Bangkok

Hi Jus Mi

I don't like Asia Hotel..find it very old. But, if you want cheap and convenient, and are not fussy abt hotel rooms, then it should be fine.

I usually change abt S$500-S$600. Seems more than enough for 2 persons to cover shopping and meals for 3 full days. Anyway, if shopping at malls, you can always pay via credit card if you're running short on cash.

jellybean,

u should tell the taxi driver yaowarat rd which is their chinatown. U will know you reached chinatown when u see the numerous goldsmith shops, shark fins n bak kua shops there. sampeng lane is adjacent to yaowarat n u can reach by walking through small lanes. it would not be too difficult to find. u can do an online search for bangkok maps for the details of the location.

Hi Hoshi,
No need to take tour package one.... very easy to find your way around. The postings heretogether with a map is more than enough....
I gained a lot from here. So now my turn to share me experience too...Just touched down today.
We took a 5d4n free n easy package, flying by Cathay Pacific $268. Stayed in Eastin, accomadation not too bad, but quite far from BTS. However, they do have free shuttle bus service to the BTS station. Cos of timing, my hubby n i usually take a walk there or take tuk tuk.
Pratunam Market is a good place to buy accessories, very cheap. Skirts and pants there very cheap too, ranges from S$8-12, cos they do wholesale. The setback is that there isnt any fitting room. The accessories there, very cheap and very nice. Especially if you are into those necklaces sold in shops like Iora and Bysi, cheap and nice.
As recommended in the previous psotings, Fuji Restaurant in MBK is good! At the food court, the miniature "vegetables-look-alike" stuffed with green bean also very sedap! The crepe also very cheap less than S$2. Shopping in MBK, must bargain, but bargain with a smile. We got a discount of 1000 Baht (S$40) for a leather bag. MBK is more for tourist, locals told me that they normally shop in Pratunam Market.
Chatuchak is really a place that you shop until you drop. You just go on and on and dunno where you are going haahaaa.....a friendly boss of a cafe there told us that there are about 4000 shops in Chatuchak Weekend Market. It's the best place to shop, bargain a bit and you can be rest assured it's a better price you can get than at MBK, Pratunam Market etc...
For tailoring, my hubby made pants at Joy Collection, as mentioned in a few postings, near Eastin. They are alright but a bit hard sell. Must bargain, walk out of the shop and they will ask you back and accept the price you offered. Wouldnt recommend this shop, too hard sell....
As for SPA, we tried King and I too, good experience
Feel pampered...We went for the 2 hrs package that consists of Jacuzzi, body scrub and massage, 1800 baht per person, about S$75 per pax. Thought it was reasonable...
However, i think i prefer Thai massage, cos more "feel", since i've backache problem... Tried the Sabidee Thai massage as recommeneded in previous postings, good! Find this lady called "Pen". She's a very nice lady
Foot massage 200 baht/h, Thai massage 350 baht/2 hrs
Think it's a norm to give tips here, my hubby and I happily paid the 700 baht and walked off the 1st day. Felt bad when we saw pple giving tips while we were having foot massage the 2nd day. Heeheee....of cos we then made up fro it, cos despit our mistake, Pen was diligently massaging my hubby. Through they call it food massage, they do masssage your shoulders too, value for money

And yah, Condom and Cabbage Restaurant is worth going, good ambience, unique concept and food reasonably priced. Ok, that's about it....let's continue to share our experiences here

Bargain, bargain and bargain but do it with a smile. Have fun!

Hi Lovey

May i know what time does prathunam market operation to and from ?
where is Sabidee Thai massage located.
I might be going during the national day weekend

Thanks for sharing

Hi AhJo77,
Pratunam market starts operating at 10 am, until wat time i'm not sure... Sabidee Thai massage is very near Eastin Hotel. Along Soi Phetchaburi 31.

Hi JusMi,
S$250 may not be enough. My hubby and I changed about $800, then withdrew another 5000 baht (about S$200) there. For those intending to go King and I for spa, they accept only cash. And shops in MBK, besides departmental stores like Tokyo, all prefer cash. There will be a surcharge of 3% if you use credit card in some of these small shops.

mi jus there for buy thing not planning for spa so think no need so muchie lor..... but then i think i will change 300 there hehehe

thanks for the info..... anything near asiA hotel?

hi gals!

