Bangkok

icebaby0

thanks thanks!!!!!!!

mi can't wait. Hope it don't rain when I go pattaya and bangkok. People tell mi coral island is beautiful!

paopei

Hehehe enjoy ur holiday. I can't wait mine too but hm ... still so long, in Oct.
Tuppermum, did u go to Dreamworld or not last time? Dun know better to book thru agent in Spore or in Thai ?

ohstrawberry

Hi, icebaby

i had another clearer map of suam lum, if u want, i can email u cause the file is too big to post here. Let me know your email address then.

paopei

Hi Ohstrawberry, dun dare to take cab go there cause my THai collg said will be quite troublesome to find cab go back hotel. Scare if have to wait so long or no cab then die lor ...

happytea

Hi hi! i just back from BKK last night, had a great trip.

Want to introduce this interesting hotel in BKK, The Boss is an artist himself, got his artist friends to design each of the rooms which are very unique on its own. Prices are not ex at ard S$83 for a small room and S$106 for a large room, all with breakfast. Its at this Ari BTS station, only 2 stops from Chatuchat Mkt.

http://www.reflections-thai.com/rooms.html

happytea

Hi Ice baby, for the taxi, they will auto turn the meter on. if not, then you ask them to go by meter and pay accordingly. their drivers are mostly friendly, not to worry too much.

my fh and me did not go to suam lum but we did passed by the place few times, hmn.. think its quite easy to take a taxi back to hotel, cos the roadside seems busy. that place is kinda prominent cos got a tall pillar written with suam lum nite bazzar, no problem in getting there at all.

our trip, we stay at 2 hotels, one at suhkuvmit near Asok BTS, and the last 2 nite we stay at this Reflections near Ari BTS.

Fh made his suit and shirts with 2 tailors along suhkuvmit. we bought wedding gifts at chatuchat mkt, chinatown for seafood dinner and those pork floss tibits. eh, fyi, the one look like "dog shit" cost baht150 in MBK but its packed two layer, in chinatown it cost Baht 100 but with one layer. the other type of pork floss wrap in love letters, it will cost baht100 at both places. of cos further on must bargain lah..

We met our Thai friends for dinner at this Baiyoke Tower 2, cost 450 baht for international buffet at 78 floor, buy tickets (food + entry) at their 18th floor lobby. after dinner we proceed to 83/84 floor, see the whole city and enjoyed the breeze, we went up at nite, but my fh and i agree that daytime should be better cos at nite you can only see lightings, but daytime may be too hot lah. its very crowded at dinner time, if you want dinner there, make it earlier.

Another thing to share, we change currency only at BKK airport, rate is at 24.56. It will be abt the same rate in town. think the Siam commercial bank rate is better as compared to other banks you can find, you can check out the rate in singapore and compare.

the maps at the airport is very user friendly, it shows clearly ALL the tourism places. grab one when you got there! and throw away old maps! heehee

erikbecker

Hi Happytea, I believe the buffet dinner at baiyoke sky cost 450 baht only after certain period rite. cos i went last year and was told the original price for the buffet is double till certain time. Is it after 8pm? thought of going there again end of tis month?

happytea

hum.. we were there after 730pm, tickets were bought by our thai friends before we finally met them. Bht450 is what she told me, hmn.. you mean after certain time of the day it cost lesser? this i really dunno liao..

icebaby0

My fren went for lunch at Baiyoke sky just on sat/sun. He said food was terrible and not worth the price. He paid 1400 baht for two person. But the view was good.

paopei

Hi Happy, did u have the buffet on weekday or weekend? Maybe weekend is more exp ?
Hi Ice, I heard the food is so so only ... but the view is excellent

happytea

oh, could it be our friends doesnt want us to know the real cost of the dinner?

We had it on sat night, the food is so so, most people go for the atmostphere instead of the food. frankly speaking the taste of the food had never came across my mind until now, haha.. was too engrossed in the place instead.

there are diff grp of staff/singers/cooks playing instruments and singing, walking round the cafe while you are eating.

If it cost only 450Bht, then its really worthwhile, but if 700bht, kinda ex to eat in BKK. Maybe see if can just go up to 84 floor for the view? dunno how they charge. or go up to their lounge for a drink.

dazednconfused

HI...
We just returned from Bangkok yesterday. Stayed at Centre Point along Petchburi Rd near Pratunam. We were only 5mins away from the Pratunam Wholesale Centre! So much to see! The World Trade Centre was only a 15-20min walk from the hotel and another 15mins away is Siam Sq and MBK.

