Bangkok

i just came back yesterday!

had heaps of fun there. and oh, for those that are going, change money there. the rates i had in singapore for that morning was 23.15, and i went there to chnage at 23.65. for 1k sing, i managet to get 500 baht more. this is a lot more. there are machines in bangkok airport which u can exchange your money there. just use $50 singapore notes can liao.

Suan Lum is pretty quiet in the nite. a not bad place actually.

and oh, if u want a detail map, try book shops there, there is a map by nancy chandler which show details of chatuchak and even levi factory outlet.

have fun!

hi mint,
ah dats owright *smile* den u can slowly slowly plan yr itinery.

hi apple,
so u be staying at Eastin huh...okie Sabadee dee massage closed at 1am, but hor depend on hw long yr massage...eg. oil massage 1 hr, u need to reach there at least 1 hr++. Incase there might be more ppl esp on wkends, u try to go early abit hehee. If u got time can reki the price and svc in the day 1st. Enjoy k!!haha

mandy seet,
hmm so changing $$ at BKK airport even beta lar.
nancy chandler got a website, all her info rather updated one...mayb i shd lok out for her map. Was too bz shopping that i forgotten abt it the last times :P

Hi Andreal,
hehe..i went in to the 1st shop tt i saw,tt is hai wai tian..i did not order their hor fan..but their fried rice realli big serving..n vv nice too..

i got free upgrade cos all the superior rms r all taken up..so they upgrade us to deluxe rm..n yes,i booked thru agent..actually my package includes transfer from airport..on the day tt i arrived,they sent mi to the hotel..
then on the day tt we supposed to leave for airport,i waited for 1/2hr n they still hve not come n fetch us..
so in the end, my hubby n i went to take cab to airport..

ya lor..as long as the breakfast can fill our stomach,dun realli bother if the variety is the same everyday..but i heard from my fren tt the breakfast at baiyoke sky is vv gd..

actually there is nothing much to get at central..but we bought quite a no. of things at Big C..Big C is like our carrefour..
yup..got enuf of shopping...but then the oni thing wasted is tt i did not get their zebra pots..cos my hubby dun let mi buy..

hi seein all the posts get me all so excited for my trip!!!! *winks* plannin to get my kitchens utensils frm there.... cups, pots, plates..... n the list goes on........ haha BTW, where the nearest bookshop at the airport, wanna get the map u guys recommended...

I argee change $ at bangkok but must check the rate first...I change at bkk airport the rate is abt 23.64 I change at Spore only 23.50 slightly a bit more...but there is a money changer at Baiyoke sky hotel entrance dun change there v.low only 23.15..

The Hotel upgrde us too, to a junior suite ...our room has a small living rm... :}

Hi Sugarbabe

Me too!! Oso get very excited after the great shopping reports from those who just came bk. Cant wait to get there and chiong liao. Hee Hee

My friend and i intent to get stuffs for our homes too. Hope it will be a fruitful trip. At the same time, it's oso a rest n relax tour for us to unwind, going for massage, hair cut n pedi and mani...and etc.

When are you going? Me going on 12 Aug.

hi blueblue, ya me too gg to try their mani n pedi while hubby can go for massage.... heeeheee.... wow so excited!!!!! me gg on the 19th actualli wanted to go on 12th but hubby cant take leave so change date... when u comin back? 4D3N?? me comin back on 22nd!! me gg to chg at Golden Mile, the rate is oso abt 23.50

Hey forgetmenot!

hahah abt the zebra pots, aiyoh if me hor..hubby oso will not allow. These guys just dun know abt utensils lar :P

oh ic..lucky u guys took cab later. Wah bkfast at baiyoke sky v.good lar, tink i heard fr somewhere fr a thread here too.

Me Shell.
thks for sharing the info abt the money changer *grin*
Ah!!u oso got room upgrade..hmmm hehe. Did u stay at Baiyoke Sky? book thru agent?

Sugarbabe & blueblue,
so u gerls gona get the pots,plates etc? dat time i saw Chatuchak got many many beautiful cups/plates/bowls..but i din buy, coz my new hse still got a long way to come :X

sugarbabe,

i'm realli excited abt our trip!!! Hehehhee.... countdown every day!! 9 more days to go!

i havent change $$ too... Anyway do we need to carry some Baht on our way to the airport? Cos gonna pay tax, etc....

better go check out the rates when i am free tom! :-)

gals,

just to share, my hubby change thai baht at suntec money changer and the rate was 23.8 plus last friday. fyi.

I read in a previous msg saying there's a levis factory outlet in Bkk..does anyone know where I can find it?

