Bangkok

serrich

I remembered last mth or so we took SQ, me & hubby did not finish our food

& air stewardess at SQ not as attentive as Thai stewardess loh
maybe it depends on flights too

Thai airways is indeed better in terms of service cos the thai ladies treat you like royalty even if you fly economy class.

The SIA gals nowdays mostly are "chao ah lians". Sorry to say this but they can't even speak english properly and they will smile so sweetly to the ang mohs but for asians, forget it! I once asked a stewardess for a glass of orange juice and at the the same time she also aked the ang moh next to me if he would like to have a drink. Guess what? When she came back, it was his drink in her hands and my drink was forgotten.

mint,

i think u are rite.. now the SIA gals sub standard.. all like spg like tat.. damn yaya papaya.. but of crse nt all like tat lah.. the majority spoil the mkt!

The thai a/s indeed veri polite but food nt nice leh... anyway me nt so particular abt it lah... onli 2hrs plus.. Hahahah...

Initially intend to fly by Garuda cos cheaper but heard that their air-con always break down.. so better nt take the risk!

hi gerls!!

So happy to cya here..

oh the 1st trip to BKK we took Cathay, the food and svc was good although facilities wise like chair/mini tv loks old.
But hor the 2 trip to BKK, we took SQ. Food was served v. late plus nvr tell us wad are the food options..only asked 'wld u like to hv beef noodle?' the fact was most of the ppl didn't take was beef noodle :X Then mins we started our meal, there's this announcement said 'we are going to touch down in 10mins time!!' haha..joke of day man..everyone started to gobble watever we can cos we were hungry at that time of flight.

Soon after dat, at the extreme right row of us got a water leakage fr the ceiling, the stewardess handle it quite badly. I meant in term of food and staffs' svc, im sure there are some airline do much better than SQ. :P

Yo Sugarbabe,
so nice of u..thks in adv eh! wei u be flying to BKK in ard 3wk time rite.

Hi Jane,
mine oso last mth leh!lol. yr travel date is? ours is 17-21/6. Scarely we are fr the same flight :P

haha mint,
erm abt the diff attitude SQ stewardess gave btw ang moh and local was true..most of the ppl i knew who took SQ hv the same comments *sigh*
Not all are like dat but its enuf to gave a bad impression.

hi serrich,
lucky u mention Garuda, at least i can take note of it in future hehe. btw u are going BKK soon issit? too many posts, i bcome blurred liao haha.

andreal,

yup... me gg to BKK via SQ nite flight.. its actually a transit flight at bbk gg towards Korea lah...

Will be departing on 19/8, returning on 23/8... Can celebrate hubbi bd earlier too.. cos I got class on his bd lei... Cannot afford to skip class... cos I will miss 2 lessons for this trip liao...

wonder if there is any nice bakery shop over there at Bkk?? Any of u tried b4?

I took Garuda years ago, the cutlery is all make of plastics & I find the plane looks so old which make me a bit scared they no $ to maintain the aircrafts HA HA

Hi Andreal
We are not the same flight but the service you encountered was really Worst than mine
For my case I only cannot complete the movies I was watching

yah lor... me and fren also veri excited abt this trip lei...

most impt is tat i can go & take pics... Hahhahaha... I was so upset that my honeymoon pics all gone cos the cmpt hardisk crash.. Cried like siao.. Hahaha... now at least can go back same place to take the pics...

Just wondering which hotel is better: arnoma or asia? still not sure which one to book and I'm flying off next week. Anyone can advise me urgently? I saw some websites saying that asia is 4 star but arnoma is 3 star but on other websites it's the other way around. Dun know which to believe.

i have just come back from bkk, stayed in amari watergate! love the bedroom, big & spacious... only minus pt is far from bts station. nearest shopping mall is WTC, abt 5 mins walk.

yo serrich... u gog bbk hur... well there is a nice bakery shop there i think it also has alot of outlet one... i cant remember the name but hor alot of places hv.... 1 is inside MBK lor....

Hi serrich and andreal,
ya lor, it's the yaya papaya gals that really give SQ a bad name. There are some nice ones but usually I tend to remember the bad things rather than the good things... keke!

Btw serrich, thanks for the tip. Will book arnoma.

