Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

I also got the flyer for NEA check this morning, I was at home and I didn't even hear him knock!! My door bell wasn't installed, probably he was busy pressing it. Haha! Oh well, they'll come again on Thurs, hope they knock this time round.

Mine was checked ytd. Just came to see my common bathrm & kitchen. The lady officer was quite nice. told me to flush periodically for tt seldom-used loo, the dish drainer must be kept dried etc...
took less than 5 min.

They didn't come last night leh. I've kept my door open till 10 but no one came. Maybe they forgot the appointment.

actually me hv not tried finding... super lazy bah. maybe aft CNY then say... meanwhile, my MRT/bus struggle continue... T_T

angie.. wad kind of food u looking at? sy mentioned b4 got a zi char stall at st 51 tat does delivery for min $20 worth of orders. if u're catering for more ppl, that is a consideration

hi diana.. i tried their high tea buffet which starts at 245-5pm at 16.80++, quite ok for the pricing but the food variety is not a lot. foodwise we feel 1st round is nice then 2nd batch onwards (that comes out from the kitchen) is not tat gd. duno issit becos they are rushing to feed the crowd hehe.

4pax can have 20% if paying by posb or dbs card

had zhou zhuang high-tea buffet (the bungalow opp alexandra ikea) for christmas. seriously, as it was a wkday afternoon high-tea, we were not excited by the choices, food was alright, nothing to shout about. ambience not bad. service prompt but tendency to forget 1 dish or two, considering we ordered many dishes @ each round.

the nea guy just came and checked. never knew that my door bell was so loud and clear till it woke me up from sleep $#%!&~*?! the check didnt even take 2 min.

?? Angie, u mean can only eat for 1 hr nia ah? liddat me cannot go liao. After settling down 2 monsters, my time bery limited liao LOL

Kevin,

I thought the outlet beside anchor point do not offer buffet option? I think it's self service at JP because it's buffet style. I haven't went there myself but critics from my friends are that it's not worth it. The kind of spread and food is just like coffeeshop standard.

Diana,

If you take the 1hr offer, it's cheaper but not much of a different. The best deal is still to go with 4 person and enjoy the card discount.

I went to the Dian Xiao Er next to it a couple of weeks ago, just to let you know they offer 15% discount if you come in between 12pm and 12.30pm. But i don't think it's worth it, nothing to shout about.

help help.. my downstairs neighbour every nite deep fried chicken wings. all the oily smell flies up to my expensive white kitchen. ended up oily clothes + oily kitchen floor. i think my white kitchen cabinet going to turn yellow.

think talking to them is useless........ask them to close windows when cooking? ask them to buy a hood?

SIGH..........can complain to who? town council? police? hai........... why i so suay one

Wa kevin, you're not working today ar? Can sleep until 10plus so good...

I like the dian xiao er's duck. Ate once at Vivo at least 1 year ago. Very nice.

Kevin,

I think the hi tea buffet and lunch buffet is not the same, because when they open the outlet at JP, they say it's the first chinese buffet in the country. Hee

Hi Meirong,

I had that too, but i don't find it very impressive. Maybe the standard had dropped or the chef at JP is not as good, but i haven't tried the duck elsewhere before.

xesthir,

i think there is no one you can complain to, this is quite unique lor... try asking them nicely to call you before they fried chicken wings? my parents place neighbour every week got 2 night have those praying rituals at their house. every 2 nights in a week we got those incense burning smokes and ashes flying into our house and there be stamping of foot and shouting and singing under the ritual which nothing we can do. sometimes it ends at 1am. i think we got used to it liao ... for abt 20 years liao.. ha ha luckily for them, the torture ends this year when they going to move out.

ryan.. i tink u shd try the duck for dian xiao er at vivo. i had the duck quite a few times there and its always nice (we like the mongolian spare ribs too!). but we tried at jp and the food are all far from vivo's standard. maybe they're not used to the kitchen yet or wad.. maybe after a few months then give them another chance hehe

It opens today.

TELCO SingTel wants its customers to get more up close and personal amid the belt-tightening.
Its new 2,200 sq ft store in Jurong Point, which was officially opened on Thursday, has mood lighting, cafe-style customer service seating, and a 100-inch flatscreen 'living room' to show off its mioTV offerings.

It wants people to shop and buy music, games, movies even after the store closes at 9pm. Four huge touch-screens which let people hunt out deals and purchase music for the cellphones are embedded in the glass walls of the store, and accessible from the outside.

hehehe.. Ryan is Singtel Fan ah ;P
The review for Zhou kitchen like so so nia leh.. this coming sun going to meet frens hv lunch at Raffles city.. they said got marche-styled japanese foods. try liao then report to u all

xesthir, is ur down-stair neighbour a hawker? think u can only be proactive by keeping those windows shut. From my past experience with town council, they can't help much with this type of case.

At my old home, my upstair neighbour's aircon will leak water drops onto my compressor. so we 'enjoyed' the music of 'dee-dee-dee-dee-dee....' thoughout the nite >_<
go up complain oso no use. go town council oso helpless. in the end, we put a big piece of sponge on top of our compressor to absorb the dee dee... :P

Thanks Val. Will try &amp; feedback. going there cos heard it has a good play corner for kids. it is so impt. as we then can dine in PEACE :P

hohoho...

finally got the NEA person to come.

The lady said today they are already close. There is no new cases, so shd be not coming le.

SY Chen,

it was a guy who came to my place today. what he told me is quite contrary. hhe say they don't usually do check on sat unless really bad. they are continuing with the check.

hey val,

i make barley drink today and i added too much barley beans.. the whole pot is overflow after the bean expanded...

in the end, 3 quarter beans and 1 quarter water... and i had to add water to it... ha ha

aiyo so serious? hope no one else gets dengue.

ryan.. issit ur pot too small? maybe u shd get a bigger one, useful for soups too leh hehe. next time u noe how to ar ga the qty of beans to water le hehe

angie.. hv to practise one. even my pancake also i practise a few times, now still not really right, but much better, not like roti prata liao haha.

barley is supposed to look like porridge water but the beans not too mushy. maybe u cooked it too long? normally boil 20min to half hr can le

ha ha.... the problem is that i always seem to have too little water... if i have too much, the barley water no taste

btw, are we still having gathering for cny?

hi neighbours! went to Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar at Raffles City on sunday...

Think will not go there again :P Though it is expectedly priced, the food is so so &amp; portion is tiny :P for instance, ordered a plate of fries for kiddos, it came in > Mac small fries size at $3.80 :P the play area is pathetic. only one small little tikes slide for many kids to fight for. >_<

made me miss Marche (vivocity) all the more... think will go there during my CNY break
anyone wanna join us?

hehe angie then tat will take practise ba. need to balance the amt of water n beans. when i succeed i tell u hehe.

me also wna join! angie's hse or diana's hse?

hi angie and val,

actually i think it's always better to put more beans. you can always mix with water after it. I thought the one i made is not bad hee hee, too thick probably but i added water to it after it. I also take out the barley water, refill the pot and boiled the 2nd time. The barley still taste thick. Then i did it the 3rd time still okay.

But my pot is like 3/4 full of beans and 1/4 water after boiled. I think that's too much beans liao, will reduce the next time. I boiled my small pot for 1 hr with gentle fire. In the end, can fill 3 cups only.

tok abt barley water. me once heard tt if u wan to drink it for cooling purpose, then dont boil till the bean bloated. Bloated beans mean heaty liao. anyone heard abt it too?