Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi whyme,

I did it over 2 days. 1 coat per day. If i did not rem wrongly, the bottle did mentioned the amount of time between each coat.

It depends on yourself, for how many layers you want. But i think 2 would be enough le.

Aiyo, i think karaoke is worse than recorded songs sung by professional singers?

I also dun want to move in and keep calling the police...

BTW. i saw many illegal motorbikes parked under void deck haha no need pay car park ah.. need to complain liao..

Hi xesthir,

I doubt my ID can help much.. he didn't even help me to check for hollow tiles etc. We had to do it ourselves and then report. When we asked him, he says everything ok.

How come sealer not recommended?

Hi whyme,

xesthir mentioned that it is not recommended so i think better to do some homework first ba.

For me, its been nearly 2-3 mths now after the re-grouting and applying of sealer and its still fine.

I realised my living & HS skirting is mostly hollow. Is is normal? The grout is dirty & greyish... Can i get HDB to redo the grout for me?
The doors have scratches/cracks/or lack of vanish..
And lines of crack in my living ceiling and kitchen wall tiles. I have yet to check my floor tiles & toilets... Doing so tomolo.. Abit clueless about wat to check for anyway.

My windows has paint on the outside of the glass panel, i think is when they do painting of the blk.

Wah... now den i understand the extent of noise from the planes. The planes is direct above my unit and it happen within every few minutes this afternoon. OMg...

U need a steady hand to apply the sealer along the grouts and the sealer most prob will spill over the tiles & form a patch. In time u see different patches/colourings in your tiles near the grouts.

Anyway i never try before, too much work and risk and I don't have steady hands and ID won't do for you. ID recommend that I use grout cleaner to clean the dirty grouts during cleaning, in time when the grouts finally come off, you can hire contractor to dig out the old grouts and do a 1 time regrouting in ur living/dining area again.

Esther, skirting is supposed to be hollow coz is just a timber strip.

Yes u can demand HDB to do grouting for u FOC.

If the scratches and cracks are too obviuos, demand for a new door. I am still waiting for my new main door to arrive.

Can request them to remove any paint/stain in the window frames and glass panel.

Check hollow tiles/parquet by knocking. U can purchase some tool from Wujing shop. I use hammer to tap lightly. Coins not useful IMHO.

Toilet wall tiles are hollow, no need check, check for any cracks.

Kitchen wall and floor tiles to check for hollow tiles. but note that 1 column of the wall tiles in the kitchen could be entirely hollow due to hidden pipings.

Which block and floor is your house? Is it very noisy? I have yet to hear it yet as I always visit the flat during weekend. Not renovated or moved in yet.

Esther

Skirting Hollow - is like that
Grout dirty and greyish - can ask them to redo it
Doors scratches etc - can ask them to touch up but after a while it will come back again due to temperature
Crack lines - ask HDB to fix it
Floor tiles - Go check for hollow tiles
Paint outside the glass window panel - i think you too particular liao but you can try. Nobody going to look outside your glass panel anyway so why bother? otherwise just use thinner to clean it.. is easy.

Go ..
1. check your toilet flush
2. parquet scratches or gaps
3. Shower head (mine the rubber inside is tore.. so need to change the rubber or else water will leaked even when shut, very small issue)
4. internal doors whether it shut well
5. Test all the power point see if it's working
6. Test all water valve see if got water

Thanks xesthir, i am at blk 678a top floor. What about u? the plane come so close and its loud. It is bad for home stayers. Working people might not be so disturbed. Will be there these 2 days to check the house... Not gg to do reno yet too... Still sourcing for ID and waiting for quotes...

Xesthir,

new main door? i doubt they changed it but let me know if they did so i will demand it too. Mine have cracked line re-appear again.

Esthir,

I just stayed beside you at 678C, the planes did not affect me much cos i don't hear them .. maybe i just don't notice airplane noise even if they flew past above us. heh

if i'm not wrong, the frequent flying occurs only during weekdays. I don't hear them cos by the time i return from work they are done with flying. Weekend i don't hear them except sometimes. once i was at home ard 11am during weekday and the airplanes as you describe, flew past every few minutes. Is it that timing that you hear the noise too?

Yah, they promised me a new main door and I am still waiting...going to bark at them again. Coz when we first tried to open our main door after collecting keys, we could not open and got 2 banga to massively bang and kick on it and use sharp tools to scrap through the door opening, so is quite cracked. They wanted to just sand & patch up but we said NO as we felt the internal wood structure is already spoilt. We just asked if they can guarantee won't crack again, they got scared and promise us new door. Anyway renotalk got pple said they were promised new main door as well, but not sure if they got theirs changed already.

