Bangkok

$328/ head.....for 2 will really be a great bargain heheheee...

I booked with Newly Tours. I muz comment that their service is not bad. The lady (Elizabeth I think) was very cordial and helpful.

I m planning to go BKK with my mum, dad, sis & hubby on last week on Nov...But until now we are still uncertain whether to book from the travel agency or DIY...All the years, my mum go to BKK during CNY & stay at New Empire Hotel...I called & check only cost SGD13plus per nite leh...But I think its near chinatown, seems like not very convenience...So was thinking of finding some budget hotels near Siam area which is more convenience...Any recommendations?

I check SQ cost abt $263 (including taxes) for the air fare only...Is it expensive?

hi JT, do u hv the contact for Newly Tours?

another questions, is it easy to find a guy sport shoes over at BKK? kekeke...me never been there before so eager to wait for Nov

I don't have Newly Tours contact off-hand.....chk the classified ads today....they advertised pretty often...numbers shd be there.

JT,
U have a good deal. at CTC there are FedEX n DHL counters at various section so quite convenient to courier back. I dunno the rates cos I din use it.

Touraco,
If joy collection is located next to Eastin, the nearest BTS should be ratchathewi station den take cab there. if no traffic prob abt 5-10mins.

postpet,
i stayed eastin 2 yrs ago n it was great. Paid abt $38 per nite. hotel exterior abit old but room quite big n bathroom quite spacious. The American b/f buffet was good! Only inconvenience is not near any BTS.

deathstar
I stayed in Asia before... not dirty lah only abit old... other than that, it's very convenient as the train station is link to the second flr of the hotel and it's so near MBK. The hotel staff are very friendly esp the "elevator girl"! Oh how I miss chatuchak and chinatown food! How the shark fins, bird nest, and seafood!

hi touraco!
hee i did not do any tailor. Joy Collection tailor is not near bts, gota take cab there unless u happened to go pratunam market then can walk (aprox.10mins?).

hi dear,
its not hard to find guys sport shoes in BKK, u can get em @MBK,Siam Sq,Chatuchak etc (got real and fake ones)

hey postpet2,
Eastin is in pratunam (side by side w/ D'MA & Bangkok Palace hotels), no bts nearby *grin*
Ok room is bery clean and comfortable, got bathtub (tis one oso gd!) hehhe.
As for bkfast, i find it tasty...enuf varieties fr orient & western styles which make u full in the morn hehe. Yeah just like wat rally commented too. Hmm...for mi, the ext. of the hotel loks quite ok, the interior is even beta lar :P there's 2 lobbies..one small one at 1st flr and another main lobby on 7/8th flr (where u find the recept,lobby lounge,bkfast area). This hotel gives u dat classic feel, gd svc, friendly.

hi tobebride,
the flight for depart fr SG for mine is nite @9.55pm (i heard there's only flight timing for depart? nite flight),
for coming bk we took aftn flight 3plus pm. (coming bk got more timing to choose)

hi andreal, thks...hubby was planning to buy sport shoes in s'pore & my mum last min plan to go BKK asking us to join her...so i was asking hubby dun buy first & see whether BKK got or not...

Anyone stay in Asia Hotel before? How is it?

thanks andreal, rally...

well well...i've been booked for ambassador hotel...shall see lah...
anyone know what's near Nana station?
a colleague told me its actually a red light area!! ahhaha...

Rally, what's narayana phand? what's that shop selling? Just saw it from your post above on going there for bulk purchase....

anyone gone to "little india" near chinatown for wedding stuff?
Oh, BTW, anyone gone to this place called BedSupperClub? Check out the website...it sure looks cool...

Hi dear_dear,

I stayed in Asia Hotel before. It is okay lah. Nothing grand but no complaints either.
It is cheap and very convenient with BTS so nearby.

Hi Jasminetea,

Thks...As long as no bad comments...I am happy liao...Anyone had taken Guruda Airline? Yesterday went down to travel agency at people park centre, seems like most of the early flight are fully booked. abit anxious liao. today after work, i hv to rush down to book liao.