Juz to find out about Jetstar. I understand they do sell food and beverages on flight but wondering do they allow outside food too?

Hi Jus Mi

We usually change $500 for 2 pax if it's 3D/2N, $600 if for an additional day. It really depends if you shop alot. I don't really buy alot of stuff..most are cheapo stuff from MBK that's less than B200 each. I even have money left over. Of coz if you intend to shop like crazy, then just bring more. Anyway, I always take S$ there as well, just in case I hafta change more money. Otherwise I'll use credit cards when shopping in major dept stores (like buying lingerie at emporium..tourists get a 5% discount card there if you show them your passport) How long will you be there for?

Fat

Their T&Cs state that no outside food is allowed, but I've read on this board that it's not really enforced. Still, on my flight to BKK, i saw pple buy food from the airline rather than bring on their own food. Since it's just a short flight, I suppose most people won't bother packing food.

hi meh meh and gals,
I will be gg for my HM in BKK and be staying in Banyan Tree will be there for 4D3N.
Can see u gals really into BKK, i see that Fuji is a gd place to go for jap how much will a meal usu cost, do they accept credit card.

Does CTC open oni on wkends how abt wkdays?How much shld i bargain at the stalls, me not the bargain kind leh.

Travelling by taxis, tuk tuk or sky train which will be the best?

me asking lotsa questions...:P

josl,

CTC opens only on weekends, for weekdays i think only some shops selling flowers are open so no point going. Taking the train would be best to avoid the traffic jam. For skytrain the station is Mo Chit, u wun get lost cause everybody will be heading there on weekends so u can juz follow the crowd.

Hi josl

I've stayed at the Banyan Tree before, and unfortunately, it's not really near any skytrain stations. Well, you can see them from your room window, but it is quite a long walk, probably a good 15-20min. From your hotel, you will probably have to take a taxi, and either drop off at a skytrain station, or just stick to taxis period. Maybe the hotel has a shuttle bus service to major malls too..can't remember.

Personally I prefer the sky train, as the jam ard banyan tree / sukhumvit / siam sq can be pretty bad, esp during rush hour. I remember taking the taxi from banyan tree to our restaurant just further up Sathorn Rd and it took us more than 1/2hr for that short distance. Traffic jams there can be ridiculous.

As for bargaining, most people say that you open with 1/2 of what the seller offered. Eg if he says B500, you say B200-B250. Pay what you think is reasonable. Read some tips from this website:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Asia/Thailand/Central_Eastern_Thailand/Bangkok-1445238/Local_Customs-Bangkok-Bargaining-R-1.html

Hv fun!

Hi Rally and alhana...

Juz i gotta give CTC a miss coz i am coming back on a Sat afternn flight..
The bargaining really bargaining haha, wonder i can do it. When i bargain usu hubby black face one .:P

Actually you are expected to bargain..it's the culture there! But in places like MBK, can't really bargain all that much. Even when u walk away, they won't ask you to come back and offer a price. Prob coz rent higher there or something so less leeway for them to lower the price of their wares. It's usually more common amongst street vendors, like in CTC, Sukhumvit street etc. Aiyah if your hubby like that already black face, then BKK shopping is not for him. My hubby actually enjoys haggling there..i was quite surprised! I guess it's just the joy of getting a good deal

Hi alhana,
got some places that i wanted to try for food...
1.Fuji..where is this restaurant located?
2.Anna's cafe
3.Food loft

any other places??

Shopping places...MBK, patpong, suan lum, silom village, chidlorn, siam centre,central world plaza..is gayson a gd place to get things?

Hi to all,
jus came bek from bkk yday.. stayed in D'ma! Well perhaps our last time to staying there.. not really becos of bad experience there, but rather of convenience.

Itz a pretty long walk to the nearest BTS station, chit lom .. bout 25mins of walk. Pratunam market is probably the only consolation.. cos itz bout 10mins walk. But nutin much over there.. unless you are really into clothing..

