Bangkok

Hi all, I just came back from bangkok...took Tiger airways....basically, dont bother about service because there is no service, unless you buy their drinks or food. Find that no pre-assigned seating can be quite stressful. What they do is u will get a queue no. when u check in at T1 counter. If you are no.1-60, you get to board the aircraft first. So if u are no. 61, very suay lah...u will be the 2nd batch...so when it is boarding time, people will cramp to the front trying to squeeze in.

But if you manage to squeeze in, do remember not to seat too near the front because that's where family with children or baby will sit (since they get priority to board)...will be noisy because babies will cry.

For a 2 hr flight, tiger airways is ok.

Hey pepsi,

elobrate more abt bkk leh... like the weather lah, any new shopping place lah, etc.

Im sure the rest would be quite interested to find out more.

I intend to upload the file here which I have compiled for the bangkok trip. But I have resize the font size to very small bcoz the max is only 50kb. So pls resize it urself.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Bangkok.doc (49.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I intend to upload the file here which I have compiled for the bangkok trip. But I have resize the font size to very small bcoz the max is only 50kb. So pls resize it urself.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Bangkok.doc (49.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

thanks dear.
just in time for me..

pepsi, anything interesting you've found on your trip? any special place worth mentioning for home stuff, favour or so?

Hi Yenny,

Is paid prior to departure from Bangkok.. you can pay the tax either at the ticketing booth near the entrance to the custom or the ticket vending machines... but we only saw the ticketing booth at BKK airport Terminal 1... not sure if the ticket vending machines r only available in BKK Terminal 2...

I also took 8.35am flight last sat. Reach the check in counter at 6.45am...queue no. is 53. But no point arrive more than 2 hours before hand because the counter will only open exactly 2 hours before flight time. When I came back, my queue no. was around 150...but I think the bangkok side didnt administer the queue system as strictly as s'pore side....but when coming back, we took our own sweet time...and in the end, we manage to get better seats.

I went there only 3D2N so just went to the typical places like chatuchak, MBK, siam square &amp; suan lum...actually i think no need to go to suan lum if u r going to chatuchak because it is just a smaller scale version of chatuchak &amp; there are less variety of goods, quite boring so we left in about 2hrs time, including having dinner there...but chatuchak is different, we spent 7 hrs there!
I also went to marble hse spa &amp; massage and had a couple spa package...cost 3200baht for 1.5hrs...ok lah, wont say it is fantastic...anyway, if u go to marble hse spa and massage, the lady will give u 10% discount, but if u take their spa package, do ask for 20% discount which they will give u.
Weather wise, like s'pore, hot but didnt rain.

postpet,

bedsupperclub should be just behind your hotel abt 5-10mins walk.

serene
valuair is assigned seating whereas tiger is free seating.

wow rally, thanks...
you really know bangkok well leh...
how many times do you go there a year? for biz?
Do you know how far is ambassador from Nana station?
the website says 2 min walk...is it true?

Its 3200baht for 2pax... so 1 person is about S$65....but you should read lifestyle yesterday....they did a detailed writeup on shopping, food, spa in bangkok....according to the reporter, marble hse spa is considered expensive for its "cheap" ambiance...but I havent been to many spa to comment whether it is cheap or not....but the place looks clean, neat and new...so good enuf for me. The room we were assigned to also has a mini size steam room.

I find that doing SPA in BKK not that cheap lor...That time I went to Turi Beach @ Batam...$168 for 2 hrs inclusive swedish massage, body scrub, body wrap &amp; steam...Hmm, maybe let hubby got for Thai Massage &amp; I go for Oil Massage...Thks for the information...

Hi... I start planning my trip. Need you all's advices. I only left one time slot (after 6pm), which place should I go? Suan Lum Night Bazaar OR Sukhumvit Road OR Patpong Night Bazaar??

