Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi Plasterbride,

you should visit www.renotalk.com they had more complete forum coverage on ID, i believe you should be able to find out more about Chew Interior. Ya i heard bad comments about them too, not too sure what it is about but i had avoided them. I have not heard of kass design or Homely.

On air-con, i think the most popular choice are still mitsubishi electric starmex. However, samsung might be a cheaper alternative if you're on budget constraint.

p.s. i am still searching for ID too.. think won't confirm until early to mid march.

thanks alot Ryan...shall figure out the renotalk forum...

ya me too, guess we will also settle down on ID firm sometime in March
heard that ID firm usually increase pricing sometime in the year due to material cost increase, any idea when this will be ??? i want to avoid this price hike...

Take note if you're buying TV. If you had already bought a HD-DVD TV, then curse your luck.

Sony's Blu-ray looks set to become the standard for high-definition DVDs after Toshiba signalled Monday that it may give up in a long-running format battle, to the relief of investors.

Toshiba Corp. is reviewing its HD DVD business and "a complete withdrawal is one of the options it is considering," an industry source told AFP on condition of anonymity.

Hi Ryan,

Dun really understand wat u mean.. so does it affect only those who bought Toshiba? I juz bought a Sony LCD HD-ready TV at Best Denki IMM. Its really a very good deal...

is there any price difference between Harvey Norman and Best Denki?

hopefully the price will go down soon. At least make it more worth it to buy furnitures/appliances now. Got to settle it asap

Will be going down to Sungei Kadut this weekend to have a look

Plasterbride,

I don't know.. i read in some forums people said that it would be cheaper to renovate after CNY. Probably the ID were too busy so they marked up higher to get only the more profitable biz.

Nic,

It only affects those who buys the TV that is HD DVD. If toshiba is really going to dump that technology in favour of competing Blu ray (FULL-HD), then getting the HD-DVD is useless no disc will ever be produced in HD-DVD format anymore.

SY Chen,

For TV, prices will continue to fall. Don't buy TV so early, or be tempted by the price. You be surprised in a few months time, it would be even cheaper. There will be a new line of TV launching soon, those extremely slim type.. samsung had already had a showcase of it for launched soon. I'm sure Sony and the rest will also have something out. Once that is happen, all the existing models will fall definitely. Don't be tempted by the IT fair in suntec next month
It's their chance to dump the stocks before new series arrived, that's what i'm guessing. I may be wrong.

I am waiting for the mid year GSS to start shopping for the rest.

Oh i have one thing to share. I was told by the officer in charge of my defects list that the contractor had run out of door stocks.

Apparently, he told me the new stocks will only arrive in Apr... and tell me to expect it to be fix only in May. What SHIT !

Nic,

Which model of SOny TV did you buy? The V series i think? if i know you're getting Sony TV, i would had told you i know of a place who had a better deal. Think before CNY, they had a promotion for all the Sony W/X/V/S etc. Take 40V300A for example, the standard promotion was give away $499 home theatre system and $300 Choice voucher, and the price is $2699 or $2799 at Best Denki IMM. For the other place i was saying, they gives additional $300 sony ericson phone and charge only $2599. All the other ranges also had additional gifts. They are Sony exclusive distributor. I told Valerie about that but in the end, we didn't buy as i speculating price will fall further.

as with most, if not all electrical applicances, price will definately drop when there's a new product line coming out.

ryan>> but i only bought my sony 40s310a at best denki which is a later model than 300a for 1999 wif $300 choice vouchers.. tink its really a good bargain already...

but if like u say prices will drop maybe in a few mths time such bargains will be every where...

Ryan,

there's no such thing as a HD DVD TV. HD DVD is a disc format, same for Blu-ray. Its like DVD and VCD, but in this case both format are Full-HD.

Any HD ready/Full HD TV that you bought, with hdmi or component inputs, most likely will be able to display this 2 formats. It all drives down to which player you are using, HD DVD player or a blu-ray player.

