Bangkok

hi rachel,

chatuchak opens only during weekend.
but u do find some stalls open on weekdays but not as much as weekends lor.

So preferably to go during weekend and go there in early morning.. some stalls open as early as 7am. Less pple not so crowded mah.

hope this info helps.

Agree with Mrs Quake that Anna's Cafe is a must go. Dessert is a must try esp. toffee banoffee.
If you want to go, better print out the map to show the taxi driver. Many taxi drivers don't know the road name in English.

As for Chatuchak, I dont think should go so early because all the 'hip' shops won't be open yet. Think right time to go is after 10am.

Heard from my colleague that most shops are open on friday already, he likes to go on thursday and friday instead of the weekends, can enjoy the shopping leisurely.

Beware of Thai Gem Scam - Yingdee Lipidary (Export Centre).

1st a person an "Executive" or "Lawyer" whatsoever tells you about Lucky Buddha.. it's open once a month or year..
another persons confirms it.. so must go.. very rare opportunity.. highlight about a jewellery sale at Export Centre.. the tuk tuk guy
(part of the scheme) will bring you to temple, wait for you patiently... then will bring you to this Yindee Lipidary.. (Export Centre)
it could be any other name .. it depends which Gem SCAM shop has 'eye' you...

When you go to the 'rare' open once a month/year temple, another so call well travelled guy will tell you stories, such as he has sold
GEM sets to Poh Heng jewellery, making lot's of money for his trip to Singapore etc.. etc..

These are part of the SCAM. I'm a victim of this as such would like to share with you my experience so that no more people get
Hurt... as it has spoiled my whole Bangkok holiday trip...

hi pinesa
i also ran into two jerks on the first day of my arrival. but i scolded them!
you can read abt my encounters under bangkok accomodation thread.

Hi erowen,

Just my luck... well learnt my lessons... no more jewellery from overseas.. no matter how value for money... I just regret didn't read on this before hand...

But luckly to an extend, I didn't lose that much... as I didn't buy sets and sets of jewellery.. well... take it as an expensive lesson... thanks.. for sharing your encounter.. lucky you already know... I learn it the hard way...

hi pinesa
think of it as buying a lesson.
sometimes things could happen worst, like they hurt us phsically. so treat it as we use money to 'dang zai', to avoid the disaster.
most importantly u are safe and sound.
take care ya and dun let this episode affect you.

pinesa
i went BK in Jan.. sad to say, i run into same encounter like wat you mention abt Yindee. exactly the same!
we were at Pratunam and were waiting for a cab til a guy came along and help us to hail a tuk tuk to go MBK. but we must go to this temple which open once a yr b4 the tuk tuk driver can send us to MBK

thereafter, we met a man in temple whom claim to work in USA. and intro us to Yindee

sigh.. luckily hubby only bot a S$170 pendant for me otherwise i regret it all my life

i be plannin a trip to BK again this jul

hv anyone book their air tick and hotel rms on their own via internet?

was thinking if it be cheaper if we book them on our own instead thru travel agents

So sorry to hear abt your bad experiences. My advise would be it would be best to avoid those extra friendly people who approached you as they usualy have a motive to help you, be it directions or even help to hire cab.

JL,

I booked everything via internet for my BKK trip in May. Booked air ticket via Valuair.com and hotel via Asia Hotel website. Total is about $300 per pax.

Cheers~~

Hi Jasmine,
I have booked through Airasia and cost us $300+ only airtickets. Can I know how much you paid for tickets only for Valuair? I have checked and cost me around $487 for tickets only... and I find alittle xpensive. Yet to book a hotel, any advise? Bayoke Suite? Thanks!

Hi Wendy,

Airasia shd be cheaper than Valuair given the fact that Valuair still serve meals whereas Airasia don't? Valuair though a budget airlines but they are consider more expensive. But I would say no regret for taking Valuair for the good services and it is very comfortable.

I paid $476 for my tickets to Bangkok for 2 paxs.

I only stay in Asia Hotel before so I can't advise you much on this. It is cheap and I find it very convenient 'cos you just have to walk thru' the underpass to go to the BTS (Bangkok MRT) and you can go anywhere. But if you are particular abt the rooms etc, then Asia Hotel might not be your choice.

Cheers~

Hi Jasminetea,

Need to ask you again like I might be putting up at my friends' place and travelling shouldnt be a problem lah, taxi right... but like where to go for Spa (for me and my hubbie) and the charges like? Do you have friends or recommendations? THanks!!