Cab ride out to the famous MBK will take you bout 30mins, inclusive of light jam and cost you about 90baht. Cab back to the hotel can be quite disastrous cos the driver mite not know the way as the hotel is not very well known... we had an incident wheen the driver not knowing the way, keep driving away from the hotel and was getting impatient .. we tried to ask him to read the map but he ignored us completely! My fiancee out of fear, opened the cab door and walked out when the cab stopped due to the slow traffic! Scary rite!!

Din manage to get a late check out on the last day cos they claim that their hotel is fully booked, therefore had to chk out early in the morning cos we are rushing to chatuchat mkt in the morning.

After spending all our $$$ on good food and many decor+handicraft items, we bought some instant cup noodles back to the hotel due to $$ constraint. When we are resting at the lobby, and asked for hot water for our noodles, the waiter actually told us that outside food is not allowed and asked us for our room number, questioning us if we are guest of the hotel!

So, this is the way they treat past-guest.. so be it cos D'ma will be past tense too!

But overall, we enjoyed outselves at bkk, tiring but fulfilling trip!

For all newly BKK goers, a good info for you all! Chatuchat mkt is open on fri as well! Mabbe not for the clothing sections, but most of the decor_handicraft sections are open for business. Moreover, less people so less squeezy. We bought most of our stuff on fri actually but went on sat for the clothing sections! One more thing, chatuchat mkt decor+handicrafts items are defintely cheaper + more varieties than in suan lom and MBK!

Hi coffee,
Oh CTC is open on fri, but i think i will like to go for clothes but maybe i shld pop out to have a taste of that place on Fri as i be back on sat pm.
Any recommendation for food??

Hi josl

I've not been to any of the abv. For Thai food, you can try this place called cabbages and Condoms in Sukhumvit. It's quite popular, and I hear the food is pretty decent. It's on Sukhumvit Soi 12 if I'm not wrong. For seafood, I went to the Seafood Market this time ard. It's not cheap for Thai standards (still, cheap compared to SG) coz it's quite touristy. But the seafood is very fresh since it's still alive at the point of purchase. You go ard with a shopping cart and select the seafood of your choice. Also can choose what veg you'd like. We had 8 dishes - 2 veg, 1 medium crab meat fried rice, 1 deep fried seabass w chili sauce, sambal clams, 1 crab fried in thai chilli, prawns fried in garlic, tom yum kung - for THB2,000. It's quite an experience. You can choose how you want your seafood cooked. The fried rice was only so-so, but the seafood was really fresh and yummy. Another nice seafood restaurant I went was Bann Klang Nam (think that's the spelling). It's by the Chao Praya. Problem is it's pretty far (maybe 20min from Banyan Tree) and taxis may be reluctant to drive you there. This restaurant was recommended by the concierge of Banyan Tree.

Gayson sells only branded stuff. Don't bother unless you're there specifically to buy branded wear (which may cost more than SG). If you want something more upmarket...go to Emporium instead. It's one train stop away from Asok. I usually go there to get wacoal lingerie. Tourists get a 5% discount card if they show their passport.

For their cafes, I love Black Canyon Coffee..can be found almost everywhere in the Siam Square/MBK area. Their coffee drinks are really nice...and their food is pretty decent too. I have their tom yum kung w fusilli everytime I go there :P Usually at the airport before our flight back.

U mean the Emoporium iN Bangkok is at Train Station Asok? The 5% discount card mean u get 5% off on the spot when u show passport?
And, Yum Kung W fusilli is what?

I spend most of my decent meals at MBK.
3rd level has alot of restuarant..
i would recommend Zen , jap restuarant. And the shanghai la mian resturant too, just next to Zen.. itz comparable to our 'fei cui' la mian.. n the price is cheap too. The xiao long bao is gd! 80baht only!

At suan lum ,if you plan to walk a whole evening there.. there's a couple of cheap and gd restuarant too.

No...Emporium is at the stop AFTER Asok...can't remember the name. Phrom Phong ..or something like that. For the card, you hafta go to the info counter to redeem for it. The wacoal sales assistant showed me the way there. Just show your passport and they'll give you the card. Can only be used in Emporium.

It's Tom Yum Kung (tom yum soup) with fusilli pasta (corkscrew shaped).

Alhana

I saw many Black Canyons in BKK@but I've never eaten there! I realize that there is one Black Canyon in Serene Centre and I decided to pop in! The Thai food is really quite good!