Sorry for asking so many question. The last & most important question. Anyone had taken Tiger Airway before? I got a price $309 (include tax) going on 26 Nov - 29 Nov. So thinking want to book or not

Hi wedding9999,

Sorry for the late reply.
Well, I am staying at Asia Hotel for the 7D6N, by SQ, taking late morning flight to BKK and afternoon flight back. I paid $433.

I am beri scare of hot weather... Eeee... but its better than rainy season i tink, heard that if its rainy, places like Chatuchak will be flooded and its beri hard to shop then.

Hi Deathstar,
Will update u on my trip for my 7days. heehee... well, i have stop shopping in SG for a mth already. Gonna shop like mad in BKK. Tink come back SG I wun be going shopping for quite a period of time.

Hi Winnie/All,
Can u send me the list as well?? Me going in two wks time. Or is there anyone who got hold of the list can forward me??? Thkss. [email protected]

Hi dear_dear,

I will be taking Tiger Airways for my this round trip. I'm travelling in early Nov, so my price is much cheaper. Is your $309 inclusive of hotel accomodation?

Touraco,

From external look, Asia Hotel does look old but other than that, service is okay and the room are acceptable. Yes it is 4 star hotel. It could be 'cos of its location with linkage to BTS.

Cheers~

hi jasminetea,

Yes the price include hotel accomodation at Asia Hotel...After some consideration, I think if I really want to go BKK I will be taking the Tiger Airway package bcoz we all want morning flight...Tiger Airway is the cheapest for morning flights...me & my hubby are ok but worried abt my parents might not used to the budget airline lor...

tiger airways is ok la, its free seating so u should expect the typical ks sg people who will queue up way b4 boarding announcements just to be the first to walk thru the aerobridge to plane :P.

if u going with elderly folks den suggest u just wait patiently and just board at leisure. u will most likely be seated at the rear of the plane but thats ok too.

anyway as most pple will rush to the front part, b4 takeoff, the stewardess will polietly ask some passengers to move to the rear to enable takeoff lol

postpet,

narayand phand is a 2 story building that sells handicrafts n other stuff. basement have shops that u can just browse n see if anything catches ur fancy. seen alot of those chopsticks that some hotels use as favours etc.. its opp WTC (between Big C n gaysorn)so if u in that area, can check it out.

ambassador hotel is at soi 13 (soi is their lorong) comes alive from evening with lots of streets stalls, food stalls with pple bustling everywhere. nearby u have robinsons, emporium shopping so wun feel bored. u r surrounded by tailor shops there so take ur pick.

yes there are also lots of pubs with owrking ladies but they wun bother u.

For tos interested abt Eastin Hotel, here's the link -> http://www.eastinbangkokhotel.com

hi dear,
okok i c..yup ur hubby can checkout fr BKK 1st :P
btw when are u all travelling? i heard many early flight aldy booked the last time i checked w/ ppl's park ctr wks ago. Someone in tis thread commented dat Garuda old plane..interior etc like no $$ to change? Well i myself hv not taken, but realised still got many ppl booked Garuda oso.

hi postpet2,
hey abt the 'little india' shd be Paruhat in Chinatown area. http://bangkok.thailandtoday.com/shopping/07_g01_rattanakosin.html
Wahh..wad is this BedSupperClub? can tell mi the website? *Smile*

hey Winnnie,
there's many branches, at Siam Sq (soi 4?), MBK , Big C. Boots is a retail fr UK..tos under UK branches carry even more products than BKK. The UK link -> http://www.boots.com

I was told by some agency staff that Garuda's flight schedule always got delays... he personally encountered several times before...

I had already booked Tiger Airway flight on the internet booking @ Formosa yesterday but they told me yet to confirm the hotel that I want (ASIA HOTEL)...Now I hv to think of other hotel juz in case Asia Hotel is fully booked...Luckily I didn't chose Garuda flight...I juz realise another thing is that if ur return flight is on Sun is abit more expensive compare to coming back to monday...

Hi Andreal thanks for the reply.