Hi Wendy,

Sorry I can't advise as I didn't go to any Spa on my last trip as I was on business trip. Basically I only shop and eat there.

Cheers~~

hi gerls!
im going to BKK tis 17th June, 5D4N @D'MA Pavilion Hotel plus a river tour. Guessed I managed to grab a gd deal..$338/pax by SQ morn flight(depart). But heard the weather forecast over BKK is rainy? :P For tos who intend to go in July, can check if there's any promotion 1st..if really dun hv can consider budget airline. Some airline hv promotion rate till july/sep? eg. Garuda..u can compare such promotion with budget ones to see which is more worth.

BTW the last time i went was last Dec stayed at Twin Tower, act quite a nice place too..just dat abit far fr the bazaar/shopping area. Wonder anyone here ever try the massage at Let's Relax spa? they got a website www.bloomingspa.com

At the same time will like to know other then Hai Wai Tian Restaurant dat serve gd & reasonable Shark Fin Soup, is there other places which i can consider..esp. ard chinatown (Yaowarat)??

Hehe act bery excited...mayb tos who just came bk can gib us some feedbacks.

Ok lar hope all that are planning or going to BKK soon will hv a pleasant trip!!

The below are some useful links which u gerls might be interested to read, just take it as reading material ok

Thai Directory - many many links inside er..like Yellow Page *S*
http://www.eppo.go.th/index_thaigov.html#Hotels

Marble House etc - http://www.prd.go.th/ebook/story.php?idmag=1&idstory=6

Hai Wai Tian (Sharkfin soup)- http://www.thailandfans.com/eat20031128.html

SiamSquare Directory - some words are thai so only understand 50%!!
http://www.centerpoint108.com/zone/special/index.asp?mode=2&area=C

I got some maps like Chatuchak, Suan Lum Night bazaar...if anyone interested let mi know..i can post the attachment over here someday..hehe the diskette nt wif mi now.

Hi Andreal,

I didn't know there were maps for Chatuchak and the night bazaar! Is it possible for you to post the attachment soon? I'm going end of the week.

Hey Pinesa,
I ran into this guy (gem sham) when I was at BKK this April!!! He kept asking us to go this Lucky Buddha Temple... luckily we didnt go!!! And all the story that he told me is exactly the same as you! we are at Pratuman area walking towards WTC.

Didnt know it's SHAM.... so scary!

andreal lee,

where did u get ur deal from?? me intend to go maybe in august. n ur deal is super worthwhile, i chk wif travel agent, 3D2N is already $400!!

Hi andreal
thks for yr info,so informative
i bet u did alot of homework

i also going BKK on the same date as u
any shopping centres nt to be missed ?
besides the usual ones like MBK, Chatuchak

Hi Andreal,
Can I have the map for the Chatuchak, Suan Lum Night bazaar? Im gg in mid-July. I have yet to confirm the place/hotel... is Bayoke Suite a convinence location? Marble House dont seems to have body massage but those Trad Thai Massage leh... me scare pain. HAHA!

Hi Andreal, I've also booked D'Ma Pavilion for 5D4N but will only be going during the National Day period. Booked Air Asia during its launch promotion for only $70 (2-way) incl taxes. Saw D'Ma's website, the hotel seems v nice and new, n its walking dist to pratunam. Hotel only costs me abt $260 for 5D4N as its hav'g promotion last month (stay 3 nights n get the 4th night free). All in, I only paid $400 for two pax for a 5D4N trip. v cheap hor

Andreal
May i know whr you book yr $338 tour fm? issit a tour agency?

Jasmine
my grp of frens are quite keen in tryin out Valuair.

so now we are deciding whether to book thru agency (its more reliable) or thru Valuair (as its quite new to the market)

Ladies
is Hai Wai Tian the only place that sell good Shark fin as well as Bird nest?

the last time i went C'town, was quite lost n duno which restuarant is reliable
thus the bird nest taste so fake

peonypup

hope the maps will help..the chatuchak one abit blur. oh enjoy urself k!

Hi Sugarbabe!
i reki at people's park ctr ard mid May...checked so many tour till i found the deal at Kents Holiday. Tink only some tours carry the promotion stay 2N free 2N (which u can find in the Classified too), which applies to certain hotels only. I happened to book early, managed to get SQ (SIA oso hving some june promotion fare)..hehe thats why the overall package is cheaper.

yeah if not, will be ard $400, bcos of that we changed our mind instead of going in July, we r goin in June :P

hey knowing,
haha cos i too kiasu so read up so many..my frens oso emailed mi some links.