Sorry I very "ma fun"... would like to ask if anyone heard of grand diamond pratunam hotel? Which is better to stay in? arnoma or grand diamond?

hihi blue blue.... i jus wrote an email to my friends who are going BKK, so here's the recommendation from me :

Shopping:

(1) Cha-Tuk-Chat Weekend Market
Do visit the famous weekend market Cha-Tuk-Chat. It's the BIGGEST market in the world, selling all kind sof things. (clothes, furniture, bags, shoes, pets, food...u name it they have it. ) Try to arrive very early like 8.30am, to avoid the afternoon heat & crowd. Best place to get soveniors.

(2) Pat-Pong Nite Mkt
This is their red light distrcit. Things are very very expensive and highly marked up. Try not to buy things there. People visit this night market usually to see the pretty 'girls'. IF u been to cha-tuk-chat, u will find everything at patpong ridiculously priced. A lot of fake branded goods can be found there, but u have to be an expert to tell how good the imitation is, dun get cheated !

(3) Suan Lum Nite Mkt
Personally I like this new nite market a lot cos a lot of trendy stuff here. Dun be disappointed by the number of stalls closed, cos this is a new market so only half the stalls are occupied. You have to walk thru the long corridors of stalls to find your 'gems' . I bought a lot of ethnic looking bags and clothes from this place. They also sell toys and cartoon stuff, I also bought cartoon cushions at very low prices. The stall assistants are all very friendly here (generally the Thais are very friendly lah), the Suan Lum mkt ones are friendlier cos they not so busy.

(4) MBK (Ma-Boo-Kong Shopping Centre)
One huge shopping centre with lotsa stuff. There is an emporium named 'To-kyu' in there where u can buy the 'inner beauty' at low prices. Oh yah, there is a huge foodcourt on the 5th or 6th floor of MBK, try the delicious and cheap food there. Birdnest available too!

Another place where you can buy 'inner beauty' is called the Emporium (i dunno where this shopping centre is, u can ask hotel staff)

(5) World Trade Centre
Huge, things are more expensive & 'high class'. Do visit this shop named "Naraya", very popular in Thailand. Their bags are not bad ! It's the best place to buy soveniurs for your mummies, aunties and friends! for your information, a lot of SIA stewardess use bags from Naraya ....cool rite?

(6) Pat-tu-num
This is a wholesale market, It's near the Baiyoke Sky Hotel (Baiyoke is the tallest hotel in BKK, you can go to the restaraunt on the top for a meal, enchanting view!) Also a lot of tee shirts, jeans etc sold here.....mostly wholesale prices....

(7) Siam Square (near Novetel Siam Hotel)
Quite near MBK shopping centre so you can visit Siam Sq before or after going to MBK. Hippy stuff here. u can do nail art/manicure/pedicure at this area too.

Things you can do

(1) Traditional Thai Massage
There is one quite good one called 'Marble house', it's just behind novetel siam hotel. (i.e. it's at Siam Square)
They charge like 500 baht for 2 hours of heavenly massage. Must try!

(2) Visit the Four faced Buddha
It's near the World Trade Centre, just beside the Erawan Hyatt Hotel. Very 'Ling' , so dun forget to go.

(3) Grand Palace
It's the grand temple of BKK, actually I nv go b4....walked past it...very grand. Closes quite early I think, so do check with the hotel it's operating hours...

(4) Wat Po
Near grand palace - has the largest sleeping buddha in the world.

(5) River ride
I also nv try before ...hahaha....cos the river water like murky murky one... keke.... but heard it's not bad lah. Jus remember to bargain....

(6) Eat at Chinatown (Yao-wat-rat)
Good & cheap chinese food. But unfortunely i cant remember where i ate at. Jus explore and find your own fav restaurant.

(7) Take a tuk tuk ride
Thai version of 'trishaw'....the one that James Bond and Zhang Zhi Yi sat in for the mastercard advert. It's fun but you will also get to 'absorb' a lot of exhaust fumes from other cars haha... more suitable for short short trips....e.g. from MBK to Siam Sq (actualy walk also can i think but i nv tried walking)

:0 hee...hope the info helps. i got a lot of help from forums before i first went to BKK too.

i am not sure of the exact location, but u mention suan lum nite market the pple there sure know. i took cab there the other time.

website from frommers:
http://www.frommers.com/destinations/bangkok/S31982.html

from the website it says suna lum is at -- "Just east of Lumpini Park on Rama IV road (next to the Lumpini Stop on the subway"
126817.gif

Hi Yami
Thanks for the great and informative details on BKK. I am so so excited after reading ur reply. Suan Lum Nite Mkt...I will sure make a trip there to find my "gem".