Wow, I didn't even check my main door. All I know is I can't even open my letter box. The lock is simply too old and rusty. Still waiting for them to do something about it.

I didn't bother to check the tiles, I'm changing all of them. Toilet I'll overlay since don't know can hack anot. =X

We intend to start hacking this week, hopefully we don't disturb the neighbours too much. My next door is still empty at the moment.

Wow, april, how much is the quote for the hacking of the tiles and laying of new tiles? very ex right?!

u can only overlay the toilet at the moment and overlaying is cheaper bah.. but do take note that the showerscreens can no longer be used after overlaying. It's about 3Kper WC right?

Hey side track a bit,
Anyone heard of wedding portrait cannot be placed directly above the newly wed's bed wall?

My ID said is pandang... will cause couple to fight? Anyone else heard about this?

April

They will change the letterbox lock, like they did to change mine. But the lock will not be the same and what they changed mine to is lousier than the original. It's like they got the cheapest lock out there.

You can't hack the toilet tiles, you can only overlay. It takes a lot much more budget to do overlaying and i thought it's not worth it. But if you have the $$, why not?

Btw, you need to chase the service centre people then they will work faster.

Xesthir,

Yes i read something about it, saying it's not good to place the portrait directly above the bedhead. But i do not really know why, i just know dont' do it.

Better to listen than regret. Heh

All the tiling works and hacking of the wall next to the HS plus dismantling the sanitory wares cost about 20k excluding the price for living/dining tiles as we are still undecided on which marble to get. Overlay is cheaper cuz no need to heck. WC hacking is not that expensive, I think I was quoted $200ish to heck both the WC.

Hi Xesthir
me read from some feng shui book saying it is good to put wedding portrait above headboard.
that is the only picture u could hang above headboard. though like a tombstone :P it helps to enhance the couple relationship. Another location is on the left wall of the bed. BUT not on the right.

just my 2cent worth...

I also thought I've seen it somewhere that we shouldn't hang portrait above the headboard. I think to play safe, it's better to just hang it somewhere else.

Hi Ryan

You may want to get it from neighbourhood furniture shops. JW st 52 or st 92 has big market place... lots of shops

Hi Angie,

A suggestion to your hubby.

Is the GL organzing any events to build cohesion among new neighbours in the estate? More should be done by the committee to help the neighbours get to know each other. The first step to build a new community.

Think there a national day lunch / dinner organised recently.

the thing is i only got to know of it from this forum. so maybe some publicity could help?

shawn

There was once a good fair or something...

But i didn't know until after the event, when i saw the poster on the lift.

You're right, much should be done to inform us.

I think when people start to move in, it'll get more cozy. Now still alot of renovation work around and the owners are mostly staying elsewhere, even got notice also wouldn't know. Hehe.

approximately 25% of the units were taken up by the former boon lay residents affected by SERS (en-bloc).

we, the earlier hse owners fr jul 07 balloting, made up another 50%.

and warmest welcome to you new neighbours, who'll make our estate complete

there are two typical demographic types in our estate

since a significant number came fr boon lay old estate, we can see many golden generation folks around.

in addition, the next obvious group is us, who are almost non-existent physically in the estate (cos of long hrs @ wk), but engaging each other actively in virtual world - we belong to the Gen X, Y or Z

This is one issue Govt is facing, and our grassroots leaders are concerned too (i hope :p)

New neighbours
U can update here

675A Estelle
675A toothytooth
675A ngel65
675A Jiajia
675A apprye

675B Henvye
675B Kevin
675B khy
675B Yen Chern
675B Justin&Jolin

676A 1118
676A Goatie
676A HenryWoo1978

676B Li
676B christine
676B joelle
676B Henry/Aili (Apr 08)

677A Angie

677B Valerie
677B Woonie

677C Jolene Low (Apr 08)
677C Sharemoments (Apr 08)
677C junxian ( Apr 08 )

678A Corrine/Shawn
678A whyme
678A whiteyling
678A CSY
678A Icegin
678A Meirong
678A Jayin_fairyland (Apr 08)

678B rav3n

678C Hwee*2
678C Impy
678C Ryan
678C Shermaine
678C Meng & Liz
678C Ms_blur
678C Faith (Apr 08)
678C Pong & Mi (Apr 08)
678C sk (Apr 08)

678D dar80

Wow, didn't know there are people from my block too. 675B here.

