Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

overlay is expensive -_-
r u planning to do it?

they say got those spray that u can use, instead of overlay. can't remember the name of the spray but cleaning will be more difficult.

Wonnie from which blk?

lala8> sorry plastic ones i m not sure... but i remember watching tis show which says tat tis place sells cheap household equipment... u might wanna check it out...

5B Pte Ltd (Kitchen utensils)
42/44/46 Joo Chiat Rd(opp. Joo Chiat Shopping Complex)
Tel: 64587228

Li> somewhere near sri mariaman temple... in one of the lanes...

nic (nicolenai) > Hi nic, the lighting shop opp chinese garden is which one huh?coz when I went there, there was a few lighting shops...

Hi ppl

im at blk 677B ya thinking of doing the overlay.. coz ID say if spray scare the spray will come off very soon since i bleach my floors hehe...

has anyone tried applying for the HDB permit to do the overlay?

Hi Wonnie, I overlayed both my toilet tiles. The HDB permit application was done by my ID, so I m nt sure whether she applied for overlaying or not. But in any case, HDB has no issues with overlaying. They only wont allow us to hack and re-do the tiles.

2008 Feng Shui Updates - Bad Feng Shui Areas in 2008

West feng shui area is another unfavorable sector in 2008. The feng shui energies present there can trigger disharmony and frequent arguments in one's relationships. Color pink is recommended here to soothe the West area feng shui energies in 2008. Bring the color with decor elements, such as new pillows, upholstery fabric, a rug, or a piece of art.

To create a perfect feng shui bedroom. 1. Let go of the TV, computer or exercise equipment in your bedroom 2. Open the windows often 3. Have several levels of lighting in your bedroom, or use a dimmer switch 4. Use soothing colors to achieve a good feng shui balance in your bedroom 5. Keep all the bedroom doors closed at night, be it the closet doors, the en-suite bathroom door or the bedroom door

if open the window, the rain water will come in le -_-

die lah, now so heavy rain. The workers always leave the window open.

later must go up check liao

worried about your parquet eh? ya lor the rain very big now.. if they dont' close the window the rain will damage my parquet !! al;so worried...

For the second installation of the air con fan coil, should we be arranging before or after the re-grinding/polishing of parquet?

One side of the story says that to be after the parquet is regrind and polished because the dust produced by the grinding will go into the fan coil and damage it, even cover it also cannot prevent dust from entering.

The other side is to be before the parquet is done because the installation sometimes will scratch or damage the flooring or wall again.

How is your done?

we do it before after the painting is done. Maybe when u install the air-con, just use more tape to cover it.

We thought of installing before they complete the renovation becoz i still want them to touch up the paint where drilling is done and etc.

Never thought of the grinding part leh

hi xiaoqing,
Overlay tiles in toilet means overlay both the floor and walls?

How much is the quote? Anyone got pictures of hwo it looks like after? I prefer those tiles that wont leave black black stains from my feet after a birth or walking in and out of toilet.

I dont really like the tiles in the toilet, but afraid of over spending in renovation

Today latest news! Anyone knows where will it be exactly? But it surely sounds like nearby only

Singapore is planning to have its very own lake district in Jurong, which will be a magnet for business and leisure.

The Jurong Lake District made up of two precincts, Jurong Gateway and Lakeside will offer a potential development area of 360 hectares or about the size of Marina Bay.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan announced this when he unveiled part of the government’s Draft Master Plan 2008 Review.

The plan will guide Singapore’s land use over the next 10 to 15 years.

The Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) said the Jurong Lake District is expected to attract investments worth billions of dollars.

Under the proposed plan, some 750,000 square metres of land will be set aside at Jurong Gateway for offices, hotels, food and beverage, and entertainment uses.

It is also expected to add about 2,800 hotel rooms, equivalent to the hotel belt at the Singapore River area. Land to build 1,000 new private homes will be available as well.

The URA said the Jurong Gateway is set to be the biggest commercial hub outside the city centre nearly 2.5 times the size of the Tampines Regional Centre.

Lakeside, which is the other component of the Jurong Lake District, has been earmarked to be the next waterfront playground.

Urban planners said there will be plenty of leisure options there, including nature—themed and edu—tainment attractions.

i tink it's near lakeside mrt and jurong east central, near IMM where they are building something called "the box".

Lin

My kitchen sink is a black granite "stone" type which cost abt $230++ which bought at Sin siang choon (IMM),at first wanted to buy those aluminium type that is cheaper, but since me and my wife like the design so just go ahead and bought it.We felt it would matched well with the black table top for our kitchen cabinet.

As for the storage heater, it is a Ariston brand 25L which cost about $245 from adamas. I think the price of this storage heater is quite standard bah.

Usually i will prefer to buy stuff from a shop as long it accept credit card installment plan, like the ho kee and sin siang choon will accept 6 months as long u spend $500, adamas and asia excel accept credit card payment but no installment plan whereas poh joo won't accept credit card at all, but as long the price is lower than others, don;t think it will affect their business.

Two popular brands for storage heaters are Ariston and Joven. I chose Ariston since I'm more familiar with this brand. My Ariston 30L cost $230 from Lookz, thanks to a discount via my ID Jonathan from Aranus.

------------------------------------------------
Goatie's reno blog: http://www.tankclan.net/reno

for those who install their tank in the kitchen toilet, when u open the toilet door, will 'bang' into the water tank?

W/o the tank, already quite difficult to close the door - have to move in than stand on 1 side to close it.

Now with the water tank at the back, i think must change to bi-fold door liao

SY Chen,

which type of storage heater you got? The vertical type or the horizontal type?