I am keen to find those clocks from Molecule. It's too expensive in Spore. Heard can find something like that in BKK.
Have you been to BKK many times?

i been there four times in the past two years....think addicted. but wont be going this yr, going to phuket instead, so that i wont spend so much money shopping....must save up for wedding

i saw those clocks u mentioned @ suan lum. dun have too high expectations ok ? i went there with no expectations n was happie with wat i found. dun want u to go there then say 'like that onli ah?' kekeke.... anyway someone mentioned in another thread that those futuristic clocks are avaliable at shopping centres/chatukchat too

enjoy your trip... i feel excited telling u all abt BKK too
126863.gif

hi yami, wow ur info. v informative... ;) u mean Cha-Tuk-Chat Weekend Market opens so early?? thought it opens ard evening time...oh beter dun miss it!! haha.. me will be stayin at Baiyoke Sky but frm there how to go to four faced buddha?? n oso we nt so sure how to pray will there b ppl ther who speak english to teach us?? paiseh so many qns!! very excited!!!!!!

Hi yami

I wont put too high expectation on the clocks but hv seen my friend's one from bkk. Good enough. I think those clocks in Spore are oso from BKK. Looks like..Shopping shopping.

Hi yami,

I'm visitin Bkk soon n just read your recommndations above (veri informative.. thks).
Hwr, I'm curious abt the 4-faced buddha. Heard tat it's very "ling" too. But u need to return offerings otherwise something bad may happen..is it true? I've been to Bkk once, n dare not visit bcos of wat I heard..

yes, sugarbabe, heard need to go back n pray..u heard abt it too?

btw, yami n blueblue, I'm interested in the 'molecule' clocks too, wat's e price range like?

hi apple, no leh but my mum says if u dun noe how to pray beter dun go loh so i oso think of going onli lah.... go to Bangkok more for shopping~~~~~

I agree, dun hv too much expectations on the clocks, only a few nice ones and also not say very cheap, i think 'molecule's' r much better quality. But BKK does have a wide range of chic homeware. Some can be found in Chatuchak...

there's just so much choices of everything in chatuchak that i buy more than I would hv spend in Spore itself. Be careful some of the T-shirts there are rather small and might shrink. Mus try...

Just my 2cents worth, Enjoy yourselves!

sugerbabe & apple,

diff pple say diff thing. from what i know abt teh four faced buddha, as long as u dun make promise to go back to 'return wisk' then it is ok. just make ur wishes. there is a certain sequence, i cant remember clockwise or anti clockwise, jcan follow the rest of the locals. (i vaguely remember its clockwise) So jus say "pls make my XXX wish come true" but no need promise to say "if my wish come true i will come back and offer thansk etc...."

apple i didint buy thsoe clocks the other time i went cos my house onli ready next yr. too early to buy
so not too sure. heard from others that it's abt 20-30 sing dollars

sugarbabe, baiyoke sky is good. nice buffet breakfast
ur hotel at patunum area (the wholesale area), not far from four faced buddha but have to take tuk tuk or cab. sky train i not familiar leh.... go there always take cab cos cheap mah heheheh

i am in a story telling mood, so let me tell u gals abt four faced buddha.... it is built jus beside the Erawan Hyatt Hotel. The reason being when this particular hotel was being constructed, many pple died...a lot of casualties... unusally high. So they built this four faced buddha and immediately no more accidents. hence many pple believe that it is very ling. four sides represent different things, got wealth, power etc... i cant remember all.

Hey Amanda,

I've been to Phi Phi island (off Krabi) and Phuket. If you've been to Bangkok, then you would find Phuket is relatively the same (except for slightly higher prices). If you are looking for wild night entertainment and GREAT shopping, Phuket and BKK is for you.

PhiPhi on the other hand is a gem of an island. Beauuuuuuuuuuuutiful. Stay at Princess Resort (a bit pricey though, bearing in mind it's high season). Open the door of your villa and voila! turquoise waters awaits you just a few metres away. It's relaxing and just ROMANTIC.

great place for making babies. haha.

Be warned of the massive tourist crowd though- especially now.