675A Estelle
675A toothytooth
675A ngel65
675A Jiajia
675A apprye

675B Henvye
675B Kevin
675B khy
675B Yen Chern
675B Justin&Jolin
675B April

676A 1118
676A Goatie
676A HenryWoo1978

676B Li
676B christine
676B joelle
676B Henry/Aili (Apr 08)

677A Angie

677B Valerie
677B Woonie

677C Jolene Low (Apr 08)
677C junxian ( Apr 08 )

678A Corrine/Shawn
678A whyme
678A whiteyling
678A CSY
678A Icegin
678A Meirong

678B rav3n

678C Hwee*2
678C Impy
678C Ryan
678C Shermaine
678C Meng & Liz
678C Ms_blur
678C Faith (Apr 08)
678C Pong & Mi (Apr 08)
678C sk (Apr 08)

678D dar80

i have more than 50 hollow parquet tiles in my bedrooms... cracks/hairline cracks on walls and kitchen wall tile..

can i check, there is no door stopper (the magnet) for the main door? My rooms' door all have problems closing. need to close real hard. if not, it can still be opened just by a push. When its closed hard, can see that the wall and doors are not in line. either the top fits and there is a wider gap towards the bottom of the door/wall or vice versa.

Anyone encounter hollow walls? Not those wall tiles, but room and living room's wall. My fren helped me checked and realised there are patches of hollow walls.

Is there any way to remove the sticky patches left behind on the toilet bowl by masking tape? And also the patch on the sink by the tape at the hole to prevent insects etc...

There should be no door stopper as fire door should be closed at all times. If you want you can install one yourself. As for the walls I guess there is nothing much we can do about it. If the door is really bad, you may want them to replace it for you.

Esther,

Just report everything, if they can do it they have to do it. If they can't, have them to explain why and deemed whether it's reasonable.

675A Estelle
675A toothytooth
675A ngel65
675A Jiajia
675A apprye

675B Henvye
675B Kevin
675B khy
675B Yen Chern
675B Justin&Jolin
675B April

676A 1118
676A Goatie
676A HenryWoo1978

676B Li
676B christine
676B joelle
676B Henry/Aili (Apr 08)

677A Angie

677B Valerie
677B Woonie

677C Jolene Low (Apr 08)
677C junxian ( Apr 08 )

678A Corrine/Shawn
678A whyme
678A whiteyling
678A CSY
678A Icegin
678A Meirong
678A rdnest

678B rav3n

678C Hwee*2
678C Impy
678C Ryan
678C Shermaine
678C Meng & Liz
678C Ms_blur
678C Faith (Apr 08)
678C Pong & Mi (Apr 08)
678C sk (Apr 08)

678D dar80

Esther

Like mentioned above, if have defects quickly report. And take note that their contract is only till Nov 08 (iirc). Afterwhich it might be harder to push for rectification.

hey hwee hwee, that time at the lift saw ur hubby and we were both happily talking abt liverpool winning man utd. did you two subscribe to football channel? cannot find any coffeeshop nearby showing football on weekend leh... siann..

hint hint... hee

YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE

Ryan Wrote: "Is the GL organzing any events to build cohesion among new neighbours in the estate? More should be done by the committee to help the neighbours get to know each other. The first step to build a new community".

Angie has highlighted this post to me. Actually since the estate is brand new it takes a while for the committee to be formed. That is why you have not seen much activities in the estate yet. We need people who are concerned with the estate to join the committee. In case you are wondering what the RC is like in our estate, it constitute about 50% people of our age group and the other 50% of the older folks. You are welcome to private message me if you are concerned about the estate and would want to contribute.

I was told by the contractor that currently takes care of the rectifications that even though their contract ends in nov 08, hdb might appoint another contractor. might want to check it out.

i also recall reading about sloppy rectification but my experience was very good. they are v fast to fix things up and quality after that was surprisingly quite good (looks vastly different from original condition). even my ID was surprised. i had most of my living room tiles replaced, all skirtings changed, all rooms flooring re-stained, grouting cleaned up, etc. my hubby was very polite and friendly with them though. maybe that helps a little

btw, i noticed when i went up past few weeks on sunday nights there are tents and super loud singing near the temple. is it still going on? was this for the entire month? cannot believe the noise level.

Hi Ryan,

I've moved in and I subscribe to Football Channel. Feel free to come down (1 level below yours) and join me on weekend to watch soccer! Other neighbours are welcome too.

Meng