To the other ladies who want to enjoy a massage, do give this place called HealthLand Spa a try.

Healthland Spa and Massage (inside a teak house!)
On North Sathorn Road near the Surasak SkyTrain Station, opposite from the Bank of Asia (the Robot Building) and on the same side of the street as the Dao Vien Vietnamese Restaurant
Telephone: 02-6378883
Open from 9:00 - 24:00

I went everyday to this place! Must book very early coz it's packed!

Hi sakurasan

Yup, there is one lone Black Canyon in Singapore..and in Serene Ctr, of all the ulu places (sorry Bt Timah folks :P It is ulu for me) The menu here is similar to those in Thailand, and yeah, the food in the SG outlet is pretty good too. Think the tom yum kung in BKK is spicier though. Was telling my hubby that I wished they wld open more outlets in SG..hehe.

Hi alhana,
Hubby doesnt like spicy food that maybe a prob, we will like jap, steak, fancy gg bkk and not eating thai.
I was thinking of emporium as one of the stops if i have enuff time to shop.
For the taxi, if the taxi man charge us by a flat rate we shouldnt hop in unless they go by meter??

Hi josl

That is a pity. You can try seafood and choose dishes that are not spicy (like steamed fish..very good!). For touristy places, you can actually tell them to tone down on the spiciness too. Yeah, it's quite a shame if you don't eat Thai food when in Thailand :P It's really good, and so cheap there.

For taxis, just insist that they use the meter. Most of them use the meter now...I've not gone in any where they did not turn it on automatically. If they refuse, just get out of the cab.

Hi Karyinn

That's a very good rate! Now's an ideal time to go to BKK

seemed like BBK is a veri gd pl to shop n eat.. tink of gg BBK in Sept.. reali lookin forward to tat aft cing this forum.. any suggestions of whr to eat, stay n shop? when is their sale period? tght of stayin in Asia.. ani1 stay there b4? izzit possible to take train ard instead of cab? coz im on a tight budget.. hw much to change oso?

hi geramine

their sale period is from now till end july. it's something like our great singapore sale. not sure if they have other sales in Sep. Asia is cheap and convenient, but I don't much care for it. Found the room rather dreary, and hubby complained that the bed was uncomfortable. Could not sleep properly :P Still, for that price and location, can't really complain too much. If staying in Asia, you can easily take the skytrain ard to most of the more popular tourist shopping / eating spots. Asia is directly connected to a BTS station. Actually, taxi can be cheaper if you hv a few pple going together w you. 4 pple taking a cab is actually cheaper than 4 pple taking a train depending on the stop. Only thing is, bkk jams are horrid, so I wld rather take the train. I believe you can survive on ard S$300 per pax if you are on a tight budget.

Hi geramine

I just stayed in Asia Hotel during my last trip in end May. Altho it's cheap and connected to the skytrain, the room is quite pathetic. Mine smelt. But if you're not picky and want juz a room to sleep in, it's really a good bargain.

Most times, I stay at Novotel Siam Sq.

And I recommend the train coz it goes to almost all the shopping malls. If possible, DON'T take the cabs becoz the jams are horrendous!!

Hi geramine

I just stayed in Asia Hotel during my last trip in end May. Altho it's cheap and connected to the skytrain, the room is quite pathetic. Mine smelt. But if you're not picky and want juz a room to sleep in, it's really a good bargain.

Most times, I stay at Novotel Siam Sq.

And I recommend the train coz it goes to almost all the shopping malls. If possible, DON'T take the cabs becoz the jams are horrendous!!

Hello Ladies.....

Juz came back last nite. Reached airport about 11.30pm.

Gals - if anyone going these few days, you can actually try changing your money there especially Pathuwan princess Hotel which is 24.46
And also to update you gals that Siam Ctr is going under a major renovations. Quite a nuumber of shops are closed and very dusty & messy in there too. But if you want to go Coca, Zen or Sizzler to mum mum, they are still opened for business.