As more and more companies are moving to use blu-ray exclusively, rumors are Toshiba (who leads the HD DVD camp) may decide to abandon HD DVD.

unless someone bought a HD DVD player here, i would say that no one need to get too worried about the HD DVD issues, just need to take note of this if you want to by a next-gen disc player

KHY,

OH OH OH .. You are very wrong

Not any TV can play Blu-ray or HD DVD disc. If you want to play Blu-ray disc, buying the Blu-ray player is not sufficient. You need to get a Full HD TV in order to play Blu-ray disc. A HD-Ready TV cannot play Blu-ray disc even though you had a Blu-ray player.

If you buys a HD DVD supported TV, if the format is abandoned you will be paying a premiere for a HD DVD supported TV for nothing, otherwise not a issue. It's like paying more for a Full HD supported TV but then with no Blu-ray disc around ... so what's the point, Full HD purpose is solely to play Blu-ray disc.

In this case, Toshiba if drops the HD-DVD format.. will close all factories producing a HD DVD supported format TV. From there, the only few market players who uses HD-DVD format , eg. microsoft will have to change to using Blu-ray as the industry standard.

Maybank just launched a promotional home loan package. First year fixed interest rate @ 1.68%, Second Year 2.68% and third year 3.38%.

The first bank to take advantage of falling interest rates.

3 weeks promotion only.

Refer to Strait Times Money Page

Like to check with ppl out here, for those that have the defects done, will HDB call you up to inform you and return your keys? or do i need to call them again. thanks.

Hi Ryan,

There's 2 types of HDTV around, Full HD and HD ready.
Full HD can display up to 1080p or 1080i, where HD ready TV must display a minimum of 720p and some even are compatible with 1080i or 1080p as they will downscale the signal to the screen's resolution. You can see some information here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_ready

Do look at the following link also, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray_Disc#Player_profiles , scroll down to the comparison table, you can see that both Blu-ray and HD DVD output to 1920x1080p or 1920x1080i. As long as you have Full HD TV, you can display both format, as long as you have the correct connection from the player, HDMI or Component.

As HD ready TV can only display 720p, you can connect to both players also as they should be able to downscale to 720p for the TV. Obviously when doing downscale, some data will be lost but nevertheless, 720p is still much better quality then a normal DVD(480p). The thing that you have to take note if you have a HD ready TV, get a player that can downscale the video.

I would still like to state that a TV, Full HD or HD Ready, doesn't have a direct connection to Blu-ray or HD DVD, you can even buy a Sony TV and connect a HD DVD player or a Toshiba TV to a blu-ray player and they will display the video beautifully. In the end, it's the player and the disc that is different, the data that is flowing down the cable to the TV is the same.

Hi KHY,

I doubt that, but i will just leave it that way. Not going to buy Full HD anyway, DVD is enough for me so settle for HD-Ready. Hee I think by the time Blu-ray disc becomes an industry standard and replaces DVD in a few years time, it's time to change my TV liao...
Blu-ray disc is sooooo EXXXX

Bernard,

HDB will call you to ask you to collect from Branch office. That's what i was told.

Hey Sy,

Meaning that If I engage a ID, they will help me liase everything with HDB? Cos this sat the HDB will be having a joint inspection with me. So i can still ask my ID to liase withthem???

LI

For my case, i submitted the padlock key to them at end Jan. They did not arrange a joint inspection with me, however one guy called me from my unit and discuss the defects with me on the phone. I didn't really like that, before CNY they had fixed about 3 or 4 minor defects, the main defects had not been done.

Another 2 weeks passed, nothing had been done yet. I called up my officer on Monday and he had told them to arrange a joint inspection with me and hurry to fix it. So far, no calls from the service centre yet.

i got my keys on CNY's eve and submit the defects last week. i had my joint inspection with my officer yesterday and they said they will call us up when they are going to start rectifying the defects. hope they wont drag mine like they drag ryan's.

