Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Started cooking with gas yesterday. Many yrs din cook oredi,headache! Gotta ask my mum for help n learn fr scratch again. Any gd ckg class nearby to recomend?

herain,

I did report that my bomb shelter door handle was rusty as well as the rubber lining along the edges of the door was "popping" out. The HDB contractor has replaced the rubber lining as well as changed the door handle for me. =)

sohyencher,

You may want to keep a lookout for classes at the community centres... There are quite a few in our area... Boon Lay, Jurong Green, Jurong Spring, Taman Jurong and the Frontier...

hi Dar80,

Did you call your office in charge to check the status?
i called them twice, but were unable to talk to my officer in charge directly, she was always on leave one. i told the officer who served me that i need to move in urgently, and the officer in was quite good, said that he will pass the message to my officer, and there i got my 2nd appoinment.

hi guys,
2nd appt really like autograph signing session. hahaha.

By the way, my letter box lock n interior is all rusty and cant open or close properly.

Main door got cracks and my hubby & I had to kick it to open it and use all our "gu lat" to pull it to close. Very jialat. -__-"

Window hinges working fine.

Toilet door knobs & lock clogged up. Tiling joins all messed up. Shoddy work.

Shelter door hinges mouldy.

Bedroom door locks also faulty.

So many defects already, heng i get extra defects form from the officer.

And I haven't checked the tiles & parquet yet.

Gonna do another thorough check today. Sigh...

Christine, we don't have water or electricity in our flat coz we haven't apply yet. But how come u have de??? Gahhhh

Even my officer told me that there won't be any water or electricity for use.

Hi Olivia,
mine same as u, the main door cannot open and my hubby has to use his body to knock open... lol The door is cracked too...
I opened my door with my Fengshui master today. I juz bought a very big 'fa gao'(specially made one) and my master help me to put at my money position. She oso sprinkle salt and rice, it's a simple ceremony as we dun intend to 'an shen' in my apartment.
For those who took unit 303, be careful of sharp corner, my fengshui master found one sharp corner pointing my window.

ryan...
just switch on the main power outside the main flat is good enough..
My hubby also did that..
Tested whether got electricity by switching on the "heater" switch at the kitchen, the light goes red meaning got power loh..
Hahahaha~
We never touch anything inside the house..even the main switch board behind the door...
I have to check with my hubby..but remembered it was still taped...

wahahaha...okay. very goondu of me. later i go try. >..<

by the way, anyone also found alot of cracks and holes where the skirting is? I found alot of gaps between skirting and tiles in the shelter and kitchen.

Heard from my friend at the next blk told me there is no water supply liao..
I never go this weekend so I guess my unit be affected also..water supply cut off already..
Hahahaha~

I found some gaps too at the living and kitchen...

we should be confirming our ID soon le

my HTB say dun wan to drag it longer. Now waiting for the revised quotation from him after telling him our budget.

Things that we are doing:
bomb shelter feature
shoe cabinet
platform @ window
False ceiling
WIW
Window grills
kitchen
painting
labour
Total : $16k

I have problems with opening the main door too. Even got my arm injured due to opening the door. Got the HDB contractor to fix it but now my main door lock cant used. The lock doesn't fit into the hole on the door frame. The main gate also cant open from inside. They told me to give them 1-2 weeks to rectify all these defects but till now, dont think they finish rectifying it. Tomorrow the HDB officer will go down to do imspection. Waiting for them to tell me how long more they need to take. My ID waiting for my reply to start work. Any one of you here have all your defects rectify? How long it takes?

My kitchen wall tiles and floor tiles are supposed to be replaced in two weeks time. They hacked the tiles on last Wednesday. But till now nothing else was done. Been two weeks since I submitted my defects list. So far only the bomb shelter door was rectified. The windows hinges etc was still not done. But I have told the HDB contractor that whether they are done or not, my own contractor is coming in to start the hacking and overlaying of tiles in the master bedroom toilet. Since it is two totally different areas and I really can't afford to keep on waiting, he agreed. But really hoped that they would hurry up or I can't take the measurement for the kitchen cabinets and solid surface top. =(

Hi shan3,

I understand how you feel. My hubby is waiting to move in asap. Latest by end Feb but the way HDB works, afraid that if my ID comes in only after they rectify the problem, my house will not be ready by end Feb. They also allowed us to go ahead with the renovations but whatever defects we find out later (once my renovation starts), they are not going to accept. Haiz, dont start my reno, scared cant finish by end Feb. Start, afraid still got more defects to come but they dont take. I didnt check the timber flooring of my room. Anyone did? How to check?

Joelle, u should ask yr ID to help u do it

i think most of the ID provide such services nowadays.