Can anyone advise me on Baiyoke Suite Hotel? Cos I've already confirm my booking on 15 to 19 Oct. However, my dear wans to change to Asia as she does not believe wat she sees on the hotel internet homepage.
recent encounter to KL has set her back as wat you see on the net does not necessary be wat you get. Our hotel stay in KL was disatrous to her.
Thus would like to ask if any one has stayed at baiyoke Suite b4 (not sky hor)
considering other alternative too after reviewing the creepiness of Asia hotel. My other alternative would be Bangkok Palace and Eastin. of the two which would be better.
Just need to convince her we've made the right choice.

hi poohy, which money changer at suntec? as far as i noe, there's two....one near Carrefour n the other 1 at 1st storey, opp. Watsons!!

Tan John Wei
Ive stayed in Baiyoke Sky 2 (the newer one - tallest hotel in Bangkok). Its ok, and buffet is not bad (breakfast every morning).
And what's better is right at the bottom is the wholesale market - can shop till drop! tip: buy in quantity & get better price. Bargain bargain bargain. Cross the road to Baiyoke Hotel 1, and more wholesale market. Most shops close on Sun. And in between the 2 hotels - street shopping! U dont even need to venture out to MBK or Siam. In fact, U can find things from MBK at Baiyoke & much cheaper!

apple,

is there a msg saying that there's a levis outlet there?? I dun remember coming across this msg lei... Seems that noone is aware of this huh?!

Hi Gals.......Anyone going BKK on the 13th of Aug which is this Friday? Cos Im leaving for BKK for 4D3N.

Agree with Poohy that the money changer at Suntec has very good rates. Juz went today, the rate is at 23.86 Its located opp Watsons.

apple,
act abt the levis factory outlet, i oso wana know cos so far no one mention abt it.

hi Pebs,
Nancy Chandler website -http://www.nancychandler.net

hi John,
1st of all wat areas u guys loking when choosing the hotel? eg.like nearer to tos shopping areas ard Siam Square/Pratunam? hotel amenities? travel convenient? cos baiyoke suite, asia hotel, bangkok palace and eastin are budget hotels..so in term of amenities, they're just okie only lor.

i can only tell u that asia hotel which is nearer to Siam Sq(old hotel) got bts nearby so its easy to travel, but bad pt is the 'dirty things' seen by travellers there.

Baiyoke Suite, Eastin and Bangkok Palace are in Pratunam..nt near bts. Baiyoke Suite 'location' is slightly beta than the other 2 cos nearer to pratunam market and distance shorter towards WTC,BIG C and Erawan Shrine hehe.

Svc wise, Asia and Eastin quite gd. Baiyoke Suite and Bangkok Palace nvr hear ppl comment.

I am also looking at hotels now... planning to go in Oct.

I am looking at accessible!
Nearby to food and shopping kind, so tat I can shop/eat till late and walk back... think those day time shopping centre, dun mind travelling abit.

amenities - not so imp... but not Asia hotel lah... we scare scare!! hahaha..

also the budget kind too - my wedding end of the year, so must save $ too...

so any recommendations?

Hey MTDT,
okie la i start 1st keke..since the rest slping.

Since Asia Hotel is out, then u can consider budget hotels ard pratunam like Eastin Hotel/D'MA/Bangkok Palace. Dats the area where u can still get supper/massage/cafe/7-eleven till 1am after yr shopping...then slowly walk bk hotel to rest hehe.

Andreal,

Thanks for the reply.
One question: so twin towers is not near to any food/nite market huh?

wat time do the nite markets or the maken plcs closes daily? only until 1am?

those wholesale market - wat time starts biz huh?

Serrich,
Mandy did mention abt e levis factory outlet above..
Hi Mandy, can u tell us if u know where levis is?
My friend n I would really like to check it out. Thks.
Btw Andreal, think u've given good advise..My friend n I had a hard time at first deciding which hotel to stay. We finally chose Eastin as we decided to save $ for shoppin,to be near shoppin area & transport no concern (as we can take taxi)..

I'm back from my bangkok trip. The levis factory outlet is quite far from town area. You can take the skytrain to onnut station. It's on sukhumvit 99. It's quite a far walk so you could get off the station and take a taxi. It's closed on weekends. I went there on a sunday but luckily for me, the outlet was having a warehouse sale on that day. It was very crowded. Prices during the sale was around 750 baht for a pair of jeans. In fact, if buy 2 pay 500 baht per piece. I didn't buy anything cos their sizes were mostly 25 and 26 which I can't wear. No fitting room also. Sigh!! Maybe next trip...

I stayed at Siam City hotel. The hotel is very nice but quite far from town area. It's near to the skytrain station (just across the road) so 2 stops away from siam station.

Pebs,
I have the nancy chandler map. If you need can borrow from me.

