sure there will be cabs outside that will be willing to take you to Nagoya town and the Mega Mart

That time I stay in harris hotel, to go to nagoya cost S$10 per trip (ask to pay in rupiah heehee...save u about $0.50-$1 depend on currency price). To Mega Mart, i think might be more expensive. My fren told mi take around 30mins or more the ride!

going to the town already got places to eat.

This was what i posted in another forum when I went batam:
- Water, pls buy from super market...cheaper
- A1 Food Court - Hai San seafood. CHEAP! Had 2 small steam crabs, black pepper chicken, Dou Miao and white rice. Total 85k rupiah (S$15/S$16). The shop is near Lucky Plaza, pls don't let taxi driver cheat u like we did. Taxi shld cost abt 5k - 10k. Either that, walk! (ask around) Cos it's really NEAR!

(G) Shopping (Nagoya)
(i) Matahari (Lucky Plaza)
--> Forgot abt shopping there...cos when we went to city we were hungry for lunch
(ii) Robinson
--> Bought 3 tops and 2 pants for my kids. Relatively cheap...abt $2-$3 per top or pants
(iii) Centrepoint
--> pretty new. We bought DVDs there. Buy 5, free 1. Cost us abt 90k rupiah ($16/$17). Very CLEAR...ask them to let u check first.

**Do take note, batam's town is very much like Malaysia johor last time. Not with so many tall buildings or shopping area. So if u intend to do "high-class" shopping...u might rather try to go to the "mega mart".

sloppyfella

Rupiah. (unless u eating in the hotel like holiday inn, turi beach or harris where u can pay by S$)

You can change ur money at the money changers at in Singapore or those major shopping centre.

There are some road side stalls that are pretty clean. I think my hubby ate at one that was diagonally opposite (can't really remember) of "lucky plaza". Price is about sama S$2. If not, u can eat at the "food court" in the shopping centre or go to their restaurants or MacDonalds.

I very chin cai with food. So my standard not so high.

Hi whiteveil,

The shuttle bus i think only go to Mega Mart
To be frank, when i was in Batam , most of the time, i ate in the resort, i only go to Batam to enjoy the spa.

sloppyfella

Never try out the spaz.
Though I heard many people tried the holiday Inn one say it's good.

The harris hotel was not too bad either. But of course Holiday Inn is the famous spa mah>

kellyfanny

i planning to go for holidays to Batam.. can any one help mi where to get a good resort or a hotel with spa u guys have gone n enjoy??

n where can i book the place??

thanx..

pinkyweng

I am thinking of going to Cameron Highlands or Harris Resort for a 3 days 2 nights short trip. Anyone has any recommendations of the 2 places? Is Harris boring place and is it safe to go out and find seafood restaurant for dinner if i stay at Harris? Thanks..

Hi Pinkyweng,

Harris resort is very safe to go, when u reach batam ferry terminal, there will be hotel transfer to the hotel. At the reception, u can ask to arrange for transport to find the seafood restaurant.

pinkyweng

Hi Jennifer

Thanks for your info.

I am thinking whether should i book with a tour agent here or to book directly from Harris through internet and purchase own ferry tickets, etc? Actually booking through internet might be $40 more cheaper. Any advises? Can anyone advise whether should i book the day tour ($12nett) which bring me to waterfront city centre to play go-kart, parsailiing, etc, go the the mega mart, seafood lunch, etc? Or if i don't book the day tour and go myself, is it very difficult to go to these places and more expensive? tks tks!

pegsfur

I'll be going to batam this friday!
Will be staying at Harris Resort & really look forward to the couple spa with my hubby!

Btw, do the cabbies charge by per trip or by head count?

Also, anyone tried the watersports there had any problems with specs/ contact lens? I'm keen to try the banana boat & I'd rather put on my lens than specs. Anyone got 'thrown' off the boat before?

pinkyweng

Hi Pegsfur

I will book the 3 days 2 nites tour to Harris tomoro...hehe.. can u feedback ur tour when u back? I oso want to play the banana boat.. keke.. but dun noe how to swim.. keke.. tell me your experience, k? Have a great and fun time there!

icebaby0

From what I know, taking the cab from Harris to Mega mart cost abt S$20 each way. So if u wanna go to mega mart, taking the day tour will be cheaper.

Hi pegsfur,

Can share where you booked your package? Wondering whether to go Harris or Holiday Inn. Anyway what is the couple spa? a bit sk..hehe

Can you pls let us know whether it's quiet over there, since it's the fasting period?

pinkyweng

Hi Pegsfur

Thanks so much...i was thinking of going next week...
Hope can let me know whether is it fun anot?

Hope you have a great trip! Enjoy yourselves!