Love the room we had! We paid S$66/nite. And we got a studio unit with a small kitchenette. It was tastefully furnished and very clean. Pillows were plentiful. Good service, But, the buffet breakfast was nothing to write home about. Small spread. Nothing fancy at all. But, for the price, service and location, I think we got the best deal we could find! Go to www.sawadee.com and you can read about Centre Point along Petchburi Rd. They've got pics too!

icebaby0

Happytea,

I think like mention by some, maybe depends on timing of the dinner???

I think they charge to go up. 3 yrs ago when I went, we just wanted to go the viewing, they say must pay for entrance, etc....we just backed off. :p

happytea

but we were there on sat nite, its consider peak hours liao, could not be so cheap if you guys are saying 700bht per person..

we did not think of going up at all, its only when our frens ask us to meet there for dinner that we have the chance to go up.. for FREE! haha

ohstrawberry

Hi, missyelmo

No need la. Didn't tip them at all, I only tip the bellboy after i checked out cause he's very friendly, hardworking and always open the hotel door for us with greetings. I dun think it's neccesary to tip unless you really find their service is really good.

ogl

hi everyone..

i will be going bkk next sat.. will be taking SQ flight.. seems like most of the tour agency are having promotion for SQ.. but only one evening flight.. i m going for 4D3N, to n fro.. in all i paid abt $310(the cheapest i can find).

thanks for the useful information here.. i can plan my days there..

i m juZ a passerby-OGL

pinkberrycake

just back from bkk 2 days ago. stay ay Asia hotel, location not bad. loved the chatukchat market. find that its the cheapest place to shop and can get most of the things there.
As for dreamworld, i book from an agent in bkk, cost 700baht per person. However didnt find worth going cos the most popular rides there is nothing. not exciting at all! it juz seem like a bigger version of Escape theme park.

pinkberrycake

and yes, i did met alot of over friendly Thais around Grand Palace, wat pho and Golden mount. they can speak good english, and one of them even told me that wat pho is closed to foreigners after 1pm, juz in front of the gate. (entrance for Thais only) what a stupid reason to giv. he thinks i m blind not to see so many pple walking inside??? :D
One thing to mention, the free buffet lunch provided at dreamworld sucks........ one look at the food, u wont feel like eating even when u r veri hungry..... no wonder its free!

pinkberrycake

Hi icebaby,

went to bkk last week, onli encounter 2 rainy days, which last onli abt 15 mins. anyway still able to walk when raining cos the raindrops there are veri fine and u wont feel anything walking under the rain, not like singapore, heavy raindrops!

happytea

Hi May76, i stayed at Twin Towers before, its a newer hotel, not too bad. but you need to travel by taxi all the time, there is nothing to venture ard the hotel, if not wrong the shops ard are all those selling or repair metals.

Hi Aspiration, Reflection is very near to ARI BTS station, few mins walks.

may76

Hi HappyTea,

How many minutes of Taxi ride from hotel to MBK & Weekends markets?

Does anyone know whether the shops in Chinatower are open on sat n sun?

icebaby0

pinkberrycake,

thanks for the information.

I was thinking of taking cab from eastin to chinatown and mbk, also from MBK to chinatown....i think shld cost abt $2-$3 sin dollars right?

slog

Can I check if anyone has stayed at Central Sofitel Hotel and used the shuttle services there to Downtown and Chatuchak market?

Also, how much roughly is the cab fee from airport to Siam Sq?

Thanks a lot

slog

Oops, can I also ask what are the opening and closing hours of the big departmental stores in Siam Sq (eg. MBK) and of Chatuchak market?

Thanks once more

pinkberrycake

Hi paopei,
Maybe i had high expection for Dreamworld after checking out its website, thats y quite disappointd by the actual place. Its not as BIG as what u see in the map. The rides aren't as many as i expected. And most impt of all, i luv to try out exciting rides, thats y not up to my expection. If you had been to bigger scale theme parks like Disneyland or Lotte world, Dreamworld is nothing.
However do find that the senery quite nice, able to take nice pictures there. More suitable for children as what i feel. But for one of their life show, something abt acting, its quite violent.lots of bombing, fighting and firing scene. Not suitable for young kids!

happytea

From twin tower to MBK its actually quite near but if jam it will take a while, i dun rem how long it takes though. to wkend mkt its a bit further but nothing more than 30mins if not wrong.

