Bangkok

not_firmed

thanks aspiration... btw, which travel agency did u booked??

hi ohstrawberry,

So yr air ticket n hotels booked from internet ha?? the air ticket that u got really value for $$ leh.. I check the website, don have this price liao lor...

peiyi

Hi alls,

Mine is oso all DIY Trip, not thru agency too. Oso travel wif my hubby.

28Oct - 01Nov 5D4N, Airasia $294 two pax, D'man Pavilion hotel stay Superior room,Twin $252 (by Travel agency) Total $546 for 2 pax, ard $273 per pax.

not_firmed

Hi Pei yi,

May I know when u booked yr air ticket?? I try to book,but the price is v high leh..
btw, how many day u stayong at that hotel??

mandysst

hm... i booked mine with easy way.

flying on 1st sep to 6 sept. SQ. staying at chinatown, white ochicd. for 309 per pax. including taxes. if take asia hotel, think just have to add abt 40 bucks more

happytea

hihi, mine as below:

5-9Aug05 - 5D4N
Airasia - $363.96 for 2pax
Hotel - 2N - Taipan hotel - $114.01
- 2N - Reflection Rooms - 166.94

Total - $644.90 for 2 pax, ard $322 per pax.

not_firmed

thanks for sharing ya...
Mandy.. yrs is 6D5N rite?? seems quite cheap hor..
did u book yrs through agent or also DIY??

If only 2 ppl going, is it too dangerous??

peiyi

hi tweety,

i booked on after national day. i stay 4night in same hotel ( D'man Pavilion ) one night $63

Yes, lucky i booked early..i go n check all value air ticket fee increase orely. Actually, i wan take Arnoma hotel, i stayed there b4. But quite expensive , one night abt $84 (book frm internet)

sputnik

Here's mine :
Went Bangkok end Jul, left on Fri morning and came back on Mon nite. Flew by Valueair, $130 per person. Stayed at a nice boutique hotel, abt $73 a nite.

mandysst

hi tweety, mine is a free and easy package. cant diy cos if so, hubby cant claim back the price of the tour.

btw, i got mine SQ fare at only 128 (before taxes), it is the promo fare.

and two person go wont dangerous lah. i also 1 person go b4.

ohstrawberry

Hi, Tweety

Travelling in BKK is definately safe for 2 people. My husband and I roamed about everywhere, small lanes in Chinatown, small markets in pratunam and we get to see interesting sights all the time. the last time, we saw baby elephant under the highway bridge near pratunam and get to feed him with bananas.
Just be more daring and dun trust friendly strangers easily. Bad ppl is everywhere, even S'pore also got con-man, so dun be too flashy with your money and branded and you will not be easy target. The one i can't tahan most is those tuk tuk drivers, always want to drive us somewhere else, and we had to pay him extra so as not to go to those jewellary and souvenirs stores which they earn commissions from. I will never take tuk tuk again, cab is safer and definately cheaper.
Enjoy your trip. I'm looking very forward for my next trip liao.

not_firmed

Hi Peggy, ohstrawberry and mandy..

Thanks for sharing all yr experience n advice..
Will go ard to have a look.. hehe.. but scared that I cant go liao, need to change job soon..

btw, there is a Natas fair on 9th - 11th sept..
For those haven book,u may go there look look..

peiyi

hi ohstraberry

My flight time is departure 10.55am arrival at 12.15pm.

Which hotel u stay? Actualy i'm confused about book which hotel is better. End up, i book D'ma pavilion. Any advise for me abot D'ma pavilion i booked?

icebaby0

D'ma looks fine. It's just beside Eastin and Bangkok Palace.

Only thing is that it might be far from BTS. Not sure if they offer free shuttle service to BTS.