Lin

For me, HDB called up my HB and asked him if there were defects and arranged for a joint inspection wif us the same wk which was last sat.. then tis sat.. they are sending the contractors to rectify the defects...

however we din haf many defects to begin with...

li, i think it should not be much of a problem. When the officer contact u again or something, just ask them to liaise with them or get your ID to contact HDB directly.

we submitted our ID's contact instead of ours. Than, our ID will update us the status instead.

oh gosh...i hope HDB can hurry up fix our defects because we have a total of 17 defects !! some are major defects like window crack, hollow tile , unaligned skirting, cracked walls etc...

wow ryan, you are an expert in TV man...thanks for the tips...yeah..my HTB is also saying waiting for GSS to start and start to spree like mad ...then our pockets will start to feel empty and light then... hahaha

ya, agree...think for those who dying to get work done before CNY, has to pay a higher price to rush the work i guess...agree on this logic...

No la, just went to look at TV a few times and were educated by the salesperson.

Anyway, the service centre called me yesterday evening and say they will fix up some of the defects by this week. I told them i would go down this Saturday to check Hee hee... Anyone going down this Saturday? Maybe we can visit each other unit and help out spot defects, always think i did not check the defects thoroughly, may missed out some. I should be down there in the morning, maybe 11am.

I'm thinking of calling them to arrange a joint inspection. I never had one with them, i think for those who submitted directly to the service centre will have a joint inspection but for my case, i submitted to HDB branch office. The HDB officer had helped me to coordinate with the service centre. When my defects was not fixed, i called up the officer and it is him who got the service centre to call me. The lady told me they would arrange a joint inspection for me when they fixed all the defects, so if i'm satisfactory with it, they will return the key to me. However i think also better to have a joint inspection prior to them fixing up, or else who knows they missed out anything and drag the whole process again.

my hubby, both our parents and i went to open house yesterday... we came close to 15 no of defects. i found that the grout lines in between tiles were quite dirty. arent they supposed to b white? esp the toilets, cement and paint stains,dirty grout lines and we nearly missed checking our bedroom doors !! it cant close properly... it seems that the doors are not properly aligned, we need to really push doors to make it close. Excess glue stains on our parquet flooring, the joints between the parquet flooring and skirting. hubbby and i will continue our defect findings this weekend.

Ryan, probably u can add like a stair from Blk 680 (the estate beside us). Now if we take bus, have to climb up the grass patch which is quite steep and can be quite slippery when it rains

Hee... they will ask you to walk in from the main gate... nobody asking you to climb up the grass slope...

It's the one beside the MSCP right?

I use that all the time to cut through.

it makes perfect sense for them to do it...

Herain,

I think the floor slippery issue had to be sent to the Town Council who is in charge of the neighbourhood.

Aside above, i was quite disappointed with the structure of the buildings, dont know who come up with the design... SOOOO MANY PILLARS on the ground floor in all direction. It's like a little maze... good place to play police and thief heh

Just follow the coloured tiles at the void deck flooring and it will lead you to the lift lobby.

anyone submitted the feedback to LTA about removal of the road kerb divider for cars to turn right after exiting from the estate?

anyone from st 93 flats will be going down to their units this sat ??? hehe...maybe we can visit each other units

I will be going down at around 1pm , meeting a ID firm there...

Ryan, convenient for us to visit your unit at 11am ??? after that you can come over to st 93 with your Wife to our unit if you want..
hehe

Hi Plaster bride,

Ah, i am from blk 988A.
When did you got your key? You have not started your reno yet? Mine is starting soon (end of this month, i think). Which ID do you engage? Mine is from Stiles Desino

By the way, which floor did you choose? i got 2nd floor, very like it except the noise created by the vehicles on the road. My masterbed room is facing road side, sigh..

I do not have msn in office,

Hi Plasterbride, I am frm 989B too. But i wont b gg down this sat. Will be gg on Mon instead (my reno officially starting on that day).

if u b there, can pop by.