Bangkok

hi hi...

just came back from BKK.....bought so much stuff till gotta pay 4 excess luaggage!!...ok..here's a contact 4 the spa i went to ...not bad...pretty reasonable as well

SPA BURI
The Residence Hotel
588/1 Petchburi Road, Rajtaevee
Bangkok 10400 Thailand
Tel : (66)-02-656-5165, (66)-02-254-0224
email: [email protected]
www.spaburi.com

i pay $1500 baht for 11/2hrs of full body massage.......they have more special packages but due to time constraint, i did the shortest one.....

hope this helps

another spa recommended by hotel is as follows:-

Spirit of Spa
63/12 Ploenchit Road
Soi Lungsuan 2, Lumpini, Pratumwan, Bangkok 10330
Tel : 0-2684-1522, 0-2253-4120-1

sorry no email.....Their Top to Toe Package is $3200 baht which is very cheap as told by the staff.....it consists of hair treatment, anti-oxidant rejuvenating facial, swedish massage/aroma massage and lotus foot massage....

Hi nelle,

Glad that the link help...Now my hubby want me to help his colleague to source for tour packages to BKK on that holiday period but dunno still available or not...During high peak season, its like that one...Afterall get to travel is the most important & happy thing right? kekeke

Hi Winterhakone,

If I have time, will try the SPA that you recommended. Thks.

hi ppl, can i check, if u want to buy big items, can we arrange for courier services??
how does it works?? by shipment or by plane?? is it very expensive??

hi winter,

may i know u access by hw many KGs huh?me taking tiger air to BKK..leaving this sat..getting worried nw cos going to shop alot tis time

hi winnie...alot le!!!....that is abt S$80!!!!....$4 per kg!!!.....hee hee

so pjen u gotta 2 prepare cash for the excess baggage!!....hope this helps

Hi winter,

thanks for e reply..meaning nw i hv less THB2400 to spend
btw, the spa buri u recommend is near to wher?any famous landmark there?

winter,

u exceed by 20kg?? considering u travel 2 persons, allocated weight would be 30kg so in total u had 50kg worth of stuff from bkk for few days shopping?? power! hats off to ya.

hi nelle,

I'm going BKK next mth, Nov 11 - 14...taking air asia. Anyone going same period?
I paid abt $374 for 2 pax including tax as we booked very early.

Hi dear dear, u went chang foot massage oso eh? I tried that place last yr, find that place quite nice ambience and not sleazy. Cheap too. So will visit that massage parlour again. How often u go BKK? u seems to be a frequent traveller there.

Hi Voice,

Sorry to disappoint you that I have never been to bkk...Juz heard from colleagues/hubby/mum & source for information through the internet...kekeke...Every ppl say hmm seems like I m a frequent traveller there...The fact I have never been there before...As for the Chang Foot Massage, its recommended by my colleagues too...

hiyee voice,

I am going there during the same period as well..where are you staying?

Win,

I tried to book phuket from 21/1/05-23/1/05 using the UOB Tigerairway $30 return promo, but no tixs for return on 23/1. Have you booked yours?

hey pple
there are so riots in bkk now...anybody worried abt that?

hi voice
i got mine from tiger airways at the same period as urs for $338.

hi twinklestar...i bought lots of stuff from loft..kekkek...there are a few shops tt u can see hse stuff in the same building....its @ siam discovery centre.

hi winterhakone,

thanks! i will be gg in dec.... hope i can get nice stuff for my house.

taking finnair & stay at twin towers hotel. hope i wont need excess baggage. haha.

joy,

nt yet, still tinking whether to go in feb or mar, either 1 of e PHs. The prob is there is oni 1 flight per day to phuket, unlike bkk where there is 3 flights daily.

wow, less than 2 wks to go, got to change some baht in sg.

touraco, tot is happening in south part of thailand not in bkk? I been randomly reading their local news at www.nationmultimedia.com. got to keep our fingers crossed.

In fact, tiger/airasia has the lowest check-in @ 15kg while some are capped at 20kg, but e hand carry is 7kg, so net net for 1 PAX is 22kg, so x2 = 44kg.

Hey all,

Not trying to dampen anyone's mood but ain't anyone afraid of the muslim riot happening in southern thailand recently?? Think I read somewhere on the papers that the separatists vowed to bring mayhem to BKK if it's not resolved.... =(

Sheesh, going there in 2 weeks' time and this happened. What's all ur views??

Touraco,

yes, it's possible, but tis is unthinkable, not to us, thaksin administration, he shld do watever to avoid e riots to bkk at all cost, so keep our fingers crossed but 1 thing is, if worst come to worst, I'll prepare to abandon e trip mentally, at least nt tat heart pain,,,in e meantime like Joy, I'll take e risk.

Hi Joy,

your rate is better, I juz asked ard 1 money changer @ Hougang, 2430 baht. Is your from suntec or mutafa? for hw much u have changed? I intend to start off with sgd 300 bucks, e remaining will change in bkk. thnks.

hi ochgal...i m not sure abt tt cos the stuff i bought all hand carried......sorry

hi twinkle..no probs!!..my pleasure...

gals remember to save $500 baht for your airport taxes each hor!!...

and another thing..the exchange rate there is quite ok..24.35-24.45.....so can many S$ go there change also.

