Bangkok

Hi josl

It's ok to spend abit more since this is your honeymoon
Banyan Tree bangkok is an all-suite hotel, so all rooms come with a separate living room. Although it's not very big (bedroom only has space for the king bed), it's very cosy, and I like the decor. Like the bathroom..big shower stall and big bathrub...and they have oils, bath salts and stuff for amenities. I hope the dinner is for their rooftop restaurant..it has quite a view! It's open air though..so it can get warm and windy.

For our honeymoon, we went to Thailand too. Bangkok + Koh Samui. We splurged on all-suite hotels at both locations as well..figured..what the hell!

Hi alhana,
I planning to go USA or other places next yr, cant do it during rhis period as either the packages are not the dates we wanna leave and the weather is hot, i wanna go some place with winter hopefully next yr.

woah, din expect the bathrm to be so nice, sometimes i wonder why need such a nice rm coz afterall most of the time we will be out and back to rest oni,But i guess its nice to be treated with gd service also.:P

Josl - Congrats on your wedding day to come! Hmm...really missed mine thou its oredi passed more than 1 month. How I wish I can do it one more time but of course with the same groom lah...hahaha.....
Hey, me planning to go States too next year. Which part are you considering? Im thinking of New York, Florida and Las V*gas. Must save more $$ that's why have to delay till next year.
Btw, if you need any help on your wedding preperation or info, juz let me know ya! You can email me too at [email protected]

Cheers!!

Hi .....
Yeah, guess sometimes when u think back ,u feel that it can be done better.:P
Was thinking of gg to Paris or LV hopefully in early 06 coz its still cold.

I need some inspiration for march ins...wat songs did u play?

Josl - Hmmm....Im thinking of going during winter time too coz havnt had a chance to travel duting this season. Think it will be more romantic for sure! Paris? Whoo......another of my dream place too.....

My 1st March in song was "Life Is Beautiful" but original singer Im not sure coz was sent to me by a fren but its from a DBS commercial song. My 2nd March in is "When You Say Nothing At All" by Ronan Keating. My cake-cutting song is "SHE".

I feel that to choose your march in song must be one that both you and hubby will like it and also not to slow or too fast as well. Let me chk if I still have the song lists which I prepared before my wedding. Will keep you update again.

Josl - Ok, while waiting for my lists....I have a few in mind rite now which are my own favourite...

*Wedding March from "Midsummer's Night Dream - By Mendelssohn
*This Is This Night - By Clay Aiken
*Wonderful Tonight - By Eric Clapton
*Sundial Dreams - By Kevin Kerns ( Can consider his whole album to play thru out the whole dinner)
*The Gift - By Collin Raye & Susan Ashton
*L.O.V.E - By Natalie Cole ( More upbeat )
*You R my 1st, My last, My everything - By Barry White ( More upbeat )
*Let There Be Love - By Nat King Cole
*A Girl Like Yoy - By Edwyn Collins
*Always - by Alantic Starr
*For Better or Worse - By Debbie Gibson

Hi ....
I havent gone to place with winter yet, would love to go skiing or juz playing with snow.So Jan will be a gd time as the kids are back to school means cheaper airtixs hopefully.

We aint the kind that like slow romantic songs more on the pop,retro kind so dun really have the slow march in.

i was thinking of Diana Krall -The look of Love, jazzy kind u think it will be fine.

Josl - Well, that's a good choice too....so long both of you are comfortable with it, guess no one will say anything wan lah...kekeke....than you can consider "L.O.V.E" by Natalie Cole too...think it will suit you too.

Hi .....
I tried to find the lyrics or song of L.O.V.E but cant leh, u got it??

Hope to find another song if i get Diana's CD so i dun need to get another CD.

Josl - No worries....will chk with Hubby if I have the song with us. Will let you know once I got it....btw, when's your AD?

Josl - WAT!!!! 2 sundays away than you now deciding your songs ah....ok...ok...I will expedite for you hah...will let you know asap! Wah...you make me very kan jiong liao.....

Hi .....
Haha, i was deciding for a long time liao. Like the typical Shania Twain From this moment and The Prayer from Josh Groban but quite a few frens used this already. So trying to get other songs...

I think this thread we shldnt be toking abt this leh, shld we go else wea???

Hi All, Searching for a good 3D2N package to Bangkok, any recommendation for travel agency? Or is it cheaper book budget airline and accomodation separately? Off peak period, next tues to thurs.

went to check out d package last weekn.. saw this package..
5D4N, by Cathay Pac.. Aftnoon flight there n baq..
arnoma - $428
novatel - $478
surcharge of $20/pax

u all tink worth it? actuali i tght like wasted half a dae lei.. wat u all tink??

