Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hey huiling,

when u said wrong colour tiles in master bedroom toilet wat did u mean?
is ur mbr toilet tiles in peach while the kitchen toilet tiles are in blue? can we submit tat as a defect??

Hi herain (herain)!! thanks for the reply.. appreciate that.. i can go down today..

nic (nicolenai)
Wrong color tile compared to the rest of the tiles in the master toilet. i saw 2 tiles wrong color.

huiling> serious?? oh wow!!! such a mistake can oso be made????

ok.. cos our mbr toilet tiles are in peach n kitchen toilet tiles r in blue.. but tink it shud haf been the other way round cos our kitchen tiles are peach so kitchen toilet shud be peach too.. sighz.. m i the only one wif tis prob??

all the mbr toilet are peach and kitchen toilet are blue.. i also find it very confusing.. should be the other way round..

the blue looks nicer.. maybe the contractor make the mistake of doing all the color the other way round... peach color quite ugly leh.... SIGH

oh is it??? tats quite sad.. =(
its super ugly.. but tink we'll still stick to it lah... btw anyone noes if we can change the sink n toilet bowl?

ANyone got any quote to relay tiles in the MBR and kitchen toilets? the sqf in btoh toilets is small so i hope is quite affordable. anyone can advise the quote?

Can we change the Main door to something of a better look and colour? THe main door looks very ugly , heavy and cheap coz is merely painted over, that explains why i had problem opening the door.

Hi nic,

I saw my contractor took out the whole toilet bowl to relay my toilet tiles so I think the answer is yes.

I am also changing my master bedroom sink. =)

Hi neighbours...

Can i ask all those that han ve done their checking.. I realise that all my wooden skirting ard the living room is dented... seems like every one of them has got a round dent.. not sure if its normal or am i getting paranoid...

can anyone enlighten me pls...

Opps Ryan.. i went to use mop on my parquet floor.. Alamak!!!!!!!!

Hi xesthier... i was quoted $1250 to overlay existing wall tiles till ceiling height & $380 to overlay exisint floor titles using non slip homogenous...

Hi guys.. can i check does anyone has a quote for hacking the bedroom wall???

i used mop to mop my floor also

wait 5 years than re-do yr toilet lah. Toilet already small, overlay seem to make it even smaller.

My Id had done the defect for us and will liaise with HDB directly. Think better lah if not got to keep taking leave

SY, you are smart...to ask ID to liaise with HDB..sighz....if only i have fixed the ID, i will get my ID to liaise with HDB directly, afterall the $$ already paid to the ID firm....

wah.,..1-2 months at least to rectify the defects and do up...2 contractors...gosh, i gonna tell my FH abt this...want to faint liao....mean i need to wait till around Apr before i can start my renovation...argh...

SY >>> can you share your ID firm with me? are they good/expensive ??? can share your quotation with me for a reference? my email is [email protected]

Hi all, I had my joint inspection yesterday with the HDB people. Even so, all my defects not fully rectified. We have already given them 3 weeks to do it. So hubby was telling them off that by this week, they have to finish everythings. We couldn't wait for them, so my renovations actually started. hmm..can say my reno is 40% done already. Need to 'push' the HDB people more if they are taking too long a time and also be more hardworking in checking the rectified defects as they might nt have done a good job. This is what happen to me. I probably reported a few but became more. That's why the defects still now not fully rectified.

By the way, anyone knows what is the maximum capacity of the water heater that we can install in the toilet ( as in hanging it on the wall). I thought of getting a 30 litres heater. Thanks.

wonnie,

that's the quote for 1 toilet right? So it will be about $3K for 2 toilets eh. I think SY Chen may be right, overlaying the toilet may make it look even smaller so why not use the current one for a few years (and they are NEW also) until we can remove the tiles?

mop the parquet should be okay lah.. as long as your mop is not too wet
i mop it the first time also cos very dirty, use cloth don't know how long to clean finish... but got scolded by my wife for the mop is too wet.. ha ha

there are special liquid for mopping parquet available, think twice as expensive compare to those normal types. That day saw at Giant about $16 for one bottle.

actually the HDB officer also can't do much to speed up the defects problem, they also will convey to the contractors but if the contractors got bad attitudes, also very hard for them. Personally i would suggest speaking up to the contractors directly but they probably have difference contractors handling difference defects so it's a big hassle-full problem.

Chase them, tick them off also quite scary because scared they anyhow do your flat or 'screw' up your house to take revenge.. ha ha you never know lah... overwork... then super sian.. then anyhow do ... then bad thoughts.. ha ha

plasterger, you got mail!

wah $16 so expensive ah. Cham. I bought the dettol cleaner to wipe when we first open door.

