Bangkok

hi, i'm going bangkok next wk. wanted to take SQ but the morning flight was full. so i took valuair instead.

i'll be staying in fisherman village resort (somewhere below hua hin) for 2 nights and then proceed to bangkok for another 2 nights.

hv not decided to stay in sofitel silom or swissotel le concord at Ratchadapisek. swissotel has a better deal but sofitel is more modern, more to my liking.

hello everyone!

this is a great thread!!! i read thru' all the archives and all the threads and noted all the reccomendations!

am going to bkk for the first time next weekend, am so looking fwd to it... but it's a really short trip - 3D2N, so any MUST DO reccomendations is welcome!

alhana~ i was contemplating betw plaza athanee and jw marriot as well.... hb liked plaza athanee actually. it sounds like a really nice hotel fr ur description. mabbe i'll try that on my next trip. this time rd, we're staying at four seasons. do u know whr FS in a fairly gd location? i saw that it was qt near the BTS.

hi oraia

Yes, Plaza Athenee is a nice hotel. We got the corner deluxe room, which is more spacious. I've not stayed at the Four Seasons before...hmm..can't remember whether I've seen the hotel. Is it along the same road as Grand Hyatt Erawan? If so, it should be quite convenient. If you want, you can even walk to Siam Square.

piper, there's a promo fly by tiger airway at $14.98 one way.. its onli for gg there.. hw abt cumin baq? hw do i book to get tat promo? when i choose from BBK to Spore, it wil cost $79.98 liaoz.. tks

hi geramine,

I think 300+ per pax is the kind of price u'd pay if u source for f&e package with tour agencies. if travelling by budget airline....i think it's quite exp.

for the return trip,u'll need to find a day tat offers $9.98 or $14.98 as well so tat u can lock in at the offer price. if not, u'll have to pay $79.98.....

Hi geramine

If you see only $79.98 fares, it means that the promo fare tixs for that date are already sold out. Most airlines only allocate a certain number of seats for promo rates...once those seats are sold out, the rest will be sold at the normal prices. You may want to play around with dates to see if the cheaper fares are still available for the return leg.

Alternatively, check out Jetstar or Air asia. The last time I did a comparison (when NO promo rates were available), Jetstar and Air asia's rates were cheaper than that of Tiger's. But it wld depend on how close to the departure date you're making the booking. The closer you are to the departure date, the higher the rate (well, that's the case for Jetstar).

I think the Tiger Airways promo is over already. I managed to get the 2-way $9.98 ticket to Bangkok. Dep on Sat, return on Tues. 4D3N (2nd week of Sept '05). The promo is valid for travel between 1st Aug - 31st Sept'05 only.

For those who didn't get the tickers, don't worry lah, those budget Airlines always have such promotion. You just have to look out in the papers.

i oso intend to go 2nd week of sept.. but tink im too slow.. dint manage to get d package.. went to air asia website to take a look n saw this package of $300+ for 2 pax...

Hi all, anyone try booking air tix from Zuji? Is it reliable? I'm looking for tic to fly to BKK from Sin on Fri nite. Anyone got recommendation for airlines that have nite flight to BKK?

i will be staying @ Asia hotel. Any place to recommand to go shopping, spa, massage near Asia hotel. Cos i will be going there on sun noon and come back to SIN on wed....
Pls advise...

anyone has any idea if macways accept credit card?

Hi Little eyes,

asia hotel is very accessible, cos linked to train.. you can go to MBK from there.... depending on what time you reach the hotel, you might still be able to make it to chakchuchak, cos it closes at 6pm..

hi giggler,

u can try swiss airline...they hv night flight..i ever take twice...

usually my package ard $300-$350 with 4 night hotel fly with swiss air,their service good too.

Has anyone been to Seacon Square mall in Bangkok before ? Because I've read that it's quite far off and very large so I want to know if it's worth going.

Hi June, where is this place Seacon Square mall that you mentioned? shopping mall?

i am going to BKK in Aug05, will be staying for 4 nites there, thinking to explore new areas other than the usual MBK, siam square area. Any one got great places to recommend? thks!