This is 1 of the requirement i look for in ID. Value-added lah. AFterall, reno not cheap leh. Ten of thousands

shan, joelle

just submitted 4th defect list last weekend. found nitty gritty stuff everytime i go down. hopefully will be last time. the contractor rectified my defects within a week or two for the previous three times (each with 3-8 reported items).

as why they do so fast, it's becos i m rather notorious liao since i previously emailed ceo/hdb to complain abt slow wk. so now gd fren with the technical officer who will help me to harass the contractor to finish my wk. aim to complete my renov by mar too.

whyme - i engaging St*les from IMM.

not so sure whether is it reasonable. I am afraid that we might overlook some items and it will cost more eventually.

We are choosing based on the overall package price and the 'mo qi' between us and the ID

Hi Kevin,

I really envy you. All defects done within two weeks... My flat is a standard unit so not much defects... The only major thing was the kitchen wall tiles which is still not finish yet. Will go down to take a look again.

But because both me and my HTB are so busy with work recently, it is so tiring and difficult to find time to "harass" the HDB contractor to finish up his work (Sianz). Instead it was my own contractor who kept asking me to go "blow" the HDB contractor to finish up his work faster. Haha...

is it necessary to do a customized shoe cabinet?

my friend just pointed out that once i do it, i can't change it next time.

but i worry that if i don't do a shoe cabinet, my bomb shelter wall feature will look a standalone feature. not so nice leh

SY Chen, its up to u ba. it will look more visually appealing. anyway anything that is build-in will be troublesome to change or remove but it will look neater. =) You will be staying in the flat ma.

Really don't know.

We are not very artistic person. Can't really visualise.

the shoe cabinet itself is about $1400

anyone here havent gone through customary? and is following the tradition of an chuang?

my parents now making noise that i must not sleep in the marital room and bed till after my customary.

Say my hubby and I must sleep in other rooms on a temperory mattress.

Abit over, u all think?

I have a friend who got married last year... She slept in the same room but on their old mattress (on the floor) until their bedframe and new mattress was delivered... They had their an chuang the very next day. After the an chuang, they slept on it (which was before their customary) but no one else was supposed to sit or rest on it except the couple themselves.

olivia

hmm from wad i noe, a few of my frens are like tat also.. can't sleep in that room or on the bed. others cannot enter the room except the couple.

Hi Olivia,

According to our "shifu", it's not true that you are not allowed to sleep together on your new bed in your new room.

That is just plain old thinking of the older generations.

He explained to us that you can still sleep on the bed itself and you just need to change a new set of bedsheets on the day of an chuang...

He quote an example:
If u are getting married 2 years later, you wan to sleep on the floor mattress for 2 years?

my parents say "AN" or not "AN-ed" cannot sleep on the new bed until AFTER customary. Then means my hubby and i have to bring our old single beds into the new hse in another bedroom and use until after our customary which is in 9mths time. Which i think is unreasonble.
sheesh...haiz...

Just &amp; Jo, thats why i am so frustrated. hahaha...my parents say its either i shift in only after the customary or sleep on mattress until then. -__-"

haha olivia.. i tink diff ppl diff thinking/traditions, so if ur parents say that, then u hv to follow unless u managed to persuade them otherwise hehe.

so fast ur hse reno liao and can sleep in already?

Valerie, my flat got quite alot of defects. they might have to redo the kitchen wall n floor tiles. maybe after CNY then can start reno le, seeing all those posts about the "efficiency" of HDB. i asked the ID before, my reno shouldn't take more than 3wks to complete. I abit lost liao. my hubby &amp; PILs not that pantang, my parents super pantang. I also not that pantang. Kiap inbetween. hahaha...i need to go arcade and destress liao.

olivia

u're moving in right after reno finishes? not waiting till after ur AD ar? u can move in after AD lor, then won't hv such prob.

regarding ur reno.. u're not in a rush to complete right since ur AD is 9mths away.. u're in safe hands

ya go arcade destress is gd.. i've been wanting to go to the beach but no time. i've been an octopus, meeting IDs, AD PG/VG, bed hunting haha. u booked ur AD PG/VG? got any gd ones to recommend? not too ex la.. haha

hmm i just spoke one ID. He says 5 rm premniere flat would required about 20 - 25 K, i toldhim under 20K and he says very difficult.

What's you guys experience?

ryan, it depends on what u r doing

most of our quotation comes up to more than $20k but that is becoz we had asked them to quote a lot of things that are 'good to have but not necessary to have'.

After deducting what we don't want, it is ard $15-$16k.

now, if i don't want my shoe cabinet, it is only $14k.

olivia,

my AD is also in 9 months away, your in Sept too eh..

I intend to reno my house by June, then move in only after my AD. Not very long too wait.

Valerie,

Your AD in May, so far how's the reno progress? 4 months left for you eh to touch up everything.

Anyone engaging weiken? spoken to one of the designer and we click quite well...

else, check with another designer at another ID, the first thing he asked me is what is my budget.. then tell me he got a lot of projects on hand so he is selective ... tell me to understand.. i told him preferably below 20K but will top up if necessary, then he agrees to meet me.