Need to sterile. After that, i don't bother mopping le since they are going to do renovation after CNy. hahha, only use the magic cleaner to clean only.

Finally...get to open door at my new home on sunday, i was very sick that day but no choice cause that was the only day which me and my fiancee were not working.

I was so sick that i couldn't even list any defects!!!As for my fiancee,she was too excited that she only care about the masterbed room dimensions so as to decide whether is big enough to place king size bed in it and she hope to have a longer length of built in wardrode. Both of us felt that everything is ok leh, we had checked all the doors,windows can be opened and closed..anyway the house is very dirty, look like those burning ashes laying all around.ID said that must clean the house first before u start to see the REAL defects coming out..haha

As expected, masterbed room is small but since we don't put any dressing table, tv inside the room ,it shouldn't be any problem.Will intend to change our masterbed toilet door to bi-fold door cause the door swing really take up place whenever open or close.We also forgot to bring charger to test for electricity through the socket plug...really silly for both of us

Overall, we are very delighted for our new home!!

HI,

Anyone uses Stiles Design for your reno ID?
I got 3 quotes from different IDs, but i found their most ok and "honest".

Anyone uses their service before? Can give any comments? Thanks.

hi winningelevan,

think over the next few days you will start to spot new defects... we also the same.. at first only thought the door got a little bit problem, then we found the basin water cannot flow through, then parquet skirting got gaps, then kitchen wall tiles got cracked lines and then hollow tiles at living room.

Hi Ryan,

I understand your worries. I worried for it too initially, but found out that if I dont go to the HDB to make noise, nothing will get done. So personally, me and my hubby actually make a trip down to HDB branch office to make noise and want to see their head to get them off working. Basically, even if you dont make noise, the contractor also wont do a good job cause they got too many units to do. Only if you let them know that you are unhappy with the work done, they will then get to do something. This contractor is under HDB, therefore complaining it to the property officer or even the technical officer etc. it helps. For me, I really met a lot of problems with the contractor who created more defects for me than those i reported. The things they promised to do also not done even after given them ample time. Therefore, I'm left with no choice but to make complain. I even got the consultant to go down and take note of all these defects and so as to get the contractor working. For my case, really mad as just my main door alone, from cant close properly to cant even open the door and the main gate too.

Anyway, above is just my piece of advice after going through the problem I faced. Its up to the individual on how you want to get things done.

By the way, anyone bought fridge already? Any recommendation?

hi joelle,

thanks for your advice. but it's really hard to see how anything can be done now as it is going to be CNY. let's see how it goes lor...

i haven't bought fridge yet but should be buying mitsubishi electric fridge... otherwise Toshiba.. not thinking about other brands..

I've bought my fridge liao... Samsung. Intially was considering the Mitsubishi one (the "inverted" one with freezer at the bottom) but the price was more costly and not recommended by the sales staff (something about the compressor being at the bottom).

Bought the Samsung in the end because the price was more reasonable but more importantly, more suitable for us coz we need a fridge that is easy to clean and allows us to move the shelves easily (in case we need to put the whole pot in the fridge) and a large freezer (for our ice cream!) Hee...

Is skirting suppose to have hollow sound? Almost all my skirting are hollow in living room...Is it consider defects?
Pls advise me..=(

hi all, I collected my keys in the same area in Jan 08. Anyone knows "how" HDB will chase us for the ROM certificate? I have not planned my ROM yet and I read that I have to do so in 3 mths time. During the 2nd appt, the officer serving us did not mention anything abt this. I am having some problems with the preparations for the ROM and not sure when HDB will give me a heart attack by sending a warning letter. anyone noes?

Hi shan,

Samsung is one my of choice, the other is Hitachi. What do you meant by samsung fridge is easier to clean?

By the way, anyone bought a heater already? What is the maximum litres we can buy and installed (as in hang it on the wall)it in the toilet?

Hi Joelle,

I don't mean that Samsung fridge are easier to clean... Just that the several models/ brands of fridge that I shortlisted, the Samsung one is one that allows for easier clean as the compartments etc can put pulled out or taken out more easily so that I can reach the corners and nooks for cleaning. =)

I have also bought my heater liao. =) Fifteen litres one. Actually one should look at how many people will be using it instead of getting the biggest one possible. Coz the bigger it is, the more costly it is going to get for both the heater and your electicity bills.