Hi cookies

If you read the abv posts, you can read our thoughts on booking thru agency vs booking budget+online accomodation. I prefer the latter, as I think it's cheaper, depending on your choice of flight time and accomodation.

Hi josl

No, tipping is not a must, but it is appreciated. We will usually tip when we go for spa/massage (ard THB100 per masseuse). For taxis, we round up to the nearest THB5. At hotels, I seldom tip coz either the bellboy leaves too quickly, or I have no small change. But they don't stay around to wait to see if you're gonna tip them. At restaurants, I don't usually tip coz there is usually a service charge in the bill..however i may just leave behind the loose change (depending on whether I need the $ or not :P)

Hi geramine

I don't think it's cheap. I went to BKK for 4D/3N..stayed at Plaza Athenee (which is a MUCH nicer hotel than either arnoma or novotel) and paid only $482 per pax. This included the morning Jetstar flight (got in by 11am BKK time) I believe if I had picked those hotels you chose, it would be so much cheaper, even though it's for an additional day. One thing abt agents is that they always charge some surcharges..prob their commission. So if you book on your own, you save on this middleman fee. The only catch is that budget airline fares are much higher if you book closer to your departure date. If that's the case, then booking thru the agent may be cheaper. Chk out Jetstar rates and room rates at asiarooms.com and do a quick comparison.

I just booked my trip to Bangkok via Tiger Airways, 4D3N, staying at Pratumwan Princess. For 2 person, I only spent $540, so it's $270 per pax. Value for money.

HI Apple

You book the package through tiger airways or you book the acoomodation separately?
Care to share whats the cost for each if u book them seperately

THanks
jo

dun try gunung raya the service is bad i wanted to go to Hongkong but u know the hotel and airport transfer is not arrange at the last day before the trip therefore last minute i have to book my own accomdation ... their agent is not effective go on leave and did not pass his work to other , Maybe for malaysia they are ok or not i am not sure but dun try them for other trip

Apple> hi.. the package you took is really very value for money.. did you book the airticket and accomodation separately. or is it a package? the 270 you paying including singapore tax le mah? thanks

edksd

What do you mean by safe? If you're asking whether they are an honest website that won't cheat you, then I would say yes..they are safe. If you're worried abt internet security etc...I believe all online transactions carry an element of risk..even internet banking. This is one reason why some people are still hesitant about online transactions.

As for the procedure, first, you'll have to check if rooms are available. They will need your credit card details. Once the rooms are confirmed, they will charge to your credit card (not before) and issue you a hotel voucher via email. If the room is not available, they will cancel your booking and offer alternatives. It's very simple to do. They are also very prompt in replying to requests. Usually within 24hrs or less.

Can I check w u all.... at Siam Square, what are the better shopping centres to visit?

I'm going to Bangkok for 2 nights, intend to visit Siam Square and Chatukchak Market only. Anything tt I shldnt miss out?

Btw, understand tt taking the MRT/BTS is faster than travelling in cab. Is it really much better to travel by MRT/BTS than cab?

hi apple,
ur air tix izzit a 2-way tix? i hv look through d website n d tix is like $300+.. hw do u get d tix so cheap? can teach mi hw.. tks..

Hi apple, same query here. I just looked through the website and can't find any promos. My tix in Oct is going to cost me S$205. Is it some card or discount you got?

i just came back from bkk last week. can share some nice place to visit with u all.

I was there on sat & return on wed. I managed to book the Air Asia tixs at $1.99 one way. So end up, we only paid abt $50+ (inclusive of the 500 baht airport tax at BKK) for the airfares per pax.

We stayed at Asia hotel which is next to the sky train station only! Cost is abt $69 per room per nite. So all in all, my hubby & I spent abt $400 for air tixs & hotel accomodation for 2 pax!

We bot the 15-trips pass for 300 baht for the BTS Sky Train & we could not fully utilise all the trips though we were there for 4 full days! I think it's much faster to take the sky train than taxi.

Some nice place to visit :-
1) Central at ChitLom BTS station. Nice shopping centre....lower class than Emporium...higher class than MBK. Must try the food court on the 7th storey. It's like a high-class Marche but at our food court prices. Nice ambience.

2) Suan Lum nite bizaar. Lotsa arty arty & household stuff. Neater than Chatuchak. But can be quite humid so better bring lotsa water.

3) If you r thinking of tailoring shirts/pants etc, can visit the small small shop houses next to Asia Hotel. My hubby tailored some shirts & pants there. After bargaining, each shirt cost abt S$24 and pants abt S$40. We went to 2 shops actually. The one who charges slightly more has better workmanship and detailing. Shirts/Pants are normally ready within 24 hrs.