Goatie

Where is Lookz? Maybe i can ask my ID to see if can get any discounts...hee

Hi Ryan,

That one is more applicable to JE residents and Lake side residents, we all sorry. So more good news for those who bought Yuan sheng.

Li

HiHi,

I check with you all any lobang of PVC swing door for my toilets. Cos my id recommend aluminium bi fold but i prefer those PVC type. Any shops guys?

Li

Hi Goatie,
your house is very nice! I like your dining area. Your pd doors are nice and really save space. I'm considering of changing also. How much did you spend on changing them?

we are thinking of PD door intially.

but i had heard quite a few bad review on it.

They were saying bi-fold ones are more sturdy than PD Door. PD door support only on top which made it easier to clean at the bottom (w/o the lines) but also the same reason that it is more fragile.

hi goatie, i'm considering to use PD door for quite a number of areas in my house:
- shower screens for both toilets (vs. standard glass shower screen wif swing door),
- doors for both toilets (vs. standard HDB 'piak piak' bi-fold door) and
- kitchen door (vs. wooden bi-fold door wif glass panels quoted by my ID @ $750).

b4 i commit into getting so many PD doors, i wud like to hear your experience wif PD door so far. like any trapping of fingers, flimsy etc ?

other SG members who r using PD doors, pls feel free to share ur feedback oso.

Tks!

the full swing type is the best but too bad, toilet too small le.

Young people still oke. But next time both side parents or elderlys want to go toilet, than quite difficult for them to move.

We only intend to change the kitchen toilet door coz the more common 1.

hi jopp,

you can consider sliding door for your kitchen door... if too many PD doors i think it might over-kill it.

Why change shower screen door? hee save the money lah

Here are my thoughts on the doors:

Current wooden door
- Very sturdy
- Save money by keeping it
- Widest swing radius

Bi-fold
- Narrow swing radius
- Tendency to be a bit loud when opening/closing

Pd door
- Narrowest swing radius
- Arguably not as sturdy as the bi-fold
- A bit pricey

I chose the pd door because I was impressed by its narrow swing radius which creates much more space when entering and leaving the toilet. Ultimately it's down to personal preference. Just choose the one you are most comfortable with, whilst also taking the cost into account.

Hi jopp, I haven't come across any issue with regards to the trapping of fingers. Once you get used to the slide and open mechanism, it's quite straightforward. Just need to make sure the top edge of the door is aligned with the frame before sliding the panel. Hard to say on the durability. I feel that with proper use it should last for several years - time will tell! I highly recommend that you visit the pd door shop at 576 Balestier Road to try out the mechanism and also see the choice of laminates. I agree with Ryan that you could consider a sliding door for the kitchen.

Hi Meirong, the pd doors I got each cost $388 (ex GST) with the type of laminates we chose (frosted glass and wood laminate respectively). They have cheaper alternatives. Do note that they will waive the GST if you pay in full instead of a deposit. My id was able to get an additional discount of $76 for me.

Hi Ryan,

Lookz is located at 308 Balestier Road. They quoted the Ariston 25L as more expensive than the 30L! They said that this was because the 25L was solid stainless steel whilst the 30L had a glass and titanium lining.

I don't know if there are 15L available leh ... sounds very inefficient to heat up 25L or 30L when you don't need so much. Storage heater is one of the biggest consumption of electricity. According to SPservices, a 25L is sufficient for a family of 4 usage.

Since a storage heater lifespan is approx. 5 - 10 years, by that time it's just right to change to 25L when the family gets bigger.

Are there 15L available?

The only door i changed is my master bedroom toilet door. I changed it to a frosted type for the appearance, while sticking to the full swing door. Like Goatie says, it depends on your preferences.

Nic,

I also went to Spencer to buy my lightings. My ID told me Spencer is honest.

hi folks, many thanks indeed for ur helpful advices!

goatie: I believe the shop @ balestier is "EastPlan21"? Yup have been there & very much impressed wif the doors. Hehe! And dat's where i made my decision to use the "PD door" version of shower screen (oso since my flat doesn't come wif any screen originally).
(btw, i'm an 'intruder' to this thread lah...cos my hus is at St65. Sorries!)

ryan: Due to the design of the kitchen, i'm not able to have a sliding door for kitchen lor.
So it's either full swing or bi-fold...and bi-fold being the better choice cos it doesn't take up so much space. And then, we found PD Door and comparing with carpentry bi-fold door quoted by my ID, it's cheaper by 40%!

Thanks for highlighting the "overkill" part. :p Will seriously consider again on PD door options for the various areas again!

Hi Nic,

It's hard to say whether his pricing is the best as i had quotes where it is cheaper elsewhere in Balestier. However, i think pricing can be manipulated a lot just by giving you an inferior quality ballast or lighting so in the end, it's important to feel that the seller is an honest person. For that, my ID recommends me to that shop as she had been sending her clients there for a long time and she told me he is honest. I thought he wouldn't try to rip me off because he needs my ID's biz, and my ID says if there are any problems they can get it fix and replaced easily through the rapport she had with the owner. Thought it's just a premiere to pay for a peace of mind.

Thanks Goatie. The price sounds quite reasonable to me. I'll go down Balestier to see and discuss with my husband whether to change or not.

Ryan, IMM Hoe Kee got sell 15L heater. I'm planning to get a 25L one cos I feel is more economical. Like you've said a heater normally can last around 8 years, by that time should have small kids in the house already. Also, normally people in the house don't bathe right after another, so if the 2nd person bathe eg 30mins later there'll still be hot water and don't need to on heater again. At most if want to save energy can on the heater for shorter time and turn it to the hottest to bathe.