Hello all...

abt the Erawan Shrine, u can get all the joss sticks/flowers/candles fr the shrine's counter. Everyone will start to pray fr the side facing main door 1st, then female will go clockwise while male will pray in anti-clockwise. Its okie for ya to pray for gd health/safety/children obedient/family closer that kinda general wishes lar. Reason why dun anyhw promise is bcos 'if' ur wishes come true AND u did not repay wat u promised THEN...will kena punish lar (sumthing like dat):P
Unless ure v.sure u can fulfill wat u promised then is another thing.

hi yami,
wah thks for sharing abt Erawan Shrine! nw i know why it was builded there hee...

hi serrich,
ahh so u transiting at BKK for Korea lar. Hope both u and hubby enjoy the coming trip k *grin*
This time round must take lots of swee swee pics k!

Jane...
Haha aiyo so chialat ah, hope their conditions has improved by nw. For mi hor, the person adjusted her seat backward...till i can't even see my tv screeennn
like u said, much worse lol.

hi mint,
oh act heard someone in tis thread recently stayed at Grand Diamond, but i yet to heard fr her ley :P Personally i oso prefer Arnoma to Asia Hotel hehe so hv u decided on the accom?

hey mandy,
happy 'xue ping aka shopping' at BKK k! :p

Incase any1 need the namecards for sharkfin restaurant at Yaowarat or maps of Suan Lum/Chatuchak let mi know hor..i can d/l the link here k *smile*
Hv a great Wkend all!

Hi Andreal,
Ya, I was looking thru the archive and saw her posting about telling more about the hotel but no news after that... anyway, I've decided on arnoma cos my friend told me it's newly refurbished, so should be quite ok. Excited about the trip now.

Andreal,
No lah.. Me gg to BKK but the flight I'm taking is a stopover flight thats y cheaper lor...

yami,
thanks for sharing... Then I must definitely visit the 4 face buddha and make some wishes... Hahaha..hope that it will realli come true! But must bear in mind not to say will come back to offer anything if realli comes true lah..

honeygem,
Wah so Phi Phi is a great place to make babies arh... By next year if I still havent conceive, then i must tell hubby to take a break go make bb liao!! Is it like those Banyan tree style??

Hi Andreal,
just came back from bkk.. Thanks for your maps..they are vv useful...
i went to the chinatown to try their shark fins..vv shiok leh.. hehehe

u r gng back to bkk again right? the hotel tt i'm staying, Eastin Hotel is not bad..we even got free upgrade to deluxe rm as all the superior rms r occupied. there is a bathtub n hair dryer..

but there isn't much variety for their breakfast..u eat almost the same thing everyday..

n if u dun mind walking for 15 to 20 mins..all the places like the erawan shrine, Central at Chilom, World Central Plaza, Big C, Pratunam,are all within walking distance..

as for the seafood at Thong Chai..i did not get a chance to try cos it was closed when i wanted to go there to makan..

Hi yami & Andreal

Thks for sharing on Erawan shire. After understanding more abt the place, I think my friend and I will also drop by to pray..

hey forgetmenot!
wow!! so happy to hearya again, glad u had a wonderful trip @BKK
hee yeah w/ the maps, its much easier to find tos places. Hahah u reminded mi of tos sharkin man..btw which one u tried? nam sing or hai wai tian ah? their other dishes like horfun quite big potion too!

Yup! will love to go bk BKK again..hopefully end yr *big grin* Adoi hw come u got upgrade?hmm. btw u book thru agent or? Loks like many hotels bkfast gona be similar everyday hor, nvm can fill up tummy can liao hehe.

Hmm seems like u been to quite some places leh, i haben been to Central & Big C yet :P Biggest archievement so far is walk to pratunam lol..perhaps will try walking to Erawan Shrine the nxt trip. So did u get enuf shopping anot?

Hi apple and Sugarbabe,
oh ure most welcome hehe. Hanor Erawan Shrine very very 'ling' one!!..if can, go pray pray.

Mi Shell,
keke..time to save $$$ again!

I finally managed to book my hotel. I'll be staying at Siam City. It's a bit out of the way from the major shopping malls but near the bts station. got it thru priceline.com. actually wanted a hotel more central but all fully booked. so no choice lor... but I guess since transport there is cheap should be no problem moving around. Will post more when I come back from my trip. so excited now.

Hi Andreal,

I read in e previous messages tat u have been to Sabadee massage opposite D'ma hotel.
I'll be staying @ Eastin hotel(going next wk).
Would like to check with u whether u know wat time they close? cos I would like to go @ nite after all the shopping...