Bangkok

iluvpopcorn

Thx Yanling..

Will prices be cheaper when book hotel online? If self booking or thru agent, any diff in hotel prices o not? I havent really decide on which hotel to stay.

Anyone can advise on Pathumwan Princess? Beauty Parlour services complementary 1 izzit?

iluvpopcorn

Sorry for so many queries, this coming trip is my veri 1st trip, very excited but also worried.

I have just browsed thru the hotels thru internet and came up with few options. Those which u can help, please rate and comment:

-Imperial QUeen;s Park
- Pathumwan Princess
- Siam City
- Sofitel central Plaza
- Amari Boulevard

Please comment in terms of location and convenience, safety and non-spooky, comfort and cleanliness and hygeine

Thank You so much ppl

babykhoo

hi swing me

i oso going to stay at Pathumwan Princess in june. its going to be my 1st time there. but seems like a v nice place. heard they jus renovated the place. last time my shuttle service passed the hotel, looks good. to me i tink its worth the money cos of location and comfort. its very near national stadium bts and very near siam sq. but dont think beauty parlour complementary leh. never heard of tat before. but their tantara spa looks good though abit exp compared to others outside. think i'd b going to their tantara spa cos more convenient and oso citibank credit cards got 15% discount.
another hotel u can consider is novotel siam square. its near pathumwan princess oso. i stayed at novotel previously. its cheaper than pprincess but rooms of cos not as posh.

ladies,

any of u been to platinum fashion mall? heard alot of good reviews about that place from another forum. wat do u gals think of my itinery :

1st nite (arrive at 10+pm)
check in
rest / suan lum market / patpong
(can't decide wat to do on the 1st nite)

2nd day
morning & afternoon:
platinum mall
siam sq
MBK (if got time)
early evening:
SPA
night:
Loy Nava Dinner Cruise (6pm)
Suan Lum / Patpong

3rd day:
Morning / Afternoon:
Chatuchat market (Hubby only)
SPA (Me only)
Mani / Pedi (MBK, Me only)
Afternoon:
MBK
Siam Sq / Siam Paragon
Night:
Dinner around Siam area

4th day:
Morning:
SPA
MBK (if got time)
checkout & go to airport

wat do u girls think??? is this plan possible? anyone know what time is checkout in pathumwan princess?

bloomiey

Swing_me: Definitely cheaper booking by internet online, can save abt $70 to $100 per 3night. You can even save more even if have triple sharing.

Since you have Pathumwan Princess on your list then take it up, its the best.

babykhoo: You have only abt 2hrs for shopping at Suan Lum on first day.
just for your info, Siam Sq and Siam Paragon are abt 800m apart. MBK is opp Siam Sq, so you should put it as MBK/Siam Sq. So most prob you would visit siam paragon follow by MBK then Siam Sq.
You missed out Pratunam Market
Pratunam Market stuff are much cheaper and better than Suan Lum although not as many as Suan Lum.
So 2nd day, Go Pratunam Market 1st then Platinum Mall cos its nearby only.

moninet

hi Apple
i didn't buy the bears but i saw them selling at CTC & suan lum... not sure wat much it cost thou ... there's oso a wedding shop in siam sq, soi 4 or 5 (think opp row fr macways tailor) wh specialises in such stuff, but some stuff abit old fashioned thou..

summersnow

hi babykhoo,

pathumwan princess is a verie gd hotel. i stayed there in march. yup, they have renovated the grand lobby and the restaurants on the 2nd and 3rd flr recently, i am sure u will love the hotel. my frens, my hubby and i fell in love with the hotel the moment we stepped into it. the lobby is so grand looking!

the breakfast spread is quite gd too! so i'm sure u'll enjoy yr stay there. it's a comfort to return to your room and flung yrself on to their bed aft a day of tiring shopping... their comforters are so soft and fluffy! kekeke

u kw, the hotel room is so comfy until my frens had a hard time in wanting to step out of it. my hubby and i had to drag them out of their rooms daily. haha...

oh, as for tantara spa, they have some disc for those who stay at pratumwan princess, but i forgot how much is the disc liao. actually wanted to go, but we shopped until we have no time to do so, no time even to soak in the jacuzzi. we shopped and shopped at MBK. we were still shopping away at MBK before we chked out. heehee...

lastly, if u love icecream, and try the icecream at the coffee lounge of the hotel lobby. 50baht per scoop.

summersnow

hi ice,

so long did not chat with u liao! glad to c u here! how are u getting on? are u still in bkk?

hi bear,
so u here too arh? i think i kw u fr another thread... izit the BZ one?

babykhoo

aiyoh......Christine,
u are making my remaining days before I go BKK very miserable. it sounds so fabulous. can't wait!!! now i know for sure i made the right choice.

babykhoo

aspiration

i oso dont know which part of MBK cos i never do before. but told that there are alot of these types of shops ard. can go there and chk them out. heard siam paragon oso have.

bellebelle

babykhoo,
Are there many at MBK? cos I didn't notice any both times when I was there? Will look for them when I go again in June. Thanks

little_a

hi all, i'm back from bkk... enjoyed myself and i must say the service at pathumwan princess was very good....security also very tight.

summersnow

hi babykhoo,

dat was how i felt before my trip too! kekeke... hey, muz realie enjoy yrself! indulge in all the makan, shopping & spa!

little_a

hi babykhoo,
The breakfast spread at Pathumwan Princess was very good. However, I only managed to drag myself down for the breakfast on the 2nd day. Like what christine has mentioned, the bed was so comfortable that I refused to get off the bed.
Btw, we were given complimentary 30-min head massage at Tantara spa. Also upon checking in, someone brought us up to the room personally and briefed us on the various facilities that are available.

babykhoo

hi lyesha,

thanks for feedback on pprincess. didn't expect pprincess to be so "high class" leh. how was tantara spa? did u take the complimentary head massage? i thinking of going there everyday for spa. hehehe.......can't wait.

pinky_girl

I'be gg to bangkok on 8 Oct to 14 Oct. Do you all find that it's too many days. Cos my friends is now laughing at me as they are asking how come I've book for so many days. Do you all find that it's too many days? And if possible would also appreciate it if someone could give me some ideas on where to shop & eat..

blossom0501

hi lyesha,

like yr feedback pathumwam princess. May i know how much did u pay per room nite? Plus which website did u book the room from.

