Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

haha ryan.. ya diff ppl feel differently abt the same ID de la. many factors involved. so most impt see how hazel herself feel when she interacts with them lor. if gd then carry on.

cny is coming! looking forward to the goodies hehe. 2 more weeks.. my xmas tree not taken down yet haha. urs taken down?

Haha Ryan, I like to sing, but not to the point to compete with others...not up to standard lah. Too bad JP don't have any ktv.

Val
Besides ur xmas tree
Hope ur fireplace still intact, hee hee, would be ideal to start a fire, relax by the xmas tree, enjoy the kopi, read a book ….

Btw, haben had chance to drop by imm to get the dehumidifiers yet.

Dear left for shanghai on sat, a sense of emptiness set in, haha, I mean emptiness in tummy, no more home-cooked food for few wks liao. Think have to patronize the JP expansion for makan for coming wkends

Like to sing here too, but not to the extent to enter a competition

Can have a ktv session one of these days, nearest will be @ partyworld taman jurong, as it goes by room rate, the more the merrier (and cheaper)

haha kevin my fireplace of cos still intact la.. not cheap leh hehe. place hot enough, no need start fire. i wld like more wind though

if i got go daiso, i'll let u know, can help to buy the charcoal.

val, actually u can get them @ giant or ntuc too, these dehumidifiers commonly found. just that daiso sells them @ 2bucks lah.

actually thirsty hippo also can right.. absorb moisture.. but then hor its too big to put in drawers. n to put in many drawers, i wld need many dehumidifiers too. haiz. is urs quite a serious problem ar?

U can put the hippo in the main clothes section (with hanging bars), the hippo can stay there. Alternatively, u can a green kiwi brand, same size but comes from rose scent besides dehumidifies

For drawers, u can get those small packet ones from daiso, then cut them to smaller size to distribute them among ur drawers & compartments

Mine not so serious, but can see it coming
Worse are my bomb shelter and shoe cabinet where moulds start to grow on leather stuff
In addition, the belts in my wardrobe also victims too

funny thing is my clothes wardrobe is ok.. but the other drawers's insides(dresser, chest of drawer, bedside table) all kena. bomb shelter is some shoes will get but they're not leather ones. how do u get rid of them? just wipe with damp cloth?

Anybody have any idea what occasion was last Sat? The temple was burning huge amount of stuff and even as I kept my windows closed (only leave the top hung ones slightly open for ventilation) for two days straight, my house still have ashes all over!! ARGH!!! Worse part is some of the ashes land on my white sofa yesterday, I have to clean slowly and it's just frustrating to wake up the next morning and find more of it. Is there anyway to know when is the next time they start burning stuff? It'll be nice to have some warning beforehand.

oic, was wondering why was there a smoky scent in my hse, thought from the 2 wakes in our estate. april, that temple is rather well-known & many many times a year, u'll see (and smell) festive activities held there

Tks Ryan. too lazy to go JP to squeeze :P hubby oso going outstn for work. 1 vs 2 monsters? K.O.

think me will stik to HSH :D :D

me oso like to sing sin leh... but nowadays my best song is: Thomas & friends :P

valerie, i haven't remove the trees yet too. I think i will put there for a long time. Had the strength and motivation to put up, but too lazy to bring it down. Hee

i also noticed the incense burning and i couldn't figure out where it comes from. So it's the temple huh... i stay on the other side also kena so badly, seems like no running away huh..

I saw the amount of things they burn at the field. Looks like it can fill my living room, 3 huge piles of notes. Air pollution!! X_X

Kevin, anyway of knowing their calendar? Anyone a member there? Hehe!! Can inform us when they wanna burn so we can close the windows at least.

april
u can go knock on their door & request for an event calendar

believe they follow the lunar calendar and on ³õһʮÎå, they'll have events.

I was also wondering where the burning smell comes from, now I know...luckily the smell didn't linger in the house for long.
I heard that vineger can kill and prevent mould from growing. Maybe next time can try wiping with it.