When arrive at airport, there will be ppl asking if u want "taxi", ignore them and walk out to the queue for the public taxi. there is a counter for it. the staff will ask for your hotel address and tell the taxi driver. it will cost a 50bht charge for taxi from the airport.
the taxi driver may ask if you want to use the highway to avoid jam, the toll fee is bht60 in total. all in all, the fare is still cheap for a few dollars only.

Dept store hrs are from 11am to 11pm. one hour lag than here mean at sin time 10am to 10pm.
chatuchat mkt closed at ard before 7pm? cos once at evening hours, when it begin to get dark, the stalls are already closing liao.

happyzhen

Can anyone recommend those shopping area in BKK..?? i onli knw the famous place is MBK and Chatuchak.. any places is good for shopping.. like many clothes, shoes , earing... etc... and those interesting place that should not miss out...

Thanks so much!!

ohstrawberry

Hi, Jas

If you like silver earrings, you can go sampeng lane near chinatown, they do wholesale there. Only opens in daytime.
Shopping area also have Siam square - rows of shophouses selling funky clothings and shoes, Central Chitlom also nice shopping centre, Suam Lum night market is another choice from Chatuchak, Pratunam wholesale market sells alot of clothings and t-shirts, also check it out at Siam center and Siam Discovery Centre. Khao San road sells alot of backpacker's clothing and also accessories.
There's lots of places for you to shop and explore. Enjoy........

happyzhen

Thanks mandy & ohstrawberry...

i will take down the places u two gave me and go explore.. heez.. so i just tell e taxi driver they will know the place le ar??? and anyone of u know where can find those handcraft key chain... like u can put ur name on e key chian?? i saw my fren wan is wood de... wif letter on it.. i ask her but she dont know what the place call...

icebaby0

mi back from Bangkok.

Went to Dreamworld, Tiger Zoo, Coral Island, MBK, CCK, WTC, etc.
Didn't go to Suan Lum, Pratunam wholesale market, or Siam Centre + Siam Discovery Centre.

Hubby was TIRED!
And he and I had some disagreement in our way of shopping.

Anyway, did get some nice stuff. (NOt many but sufficient for me)

Ate at MK, Zen, MBK food court, Dunkin Donuts, our hotel's lounge (cakes was GOOD), buskin robbins, CCK stall, etc.

Weather was warm. And Coral ISLAND is GOOD!!! Water salty though.

yamiyogurt

did anyone managed to book for nov ? can share which agency? I wanted to book, but the tour agencies all told me nov to BKK no promotion yet.... so v ex still......

bellebelle

yami,
Maybe you can compare current prices and if the prices are similar to those offered for Nov you can consider.

I went on
1) 23rd June 4D3N by CX stayed in City Inn Hotel for $266
2) Going again on 3rd Sept 4D3N also by CX but staying in Asia Hotel for $336. the price is slightly higher cos of hotel and also the fuel surcharge has increased.

bellebelle

Shall we start a survey of the price you paid for when you went to Bangkok? THis will help others/ ourselves who're thinking of going to BKK (again) in the near future to compare and get the best deal.

I'll start first:
1) 23rd June 4D3N by CX stayed in City Inn Hotel for $266
2) Going again on 3rd Sept 4D3N also by CX but staying in Asia Hotel for $336. the price is slightly higher cos of hotel and also the fuel surcharge has increased.

dear_dear

I am planning to go on 29 Oct - 1 Nov taking valuair & staying in asia hotel for $342 including airport taxes but valuair have not release Nov schedule so she ask me to email her my particular & will book for me once available.

ohstrawberry

Mine is all DIY trip, not thru agency. I travel with my husband. You can use it as a comparison.

1) 15Mar - 20Mar 6D5N, Valuair: $193 per pax, Bangkok City Inn Standard room, double bed $171.30 (by directrooms.com). Total $557.30 for 2pax, ard $278.65 per pax

2) 28Oct - 02Nov 6D5N, SQ: $219 per pax, Samran Place 3N stay Standard room, double bed $104.66(by asiarooms.com), Centre Point 2N stay Studio room, double bed $138.60 (by sawadee.com). Total $681.26 for 2pax, ard $340.63 per pax