I think (ASIA Hotel) quite fully packed. We were also promised the hotel for our december trip, valuair initally told us cannot get and asked us to chose other hotels (very ulu-->ambassor, clasic place and bangkok place).. but in the end afer some talk.. finally got us the hotel..

hi winnie, i was quite pissed off with their attitude...the boss insist that we can get Asia Hotel but after booking the flight he ask me to choose other hotel...my uncle know the boss there & slightly cheaper...but bcoz my hubby also trust Formosa & slightly cheaper, they all agree to book from Formosa & in the first plc i already dun like their hack care attitude & true enough...now waiting for them to call me to confirm whether have they book the hotel or not...i find that only Asia is the most convenience & reasonable price...now we chose novotel as a backup...no mood for the bangkok trip liao...

Hi Winnie,
How r u? Still busy wif ur exam? Long time no c u!

Hi dear,
Dun let those ppl spoil ur holiday mood lah! Mayb u can try staying in Bangkok City Inn quite a good hotel used to stay there will be staying there again for my Nov trip. It's located beside Anoma Hotel where the Big C & boots are directly opp WTC & Siam sq with lotsa of pasar malam stalls by the nite 10min walking distance to pratunam market & Erawan Shrine! Wishing u a happy & smooth trip!

wow..... the bedsupperclub looks super cool. Wonder wats the price range like for the dinner. So tempting to go but scare it will turn out beri beri expensive leh.

anyone been there before?? care to share ur exp??

Hi wedding9999,

I booked with this agency called fuji something... dun remember the actual name liao. At ppl's park there. I actually wanted Arnoma Hotel, but its $520 for 6D5N. A hundred bucks more and one day less.... so i tot might as well get Asia hotel, but beri scared the hotel will turn out to be quite bad.....

Hi Winnie,
Thks for ur email. It is indeed beri useful for a 1st timer bkk traveller like me

Hi Jasmine,

U must hv book quite early ? Becos when we ask ard, like no more early flight liao....those left are ard noon to early aftn.....;p....& my husband dun like garuda, he prefer reputable airlines....;p

I heard Asia hotel quite gd & convenient, only a bit old....;p

Hi dear dear..

I was also quite pissed off when they say tat cannot get ASIA HOTEL... my bf and freind call them up to complain abit.. cos at the point of payment, they say promised and said sure can get as we booked in sept for dec trip mah.. and it had became they are breaking the promise. So somehow or rather they got the hotel for us.. ^_^

Actually i am only interested in Princess, Asia (was the hotel in the package)and Novotel cos is my 1st time there and want to stay somewhere tat is accessible by BTS to other parts of bangkok and the walking distance to the shopping centers near by (MBK, Siam Sq, Pantip ...)cos i cant image carrying alot of shopping bags in a crowded BTS in DEC?? think will have alot of tourist too...heheh.. my bf n i can really shop ... and then i also heard tat taking a cab,sometimes will be a waste of time they tend to bring u round and round.. though is cheap and i am also worry abt the language prob..wait wrong place how?? I think a hotel near BTS line or subway will be gd. unless u wan to take cabs..

Hi Winnie Senior,

My exams will be in 3 weeks time but now got tones of projects, reports and presentation to do.. sighz.. got no time to revise yet.. not even to mention abt palnning my trip.. hehhe..
think i wont be able to come online tat frequent too..

So i like to wish u to have a great trip in advance!

Maybe call u up after my exams to ask tips from u.. hehe... so that i can plan for my trip... got a week to plan before i go off to ~Holidayz~ remember to help me buy the map.. thanks thanks..

Rdgs,
Winnie Junior

Hi Postpet..
Ya i am refering to Ambassador hotel.. and i think the rooms given by valuair are the rooms in the older wing of the hotel.. heard tat is quite bad...i heard tat is very close to NaNa station abt 2mins..but then is rather way off for me... not within walking distance to MBK, Siam Sq and so on....

U takign the hotel?