I'm going to BKK this weekend and am staying at Baiyoke Sky. Anyone stayed there before? Any comments? I know it's quite inaccessible from there though

Loving jul, my hubby booked from one of the tour agency instead. We paid $465 per pax for 4D3N, fly by Jetstar and stay at Pratunam Park.

Hi, anyone got the compiled list from deathstar?

Hi Ling0, finally I'm gg BKK. Hope I got chance to meet the master for this trip.

Anybody went to Dreamworld? I plan to go BKK in Sep. Heard from my collg that Dreamworld is nice for children but worry it might be too old already. Any comment ?
About White ORchid Hotel, anybody stay there b4? I read from the website that it just been renovated ? How is it compare with Eastin ?
Anybody tried Grand Pearl cruise dinner buffet ?

Lovingjul, I booked from Fuji World at pple park bldg.

mitzi, you planned any schedule for your BKK trip this weekend? I only listed down a few places that I'm interested but haven decide on which day I'll visit them.

Sputnik, my hubby got rate at 24.58 at Golden Mile last week. Thanks for your info.

Giggler, i didn't plan leh. Jotted down a few shopping areas given by colleagues only. My bf wil be the one deciding the itinery as usual haha..

but my fren says Suan Lum is a die-die-must go place if u go BKK.

yo

anyone knows which hotel is close to shopping centres in bangkok? or any good, reliable and cheap agency in spore that does trips to thailand?

Thanks, Tupper_mum. So the hotel is really very very old, huh ? But the bed and bathroom is clean, rite? Did u stay Standard room or Deluxe? Hm ... I thought WO hotel has done renovation?

Hi Noscon, if you don't have budget constraint, Pathunam Princess and Novotel Siam Square are good. Both near shopping centre, very convenient. About agency in Spore, hm ... can't help u

Oh ok, Tupper_mum. I plan to go for 5D4N, stay 2N at Novotel Siam Square and 2 N at White ORchid or Eastin. Have u ever stayed at Eastin ? How is it compare with WO? Which one is more convenient ? Sorry ... so many quests

I will go with my hubby and my 4 years old daughter so if she tired, we can just go back hotel for rest a while then go out again. That's why I choose Novotel for 2 days at there. After that move to White Orchid cause plan to go Chinatown, eat ... Cannot stay at Novotel for 4 N, too exp ... save money for shopping hahahha
My Thai friend recommend WO but I read from the Asiaroom review that the hotel is very old so kinda worry. But I know WO is quite convenient for dining. For Eastin, read about good review about the hotel, but not so near BTS have to take cab everytime.

Paopei,

Your gal would love the HELLO KITTY shop at Sampeng (Directions : walk out of WO hotel, cross the street. turn right, first small lane dun turn. second lane turn and walk about 5 mins, can see a shop selling lots of hello kitty, REAL cheap!)

Then opp the hotel got 3 LIN ZHEN SIANG, go to the LAO JI LIN ZHEN SIANG, its nice.. oh and the boss can even help you change SG $$ into THAI BAHT.

Downstairs of WO lots of Birdnest.

Corner makeshift nite sze-char stall sell great sze char and fresh oyster (corner of the hotel to the LEFT -- open only at 7pm to 11.30pm - no need to cross the road)

then the stall next to the sze char (also open at nite) sells great HORFUN (great for SUPPER)

Opps the sze char stall (across a small lane, there is a resturant name NAM SHING, heard from my friend their birdnest and sharksfin are genuine and better than the others, but price wise, slightly high).

Oh, if you have time, take a short taxi ride to BO BAE WHOLESALE MARKET (its in shopping mall with AIRCON).. They sell in wholesale qty (6pcs) and I bought pyjamas suits for my gal at less than $2 per suite (top and bottom). Lots of childrens' jeans.

Hi Giggler

When u going BKK? Hee...dun worry, juz go early to queue and u will get to see d Master!
299965.gif

Do share ur trip wif me when u r back ya?

Ling0, I just came back from BKK yday. Didnt go to see the masters cos cant make it. In the end, spent most of my time there shopping. Pratunam Park Hotel is ok, quite clean and near to the wholesale mkt. I met some S'poreans who only shopped at the mkt and managed to bring back 3 big luggages home. They bought most of the things in bulk, in 6/12pcs. I find BKK is really a gd place for shopping.