4) MBK - Now, the small small shops in MBK also import their replicas from Korea. But price wise, they are still cheaper than getting it in Korea.

Is Pathumwan Princess Hotel good? Or comparing between Pathumwan Princess Hotel and Arnoma? Which one is better?

I had booked Novotel Siam Sq but it's fully booked... =(

cheers,
tarea

thanks, alhana.

without comparing rates, which hotel's location, room, etc etc is better?

as we are going during the national day period, and it's the start of the lunar 7th mth, we would prefer better hotel so it would not be scary.. hee.

hi tarea

Both hotels are very popular with singaporeans, so if you're planning on going during the ND weekend, you'd better chk on room availability quickly.

Pathumwan Princess is linked to MBK, so if you intend to spend alot of time in MBK, it is probably the most ideal in terms of location. The room should also be better than that of Arnoma. I've not stayed at Pathumwan, but have stayed at both Arnoma and Novotel. Novotel definitely has the nicer room...and PP will most likely be somewhat similar in that aspect. Both hotels aren't scary...like any regular hotel.

edksd

Emporium is in the Sukhumvit area. The BTS station Phrom Phong is linked to it.

Hi piper, may be planning a short trip to bangkok soon. Would u be able to send me the name and location of the tailor shop which offer better workmanship to me? How much does it cost to tailor a pair of shirt and pants at this outlet? Thanks.

hi piper, hw u go abt bookin d air fare? i cant find cheap tix.. i look through d website n d tixs are all ard 300+ lei.. im goin there in sept.. cant find ani cheap air tix.. thks

Hi Edksd,

I can't remember where exactly is emporium. But if u can get hold of a BKK map at the airport, look for it on the right hand side of the map. The major landmarks etc are highlighted in the map....you should be able to find it quite easily. It's near one of the sky train station.

Hi Ah Beng,
My hubby tailored 2 shirts for 800 baht each (abt S$32) at this shop named Pierre. This one has better workmanship but the choice of material is quite limited. The shop's right next to Asia Hotel. If you walk out of Asia Hotel's lobby, turn left, cross a small road & the shop is there.

Then next to Pierre is another tailor shop named Peter. My hubby tailor 6 shirts & 5 pants there. All in all, he charged us 9000 baht for everything....I can't remember the breakdown. The workmanship is acceptable. But if we compare it to Pierre, it lose out a little. We tailor more at this shop coz they got more variety.

If u need the exact location, I'll need to dig out their namecards.

hi geramine,

I book my tix in March when Air Asia advertised in the papers.

Maybe there's no such promo now. But do scan the papers often for the promos...

Hi piper, thanks for your quick reply. How much does the pants cost each? Cos I am going to tailor a few pair of pants as well.

I prefer tailor made pants in Singapore, but the place I went to is kind of expensive, so I tot that since I will be going to Bangkok, might as well do a few there.

Think I should be able to locate them since u've given pretty good direction. Thanks for the namecard offer.

hi Ah Beng,

If my memory did not fail me, i think each pants cost abt S$40. We picked the so-called "better materials" in the shop. The tailor will tell u the pants price are based on material. But if u are tailoring quite a few pants, can bargain for lower price.

My hubby only tailored his pants from 1 shop, so we are not too sure how Pierre's pants fare.

oic.. no wonder i cant find these promos liaoz.. hv been surfin d net n lookin thr' papers but oso dun hv promo.. all d tixs r more than $300.. haiz..

yapz.. but its onli frm spore to BBK.. includin tax wil be ard 110.. but if from BBK baq to spore, it wil cost 79 per trip.. includin tax wil b over 200.. so the whole air tix stil 300+
izzit d procedure i use wrong, tat's y i cant get cheap tixs? can anione tel mi d right procedure.. tks

i am new to this thread and would like to know a few things...
1. now go bkk is ard how much??
2. which hotel is gd in service and reasonable price
thanks for the help

hi geramine,

r u computing for 1 or 2 pax?

I remembered when i book the tixs, the singapore airport tax is abt $30++ per pax.

Also, the $9.98 price is only valid for certain days & certain flights only. If the tixs had been fully booked, you can only choose from the higher price tixs.

Maybe u try to change ur departure & return dates to see if you can grab hold of the $9.98 fares.

The promo is over (last day is 5th July).. Sorry about the late info.

I went during June under the $9.98 promo.

Air Ticket to BKK $9.98
Airport Tax SG $45.00

Air Ticket Back to SG $9.98
Airport tax $25.00

So per pax $90.