Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hi Li,

I tink the B blks are all blocked frm the wind frm the other blks.. cos its facing the inside of the estate... my hse in 678c no suc prob leh... but those in 676a or 677d shud haf quite nice wind....

Li, i dunno leh. I still got water up till now. Hee. about ard 3 wks plus le. I will only "activate & pay" when reno starting. Heh heh heh

My living room is blocked by the 2 blocks beside us. Shelter us from the sun from either side. Even if i go during the afternoon, also not very hot. Too much sun shine in i don't like, coz it make the living room very stuffy and might have reflection when watching TV.

Not much complaint for wind though coz recently weather quite okie. Have to wait till Summer than can see the effect.

But my masterbedroom and kitchen might get a bit of evening sun. Kitchen still okie lah coz can dry the clothes but masterbedroom no choice loh, got install aircon

if i knew water and electricity is going to be free, i probably should not have activate them on the first day.

Think i will ask my HTB to cancel it first and re-activate when reno start

Olivia, what is TO? Did u clean the tile grout using cleaner and toothbrush first before reporting to them about dirty tile grouts?

Also I find many tiles stained with dark brown spots, looked like paint or coffee. and want to change them but I heard that cutting the tiles out and relaying those pieces will caused unevenness in 6 mths time. So it better to ask them to replace the entire living room? Or ask them don't change but removed the stains with cleaners?

SY Chen,

Who knows they may charged us on our first month bill? But so far water and electricity are still running after 2 weeks.

D'ZIRE must had spammed a total of 52 times so far. If i was considering D'ZIRE and i see this, i will give a second thought about engaging them. It looks so unprofessional.

haha~~ n who noes they may still charge the usage cos the meter is still running... even if we haven activate, they can still read the meter and see how much has been used... =P

hi Ryan On (ryanon123) >>> .... you also considering Plush ?? who is the designer-in-charge ???
how do you find plush?? maybe we want to discuss in private ??
do you want to consider imagec*eative? i just got their quote, they are comparative to plush and chew interior actually...

my FH is shortlisting a few more ID firm...think we have to look around awhile more before deciding...

same here...i have given up V*gas, Rest&relax, Artrend, Cisreen...

i hear too much bad comments about chew interior... i got Sky, i think he's the boss there. if you want to discuss, email me your msn lor if you have it. my email above.

Nic,

i haven't started my reno yet... i was referring to when i open my door for the first time.

i doubt they will charge coz no active account yet

My first time bill already $100+ becoz of the $100 deposit. Die also won't get back the $$. Haha.

does anyone of you down here encounter hollow skirtings?Today, contractors came to check defects. I told them abt the hollow skirting in the living rm,he said they will only change if the skirting is cracked.

I would like to commnet as well. My master bedroom toilet grouts very dirty but the kitchen toilet is very clean. So can i report this to the HDB as well??

Li

Xesthir, i test-clean one part with water. I asked the officer & contractor about the colour of the grout. They say it's stained so have to redo. No matter how u clean also be brownish. They are not going to change my tiles, just dig up the old grout and refill. I didnt see any stains on my tiles though i only sweep the floor. =)

wan to check,

we are supposed to give dimensions of our electrical appliances to our ID. Should i give them the exact dimensions or add a few more lenghth?

For living room itself, i think TV, players, sound systems should be okie but i am thinking of the fridge. We are looking at this Samsung fridge - top and bottom type only but my mum suggest us to get bigger fridge to put more things.

Hi SY Chen,

A fridge length and width are usually quite standard, only the height will be higher for larger capacity fridge. However, suggest to add a few length for future purpose. Right now, i do not think it's necessary to buy a bigger fridge, probably in 5-10 years or more when more members are added to the family, then can change.

Regarding the TV, home theatre system, i have to ask my ID about it. Is it necessary to buy early to fix the dimensions and cabling during reno? I'm not very keen to buy so early because the move in date are still quite a distance away.

my ID gave us a list of items
for us to fill up the dimension.

Most of the electrical shops allow us to buy first and deliver until later. Can change model if want by the time of delivery.

think have to check with the ID again

Hey all!! Just bought a mit Starmex inverter at 3860 system 4 from all best

They gave us 1/2 inch totaline insulators and smaller copper pipes for the air con gas.

I am still convincing my HTB to get 1.

System 3 for the rooms and system 1 or 2 for the living room but he insisted that there is no need for air con in the living room. Next time, when we need it, than we will install.

Are you sure? if next time you do it, it will be more of a hassle as it will be dirty and u may need to paint over the casing. Anyway the price difference is not really a lot and u save on the hassle next time. Your value of the house also do increases so i think it justifies the amount. i have lots of frens who do regret it so you really need to think carefully. if your hall wasn't that big, u can go for the 22,10,10,10. I think will be 3000+. Good luck in convincing him

ya
i told him that when we decide to do it later, not that easy anymore. If want to do, must do it at the same time.

Anybody did 'tong du' rituals for their house already? Should do after HDB rectification or just find any good day to go it?

Hey,

I wanna check with you all, how about cracks on the doors? Will they change a completely new one for us? Then how about dents or holes on parquet flooring? Will they change or? Any idea?

Li

li,

the parquet not possible to change... what they will do at most is to re-grind for you.

Likewise, if the cracks on the doors are not too much, i think they will just sandpaper it and repolish again.

Hi Guys & Gals,

Finally got my 2nd appointment...hmm after so long wait 25th Feb guess the rest who not yet get will get soon

I also intend to have aircon in our living room..also not sure whether we will on it offen anot next time we move in.My 5 room flat is at the street 93, full height window in living room but i don't really feel windy in the afternoon with all the window open,not sure how will it be at night.Windy?

i know a few friends who installed air-con in the living room but didn't switch it on after initial first few months because of the hefty electricity bills.

If you think the bills are not going to affect your usage, then go ahead and install one.

It's hard to decide eh... hee

For the past 30 years , i live with my parent and we never have a single aircon unit install in my current home.Whenever i went out, i had observed that nowaday there are more and more households have aircon install based on what i had seen the aircon outdoor compressor outside.I feel the ratio for aircon and no aircon is 7 : 3 .

I will definitely install aircon in my new home for all my bed rooms and the living room ,even though only my wife and me will be staying our new home.But i will worried that next time if we got guest come over to stay, that will be no aircon for them .So now just follow the heart and enjoy whatever we can do now, money can earn back wat!! since now we can afford to have the time for better comfort (air-con)and have a choice to use,the just do it lor, rather than regret later as the time for u to enjoy already pass which no matter how we also cannot bring back rite?

Ryan, starmex is with the R410 gas or R22 gas? The newer gas is more expensive. Yours got spare parts warranty included?

anyone knows what brand is good for system 4 aircon ? we are tinking of installing in living room as well.....

so have most of you already settled down with ID firm or contractor ?? my BF and I are still searching around....

i read there are bad comments about Chew Interior - what are they ???can share with me???
because they are one of the ID I have shortlisted.

anyone has experience with Kass Design / Homely / ??