Estelle st 64 Blk 675A
toothytooth st 64 Blk 675A
ngel65 st64 Blk 675A
Jiajia st 64 Blk: 675A
Henvye st 64 Blk: 675B
Kevin st 64 Blk: 675B
khy st 64 Blk: 675B
Yen Chern st64 Blk 675B
Justin&Jolin st64 Blk 675B
1118 st64 Blk 676A
Li st64 Blk 676B
cYANIDE st64 Blk 677A
Valerie st64 Blk 677B
Woonie st64 Blk 677B
Corrine/Shawn St64 Blk 678A
whyme st64 Blk 678A
whiteyling st64 blk 678A
CSY St st64 Blk 678A
Icegin st64 Blk 678A
rav3n st64 Blk 678B
Hwee*2 st64 Blk 678C
Impy st 64 Blk 678C
Ryan st64 Blk 678C
dar80 st 64 Blk 678D

Yvonne st93 Blk 988C
ckoonyin st93 989A
genwin st93 989A
Eileen st93 Blk 989B
xiao_qing st93 Blk 989B
Plasterbride st93 Blk 989B
Cutie cute st93 Blk 989C
Kopi/pleiades st93 Blk 989C
Purpletulips st93 Blk 989C
Pebblewee st93 Blk 989C
aforahma st93 989C
Hui ny st93 Blk 989D

Ann YS Blk 181
Lin YS Blk 182
Shan3 YS Blk 178
henkitty YS Blk 177

Hi.
im new here can any1 advise me wat must be done when i 1st open the door of a new house as i heard ppl saying roll a pineapple then buy 5 orange but i dont know wat the actal things that had to be done intending to open tomorrow can any1 one pls help or email to me [email protected] advise me step by step wat to do.thks

Hi everyone.
Wow! didn't know that this thread exist! I'm new here. I haven't get the keys yet leh. I'll be at Blk 678A st64. My 1st appt was in 27 Nov 07. I'm waiting and waiting...

hi everyone here...i am back...was busy meeting up with ID firms recently..has shortlist Plush and Imagecr** so far...any other good reliable ID firm to recommend ???

anyone here also considering them - Plush and ImageCr**? maybe we can discuss in private about their service and workmanship etc ???
my email [email protected]

Hi Plasterbride,

I am shortlising Weiken and Plush Living. It's a 50/50. Weiken gives a lower quote but Plush Living gives more professional advices.

I've given up on Desprit (quote too high), IntraDesign (i was basically ignored by them), U-Home (Worst of its kind), Earnest (too popular i guess cos the guy always busy)and V*gas.

I had submitted my defect list a week ago, today i went up and some defects are fixed already.

(1) Kitchen wall tiles are cracked - they changed all 9 tiles i marked. One is a 4mm length scratched or cracked i can't make up but they still change it. Ha ha

(2) 2 hollow tiles at the living room - i thought there would be some color difference but it complement to the rest of the floor tiles quite nicely.

(3) Toilet stopper unable to lift up. - not very satisfied because they seemed to had overdone it, when i press down the metal pcs, the stopper basically jumped up. ha ha... but i will live with that.

The guy called me and says the rest will be fixed before CNY except the parquet which need to wait for his workers to come back from Malaysia.

Quite satisfied with it so far.... but they dirtied the whole floor which we had cleaned up throughly for the CNY period as we thought they won't fixed it before CNY.

FYI, water and electricity is still running even though we didn't activate it. It had been 15 days since we collected the keys.

Hi neighbours,

I had collected my key on sat and went up for a throurough check and cleaning. Was very satisfied with my master bedroom. I so far detected some defects only. Was happy it only a few but a bit disappointed that my neighbous are mostly uncles and aunties. was expecting more young couples. eheheeh

I wanted to check with you, do you have this problem of facing slow or not enough supply f water. When i was using water in the kitchen, rest of the taps will have little flow of water!! Shoudl I complain to town council or HDB???

LI

Another thing, anyone did not activate the supply of utility until the very day you move in. Will we enjoy such good deal with free flow of water even when renovation starts??? So far i had not activate my water and electricity yet but i use the water to clean my new hse very nicely.

LI

Hi Li, I also haven't activate water & power supply. Taps and toilets working well. Didnt wash the floor, just sweep abit. With the HDB contractors moving around, no point cleaning it up. Furthur more, they have to redo my living room tiles grout, they told me the blackish marks are old stain marks. Cannot wash off de so they offer to redo the whole living room.

Anyone who thinks that their grout is dirty, pls pls highlight to TO. I tot that i have to be GL to them but end up alot of things the contractor and TO offer to do for me. Heh heh heh

wat abt rusty mailbox locks, algae on window grills, long, thin scratches on the main door... are all this defects that they can rectify too?

I oso haf a small hole in the parquet.. tat i believe they can replace or redo rite? anyone has tis prob too?

HIall.

My hubby is complaing our new hse is rather dark cos of teh orientation of windows. How about YOU ALL? Do you face the same prob? Then how baout wind? I am 676B. It seem no wind too.

Li

Olivia,

So estimate how long the free flow of water and electricity will last? When they will stop the flow of water? If not, i can dun activate for long long??? hahhahahah