My windows r forever shut :P (just in case, hv uninvited visitors :P)
if weather is warm, me just On aircon for awhile to cool rm :P so never realise the burning smell. But heard tt temple has lots of 'xiang huo', quite popular de. so think will celebrate many big/small events bah...

Ryan, both my kids 'backside got needles', duracell bunnies :P esp. my boy. very attentive seeking, love to b in limelight :P faintz...

Diana, your boy is very cute. But I can see how difficult it is to take care of him. Once he sweet-talks to you and your heart will just melt and anger disappears. He's a clever boy..hehe..

hahaha... think this is a trying age. I'm using a different approach now. hope to see him more assured & thus better behaved :P

anyone does CNY shopping liao? still cannot get into my brain tt it is coming ard e corner :P so many things hv nt done yet >_<

realise the lift at my blk is spoil

Cannot press 4 levels and more.

We took the lift up than the lift buttons went off. Than it went down to the 1st floor. This family come in and the little boy than pointed out, cannot press 4 levels and more.

No leh, I haven't do any CNY shopping. Don't know when I'll be getting stuffs too. I'm considering whether to get things to decorate the house for CNY. Feeling lazy...haha...

meirong.. wad kind of vinegar? the white or black type? if can get rid of mould i also wanna try hehe.

me also haven done cny goodies shopping. clothes wise done already. for hse deco, our bus interchange there has a stall selling cny deco, i tink shd be cheaper to get from there ba hehe. i'm getting the long crackers to hang

diana.. ur kids sounds fun leh hehe. must enjoy their childhood now. my friend misses her kids's childhood hehe.. wish they didn grow up so fast (both in pri sch now)

Valerie, I'm not sure what type leh. I think try white vinegar cos black one seems to be used more for cooking and don't know if it'll stain your furniture. I haven't try it myself, but think should need to wipe it a few times then will work. If you have bleach at home, it should work fine too.
I'll go interchange see see if I'm getting any deco. Thanks!

Hi Neighbours,

Happy New Year~!

Hi Val,

Let us know if the vinegar works as i'm one of the victim too.

My MBR and bedroom 2 ceiling are alomost filled with mold. Got ICI people to come down and re-coat the chemical and repaint.

They said reason due to poor airflow inside the house and advised me to keep the windows and curtain open as much as possible for airflow and for the sun to shine in.

I think quite true as my bedroom 3 is always having direct sunshine and no mold problem in that room.

hi justin

hmm my ceilings are ok.. or duno issit becos its white tats why cant see the mould? hahaha. wad colour is ur mould?

ya i tink is poor airflow n high humidity tats why got tis prob. but no one at home how to open windows. open windows (top hung) liao then v dusty. haiz. i guess gotta bear with the dust if we dont want mould huh

Hi Val,

My MRB ceiling is white but the mould patches are abit dark in color so can see very clearly...

At first we thought water sip through the ceiling from upstair neighbour cos it looks more like water stain with big patches here n there covering my whole ceiling. But come to think no one will wash ur bedroom floor parquet with so much water that it sips thouugh..

Yup, cant stand the dust at first but compared to the mould.. i rather wipe furnitures every few days then repaint every few months...

me got to decor abit lor cos my relatives coming over to my place for CNY cum house-warming.

think hv to 'dress' my house abit bah. Meirong, u go look see liao, then feedback got good deal or not hor... tks tks :P

Val, u r rite abt the speed of growing (or aging :P). I can still remember clearly my 1st moment wif my 4kg bb gal, aft c-section (epidural). And now she is gearing up wif school bag and pacifier every morning to childcare ctr.

frankly, still cannot get used to being parent.
so unreal. hahaha

as far as i know, vinegar (mild acid) can kill mould, but not as effective as bleach (dilute it with water). however doubt it's solving the root of problem becos once vinegar effect is over, mould growth will re-surface as it¡¯s quite humid in our estate, hence in a nutshell, have to lower the moisture level in our hse with dehumidifier or try to air our rooms as often as possible. Always keep my windows open, perhaps no serious mould problem
most tricky is the mbr as the small window is tucked at one corner which doesnt help much in cross ventilation.