Hi Yenny,

when are you going to BKK and Which hotel you staying? Have not figure out where the bus terminal is. Any ideal? There are 6 of us so maybe will get the hotel to arrange for a transport for us to get there. Yup have to wake up early to avoid the crowd

Hi Gerlie, I will go BKK on 10-14 Nov, stay at Baiyoke. Mostly I will take taxi to the SOuthern Bus Terminal, then take the express bus to the floating market...

hi summer,

i oso took the finnair pkg. gg mid-dec. i will be stating at twin towers hotel. we paid $349 each (incl. taxes), slightly more ex coz of surcharge i think.

Hi win,

Change it at change alley. the money changer is opposite the POSB bank at the arcade. Always long queue during lunch! Not hard to spot. Once, the $$ changer was offering 2450 during lunch, but I missed it when I went down at 4pm.

My bf's family is freaking out about the miliant
's warning....sigh! I also hope that Thaksin will clear this up soon. My fren got this funny theory that we are going during hari raya, so the militants would not make trouble during their new year.

anyone just came back from BKK?
duno still save to go anot leh..
newspaper reported tat the bombing will reverage to tourist area like BKK n Phuket.. haiz...

hey.... good news!!!'

One of my fren who just came back from BKK informed me that everything's still the same and normal lah... dun have to worry too much =)

Anyway, I changed my baht at Golden mile... rate is quite good i must say. I got 24.51

I asked directrooms.com rgding e situation there as well as their refund policy, they mentioned tat e situation is getting better but I can cancel & avoid any charges but muz confirm with them by todae. News on their local media seemed positive as well,,,time is near, another 1 wk more from todae, any1 cfm nt gtg nw?

deathstar, 24.51baht is a gd rate, hw much did u changed?

I just came back from my BKK trip on Sun.

Pls be warn abt patpong pub. Maybe is me stupid, but to those who dun noe, well here's my encounter :

there are a lot of pubs within patpong. There are many waiter standing outside the pub trying to talk u into entering. Most of them offer "tiger show" for 100baht per person inclucive of 1 drink. Pls dun go in. It is not the show that is not gd, its the way the ppl inside trying to extort $$$ from u. For every act the showgal perform, a waitress will ask u to pay 200baht per person as tip. we tot after paying they will let us watch in peace. but no!!! after the 2nd act, they come and collect money again. Somemore during the start of the show, 4 gals come and sort of massage and talk to me, I tot they are trying to be friendly. never did i realise when i was leaving, they ask me for tips. 100baht each for the 4 of them. I only watch 3show within the 10mins and we went out. I cannot imagine how much i am going to pay if i continue staying there. And we can't possiblily not paid becos inside the pub only me and frds and we scare that do nasty things to us. So we just paid and get out.
Later we learn from a resturant afterthat if u wan to watch "tiger show", u can arrange it with the hotel sightseeing counter. For 1000baht, u are entitled to watch 10 or 20 show in a row incluvise of 1 drink. I only watch 3shows and i paid 800baht. And half of the time we weren't watching cause we were reaching out to our wallet in the dark to pay them. Sigh.... Feel so cheated.

Abt my stay in Asia Hotel,
Well, asia hotel is not bad. But the reason I choose asia hotel is because the BTS is at the hotel itself. But in my 7 days stay there, i only took the BTS once. Reason being taking cab is cheaper and more convenice. Even though MBK is 10mins walk ahead, I also took cab. And it is only 39baht. If u take BTS 1 stop to siam, its 10baht per person. As I am travelling in a group of 4, therefore its cheaper by cab
Even taking cab to the zoo is only 60baht. If I would be going to BKK again, I will choose Baiyoke Sky. I went there for the buffet dinner and the view is spectacular.

Places worth visting are

Pratunam area market
bought a few LV bags and belts. there are some stall selling the branded bags. look for the book showing the branded bags. u point to them and they will take it from their store and show u.
T-shirt (ard 120baht) and polo -T(ard 130baht) Buy more from the stall and u can get this price--> i am not sure abt my bargaining power, maybe could be cheaper, i dun noe....)

Chatuchak --> a lot of clothes there. I ended up buying a lot of sport shoes and a few blouse which I had to buy a trolley bag to carry them ard.

MBK
Tokyu(someting like our seiyu) -> Bought a few bra there. Clothes in Tokyu are not cheap. almost same price as in spore, so i din buy any.

Zen (shopping centre near siam centre) --> they are having discount storewide from 10 to 20%. I bought most of my 2yr supply bras over here. Heehee

Suan Lum Nite bazaar
Not must things to buy cos it not as cheap as in Pratuam market. But they have decorative stuff which are not bad.

hi jasmine,

tis is a typical scenario tat I have also heard somewhere, e tactics is more or less e same as wat u desc,,,but wow u(e other 3 of U) also gers??? daring, sia. Anyway, thnks for reminding us on tis encounter esp gtg there in a wk time.

those places tat u mentioned r also on my list as well,,,thnks for e summary.

hi pple,

the last time i went to watch the tiger show, it was somewhere in NaNa. It's much better than patpong as i stayed there for around an hour and i only drink a bottle of beer. Although the gals kept asking us to buy more beers, i drank slowly and showed them that i have not finished my drink.

2 yrs back, i went bkk and i watch the tiger show thru' arranngement of the tour guide.... it was only 500baht onli...