But taking cab is no problems there.

paopei

Hi everybody, check with u. Is it safe if I go Bangkok with my 4 years old girl? My hubby's leave is rejected and we've already bought the ticket. So thinking to go myself and my gal, dun waste the ticket cause cannot change or refund. But kinda of worry ... safe or not for me and my 4 years old gal? I plan to stay in Samran Place ... thanks

icebaby0

Paopei,

It's safe to go with ur 4 yr old. No problems...I seen alot of families bring their kids. But u might wanna bring a pram along incase ur darling gets tired.

When u flying off?

Suggest to just keep to those normal shopping centres such as MBK, WTC, Siam Discovery Centre, etc cos it's cooler. Your daughter won't perspire. Plus those shopping centres have ice-cream, donuts, MacDonalds...which will keep any kid HAPPY!

paopei

6 OCt - 11 Oct, quite few days cause thought wanna relax with hubby. Hm ... I just go there with my 4 yo gal, no guy accompany us. Kinda worry ler ... my hubby scared my gal kena kidnapped later.

icebaby0

I don't will get kidnap lah.
As long as u keep a close eye on her. So far, my frens been there with their kids no problem.

Bangkok not like those other places, most are pretty civilise.

Well, if ur dh think it's unsafe. Then don't go lor.

joia

Will be going to Bangkok next week and this is my first time going. There are so many places to shop and eat, hope that I will make the most of the trip. Am leaving on Friday night and coming back on Monday afternoon so will not miss the CTC market in the world.

Besides that what are the not to be missed places? I'm looking for bags, shoes, lingerie, deco and stuffs for wedding such as flowers, ribbons etc.Where are good places to go? And what are the opening hours for places like CTC, Pratunam market and suan lum?

Planning to exchange $300 for 3D3N trip, is this too little as I dun want to slurge too much. But good thing, this is a company trip so much of air ticket and accomodation is paid by company. Only need to bring money for food, transport and shopping.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

samgirl

I would advise u to bring more money cos if u go there liao then realised tat u got not enough to spend then very wasted one...cos going to bangkok is all about SHOP SHOP SHOP!!! (and not to mention all the wonderful japanese food restaurants la..hee)..even my FH (who's not into shopping) who was so damn sure tat he'll not shop much while over at bangkok ended up wif many bags of shopping and a huge grin on his face..hee..

bottomline is...bring more money better than bring not enough and then onli go there and salivate..hee..

icebaby0

Paipei,

GOOD FOR U. HAPPY THAT U GET TO SHOP...what's more got ur FATHER and SISTER to help!!!!!!

Susan,

Dh and I only spent abt $400 (after minus guide tips and tax).
However, with the list of things that you wish to buy hor, I think you might wish to bring abit more. Maybe so Singapore cash, incase u need to buy alot of things. (U have S$300 "not including the 500 baht u need to pay for tax" - * 24.2 = 7,260 baht)

Bags, shoes - cost abt 199 baht and above (i.e. S$4 and above)
Lingerie - unfortunately, most of us go there to buy wacoal which is like 5 times cheaper. Cost from 360 baht (S$15 onwards) onwards.
Other stuff such as deco for house might not be as cheap as 199 baht..i nvr checked.

Transport (a) cab- starts from 35 baht each trip
(b) BTS - 10 baht (2 stops) 15 baht (3 stops) and so on.

Food
(a) Roadside noodles - 25 baht - 40 baht
(b) Coconut/plain water - 20 baht and 10 baht respectively
(c) MBK food court - 35 baht onwards
(d) Japanese restaurant - 100 baht onwards (for 1 pax)
(e) MK restaurant
- (i) Dim sum items - 30 baht onwards
- (ii) Steamboat items - 11 baht (noodles), 25 baht onwards for balls, 25 baht onwards for meat items
- (iii) Roasted meat with noodles (HK version) - 40 baht onwards (I can't remember)

Snacks - 20 baht onwards, unless u are buying those dry mangos (160 baht), banana crips (140 baht), rice crackers with pork floss (100 baht onwards), etc.

