Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

I like that idea

The entrance to out estate is not obvious & is easily missed by visitors. How come the Parking rates stand notice is erected just in front of the entrance of the MSCP and not the entrance to our estate? I thought that Parking Rate Stand is a good indicator to denote entrance to our estate?

i'm not really disturb by the parking rates as i do not drive
however, there supposed to be a sheltered walkway linked from the new bus stop to the block, but how come it's not erected? i am already on standby mode to write to them at end june where they say they do it by that date. i also want to make it a point why a 1970s bus stop is erected when i read it in the newspaper a couple of months ago by LTA that they are phasing out those old bus stop batches and batches before dunno what year. It's quite contradicting to what they reported when they actually erect a 'new' old bus stop. HA HA it would be interesting

ryan

gd.. u try liao let me know. hope the joven ppl can solve the problem tmr morn.

angie

the block party idea seems great hehe.

kevin

great news! juz nice i can take the bus to work on 16th june onwards. hope will be able to get up cos heard from my neighbour the buses are veri packed in the mornings, smtimes cannot get up at all.

which is the fastest way to get to JP in the morn via bus? and sure got space to board one?

val

walking to jp doesnt take that long 10 mins slow walk enjoy the fresh air.

me and my wtb work in jurong too..maybe we could end up taking the same bus..

shawn

hi shawn

ya but i need to plan for days when it rains (then don feel like walking le haha) or when i don feel like walking. so must find out the route lor. u all moved in already?

Valerie,

I think most of the bus service runs to Boon Lay Interchange only. If you want to take a bus to work, you may have to switch at the interchange. I think only the $3 bus goes to town, or elsewhere.

I think you will be able to find private shuttle bus to town for about $60 odd per month.

hi val

not moved in yet..waiting for carpentry or rather carpentry is waiting for us to confirm on design

should be end jun then ready to move assuming we bought all the furnitutre..not in a hurry to move in yet so taking our time

ryan

u be the organiser la. haha. ya i'm looking for bus to boonlay interchange. not to town. my co pickup's at JE.

shawn.. not in a hurry is gd. moving hse takes a lot of time n effort. my stuffs not all moved over yet too haha. wad kind of design u all doing?

just, me moved in liao. kevin's moved in since feb at 675B. ryan moving in after sept. how abt u?

val

u can take a risk and take bus 99 at temple there or opp the overhead bridge

on moving stuff, my stuff not a lot..in fact i was very *proud* of the fact that all my stuff (less clothes) is already in my new house in 2 suitcases..i am a thrower

my wtb..hmm that is another problem as she is a keeper so most likely i will have nightmares...moving her stuff over..

on design theme we dont really have a theme in mind..i guess its typically reno stuff and then we give our house a bit *character* and *differientation* through the furnishings we have be it lights, sofa, water feature, etc..so long as we are happy with what we see...

for exmaple...we painted our living room skirtings..to something that is barley purple which too some / most could be ?!?!

shawn

Hi Val,

Currently planning to move in July 13.
Now doing all the touchups and furnitures coming in June 18...

Yeah, been to Kevin home a few times but didn't get a chance to see the rest of yours as i missed the outing that you guys have few weeks ago.

ANy chance for a visit this coming weekend? Hehe

wah, a few times, you stayed near Kevin?

i'm moving in sept, but that is only officially. I might stay over as and when i like
in fact, i'm like over there every other day hee hee

hi shawn.. ur case n mine is the same. my hb is a thrower while i'm the other. Whahahaah. can imagine ur nitemare. gd luck ar.. u and my hb can complain to each other haha.

ur hse sounds not bad. cant wait to see it when ready

hi just

hmm u moving in soon too. got another hse to visit haha. which blk u staying? sunday we shd be at home. u can come visit if u're ard
can pm me ur number

ryan
the workers are trenching a pathway behind the power-station, believe it should lead towards the bus stop, mayb they can have the sheltered walkway ready before july

as for the bus stop, hmm, prefer the 70s-80s retro version, sort of nostalgic feel it gives, haha.. and it gives proper seats, unlike the new ones with slim bus-stop seats

back fr groceries buying, amazing that my 400L fridge is packed with food and veggie, no more space liao

it used to store so much fruit juices and milk that justin made the remark "你家里ä¸å–白开水啊" haha

shawn
u have to try hard to convince me where can we enjoy FRESH air in JW in a morning stroll leh

thought the air is bad, esp nearer to JP where they are building the JP extension and bus interchange

angie
believe we all will welcome the idea to hold the party at ur place loh, very much a laid-back retreat setting to chill out

Val,

Same blk as KEvin, thats why i keep popping by his house to see if his fridge have plain water to drink anot...