John,
My aunt stayed at Baiyoke suite before and also saw "dirty things". Suggest you take Baiyoke Sky. I stayed there before and it's very nice. I think the best place to stay is arnoma or novotel. It's very central and convenient.

hi mint, when will the sale end?? my size 25 leh!! haha v skinny.... hehe if take cab, will the cab driver noe the place?? wow.... counting dn 8 more daes!!!!!!

mint,

Thanks for sharing! Wow, no wonder the ladies all slim slim one... Can hardly find someone of the same size as me! As all slim and petite. Hahaha

sugarbabe,

Same here. I also want to go and see see.. But most likely dun have my size one lah.. 25/26 very small leh... Hope to find some big size ones! :-)

serrich, dun say tat lah.... if have choice, i wld prefer a 26 waist at least cos nw me onli 24 leh.. heehee..... oops off track liao.... wow very excited leh... hopin 19th will come faster!!

LEVI's store...must go n see see liao...I will be going tomorrow evening...so excited now. Luggage packed liao, it is still so empty...some how don't feel like bringing too much clothes cos I know will sure shop n buy....ha ha

Hi Andreal,

Sorry for d late reply.Me staying at baiyoke sky..B4 check in my hubby request for a queen bed instead of a twin bed so the reception give us a junior suite instead so good..

Oh the breakfast is really great..
Its actually interntional buffet breakfast..japanese sushi;chinese;western etc..

I confirmed my tickets liao...
going BKK on 15-18 Oct..

shorlisted the following Hotels:
1) Eastin
2) Twin Towers
Vote leh?? hahaha

Baiyoke Sky - looks really good!!! upgrade to suite somemore!!! But me budget budget... so cannot choose there lah..

I have gotten a 4Days3Nites package to Bangkok at $378 travelling mid-Sep. The details are as such:

- TG return flights (no restriction)
- Return Airport transfers
- 3 nites stay at Amari Watergate
- Daily Breakfast

What do you all think? It is a good deal?

Hi Melodie

I got d package fm Wingo Travel. I heard that Wingo always offer the cheapest Bkk package in town wor... Dun know how true leh... Let me know if u need the contact

Hi Melodie

Sure, you can look for Siew Ching (Wingo Travel) at Tel: 6535 7337. Their 3Day2Nite package is $348. Extension per nite is additional $30 per pax (which I find is super cheap for a hotel like Amari Watergate)... However, I have yet to convince my hubby to stay for 3 nites instead of 2 nites.... Maybe I will tell him that I couldn't get a return flight so have to extend 1 more nite... kekekeke.... ;p

tks tomatoes... so TG or SQ flight? weekends right? I went 2 mths ago and spent 4 days 3 nites there... a bit tiring b'cos shop everyday from day to nite mah... hee hee

Melodie,
The package is a by TG whose service is much better than SQ other than the individual entertainment screen. Yes, am going from Sat to Tue. I hope to make this trip more relaxing.... If I take 3 days 2 nites, I will become very kan cheong about the places that I want to go. However, I will forgo Chatuchak. Will probably cover more of pratunam area, massage and makan.

When do you intend to go?

Hi Tomatoes

Y forgo chatuchak? I must go there everytm i go to bkk. It's the highlight... hee hee

I'm planning a business cum shopping trip on the 2nd week of Sept. Heading straight for chatuchak mkt.

Melodie
Ya lor, I find that Chaktuchak are more for household products... which I have more than enuff at home. I went there the last round and grab lotsa of them. The clothes there not suitable for me.... So gonna give it a miss ; )

So you are going for your business trip as well huh? Are you running your own biz? If not, your company will be paying for your trip right?

u're right tomatoes... more for household. I want to go and buy more lamps...
tat's abt all u can get there... and some sandals. Go MBK lor, got more clothes.

My company paying for my 2 days trip, if extend then pay the diff myself lor

Hi sugarbabe,

U can request for it when u check in...Njoy

If u takin cab, u can tell the driver Baiyoke 2 cos when i tell d driver Baiyoke sky hes a bit blur..

Hi Postpet2,

Baiyoke Sky is not near to BTS, but u can get a cab easily there and its real cheap..
The Pratunam market its just below the hotel :0

sugarbabe, serrich,
sale ended liao. it was on 6-8 aug. Anyway, you can still go cos there is an outlet there. And it'll still be cheap lor.

wah, sugarbabe, your waist so small. so envious!! hehe! I so pek chek there cos cannot find my size but when found my size, the design not nice. sigh!!

mtdt,
twin towers quite far from town. I think eastin would be a better choice after reading the other gals' postings here.

tomatoes,
that's an extremely good deal. Next time I will book with wingo travel. why give chatuchak a miss? Pratunam nothing much to see leh. it's just clothes and more clothes.

melodie,
ya, my hubby and I were so tired from all the walking. When we reached back home, we just slept for 12 hours straight. hehe!

sugarbabe,
yeah, I think you can tell the taxi driver that but m not sure if they know where the place is. In any case it's on 99 sukhumvit road.

tobebride,
it's genuine cos it's the actual factory outlet.

Does anyone of you know where to buy cheap and nice maternity clothing in Bangkok? One of my girlfriend asked me to get for her but I dun know where in BKK?