I hope this helps!!!

joia

This is so useful icebaby and samgirl. Thanks guys! Yeah was thinking of going for massage too. But think I’ll skip mani and pedi since I dun even bother to paint my nails here. Actually can identify with not having enough to shop, same thing happened in HK for me. But that was because I was too busy trying to get the best bargain and left feeling I should have just shopped with abandonment.

So I have upped my budget to $400! Haha. Can’t be too frivolous too as I’m saving for wedding and new home for next year! Oh heard that some ladies went to shop for wedding stuffs too, very excited to buy stuffs from Bangkok for my themed wedding!

icebaby0

Mani and pedi is relatively cheap there. I can't remember the price. But I know eyelash extension at MBK is only 999 baht!!! Hahaha
But most of their salons in MBK, the price for rebonding is still considered ex from 1500 baht onwards (depends on length - maybe cos my hair is long, I think it's expensive!!!! :p)

Just enjoy the trip lah. lucky gal get free company trip, I have yet to work in a company that gives employees free trip!

paopei

Hi Icebaby, thanks ... really looking forward for my trip. Hopefully no more problem for me ... Wanna buy pretty shirt, dress and skirt for my gal

ohstrawberry

Hi, schnauzie

The taxi fare is ard 300 baht, including the tollway charge, but still depending whether got traffic jam or not.

Hi, Peggy

D'ma nearest BTS station is Chitlom, however you need to walk at least 15min to the station. In this case, taking cab is more convenient. It 's very near to Pratunam market, ard 5-10min walk to there. Hope this helps.

samgirl

i once saw a stall at chatuchak selling wedding favors (keychains, frames, etc..) in bulk...but quite difficult to tell u it's exact location (people who've been there will know why..cos it's like a maze..:p)...so try your luck lor...all i remember is the cab drivers will usually drop u at the entrance of the market (so far, the cab drivers dropped me at the exact same spot on my 3 occasions there...) and from there, i remember that the stall is somewhere in the NorthEast area...near a stall tat sells ninja blades...so tat's all i remember...see your luck liao lor..
all the best..

schnauzie

tell them suan lum night bazaar or just say lumpini they will know
its a HUGE night bazaar..pple liken it to the night version of chatuchak

joia

Oh yes I heard that some pple even go to Bangkok to tailor make their wedding tea dress or evening gown. I'm contemplating too since it is quite reasonably priced. Less than $100 and can get within 2 days.
You girls know of any place where it's recommended?

keane

Would be going to bangkok next weekend, any recommendations for the below items :

a) Cheap golf acessories
b) Cheap comic toys or figurines(Lord of the ring figurines)
c)Good authentic thai food
d)Good Jap food
e)Good chinese rest in Chinatown and dim sum?

samgirl

Most Jap restaurants are good...namely Zen & Fuji (can be found at both Siam Discovery Center and also MBK)...so far, every time i go to bangkok i'll tend to eat the Jap food there...and so far all hav been good...

the room service food also good (bangkok palace and narai hotel)...love the chicken wif cashew nuts..huge portion and cheap cheap...hehe...

peiyi

HI ALLS,

i would like check wif alls,izzit pratunam market as same as chatuchak,but pratunam look dirty than chatuchak? Izzit pratunam look very dark, and black black 1?

Last year i went there, but i couldn't found pratunam market. I found many stall beside road, then i walked into behind stall got many shop. I think that is pratunam market, but look very dirty, i daren't walked in.

Tis time, i wan go again...so wan check wif those have been pratunam, can tell me how izzit the pratunam?

mandysst

hi keith,

golf, i dun know.

cheap comic toys, you can try MBK, there is a
few shops there that sell.