diana, u're well blessed with 2 kids, looking forward to one too in future, but prefer not to have a '3rd party' now, haha

hi justin

yup.. i don tink ppl will wash their parquet floor with so much water hehe. even our hall floor also don use tat much water haha. so far my ceilings are ok. i tink maybe diff kinds of paint does affect? did u use the type which prevents mould? i tink i saw some types have this function. ya i also prefer dust then mould. shall try to open windows more often now

diana.. ur kids both quite big le, still cannot get used to being a parent? nvm.. u still got many years ahead to get used to it hehe. shall go visit u n ur kids soon as i missed the gathering the other day cos was sick.

ya kevin.. maybe ur mbr hv to put more thirsty hippos? can get cheaper ones from japan home or some $1 /$2 shops. thirsty hippo is much more ex, even when on sale.

actually my friend said painting the drawer linings with lacquer will solve the problem but its a lot of work lor as we don have the proper 'equipment' as furniture companies. my ID told me to call the furniture co to ask them to do it hahaa.

val
don't really need the hippo in my mbr, dont have the mouldy issue, except in wardrobe &amp; bomb shelter. u can get alternative brand ie. the kiwi brand that's just as effective but much cheaper than hippo, in addition, think giant has its own hse brand too

ps. just finished my 'spring cleaning', spent whole night cleaning up whole hse, frens brought forward their visit to this sat

actually i don't notice any mould issue in my place. i always open the windows when i returned from work, i think there are less dust at night and i kind of enjoy the breeze i gets from the window and it cool the house down.

for the BS, i tends to open the door slightly to allow some air into it. i never shut it down completely.

Hehe.. Kevin. that's e reason why I like to invite frens to my hse. (even at my old hse last time) 'cos it will inevitably motivate me to CLEAN UP :P And can't deny Clean Hse really makes my day, feel so happy &amp; contented aft the clearing up.

hse can get very messy wif 2 NUA adults &amp; playful kids :P toys everywhere, milk stains here &amp; there. FAINTZZ >_<

kevin.. then the hippo put in wardrobe lor hehe. big enough. i quite like to see the water level increase. :P now is mould attack! gonna try ways to remove them hehe. hope to succeed soon! find one day gonna wipe away all the mould first then start treatment. sian lor.. so many places to wipe.

ryan.. u open the windows to all rooms at night? we hardly open the 2 spare rooms cos smtimes nv get chance to use so just hang ard in hall then go sleep le. i was tinking maybe higher levels hv lesser mould issue too leh cos more wind n ventilation. my colleague at 13th floor in the next block doesn hv such issue.

is it? me tot low flr no issue. my place got no mould problem leh. maybe my wardrobe is too packed to hv any space for moulding :P
toilet cannot comment 'cos we hv ventilation fan so not much moulding.

or maybe is it e direction of our block? too much or too little sunlight? confused :P

hahaha i also duno leh. just anyhow guess. maybe ur hse still veri new so no such problem hehe :P

as long as the mould don grow i'm happy! lol

hihi, how is everyone? just got back into Singapore

everyone is discussing about mould... don't think we have much... but i do have some thirsty hippos and kiwis in my cupboards and stuffs... also bought from daiso some dehumidifers... seems like they can be re-used

I think mould tends to grow in moist, dim places where ventilation is poor. So best thing to prevent mould is to allow air flow and decrease moisture in the air. However, at times mould can still grow due to improper treatment of wood. Lacquering wood prevents any moisture from getting into the wood and thus mould cannot grow. This method I believe is the best way to get rid of them once and for all. However, many of us are too lazy to do it. Hehe...

Diana, I went to Chinatown yesterday to meet a friend, so I've got 2 decos for my house. If you're free you can bring your kids down to enjoy the atmosphere and buy some decos for your house too! They're not expensive. Those stick on wall ones are selling at $1-2.50. Quite nice leh.

ya my ID also said maybe the wood my furniture is made of is not properly treated thus mould grows. so he said to ask me to ask the furniture co to do smting abt it. cos hor my built in items by my ID is alright leh! but not the ones i bought from outside. hmm...