Yah lor, i also think the spa not very cheap leh, esp when their cost of living is so low....the Turi beach package at $168 is it for 2 pax as well?

postpet,

haha , not as much as i would like. Once a yr if im lucky
Nana to ambassador 2mins ah.. maybe slow walk abt 5mins?

yenny
what do u like to do or see? U probably could fit all 3 if u plan to just visit. Suan Lum more variety for gifts/items (mini chatuchak). Patpong has street vendors selling over-priced garments/merchandise etc. But great place if u want to visit girlie bars, bar-pole dancing etc.
Sukhumvit is a long stretch of road covers at least 4-5 BTS stations so im not sure which part u are referring to. Around nana station there are also street vendors lining the roads selling food n shoes/bags/t-shirts/fake stuff etc. if u want clubs or popular hang-outs spots can go to thong lor, which is further up suhkumvit.

so really depends on you what u like. From sukhumvit to suan lum (close at 12midnite) by taxi abt 10mins. from suan lum to patpong (most stalls n bars close at 1am) 15mins so not really that far away from one another.

ladies, i'm back...

definitely a fruitful but tiring trip...

rally, you are right...definitely not 2 mins from ambassador hotel to Nana station..maybe if you brisk walk? haaha...ok lah..5 mins is a reasonable gauge...
But i wouldn't recommend roadside stalls near Nana station...not muchleh...i think Pratunam is a better place...though did not manage to go this round...

Anyway, i wouldn't strongly recommend Ambassador Hotel...its like 3 star sort...so its more on the mid-low range...but for the close proximity to BTS and not that far from the shopping belt...its still acceptable for me..

weather is hot...but i did not feel sticky...in fact, i felt real sticky when i'm back in SIN.

Tried Cabbage &amp; Condoms..i think its worth the go..interesting restaurant..
King &amp; I is good too...but only had enuff time for the foot massage. will try the body one the next round..
The above is just 1/2 stop from Ambassador Hotel(Nana station)...so its convenient...

Tried tailoring at Jackie's Tailor just below Nana Station.
Wouldn't recommend this tailor...Not that great...

great that u had fun there, thnx for the update.
did u manage to go bedsupperclub? pratunam definately have more stalls n variety as the wholesale garments are all there. Perhaps next trip ya?

touraco, nope. did not try other tailors..did not have time of cos...
you've got to take into consideration the time taken for fitting when tailoring. its definitely not just one visit for measurement and the next visit for collection.
we went 3 times and still did not really get the ideal cut..

rally: no ah...haiz...no time ah!!!!!! aiyo..
think next time i must spend 2 weeks there liao..hahaa..
actually i've not gone to pratunam for a very long time. infact, have gone there once on my first trip many many years ago...so can't really tell if its really a worthwhile place to go leh..but lots of pple say good leh...

bought some skirts from MBK only...

for suan lum, we've asked someone in the hotel. that guy say it has moved back to Chatuchat alr..but i don't think its true right. cos i still see some girls going there in this thread..
for me, chatuchat is more than enuff..can't finish even..
BTW, where to find the map for Chatuchat ah?

For maps, personally i think the maps provided in the airport is good enuf...i was quite tempted to buy the Chandler's map too. but since its not that cheap, shall settle with the airport map.
Does chandler map have chatuchat map as well?
Anyone know where to get free ones? will go take next time

i think chandler map has both suan lum n chatuchak. suam lum is at lumpini area quite near where u stayed. the airport maps are good enuff for general directions.

Section Merchandise Sold in Section
1 Buddha amulets, books, collectibles, food shops, coffee.
2 - 4 Collectibles, home decor, art, terra cotta pots.
5 - 6 Clothing, accessories, miscellaneous.
7 - 9 Antiques, furniture, ceramics and handicrafts.
10 - 24 Clothes, consumer products, accessories, household appliances, pets.
17 - 19 Ceramics, fresh and dry food
22 - 26 Antiques, furniture, handicrafts
Dream Section Books, magazines, food, deserts and collectibles

Sorry due to the limit size of the file its unclear but you can go to this link to see whether is this the map that you are referring to.

http://www.guidetothailand.com/thailand-shopping/shopping_chatuchak_map.htm

i see. i anticipated some fittings etc as well. will try to see if can tailor any there as the ones in singapore costs like at least S$400 for just the jacket and pants.

dear dear,
im not sure if chandler map details it like this but your map is good enuff for most pple.

touraco
u going there for tailoring? wheere u staying, i might have some info on tailor nearby ur area

touraco,
i found some sites that recommended macways custom tailor siam square soi 5 and marco tailor siam sq soi 7 which is close to your hotel, near MBK. Maybe u could try them, talk to them to try and get an idea of professionalism etc. Ask for as many fittings as your time permit, check to see if they use the same material as the one u chose. These tailor are more for men but they do ladies as well. If u want, u can ask if they outsource the tailoring to local people or they have their own master tailor. In-house tailoring would be better. Impt to bring as many pictures of ur intended design so they can have a good idea of what u want.