Tmr you guys not at hm?

I've pmed you..

Kevin,

You should see khy's fridge.. Yummy stuffs
Full of ice cream...

Next time i wan juice can pop by ur place and khy's place for ice cream~

ha ha.. kevin, sure ... we don't mind providing the venue.. ;p but I will have to back Val and vote Ryan to head the organizing comm... ;p

Kevin,

coincidently, today paper had an cover page article on the 1970s, about needing to preserve history of the 1970s bus stop. heh

I'll back Angie's place as venue too. No doubt about it.

haha good! angie's place and ryan as organizer. i'll be supporter haha.

kevin.. might hv time to learn.. its quite easy. take a day or 2 to practise can le. when u leaving ar? r u able to bring many stuffs over? if so maybe i can give some toys or clothes cos my mom's place hv them.

just.. i juz got to use the net now since fri. will go check my mail n sms u

speaking of ice cream..how come u all hv so much ice cream at home? recently am craving for it leh. haha. kevin.. when can go ur hse for dinner n ice cream after tat? haha

i think we shd also start proposing,

which coffeeshop nearby got what good food? I am so sick of the coffeeshop food along Jalan Boon Lay but that is the next most convenient to calling Mcdonald.

SY Chen,

walk over to sheng siong, i think the hawker food there quite nice and quite a lot. it's not that far lor ... about 10 mins walk.

Valerie,

talking about that, i think that night the route we use are not the right choice, quite dangerous too cos of the big road with no traffic light. can walk via the walkway towards Gek Poh, but turn in at the big carpark.

going to boycott sheng siong after 1 bad encounter with them and their staff. prices arent that cheap, and price tags differ from cashier's records, thereby charging me higher. worse, bad service (and yet they are known for their service) with no apologies offered after their own cock-up

sy chen
doubt we have many gd food options nearby
we either eat elsewhere before we return home or we'll prepare few dishes ourselves at home.

reply from hdb on the 2 vacant shops at our void deck. if only they construct a bigger shop area for a kopi thiam

>>>

Dear Mr Kevin

We refer to your e-mail of 3 Jun 08 with regards to your enquiry on the 2 shop units at Blk 678D Jurong West St 64.

We wish to inform you that the construction works for the 2 shop units at Blk 678D Jurong West St 64 is targeted to complete sometime in 3rd quarter 2008 or so. The 2 shop units will cater mainly to essential retail/service trades and we intend to let them out once the construction works are completed

val ~
the weather has been hot and humid, and some ice cream in ur fridge is ideal, u had ur wedding earlier, so ice cream is a no no. u can consider storing some now

val
leaving in early july
thanks for the offer, however this time no arrangement for shipping container, so wont be able to bring along much stuff. can get from you next yr

hmm, thought u wanna give me a lunch treat leh

There are some good food places in Boon Lay shopping center and St 52... just that they are a bit far to walk...
The food courts in Jurong point are also not bad...

Sheng siong.... ha ha.... as Kevin mentioned... we did not have good experiences there... ;p

my hubby like Sheng Siong more than NTUC leh.

NTUC always very long queue on weekends.

it's hard to cook for 2 people only. Always end up with alot of left over.

Kevin,

I've to agree with you. They do had a problem with price tags. I had personally experienced that a total of 3 times in last 1 year at Sheng Siong West Coast. I did wrote in to them once and if i remembered correctly, the price tag was awfully positioned wrongly so next time have to read the price tag product description before buying. Ha ha.. on other 2 occasions, it was my colleague, he was convinced the price was indicated wrongly.

Oh btw, i got a Hitachi fridge, same model as Valerie. Quite happy with it so far. I had to choose between Hitachi and Samsung, in the end got hitachi because i wasn't impressed with the workmanship for Samsung fridge. The vegetables compartment at the bottom can't seemed to pull out nicely, i think that only applies for lower capacity samsung fridge. The bigger one i find no problem.