Hi summersnow,
any lobang for on-line booking for pathumwan princess too?

bloomiey

sillyme: The price range is ard $200++/room/night for Pathumwan Princess.
You can book from www.asiarooms.com

Ms_Blur: Very early. half a year. Anyway its good if you got a cheap budget flight. The cons is you never know what will happen on that day. Your date might clash with the election day. Not very sure abt that. Check it out..

Prime Minister Thaksin has return back to his position. Bangkok is going to start their rally again after the King's birthday in June!!! I guess it wouldn't be a good idea to depart after King's birthday for those who have not booked your trip.

bloomiey

Swing_me: Try Siam Sq Novotel, also very good too. Opp MBK only. Lotsa Food!!! Bangkok City Inn is good too. Amari Watergate beside BigC. Good shopping location..

bellebelle

yanling,
June is not the King's birthday which is in December. It is the Sixtieth Anniversary of The King's Accession to the Throne on the 9th June 2006

icy

heehee long time din come here. I actually shopped more when i am back in sg then bkk.

Bann Khanitha is good, for nearer location for thai food with that price will be Tea room & Nana at Erawan bangkok.

Aspiration,
Yes, It will be declare public holiday on 12 and 13 June in Bangkok.

bloomiey

icy: yeah.. its one of the famous restaurant which won several awards in Bangkok not only for food, but for the restaurant theme and design. Did anyone tried the crispy fried small crabs. Kinda ex, but heard its the restaurant specialty/recommendation

alleb

Anyone stayed in Bangkok Palace Hotel before?
I see from the map that this hotel is near the trainway. Will it be noisy? How is the room?

I am still thinking whether to take Bangkok Palace hotel or Samran Place Hotel

Anyone can advise ?

Thks..

faultgal

Anyone going Bangkok during 15 Jun period ? Can share wit me whether the rally in Bangkok really very jialiat ? Still can going or not ?

little_a

hi swingme,
are u refering to the BTS card? I paid 280 baht for a 15 trips ticket for 3D4N. The card cannot be used for travelling on subway.

icy

Yanling,
it that true, I always wanna go there to eat but havent got the chance, since the old one move away from my hb office 1 year ago. I am definately going to try before i go.

swing me,
I had happy pre-paid card by dtac, u have to pay 300baht for the card which comes with 50 baht in value only. I dun think it is worth it.

ping,
No rally at all, everything is peaceful.

hpyue

Hi ppl..

I am back from BBk, trip was tired as we walked most of the days to shopping, hubby crazy, from Eastin walked all the way to MBK, Siam Paragon, then to WTC last stop Big C, then from there walked back to hotel. We also tried from Central walked all the way back to Eastin. by the end of the day, we went for foot massage..
Eastin Hotel are clean and big, I dont mind staying there again, their staffs are real friendly and helpful. They do not provide kettle for hot water, but I requested and they brought us hot flask everyday. Breakfast spread ok la.. not very good but cant ask much too..

hpyue

Yangling.

I paid 200 baht from airport to Eastin Hotel, but when I went airpot from Eastin, meter was 200 baht but cabby insist 300 baht from us..

iluvpopcorn

Icy: When receiving incoming call, they charge by minute o not?

I am unsure of how much i should be bringing to Bangkok le. QUite headache..They say its unsafe to bring too much cash so I dunno how le. U guys who have been to Thailand, what kinda bags u using ah?

And also do u know the Baggage limit for Thai Airways? I intend to use boxes to pack if buy too much.

faultgal

Icy thank for your advice !

I know there will be no rally during this period but wat about after 13 June 2006 they say there will be a demonstration against thaskin... Hope everything will be fine. Let keep our fingers cross.

purple_rain

I'm back into this thread again...

Cos I'll be going to BKK in Aug, now wanting to decide which hotel to stay, more to budget hotel,like Asia, Samran Place & Bangkok City Inn. Any comments?

icy

Swing me,
Incoming is FREE.. heehee. I remember me and hubby brought 1 cabin luggage and 1 bigger luggage to check in. bigger luggage was 1/3 full only, when I come back all luggage is full plus 1 carton of goodies.

anyway I cant advise u now.. cos i think prices are higher now, but anyway u can use credit card in shopping centres.

ping, they say the voting will be in october.. so I guess June will be too early for mass rally.

Hi purple rain,
woah.. welcome welcome.. heehee how abt staying at serviced aprt? I think it could be cheaper.

tyikkim

Purple Rain - Within the Pratunam area, First House Hotel will be cheaper than Eastin. It is even cheaper than Asia Hotel (around the Siam Sq / MBK area, possibly due to location).

Bangkok City Inn should cost marginally more than First House Hotel, so it is really the location of where you would prefer to stay, as Bangkok City Inn is closer to Central World Plaza / 4-faced Buddha Erawan Shrine.