Winnie,
everywhere u walk sure can find cybercafes, in shopping centres, along tourists area sure have. Rates varies but ave is 1BHT per min depending on area.

wow..thanks for the map...good enuff for my next trip liao lah...heheh..

most of the tailors do outsource their tailoring i think...else they can't finish in 24 hrs mah...
near my hotel is this stretch of shophouse that houses lots of seamstress on the 2nd floor...look like production line kind and they work thru the night one leh...

Hi, anybody bought wedding favours from bangkok? I have a friend who bought heart shape soap and later she wrapped it up in a pouch. Quite Unique... Heard buying things in bulk can be quite cheap there. Anybody tried getting wedding gifts there?

Hi, me going to Bangkok this Dec. Booked on Valuair and staying at Asia Hotel for 3 nites. So cheap. Paid $333 per person with tax in all. Planning my trip now to include some sightseeing. Anyone tried going to the Damnoen Saduak floating market yourself?

Hi Dear,

May I have the list too ? Planning to go this dec.. actually my hubby has booked everything already and it's free and easy for 5 days... I have never being there and feeling abit lost now..

My email : [email protected]

little lamb, its true that you can get quite cheap items suitable for favour there..
the usual items like soap, chopsticks are common lor...
if buy in bulk can get further discount...
i got chopsticks for home for 5BHT per pair. that is 20cents each. cheap right..so i believe if buy bulk is even cheaper lor..
they do sell those small organza pouches..but that one is more ex...i think cost 30cents each..

Hi Lynn,

If you refer to the top up of the forum, you will notice that I have upload the attachment abt the BKK compilation list &amp; the skytrain map. Alternatively, if you still want me to email you also can but I can only email you at nite when I reach home.

Hi Dear,

Thanks alot !! I got it !! And there's alot of stuffs to do.. must really sit down and plan though..

hi ger_ger.. i am going in dec (xmas period) with valueair n asiahotel for $338 (duno isit expensive). but got call from agency tat Asia is fully book. Changed us to Baiyoke Suite.. never stay in this hotel before.. got to cancel my skytrain plan liao
anyone got recommendation for nice resturant since i be celebrating xmas there?

Hi Lynn,

U r most welcome. Hope the compilation list is useful to ur upcoming trip.

Hi trazz,

I received ur PM, already email you liao. Check ur mail.

Hi Postpet2, thanks for the info. Where did u get the chopstick from? Was thinking wat other more unique favour can I buy from there? Got suggestions?

Hi Gerlie, I will be going to BKK next month. Will visit Damnoem Saduak Floating Market. I will take the earliest air-con bus (6am) from Southern Bus Terminal, have to wake up very early. I am not sure the bus no. I think is #78, costs 49Baht/head/one way.

touraco,

its not a site, i was surfing looking for reviews from other thai forums and came across pple mentioning these tailors. these are near your area. others that were recommended are further away n i think it would be really a hassle for u to go for fittings unless its nearby.

littlelamb, got them at the famous chatuchat lor..
cheaper there of cos..
you should go take a look..
what sort of items you looking out for? only then i can tell you if i've seen it there lor...don't think i can list everything here...hehehe..

Many thanks to dear dear for the link. I think it helps!
I am going with my partner on 11-15nov. Due to the high peak season (PH), the airfare rates are very high. I paid S$279 (per pax) for Valuair and USD52 per room per nite at Arnoma.
I was wondering if there is anyone who pays ridiculous price like me to go there at those dates?

I do not know if there is time for us to find a tailor to make suits?

nelle