Hi,anyone knows which terminal is Tiger departing/landing in Bangkok airport? Understand there are two terminals there. thanks

Hi Winnie,

Which travel agency you are booking from? I booked Tiger Airway (they are charging us $6 per pax bcoz they dun do Tiger Airline) through Formosa & they insist that Asia is fully booked but when i check in the internet...there are still rooms available so end up yesterday i called konsortium for 'help' on only booking the hotel room...today they will get back to me...

Anyone got good recommendation & reasonable prices on spa & thai massage? hubby prefer thai massage...

I booked direct through Valueair at the Natas Fair. In tat case why dun u DIY...i think the hotel is still avaliable through online booking. Does Famosa offer u airport transfer or guided t
our?

Why dun u check out "Gundu Raya" i cant remmeber the spelling... i saw at the NATAS fair .. thye work closely with Valuair and offer gd price..

Oh ya.. heard than Valuair plan is more roomy 160 seats as compare to Tiger 190 seats and vlauair have assigned seatting now.

Itz a long long story...Both hubby & mum trust Formosa so asked Formosa's boss to help to do the booking for Tiger & booking of hotel...End up they book the air ticket liao but hotel no more rooms...Even if they charge us $6 surcharge per pax but its still cheaper than the prices that i checked out with other agency...so its a BIG MISTAKE which i hv overlooked...now i dun want Formosa to do the hotel booking & juz pay them the $6 surcharge...Gunung Raya are much more expensive plus now most of the airline dun hv morning flight except tiger...now i asked konsortium to help booking for Asia Hotel including airport transfer, breakfast & 1/2 day city tour...i wanted to book through internet but they dun include airport transfer & 1/2 day city tour...now i pray very hard to hear good news from konsortium that they managed to help me to book the rooms...if not i have to think of other hotels liao...

Hi dear

I booked Asia Hotel off http://www.asiatravel.com a few weeks back. Its only THB1,200 per room per nite (ie SGD59/nite) for the Nov-Dec peak season..maybe u can try? Sometimes tour agencies cost abit more, even if they throw in the airport transfer and 1/2 day city tour. Taking the taxi from the airport to the hotel won't really cost that much, and if ure not there for too long, I dun think it matters if u dun get a 1/2 city tour. But even the websites say that BKK hotels, esp the popular ones, are very hard to get during the year-end period coz its their tourism high-season then.

bubblybride,

haiya, the term 'dirty' is not those physical dirt lah... My term of dirty is those unseen force lah... kekekeke

Anyway, after hearing a lot of advices from the rest, have decided to ignore all those negative comments i saw. No point making myself worried and paranoid over my long-awaiting holidae.... =)

Reviews I had so far abt Asia Htl is quite good. Only look old from the outside, but quite ok from inside. Besides that, heard that the breakfast is quite good. One of my colleague mentioned abt apple strudel at the cafe v.nice, must go and try. =)

Jasmine,
Enjoy ur trip.. =) I'll also keep you ppl updated once I'm back from BBK as well. Going next mth frm 11 - 16.

speaking of bad/lousy travel agencies, my most recent one quite jia lat as well...

Will elobrate more when I come back from my BKK trip... dun wan to have any bad karma...kekek....

Hi alhana,

Thks...I hv to browse through the website that you have mentioned...But my parents & hubby prefer with airport transfer & city tours...Anyway this is the first time the whole family travel together as long as its not too expensive, i think its still ok...as long as everyone is happy...

Dear all, konsortium had already called me & CONFIRM the booking liao...I am so happy...Tonite I m only down to make the balance payment...

after seeing e asia hotel saga here with your agent, a bit worried cos I booked online with directrooms.com & was told tat my room will be reserved. But to play safe I submit my online payment 2 days bck & juz received their hotel voucher via email tis morning. From what I observed, booking via asiatravel.com(almost same price as compared with booking from asia hotel direct) cld be cheaper than directrooms.com. Currently, asia hotel website provide 1-day skytrain for 3 nights stay or sometink, so go chk it out if U r interested.

http://www.asiahotel.co.th/bangkok.htm

Hi Agnes, depart defin. T2Row9. land shld be on T2 as well.

Any1 here used e UOB-Tiger $30 promo & booked successfully?