Hi sakurasan,
how did you go about booking for the healthland massage? which massage you did and how much? did you try the herbal compress, if yes how much and good or not har? Coz I went there during my previous trip walk in so many ppl during wkend. if can book in advance that will be great.
pai seh so many question

Hi, anyone got any idea what time the hair salons open/close. cause my schedule quite tight. so trying to squeeze a haircut/ hair treatment in before/ after shopping. Which hair salon near to Asia hotel good har? Thanks loads.

hi alhana,
even though there's no sale in sept but i supposed d things are oso quite cheap rite? is there other hotels u wil recommend which is beta den asia n its cheap n near the train stn? i wil b onli gg wif my bf n its my 1st trip to BBK.. izzit cheaper n safe to take train ard?

hi sakurasan,
is Novotel Siam Sq expensive? tink i hv to take train ard coz im on a tight budget..

hi .....(fat),
when wil d major reno at siam ctr end?

sori to ask so mani questions...

Hi geramine

What is your budget for a nite's stay? Less than S$100/nite? It's easier to suggest if you have a budget in mind.

Novotel is a 4 star..it is ard US65/nite, almost double that of Asia Hotel (based on rates on www.asiarooms.com)

Yes, the train is safe. It's just like our MRT system. Fares start from 10 baht (ie S$0.40) and will increase depending on which stop you get off. It's cheap.

As for shopping, yes, certain things will be cheaper than SG, even when there are no sales. In MBK, there are many shops/stalls selling bags, shoes, tees for B199 or less. You can also find loads in Chatuchak, and most likely much cheaper, esp if you're good at bargaining. And I'm sure you've heard how wacoal is really cheap there :P

Siam centre...honestly, nothing much to see there. Prefer walking ard Siam Square..alot of cool funky boutiques.

Hi alhana,
which is better? novotel siam square or baiyoke sky?
We prefer less than S$100/nite and close to many many shopping centres, shops/stalls. Location must be easy to find...

Hi hoshi

I've nvr stayed in Baiyoke Sky. It doesn't seem very convenient though..not near any skytrain stations. I wld rather pick Novotel for the location..right smack in Siam Square. Once you step out, there are shops, cafes and restaurants everywhere you look. IN terms of price, Baiyoke sky is cheaper. If i had to choose, I'd pick Novotel.

Jes

My friends and I booked Healthland the minute we arrived in BKK. You cannot do walk-in coz the place is always fully booked. Even with reservations, they refused to wait for us even for 10mins when we were late coz there were so many walk-in waiting; we had to call them and beg them to wait for 15 mins! I did two massages - the aromatherapy one (1.5hr for Bht800) and the Ayuveda massage (2hrs for Bht600) I think. The Ayuveda is great for those who love painful massages! I wasn't used to it and I felt like I was being ABUSED for 2 solid hours! So painful
But wished I cld do more massages...*grin*

germaine I paid around S$110 for a Novotel room. It's quite convenient and near the train station. My friend who juz came back from BKK stayed in Arnoma Hotel and she highly recommends it. Arnoma is near Geysorn, Central World Plaza and Big C and you can walk to the Chit Lom station for the skytrain. Don't think this is too expensive.

Sawatdii Khun hishi5 and Khun Alhana,

I agree with Khun Alhana, though I have not stayed in Novotel Siam Sq, I think it is much better. I've stayed at Baiyoke Sky often and it is just so so... getting around is a bit cumbersome as there are no trains so have to take taxi shuttle...

Pick Novotel, shop, tired, go back to hotel, dump shopping bags in room, rub feet, and get out to shop more

Hi sakurasan, thanks for the reply, i also can't get enough of massage

that means you will call them when you r in bkk for bookings is it? Did you opt for the vip room or the normal one? Didnt know i can make advance booking, so I will call for bookings next time round. you said that it opens until 12mn rt? thanks

hi alhana,
tink shld b ard 100/nite ba.. i oso not too sure.. which other hotels are less den $100?

ya.. heard wacoal is veri veri cheap.. wil go there n buy... hee...

do u tink its beta to get the f&e package provided by agency or book d airfare n hotel separately?

hi alhana,
tink shld b ard 100/nite ba.. i oso not too sure.. which other hotels are less den $100?

ya.. heard wacoal is veri veri cheap.. wil go there n buy... hee...

do u tink its beta to get the f&e package provided by agency or book d airfare n hotel separately?