Good thai food, there is this resturant at siam sq,. if you can find chester grills and a&W on the same street, then u just walk down the street away from the bts station and cross 1 road and u will see a thai resturant. that one is a authentic one.

jap food, you can try zen or sumo or oishi, all can be found in BMK or siam discovery centre.

as for good chinese resturant in chinatown. for shark fins, the good one is called nam sing. ask the cab driver to go to white orchid hotel. if you stand facing the hotel, it is on your right on the same street, walk down and the first left turn, you will see it. dim sum... there is a few in chinatown but not fantastic.

hi peggy,
have.. as long as they sell bra in pratunam, they are wholesalers.

brc

Is there any street hawker selling food or pasar malam near Narai hotel around midnight?
I will be in bangkok next wed night, so thinking of going for supper after check in.
First time staying in this hotel, not very familiar with the place.
Any comment of this hotel?

brc

Is there any street hawker selling food or pasar malam near Narai hotel around midnight?
I will be in bangkok next wed night, so thinking of going for supper after check in.
First time staying in this hotel, not very familiar with the place.
Any comment of this hotel?

professor

hi peggy,

Pratunam market is nice to shop not so dirty and not 'dark dark'.Their are more on selling office wear,jeans,skirt,shirt and t-shirt.their are wholesaler,the more u buy the cheaper u get.i find it better than chatuchak.
if not mistaken pratunam market itself do not hv bra shop.u need to go to pratunam shopping center 2nd floor(jz beside).they is one shop selling W... and T.... brand.

professor

hi peggy,

Pratunam market is nice to shop not so dirty and not 'dark dark'.Their are more on selling office wear,jeans,skirt,shirt and t-shirt.their are wholesaler,the more u buy the cheaper u get.i find it better than chatuchak.
if not mistaken pratunam market itself do not hv bra shop.u need to go to pratunam shopping center 2nd floor(jz beside).they is one shop selling W... and T.... brand.

peiyi

hi professor,

Pratunam dun have bra wholesaler ah?? i think wan buy bra but dun wan any branden 1..Actually bra sell in BKK very good for me wear. I very like it, very nice and oso very comfortable.
Professor,can u tell me how to know that is pratunam? i couldn't found on my last trip, even i ask ppl, oso nobody know. I know prtunam shopping centre, but couldn't found Pratunam Market leh..haih.

peiyi

hi professor,

Pratunam dun have bra wholesaler ah?? i think wan buy bra but dun wan any branden 1..Actually bra sell in BKK very good for me wear. I very like it, very nice and oso very comfortable.
Professor,can u tell me how to know that is pratunam? i couldn't found on my last trip, even i ask ppl, oso nobody know. I know prtunam shopping centre, but couldn't found Pratunam Market leh..haih.

bellebelle

I'm back from my BKK trip. I find that things are not as cheap as when I was there in June leh. Especially the candles and bags. Just an update...

I only enjoy shopping at
Chatuchak and Suan Lum - clothes, home decor and accessories
Pratunam - clothes and accessories
MBK, Siam Discovery Centre - bags, clothes, home decor
Yaorowat - stuff toys, toys, accessories

Suan Lum has this lane that sells furniture. That kind of designer furniture that we see in ID mags but at very low prices in Suan Lum.

The weather is rainy. It rained almost every day when I was there. SO anyone going soon better bring along an umbrella.

I've got extra BKK maps so if anyone interested you can email me and I'll mail it to you.

bellebelle

I'm back from my BKK trip. I find that things are not as cheap as when I was there in June leh. Especially the candles and bags. Just an update...

I only enjoy shopping at
Chatuchak and Suan Lum - clothes, home decor and accessories
Pratunam - clothes and accessories
MBK, Siam Discovery Centre - bags, clothes, home decor
Yaorowat - stuff toys, toys, accessories

Suan Lum has this lane that sells furniture. That kind of designer furniture that we see in ID mags but at very low prices in Suan Lum.

The weather is rainy. It rained almost every day when I was there. SO anyone going soon better bring along an umbrella.

I've got extra BKK maps so if anyone interested you can email me and I'll mail it to you.