Wow!! so we both will be going on the same day. Bery excited hor? im nw oready holiday mood lol.
Erm shopping ctr i only know MBK many varieties. Pratunam bazaar/complex a gd place for cheaps buy. The rest of the shopping ctr worth going tho prices slightly higher are Siam Discovery, Siam Ctr, Big C, Robinsons etc. i yet to go but thats the feedbks i read fr some threads hehe.

OPs..Sugerbabe. Baiyoke Sky's location consider not bad. Ard the hotel, is the pratunam bazaar etc..if u see the bangkok map in my link, u will be able to see the bldgs/shopping ctr ard it. In fact it was my 1st choice just dat its rate is higher compared to Eastin/D'MA/Bangkok Palace aka Mercure, so i opt out *S*

Hi wendy,
i sent the maps to ur email liao. eh wat i knew is Baiyoke Suite's location wise is as gd as Baiyoke Sky Hotel, if u not so particular abt its accomdation etc its shd be fine cos its consider one of the budget hotels like mine lar :P

Haha yeah lor i oso scare pain..my info on massage not much cos hv not been any on my last trip

Hi Jaime(Duchess)!
I hv sent the maps to ya email acct too, if u dun get it can check it out fr the link i attached at the above post k *grin*

Morn JL,
yup...i booked fr a tour agent in people's park ctr called Kents Holiday.

Hee cos not much ppl are familiar w/ chinatown? for my case, always hear ppl say gd food in chinatown but come to the restaurant's name and exact location..chialat! they can't recall or dun know. I haben try the birdnest leh, wonder hws the one at Hai Wai Tian :P

Ya like u said, agent more reliable. Most tour inclded river/city tour, land transfers & nt so much hassle (plus pts).

As for Valuair, it might be gd if 1)the package by tour agent is bery ex, no promotion for the mth 2)the flight schedule offer by tour agent are fully booked or nt favourable (eg.nite flight) 3)the hotel u arranged is hving some great deal like eg. stay 2N free 1N, other freebies which tour agent does nt offer.

oei kingking,
adoi u ah got a even better deal than mi! Hahah. Sometime if hotel and flight all the promos come together like yours will be very cheap one..ure really lucky!

At 1st, i was scared tt our hotel lousy even its location nt bad. Surprisingly the website so new and informative like wat u mentioned!
felt even more relieved after knowing mi & hubby's frens who recently came bk fr BKK all stayed there w/ gd comments on it.

Hey if u got any gd recommendation ard our hotel area, can let mi know pls..tsk tsk.

Hi Andreal

Yup me also holiday mood liao
I will be staying at Baiyoke Sky actually wanted Arnoma bt it was fully booked

Last yr i stayed at Novotel Siam, good location & lively area
DMA i stayed the yr before was abit out of the way

Hi JL,

We got no problem booking directly from Valuair. (We did had our worries at first too) At first we did thought of booking with Chan Brothers for Bangkok package together with Valuair, but the hotels they offered are away from BTS. So we booked everything ourselves.

Hi KingKing,
WOW, your $400 includes everything is cheap!!! Mine tickets alone cost already $320. Where's D'MA? Couldnt see any in the maps....

Hi Andreal,
Thanks! Will look into it awhile later... gosh, so many replies within a day!

Hi cat
juz to help abit. if you wanna book air tick and hotel thru valuair. can do it via their webbie

thereafter they will direct you to www.asiatravel.com

means you can either book thru valuair (for air tick alone) or go asiatravel (for air tick and hotel)

knowing,
yup arnoma is much beta, same goes to novotel siam which my sis stayed b4. As 4 mi, only looking for budget ones so bo bian

but i tink its okie since all the bazaar/shopping cts r nt located in the same area. There r plus & minus in which watever area u stay. 4 tos hotels near BTS will be more convinent 2 travel ard.

Got a fren just bk fr BKK for business trip, he stayed alone at one hotel, and so suay he had an encounter wif tos dirty thing in his room lor.

btw can let mi know hw is D'MA? Will appreciate if u can tell mi thru my email hee. [email protected]

Sugarbabe,
oh Kent Holidays addy is :
101 Upper Cross Street
People's Park Ctr
#01-06
Singapore 058357 tel:65341033/64381677

u can enquire thru fone oso if u can't go down *S*

hi andreal,

which hotel ur frd stayed? maybe can email me [email protected]

=) thks for the info.

hee me first time gg to BKK, so quite blur which hotel to stay oso. so u were saying D'MA hotel is quite near to major shopping centres n pasar malam?? thks for sharing